MSMS 6007 - Marine Mammalogy
Marine Mammalogy
MSMS 6007
Fall 2024
This course provides an overview of the evolution, natural history, anatomy, physiology, biomedicine, husbandry, pathology, and conservation of cetaceans, pinnipeds, sirenians, and their allies. Graduate students are required to contribute to classroom lectures through a review of primary literature and presentation on specialized subjects directly related to the taught material. Numerous case-studies are used to illustrate concepts such as aquatic mammal diseases, direct and indirect anthropogenic impacts, and translation from terrestrial to marine ecosystems. Students will have a broad understanding of marine mammals, their role in a variety of ecosystems, and the environmental issues related to their need for conservation.
Required Textbooks:
Marine Mammals by
Marine Mammals: Evolutionary Biology, Third Edition is a succinct, yet comprehensive text devoted to the systematics, evolution, morphology, ecology, physiology, and behavior of marine mammals. Earlier editions of this valuable work are considered required reading for all marine biologists concerned with marine mammals, and this text continues that tradition of excellence with updated citations and an expansion of nearly every chapter that includes full color photographs and distribution maps.
Call Number: QL713.2 .B47 2015ISBN: 9780123970022Publication Date: 2015-06-23
Marine Mammals : evolutionary biology by
Marine Mammals: Evolutionary Biology, Third Edition is a succinct, yet comprehensive text devoted to the systematics, evolution, morphology, ecology, physiology, and behavior of marine mammals. Earlier editions of this valuable work are considered required reading for all marine biologists concerned with marine mammals, and this text continues that tradition of excellence with updated citations and an expansion of nearly every chapter that includes full color photographs and distribution maps. Comprehensive, up-to-date coverage of the biology of all marine mammals Provides a phylogenetic framework that integrates phylogeny with behavior and ecology Features chapter summaries, further readings, an appendix, glossary and an extensive bibliography Exciting new color photographs and additional distribution maps
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780123972576Publication Date: 2015-03-20
- Describe the taxonomy, evolution, and natural history of the major groups of marine mammals.
- Describe the anatomical and physiological adaptations for diving, fasting and reproduction in marine mammals.
- Identify and describe the major families of marine mammals, and provide additional information on the biology, conservation, and management of selected species of marine mammals.
- Provide an in-depth description of the biology, conservation, and protection of cetacean, pinniped, and sirenian species.
- Identify the major threats to marine mammals and marine mammal populations worldwide and provide literate discussion in oral and written formats.
 |
 |
Search:
Find Books, Journals, Media:
E-Books | Advanced Search | My Library Account | ILL - Interlibrary Loan
Search Full Text Finder to find the full text of a publication.
If you see an embargo next to a e-journal title: An embargo period is a period of time which an official academic publication is not yet available online, either due to publishing restrictions or subscription contracts. Ex: "Embargo: 1 Year" = access begins one year ago from today's date.
|
Databases: search for articles, datasets, and videos on your topic |
|
|
View Databases by Subject OR All Databases |
|
Search NSUWorks - NSU's Institutional Repository:
Browse or search scholarship in Digital Commons @ NSUWorks!
Find Research Tips and Useful Resources
Oceanographic Campus Library Guides
News, Events, & Training | Writing & Citation Style | Course Guides | Browse by Subject | How-To Guides | LibraryLearn : Short Video Tutorials | Razor's Research Bytes