MSMS 5050 - Physical Oceanography
Course guide for Physical Oceanography (MSMS 5050)
Featured Resource
Encyclopedia of Atmospheric Sciences, 2nd Edition by
Encyclopedia of Atmospheric Sciences, 2nd Edition is an authoritative resource covering all aspects of atmospheric sciences, including both theory and applications. With more than 320 articles and 1,600 figures and photographs, this revised version of the award-winning first edition offers comprehensive coverage of this important field. The six volumes in this set contain broad-ranging articles on topics such as atmospheric chemistry, biogeochemical cycles, boundary layers, clouds, general circulation, global change, mesoscale meteorology, ozone, radar, satellite remote sensing, and weather prediction. The Encyclopedia is an ideal resource for academia, government, and industry in the fields of atmospheric, ocean, and environmental sciences. It is written at a level that allows undergraduate students to understand the material, while providing active researchers with the latest information in the field. Covers all aspects of atmospheric sciences--including both theory and applications Presents more than 320 articles and more than 1,600 figures and photographs Broad-ranging articles include topics such as atmospheric chemistry, biogeochemical cycles, boundary layers, clouds, general circulation, global change, mesoscale meteorology, ozone, radar, satellite remote sensing, and weather prediction An ideal resource for academia, government, and industry in the fields of atmospheric, ocean, and environmental sciences
Call Number: EBOOKISBN: 9780123822260Publication Date: 2014-09-14
Concepts of Physical Oceanography Books & E-Books
Physical Oceanography of Continental Shelves by
An authoritative graduate textbook and professional reference on the physical dynamics of the coastal ocean This book provides an up-to-date, systematic treatment of the processes governing the velocity, pressure, temperature, and salinity of the coastal ocean. Written by a leading expert with decades of experience with theory, observations, and numerical models, it builds on the idea that knowledge of fundamental phenomena allows for an understanding of continental shelf waters globally. Featuring a wealth of ocean observations from a wide variety of locales, Physical Oceanography of Continental Shelves is an essential resource for both students and researchers on this critical region of the world's oceans. Covers the physical dynamics and properties of the coastal ocean, synthesizing theory and global observations Topics include turbulent boundary layers, wind driving, coastal-trapped waves, the inner shelf, tides, buoyancy currents, instabilities, and connections with the deep open ocean Ideal for graduate students in physical oceanography Includes exercises to strengthen understanding and draws on the author's experience teaching the subject A must for oceanographers and engineers seeking a comprehensive synthesis of continental shelf processes
Call Number: GC85 .B75 2023ISBN: 9780691236452Publication Date: 2023-09-12
Introduction to Physical Oceanography by
For decades, previous editions of John Knauss's seminal work have struck a balance between purely descriptive texts and mathematically rigorous ones, giving a wide range of marine scientists access to the fundamental principles of physical oceanography. Newell Garfield continues this tradition, delivering valuable updates that highlight the book's resourceful presentation and concise effectiveness. The authors include historical and current research, along with a 12-page color insert, to illuminate their perspective that the world ocean is tumultuous and continually helps to shape global environmental processes.
The Third Edition builds a solid foundation that readers will find straightforward and lucid. It presents valuable insight into our understanding of the world ocean by:
Encompassing essential oceanic processes such as the transfer of heat across the ocean surface, the distribution of temperature and salinity, and the effect of the earth's rotation on the ocean.
Providing sensible and well-defined explanations of the roles played by a stratified ocean, global balances, and equations of motion.
Discussing cogent topics such as major currents, tides, waves, coastal oceans, semienclosed seas, and sound and optics.
Call Number: GC150.5 .K6 2017ISBN: 147863250XPublication Date: 2016-11-30
Darwin, Geodynamics and Extreme Waves by
This book examines the reasons behind the resonant amplification of seismic and ocean waves that have the capacity to destroy cities and ocean-going vessels. Using Charles Darwin's important geophysical research as a starting point, it provides insights into the interaction between earthquakes with volcanoes, seaquake, and tsunami formation. In particular, the author details the observations that Darwin made on a powerful earthquake that occurred in Chile in 1835, noting how the famous naturalist and geologist used the concept of earthquake-induced vertical shock to explain the event's devastating impact. The book then goes on to show how Darwin's concept relates to the catastrophic results of the shallow quakes that recently destroyed Port-au-Prince (Haiti, 2010) and severely damaged Christchurch (New Zealand, 2011). In addition, the author asks whether Darwin's ideas are endorsed by the discoveries of modern science and whether the results of destructive earthquakes can be modeled using strongly nonlinear wave equations. Coverage also proposes that similar equations can be used to simulate the dynamics of many objects on the surface of the Earth, and to model the origin of the Universe, dark matter, and dark energy as strongly nonlinear wave phenomena. The book will appeal to students as well as researchers and engineers in geophysics, seismology, nonlinear wave studies, cosmology, physical oceanography, and ocean and coastal engineering. It will also be of use to those who are interested in the phenomena of natural catastrophes as well as those who want to learn more about the life and work of Charles Darwin.
Call Number: QE538.5 .G35 2015ISBN: 3319169939Publication Date: 2015-06-25
Modern Observational Physical Oceanograpy by
With the advent of computers, novel instruments, satellite technology, and increasingly powerful modeling tools, we know more about the ocean than ever before. Yet we also have a new generation of oceanographers who have become increasingly distanced from the object of their study. Ever fewer scientists collect the observational data on which they base their research. Instead, many download information without always fully understanding how far removed it is from the original data, with opportunity for great misinterpretation. This textbook introduces modern physical oceanography to beginning graduate students in marine sciences and experienced practitioners in allied fields. Real observations are strongly emphasized, as are their implications for understanding the behavior of the global ocean. Written by a leading physical oceanographer, Modern Observational Physical Oceanography explains what the observational revolution of the past twenty-five years has taught us about the real, changing fluid ocean. Unlike any other book, it provides a broad and accessible treatment of the subject, covering everything from modern methods of observation and data analysis to the fluid dynamics and modeling of ocean processes and variability. Fully illustrated in color throughout, the book describes the fundamental concepts that are needed before delving into more advanced topics, including internal-inertial waves, tides, balanced motions, and large-scale circulation physics. Provides an accessible introduction to modern physical oceanography Written by a leading physical oceanographer Emphasizes real observations of the fluid ocean Features hundreds of color illustrations An online illustration package is available to professors
Call Number: GC150.5 .W86 2015ISBN: 9780691158822Publication Date: 2015-05-04
Oceanography by
Developed in partnership with the National Geographic Society, market-leading OCEANOGRAPHY: AN INVITATION TO MARINE SCIENCE, 9e gives you a basic understanding of the scientific questions, complexities, and uncertainties involved in ocean use-as well as the role and importance of the ocean in nurturing and sustaining life on Earth. Seasoned researchers Tom Garrison and Robert Ellis emphasize the interdisciplinary nature of marine science, stressing its links to biology, chemistry, geology, physics, meteorology, astronomy, ecology, history, and economics. The book's focus on the science process includes numerous "How Do We Know?" boxes detailing the science behind how oceanographers know what they know. Coverage of climate change has been updated to reflect the latest findings. In addition, Chapter 14 "Primary Producers" includes expanded coverage of photosynthetic and chemosynthetic producers to help you understand the "big picture" in marine biology.
Call Number: GC11.2 .G37 2016ISBN: 9781305105164Publication Date: 2015-01-01
Invitation to Oceanography by Call Number: GC11.2 .P55 2016ISBN: 1284057070Publication Date: 2014-10-17
Near-Surface Layer of the Ocean by
The rationale for publishing a second edition of this monograph is that this area of research continues to show remarkable advancement. The new generation of synthetic aperture radar satellites has provided unprecedented spatial resolution of sea surface features. In addition, satellites to measure sea surface salinity have been launched. Computational fluid dynamics models open new opportunities in understanding the processes in the near-surface layer of the ocean and their visibility from space. Passive acoustic methods for monitoring short surface waves have significantly progressed. Of importance for climate research, processes in the near-surface layer of the ocean contribute to errors in satellite estimates of sea surface temperature trends. Due to growing applications of near-surface science, it is anticipated that more students will be trained in this area of research. Therefore this second edition of the monograph is closer to a textbook format.
Call Number: GC190.2 .S65 2014ISBN: 9789400776210Publication Date: 2013-12-09
Rising Seas by
The Earth's climate is already warming due to increased concentrations of human-produced greenhouse gases in the atmosphere, and the specter of rising sea level is one of global warming's most far-reaching threats. Sea level will keep rising long after greenhouse gas emissions have ceased, because of the delay in penetration of surface warming to the ocean depths and because of the slow dissipation of excess atmospheric carbon dioxide. Adopting a long perspective that interprets sea level changes both underway and expected in the near future, Vivien Gornitz completes a highly relevant and necessary study of an unprecedented age in Earth's history. Gornitz consults past climate archives to help better anticipate future developments and prepare for them more effectively. She focuses on several understudied historical events, including the Paleocene-Eocene Thermal Anomaly, the Messinian salinity crisis, the rapid filling of the Black Sea (which may have inspired the story of Noah's flood), and the Storrega submarine slide, an incident possibly connected to a sea level occurrence roughly 8,000 years old. By examining dramatic variations in past sea level and climate, Gornitz concretizes the potential consequences of rapid, human-induced warming. She builds historical precedent for coastal hazards associated with a higher ocean level, such as increased damage from storm surge flooding, even if storm characteristics remain unchanged. Citing the examples of Rotterdam, London, New York City, and other forward-looking urban centers that are effectively preparing for higher sea level, Gornitz also delineates the difficult economic and political choices of curbing carbon emissions while underscoring, through past geological analysis, the urgent need to do so.
Call Number: GC89 .G67 2013ISBN: 9780231147385Publication Date: 2013-03-19
Investigating Oceanography by
This introductory oceanography text is intended to teach students the tremendous influence oceans have on our lives. They are encouraged to look at oceanography as a cohesive and united discipline rather than a collection of subjects gathered under a marine umbrella. This first edition teaches students about the historical, geological, physical, chemical and biological characteristics of the ocean environment using remarkable images and photos. The authors have incorporated essays written by several scientists discussing topics in their fields of specialization. And in order to understand the constant barrage of information concerning our planet and marine issues, the authors believe students must have a basic command of the language of marine science in addition to understanding processes and principles. By the end of this course, the authors want students to be prepared for future environmental discussions and the ability to make decisions as informed global citizens.
Call Number: GC11.2 .S94 2014ISBN: 9780078022913Publication Date: 2013-01-16
Instrumentation and Metrology in Oceanography by
Instrumentation and measurement series.
Call Number: GC41 .L44 2012ISBN: 9781848213791Publication Date: 2012-10-22
Introducing Oceanography by Call Number: GC11.2 .T46 2012ISBN: 9781780460017Publication Date: 2012-09-20
Oceanography and Marine Biology by
Oceanography and Marine Biology presents the basic elements of the physical, chemical, and geological aspects of the marine sciences, and merges them into a broader framework of marine biology and ecology. The text uses everyday examples of how these areas form the foundations for understanding the marine environment in a changing world.
Call Number: QH91 .T69 2012ISBN: 9780878936021Publication Date: 2012-04-01
Thermodynamic and Thermophysical Properties of Saline Water by
This book accommodates the existing correlations, data, and methods for thermodynamic and thermophysical properties of saline water, including multiple components at a wide range of salinity (reaching around 200 g/kg), temperature, and pressure. The correlations of each property are plotted against existing experimental data to judge the comparative accuracy of each within a given specific range of salinity, temperature, and pressure. An assessment to recommend some correlations is also conducted. New correlations for some properties are also proposed. This book helps to provide the saline water properties as needed for engineers, designers, and research for different areas, including desalination and water treatment. All the analytical analysis, thermodynamic analysis, and design models of the desalination technologies depend on saline water properties. As scientists and researchers working on different desalination technologies, the authors found it difficult to find all saline water properties in one source, including multicomponent and binary salty solutions, under different conditions (salinity, temperature, and pressure). Therefore, the authors introduce this book to fill the gap in the open literature. This book compiles the thermodynamic and thermophysical properties of saline water, involving thermodynamic approaches, multicomponent models, and simple correlations and data, comparison between the correlations of properties in figures, recommendation of the most accurate correlations and methods, and the used codes to estimate these correlations and methods. It is expected that this book to be a principal source for all interests in desalination and water treatment subjects.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9783031351921Publication Date: 2023-08-23
Bottom Gravity Currents and Overflows in Deep Channels of the Atlantic Ocean by
This book is dedicated to the analysis of bottom waters flows through underwater channels of the Atlantic Ocean. The study is based on recent observations of the authors, analysis of historical data, numerical modeling, and literature review. For example, studying both the measurements from the World Ocean Circulation experiment in the 1990s and recent measurements reveals the decadal variations of water properties in the ocean. Seawater is cooled at high latitudes, descends to the ocean bottom, and slowly flows to the tropical latitudes and further. This current is slow in the deep basins, but intensifies in the abyssal channels connecting the basins. The current overflows submarine topographic structures and sometimes forms deep cataracts when water descends over slopes by several hundred meters. The flow of Antarctic Bottom Water (AABW) is studied on the basis of CTD sections combined with Lowered Acoustic Doppler Profiling (LADCP) carried out annually, and long-term moored measurements of currents. This book is a collection of oceanographic data, interpretation, and analysis, which can be used by field oceanographers, specialists in numerical modeling, and students who specialize in oceanography.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9783030830748Publication Date: 2021
Optical Remote Sensing of Ocean Hydrodynamics by
Optical Remote Sensing is one of the main technologies used in sea surface monitoring. Optical Remote Sensing of Ocean Hydrodynamics investigates and demonstrates capabilities of optical remote sensing technology for enhanced observations and detection of ocean environments. It provides extensive knowledge of physical principles and capabilities of optical observations of the oceans at high spatial resolution, 1-4m, and on the observations of surface wave hydrodynamic processes. It also describes the implementation of spectral-statistical and fusion algorithms for analyses of multispectral optical databases and establishes physics-based criteria for detection of complex wave phenomena and hydrodynamic disturbances including assessment and management of optical databases. This book explains the physical principles of high-resolution optical imagery of the ocean surface, discusses for the first time the capabilities of observing hydrodynamic processes and events, and emphasizes the integration of optical measurements and enhanced data analysis. It also covers both the assessment and the interpretation of dynamic multispectral optical databases and includes applications for advanced studies and nonacoustic detection. This book is an invaluable resource for researches, industry professionals, engineers, and students working on cross-disciplinary problems in ocean hydrodynamics, optical remote sensing of the ocean and sea surface remote sensing. Readers in the fields of geosciences and remote sensing, applied physics, oceanography, satellite observation technology, and optical engineering will learn the theory and practice of optical interactions with the ocean.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781351119160Publication Date: 2019-04-09
Oceanography and Coastal Informatics: Breakthroughs in Research and Practice by
To date, a vast amount of the world's oceans remains uncharted. With water covering more than 70 percent of the Earth's surface, maritime and oceanographic exploration and research is vital. Oceanography and Coastal Informatics: Breakthroughs in Research and Practice is a critical source of academic knowledge centered on technologies, methodologies, and practices related to the biological and physical aspects of the ocean and coastal environments. This publication is divided into four sections: climate change and environmental concerns; data analysis and management; fisheries management and ecology; and GIS, geospatial analysis, and localization. This publication is an ideal reference source for oceanographers, marine and maritime professionals, researchers, and scholars interested in current research on various aspects of oceanography and coastal informatics.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781522573098Publication Date: 2018-11-02
Oceanographic Analysis with R by
This book presents the R software environment as a key tool for oceanographic computations and provides a rationale for using R over the more widely-used tools of the field such as MATLAB. Kelley provides a general introduction to R before introducing the 'oce' package. This package greatly simplifies oceanographic analysis by handling the details of discipline-specific file formats, calculations, and plots. Designed for real-world application and developed with open-source protocols, oce supports a broad range of practical work. Generic functions take care of general operations such as subsetting and plotting data, while specialized functions address more specific tasks such as tidal decomposition, hydrographic analysis, and ADCP coordinate transformation. In addition, the package makes it easy to document work, because its functions automatically update processing logs stored within its data objects. Kelley teaches key R functions using classic examples from the history of oceanography, specifically the work of Alfred Redfield, Gordon Riley, J. Tuzo Wilson, and Walter Munk. Acknowledging the pervasive popularity of MATLAB, the book provides advice to users who would like to switch to R. Including a suite of real-life applications and over 100 exercises and solutions, the treatment is ideal for oceanographers, technicians, and students who want to add R to their list of tools for oceanographic analysis.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781493988426Publication Date: 2018-10-18
Rogue Waves by
This book gives an overview of the theoretical research on rogue waves and discusses solutions to rogue wave formation via the Darboux and bilinear transformations, algebro-geometric reduction, and inverse scattering and similarity transformations. Studies on nonlinear optics are included, making the book a comprehensive reference for researchers in applied mathematics, optical physics, geophysics, and ocean engineering. Contents The Research Process for Rogue Waves Construction of Rogue Wave Solution by the Generalized Darboux Transformation Construction of Rogue Wave Solution by Hirota Bilinear Method, Algebro-geometric Approach and Inverse Scattering Method The Rogue Wave Solution and Parameters Managing in Nonautonomous Physical Model
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9783110469691Publication Date: 2017-06-26
Tsunamis and Earthquakes in Coastal Environments by
This monograph is a compilation of a number of research studies presented in fourteen chapters dealing with the impact and restoration of coastal environments that have been affected by earthquakes and tsunamis. The focus is mainly on rivers, estuaries, coastal lagoons, beaches, and related ecosystems. In addition to direct impact and response due to flooding and subsequent abrasion, this publication covers physical, chemical and biological responses in coastal morphology, water quality and ecosystems and includes also topics dealing with risk reduction and vulnerability. This compilation mainly covers examples from large magnitude earthquake and tsunami events in the Indian and Pacific Ocean that are complemented with other events in Latin America and the Iberian Peninsula. Comprehensive descriptions of multi-scale impacts of tsunami and earthquake events, both spatially and temporally, will help the reader to understand the complicated interactions which occur in coastal zones in order to create a sustainable, resilient environment and achieve a society with smart post-event recovery planning. This book is aimed at researchers and students in coastal science and engineering as well as at policy makers, environmental planners and coastal managers.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9783319285283Publication Date: 2016-04-14
Internal Gravity Waves in the Shallow Seas by
This book contains a comprehensive study of the internal ocean waves, which play a very important role in ocean physics providing mechanisms for ocean water mixing and circulation, as well as the transportation of gases, nutrients, and a very large number of marine organisms in the ocean body. In contrast to surface waves, the literature on internal waves is not so numerous, mainly due to the difficulties in experimental data collection and in the mathematical description of internal wave propagation. In this book, the basic mathematical principles, a physical description of the observed phenomena, and practical theoretical methods of determination of wave parameters as well as the original method of observation using moving sensors are presented. Special attention is paid to internal wave propagation over changing bottom topographies in shallow seas such as the Baltic Sea. The book is supplemented with an extended list of relevant and extended bibliographies, a subject index, and an author index.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9783319189086Publication Date: 2015-07-07
Ocean Worlds by
Oceans make up most of the surface of our blue planet. They may form just a sliver on the outside of the Earth, but they are very important, not only in hosting life, including the fish and other animals on which many humans depend, but in terms of their role in the Earth system, in regulatingclimate, and cycling nutrients. As climate change, pollution, and over-exploitation by humans puts this precious resource at risk, it is more important than ever that we understand and appreciate the nature and history of oceans. There is much we still do not know about the story of the Earth'soceans, and we are only just beginning to find indications of oceans on other planets.In this book, geologists Jan Zalasiewicz and Mark Williams consider the deep history of oceans, how and when they may have formed on the young Earth - topics of intense current research - how they became salty, and how they evolved through Earth history. We learn how oceans have formed anddisappeared over millions of years, how the sea nurtured life, and what may become of our oceans in the future. We encounter some of the scientists and adventurers whose efforts led to our present understanding of oceans. And we look at clues to possible seas that may once have covered parts of Marsand Venus, that may still exist, below the surface, on moons such as Europa and Callisto, and the possibility of watery planets in other star systems.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780199672882Publication Date: 2015-01-01
Data Analysis Methods in Physical Oceanography by
Data Analysis Methods in Physical Oceanography, Third Edition is a practical reference to established and modern data analysis techniques in earth and ocean sciences. Its five major sections address data acquisition and recording, data processing and presentation, statistical methods and error handling, analysis of spatial data fields, and time series analysis methods. The revised Third Edition updates the instrumentation used to collect and analyze physical oceanic data and adds new techniques including Kalman Filtering. Additionally, the sections covering spectral, wavelet, and harmonic analysis techniques are completely revised since these techniques have attracted significant attention over the past decade as more accurate and efficient data gathering and analysis methods. Completely updated and revised to reflect new filtering techniques and major updating of the instrumentation used to collect and analyze data Co-authored by scientists from academe and industry, both of whom have more than 30 years of experience in oceanographic research and field work Significant revision of sections covering spectral, wavelet, and harmonic analysis techniques Examples address typical data analysis problems yet provide the reader with formulaic "recipes" for working with their own data Significant expansion to 350 figures, illustrations, diagrams and photos
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780123877833Publication Date: 2014-07-14- Near-Surface Layer of the Ocean by
The rationale for publishing a second edition of this monograph is that this area of research continues to show remarkable advancement. The new generation of synthetic aperture radar satellites has provided unprecedented spatial resolution of sea surface features. In addition, satellites to measure sea surface salinity have been launched. Computational fluid dynamics models open new opportunities in understanding the processes in the near-surface layer of the ocean and their visibility from space. Passive acoustic methods for monitoring short surface waves have significantly progressed. Of importance for climate research, processes in the near-surface layer of the ocean contribute to errors in satellite estimates of sea surface temperature trends. Due to growing applications of near-surface science, it is anticipated that more students will be trained in this area of research. Therefore this second edition of the monograph is closer to a textbook format.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9789400776210Publication Date: 2013-12-09
Measuring Ocean Currents by
Measuring Ocean Currents: Tools, Technologies, and Data covers all major aspects of ocean current measurements in view of the implications of ocean currents on changing climate, increasing pollution levels, and offshore engineering activities. Although more than 70% of the Earth is covered by ocean, there is limited information on the countless fine- to large-scale water motions taking place within them. This book fills that information gap as the first work that summarizes the state-of-the-art methods and instruments used for surface, subsurface, and abyssal ocean current measurements. Readers of this book will find a wealth of information on Lagrangian measurements, horizontal mapping, imaging, Eulerian measurements, and vertical profiling techniques. In addition, the book describes modern technologies for remote measurement of ocean currents and their signatures, including HF Doppler radar systems, satellite-borne sensors, ocean acoustic tomography, and more. Crucial aspects of ocean currents are described in detail as well, including dispersion of effluents discharged into the sea and transport of beneficial materials-as well as environmentally hazardous materials-from one region to another. The book highlights several important practical applications, showing how measurements relate to climate change and pollution levels, how they affect coastal and offshore engineering activities, and how they can aid in tsunami detection. Coverage of measurement, mapping and profiling techniques Descriptions of technologies for remote measurement of ocean currents and their signatures Reviews crucial aspects of ocean currents, including special emphasis on the planet-spanning thermohaline circulation, known as the ocean's "conveyor belt," and its crucial role in climate change
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780124159907Publication Date: 2013-09-27
Find Books, Journals, Media:
E-Books | Advanced Search | My Library Account | ILL - Interlibrary Loan |