MSMS 5040 Marine Chemistry
Course Guide for the OC Core Course in Marine Chemistry (MSMS 5040)
Other Course Guides
Marine Chemistry
Marine Chemistry
MSMS 5040
Winter 2024
This course is an introduction to marine chemistry. It describes the properties, composition, and origin of seawater; the importance, distribution, relationships, and biogeochemical cycling of the major inorganic nutrients, dissolved gases, trace metals, and organic compounds. Salinity, temperature and density distributions will be explained. Carbonate parameters (pH, Alkalinity, TCO2 and pCO2) and how these are influenced by uptake of anthropogenic carbon dioxide by the ocean will be a key topic as well as the identity and fate of chemical contaminants in the aquatic environment.
Required Textbooks:
An Introduction to the Chemistry of the Sea by
Fully updated and expanded, this new edition provides students with an accessible introduction to marine chemistry. It highlights geochemical interactions between the ocean, solid earth, atmosphere and climate, enabling students to appreciate the interconnectedness of Earth's processes and systems and elucidates the huge variations in the oceans' chemical environment, from surface waters to deep water. Written in a clear, engaging way, the book provides students in oceanography, marine chemistry and biogeochemistry with the fundamental tools they need for a strong understanding of ocean chemistry. Appendices present information on seawater properties, key equations and constants for calculating oceanographic processes. New to this edition are end-of-chapter problems for students to put theory into practice, summaries to allow easy review of material and a comprehensive glossary. Supporting online resources include solutions to problems and figures from the book.
Call Number: AVAILABLE FOR PURCHASE ONLINEISBN: 9780521887076Publication Date: 2012-12-13- An Introduction to the Chemistry of the Sea by
Fully updated and expanded, this new edition provides students with an accessible introduction to marine chemistry. It highlights geochemical interactions between the ocean, solid earth, atmosphere and climate, enabling students to appreciate the interconnectedness of Earth's processes and systems and elucidates the huge variations in the oceans' chemical environment, from surface waters to deep water. Written in a clear, engaging way, the book provides students in oceanography, marine chemistry and biogeochemistry with the fundamental tools they need for a strong understanding of ocean chemistry. Appendices present information on seawater properties, key equations and constants for calculating oceanographic processes. New to this edition are end-of-chapter problems for students to put theory into practice, summaries to allow easy review of material and a comprehensive glossary. Supporting online resources include solutions to problems and figures from the book.
Call Number: GC111.2 .P55 2013ISBN: 9780521887076Publication Date: 2012-12-13
- An Introduction to the Chemistry of the Sea by
Fully updated and expanded, this new edition provides students with an accessible introduction to marine chemistry. It highlights geochemical interactions between the ocean, solid earth, atmosphere and climate, enabling students to appreciate the interconnectedness of Earth's processes and systems and elucidates the huge variations in the oceans' chemical environment, from surface waters to deep water. Written in a clear, engaging way, the book provides students in oceanography, marine chemistry and biogeochemistry with the fundamental tools they need for a strong understanding of ocean chemistry. Appendices present information on seawater properties, key equations and constants for calculating oceanographic processes. New to this edition are end-of-chapter problems for students to put theory into practice, summaries to allow easy review of material and a comprehensive glossary. Supporting online resources include solutions to problems and figures from the book.
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9780521887076Publication Date: 2012-12-13
Chemical Oceanography, Fourth Edition by
Over the past ten years, a number of new large-scale oceanographic programs have been initiated. These include the Climate Variability Program (CLIVAR) and the recent initiation of the Geochemical Trace Metal Program (GEOTRACES). These studies and future projects will produce a wealth of information on the biogeochemistry of the world's oceans. Authored by Frank J. Millero, an acknowledged international authority in the field, the fourth edition of Chemical Oceanography maintains the stellar insight that has made it a favorite of students, instructors, researchers, and other professionals in marine science, geochemistry, and environmental chemistry. Reflecting the latest updates on issues affecting the health of our environment, this text: Supplies an in-depth treatment of ocean acidification, a key emerging environmental problem Provides updated coverage on the carbonate system in the ocean Presents expanded information on oceanic organic compounds Contains updates on dissolved organic carbon, phosphate, nitrogen, and metals in the ocean Offers a new definition of salinity and a new equation of the state of seawater based on recent, original research Describes the new thermodynamic equation of the state of seawater Includes full-color graphs and photographs to assist readers in visualizing the concepts presented For more than two decades, this book has served as the "classic" textbook for students and a valuable reference for researchers in the fields of oceanography, environmental chemistry, and geochemistry. Designed for both classroom use and self-study, this comprehensive survey of essential concepts incorporates a wealth of state-of-the-art reference data discovered on large-scale oceanographic studies sponsored by the National Science Foundation and the National Oceanographic and Atmospheric Administration.
Call Number: GC111.2 .M55 2013ISBN: 9781466512498Publication Date: 2013-04-26
Chemical Oceanography, Fourth Edition by
This 4th edition of 'Chemical Oceanography' presents a comprehensive examination of the chemistry of the oceans. Each chapter has been updated to reflect new areas and the latest advances.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781466512498Publication Date: 2013-04-26- Chemical Oceanography, Fourth Edition by
Over the past ten years, a number of new large-scale oceanographic programs have been initiated. These include the Climate Variability Program (CLIVAR) and the recent initiation of the Geochemical Trace Metal Program (GEOTRACES). These studies and future projects will produce a wealth of information on the biogeochemistry of the world's oceans. Authored by Frank J. Millero, an acknowledged international authority in the field, the fourth edition ofChemical Oceanography maintains the stellar insight that has made it a favorite of students, instructors, researchers, and other professionals in marine science, geochemistry, and environmental chemistry. Reflecting the latest updates on issues affecting the health of our environment, this text: Supplies an in-depth treatment of ocean acidification, a key emerging environmental problem Provides updated coverage on the carbonate system in the ocean Presents expanded information on oceanic organic compounds Contains updates on dissolved organic carbon, phosphate, nitrogen, and metals in the ocean Offers a new definition of salinity and a new equation of the state of seawater based on recent, original research Describes the new thermodynamic equation of the state of seawater Includes full-color graphs and photographs to assist readers in visualizing the concepts presented For more than two decades, this book has served as the "classic" textbook for students and a valuable reference for researchers in the fields of oceanography, environmental chemistry, and geochemistry. Designed for both classroom use and self-study, this comprehensive survey of essential concepts incorporates a wealth of state-of-the-art reference data discovered on large-scale oceanographic studies sponsored by the National Science Foundation and the National Oceanographic and Atmospheric Administration.
Call Number: AVAILABLE FOR PURCHASE ONLINEISBN: 9781466512498Publication Date: 2013-04-26
At the conclusion of this course the student will be able to:
- Demonstrate an understanding of the physical, chemical and biological processes affecting the distribution of chemical parameters in the oceans.
- Explain the concepts of salinity and composition of the major seawater ions. Describe the distribution of salinity, temperature and density in the oceans.
- Explain the carbonate system, distribution of carbonate parameters in the oceans and the concept of ocean acidification and climate change.
- Describe the distribution of dissolved oxygen in the oceans, seasonal variations, physical and biological processes affecting oxygen concentrations and its importance for marine life.
- Demonstrate an understanding of the importance, major forms, distribution, measurement and cycling of inorganic nutrients (phosphate, nitrate, and silicate), dissolved organic matter and trace elements in the oceans.
- Describe the environmental fate, availability, and adverse effects of chemical contaminants in aquatic systems.
Quick Search
Find Books, Journals, Media:
E-Books | Advanced Search | My Library Account | ILL - Interlibrary Loan
Search Full Text Finder to find the full text of a publication.
If you see an embargo next to a e-journal title: An embargo period is a period of time which an official academic publication is not yet available online, either due to publishing restrictions or subscription contracts. Ex: "Embargo: 1 Year" = access begins one year ago from today's date.
Search Full Text Finder to find the full text of a publication.
|
Databases: search for articles, datasets, and videos on your topic |
|
|
View Databases by Subject OR All Databases |
|
Search NSUWorks - NSU's Institutional Repository:
Browse or search scholarship in Digital Commons @ NSUWorks!
Find Research Tips and Useful Resources
Oceanographic Campus Library Guides
News, Events, & Training | Writing & Citation Style | Course Guides | Browse by Subject | How-To Guides | LibraryLearn : Short Video Tutorials | Razor's Research Bytes