MSMS 6005, BIOL 3300 - Invertebrate Zoology

The World of Sea Cucumbers by Annie Mercier (Editor); Jean-Francois Hamel (Editor); Andrew Suhrbier (Editor); Christopher Pearce (Editor) The World of Sea Cucumbers: Challenges, Advances, and Innovations provides broad coverage of sea cucumber biology, ecology, fisheries, aquaculture, and trade while also bringing forward novel cultural, socioeconomic and scientific topics related to commercial and non-commercial species worldwide. Written by international experts in their respective fields, the book offers a unique outlook into the fascinating world of sea cucumbers while also providing valuable information to various stakeholders and researchers. Commercial fisheries and aquaculture programs are addressed, especially as they relate to emerging species, but the book also covers novel, understudied or lesser-known biological, ecological, and commercial aspects. The involvement of Indigenous peoples and minorities in various community-level initiatives and on the cultural significance/impact of sea cucumbers in many regions are also examined. Finally, breakthroughs and emerging biotechnologies centered on sea cucumbers are presented.

The Lives of Octopuses and Their Relatives by Danna Staaf An engaging and beautifully illustrated introduction to some of the world's most interesting and charismatic marine creatures Dive deep into the fascinating world of cephalopods--octopuses, squid, cuttlefish, and the mysterious nautilus--to discover the astonishing diversity of this unique group of intelligent invertebrates and their many roles in the marine ecosystem. Organized by marine habitat, this book features an extraordinary range of these clever and colorful creatures from around the world and explores their life cycles, behavior, adaptations, ecology, links to humans, and much more. With stunning photographs and illustrations as well as profiles of selected species, The Lives of Octopuses and Their Relatives is a comprehensive, authoritative, and inviting introduction to the natural history of these charismatic creatures.

Evolutionary Developmental Biology of Invertebrates 1 by Andreas Wanninger (Editor) This multi-author, six-volume work summarizes our current knowledge on the developmental biology of all major invertebrate animal phyla. The main aspects of cleavage, embryogenesis, organogenesis and gene expression are discussed in an evolutionary framework. Each chapter presents an in-depth yet concise overview of both classical and recent literature, supplemented by numerous color illustrations and micrographs of a given animal group. The largely taxon-based chapters are supplemented by essays on topical aspects relevant to modern-day EvoDevo research such as regeneration, embryos in the fossil record, homology in the age of genomics and the role of EvoDevo in the context of reconstructing evolutionary and phylogenetic scenarios. A list of open questions at the end of each chapter may serve as a source of inspiration for the next generation of EvoDevo scientists. Evolutionary Developmental Biology of Invertebrates is a must-have for any scientist, teacher or student interested in developmental and evolutionary biology as well as in general invertebrate zoology. This volume starts off with three chapters that set the stage for the entire work by covering general aspects of EvoDevo research, including its relevance for animal phylogeny, homology issues in the age of developmental genomics, and embryological data in the fossil record. These are followed by taxon-based chapters on the animals that are commonly considered to have branched off the Animal Tree of Life before the evolution of the Bilateria: the Porifera, Placozoa, Cnidaria (with the Myxozoa being treated separately) and Ctenophora. In addition, the Acoelomorpha, Xenoturbellida and Chaetognatha are examined, including their currently hotly debated phylogenetic affinities.  

An Introduction to the Invertebrates by Janet Moore; Raith Overhill (Illustrator) So much has to be crammed into today's biology courses that basic information on animal groups and their evolutionary origins is often left out. This is particularly true for the invertebrates. The second edition of Janet Moore's An Introduction to the Invertebrates fills this gap by providing a short updated guide to the invertebrate phyla, looking at their diverse forms, functions and evolutionary relationships. This book first introduces evolution and modern methods of tracing it, then considers the distinctive body plan of each invertebrate phylum showing what has evolved, how the animals live, and how they develop. Boxes introduce physiological mechanisms and development. The final chapter explains uses of molecular evidence and presents an up-to-date view of evolutionary history, giving a more certain definition of the relationships between invertebrates. This user-friendly and well-illustrated introduction will be invaluable for all those studying invertebrates.

Invertebrates by Richard C. Brusca; Gary J. Brusca; Nancy Haver (Illustrator) Invertebrates, Second Edition presents a modern survey of the 34 animal phyla (plus the Protista) and serves as both a college course text and a reference on invertebrate biology. Thorough and up-to-date, it is organized around the themes of bauplans (body plans) and evolution (phylogenetics). Each phylum is organized in a standardized fashion, treating the systematics, bauplan (support and movement, feeding and digestion, circulation and gas exchange, excretion and osmoregulation, nervous system, reproduction and development), and phylogeny. Detailed classifications, phylogenetic trees, and references for all phyla are provided. Tables summarize each phylum's defining attributes. The text is accompanied by an abundance of detailed line drawings and-new to this edition-color photographs.

A Guide to Common Freshwater Invertebrates of North America by J. Reese Voshell; Amy Bartlett Wright (Illustrator) Popular interest in the observation and study of freshwater invertebrates is increasing. A Guide to Common Freshwater Invertebrates of North America meets the needs of this growing audience of teachers, amateur naturalists, environmentalists, anglers, and others interested in aquatic biology by providing substantive information in non-technical language for about 100 of the most common groups of invertebrates found in the inland waters of North America. Section I of the book provides background on the biology and ecology of freshwater environments and explains why and how this group of organisms can be studied, simply and without complex equipment, in the field and the laboratory. Section II describes nearly 100 of the most common groups of invertebrates, usually at the taxonomic level of order or family. For each group, a whole-body color illustration is provided along with brief text pointing out the most important features to use to identify members of the group. Section III contains expanded descriptions of the life histories, behavior, and ecology of the various invertebrate groups, and identifies their important ecological contributions and relationships to humans. This guide has several strengths: it is broad in scope, geographically and taxonomically; it is written at a substantive yet easily accessible level that will appeal to both general readers and those with more advanced interest in the subject; and it contains numerous high-quality illustrations, including more than 100 specially commissioned color plates by the well-known scientific illustrator Amy Bartlett Wright, which will greatly facilitate the easy and rapid identification of specimens.

Reef Fishes, Corals and Invertebrates of the Caribbean by Elizabeth Wood; Lawson Wood This concise, easy-to-use, full color identification guide explores the extraordinary array of sea life found throughout the reefs of Florida, northern gulf of Mexico, Central America, Caribbean Islands, Windward Islands, Leeward Islands, Netherlands Antilles, and Bermuda.Reef Fishes, Corals and Invertebrates of the Caribbeanwill prove to be an invaluable resource to divers, snorkelers, and underwater photographers who visit this beautiful dive destination.

Pacific Coast Pelagic Invertebrates by David Wrobel; Claudia E. Mills; Hans Bertsch (Editor) This fine monograph is the first all-color photo guide to the jellies, comb jellies, pelagic snails, salps and pyrosomes. This field guide covers animals that are found from Alaska to Baja California, many of which occur in most of the world's seas. A total of 160 species are illustrated with a color photo-95 cnidarians, 28 ctenophers, 23 molluscs and 14 tunicates. The narrative for each species includes a detailed description, geographic range, and natural history. Also included are a glossary, selected references and an index.

Reef Coral Identification 3rd Edition by Paul Humann; Ned DeLoach The Reef Coral Identification Florida Caribbean Bahamas by Paul Humann and Ned DeLoach, originally published in 1993, is the most comprehensive field guide ever compiled for the visual identification of corals and marine plants of the region. The new 3rd edition includes additional photographs documenting new species and growth variations. The expanded text incorporates the most current scientific research, including updated information about the diseases and reproductive behavior of corals.

Reef Creature Identification 3rd Edition by Paul Humann; Ned DeLoach; Les Wilk First published in 1992, this guide has been significantly expanded in a new 3rd edition. The popular, user-friendly field guide, covering all major groups of marine invertebrates encountered by divers on coral reefs and adjacent habitats, has grown to include 900 species beautifully documented with more than 1200 underwater photographs -- nearly doubling the total in the previous editions. Les Wilk has joined Paul Humann and Ned DeLoach authoring the comprehensive new edition.

Seashells of Southern Florida by Rüdiger Bieler; Paula M. Mikkelsen Located where the Atlantic Ocean, Gulf of Mexico, and Caribbean Sea converge, the Florida Keys are distinctive for their rich and varied marine fauna. The Keys are home to nearly sixty taxonomic families of bivalves such as clams and mussels--roughly half the world's bivalve family diversity. The first in a series of three volumes on the molluscan fauna of the Keys and adjacent regions, Seashells of Southern Florida: Bivalves provides a comprehensive treatment of these bivalves, and also serves as a comparative anatomical guide to bivalve diversity worldwide. Paula Mikkelsen and Rüdiger Bieler cover more than three hundred species of bivalves, including clams, scallops, oysters, mussels, shipworms, jewel boxes, tellins, and many lesser-known groups. For each family they select an exemplar species and illustrate its shell and anatomical features in detail. They describe habitat and other relevant information, and accompany each species account with high-resolution shell photographs of other family members. Text and images combine to present species--to family-level characteristics in a complete way never before seen. The book includes fifteen hundred mostly color photographs and images of shells, underwater habitats, bivalves in situ, original anatomical and hinge drawings, scanning electron micrographs, and unique transparent--shell illustrations with major organ systems color-coded and clearly shown. Seashells of Southern Florida: Bivalves is the most complete guide to subtropical bivalves available. It is an essential tool for students and teachers of molluscan diversity and systematics, and an indispensable identification guide for collectors, scuba divers, naturalists, environmental consultants, and natural-resource managers.

Plankton Culture Manual by Frank H. Hoff; Tarry W. Snell "Manual for culturing live food items for aquarists aquaculture students, businesses, and researchers. Includes microalgre, rotifers, artemia, dophila, cloms, amphipods, etc."

Invertebrates by Richard C. Brusca; Wendy Moore; Stephen M. Shuster For each of the 32 recognized phyla, this text presents detailed classifications, revised taxonomic synopses, updated information on general biology and anatomy, and current phylogenetic hypotheses.

Evolution: a Very Short Introduction by Brian Charlesworth Less than 450 years ago, all European scholars believed that the earth was the centre of a universe that was at most a few million miles in extent, and that the planets, sun, and stars all rotated around this centre. Less than 250 years ago, they believed that the universe was created essentially in its present state about 6000 years ago. Less than 150 years ago, the special creation by God of living species was still dominant.The relentless application of the scientific method of inference from experiment and observation, without reference to religious, or governmental authority has completely transformed our view of our origins and relation to the universe, in less than 500 years. Few would dispute that this programme has been spectacularly successful, particularly in the twentieth century.This book is about the crucial role of evolutionary biology in transforming our view of human origins and relation to the universe, and the impact of this idea on traditional philosophy and religion. The purpose of this book is to introduce the general reader to some of the most important basic findings, concepts, and procedures of evolutionary biology, as it has developed since the first publications of Darwin and Wallace on the subject, over 140 years ago. Evolution provides a unifying set of principals for the whole of biology; it also illuminates the relation of human beings to the universe and each other. In addition, many aspects of evolution have practical importance; for instance, the rapid evolution of resistance by bacteria to antibiotics and of HIV to antiviral drugs are pressing medical problems.