MSMS 6005, BIOL 3300 Invertebrate Zoology

Basic invertebrate zoology including introductory anatomy, physiology, phylogeny, and ecology of major animal phyla from protozoa through echinoderms with emphasis on marine organisms. Includes laboratory sessions.

Invertebrate Zoology

Invertebrate Zoology
MSMS 6005, BIOL 3300
Winter 2023

Basic invertebrate zoology including introductory anatomy, physiology, phylogeny, and ecology of major animal phyla from protozoa through echinoderms with emphasis on marine organisms.

Required Textbooks:

Invertebrates by Richard C. Brusca "For each of 32 currently recognized phyla, Invertebrates, Third Edition presents detailed classifications, taxonomic synopses, updated information on general biology and anatomy, and current phylogenetic hypotheses. Chapters are organized around the "new animal phylogeny," along with basic background on invertebrates. Illustrated with abundant line drawings, color photos, boxes, and tables"--
Call Number: QL362 .B924 2016
ISBN: 9781605353753
Publication Date: 2016-01-01
Invertebrates by Richard C. Brusca; Wendy Moore; Stephen M. Shuster For each of the 32 recognised phyla, this book presents detailed classifications, revised taxonomic synopses, updated information on general biology and anatomy, and current phylogenetic hypotheses.In the 12 years between the publication of the second and third editions of this book, fundamental shifts occurred in our understanding of the origins and evolutionary relationships among protists and animals. These changes are largely due to the explosion of molecular phylogenetics and evo-devo research, emergence of the new field of animal genomics, major new fossil discoveries, and important new embryological and ultrastructural studies. As a result, new phyla have been described, and old phyla have been collapsed into others. Phyla once thought to be deuterostomes are now part of the protostome clade, and the Protostomia has been reorganised into two major clades known as Ecdysozoa and Spiralia. Invertebrates, Third Edition integrates these latest developments, organised with boxes and tables and illustrated with abundant line drawings and new colour photos. This benchmark volume on our modern views of invertebrate biology should be in every zoologist's library.New to This Edition Two new coauthors have been added to the writing team, and 22 additional invertebrate zoologists have contributed to chapter revisions.Introductory chapters provide basic background information on the general biology of invertebrates, while subsequent chapters are organised around the "new animal phylogeny"
Call Number: AVAILABLE FOR PURCHASE ONLINE
ISBN: 9781605353753
Publication Date: 2016-01-19

Explain and be able to use basic taxonomic and phylogenetic theory and practice, including application of homology, monophyly and parsimony in reconstructing evolutionary hypotheses
Describe the anatomy, classification, ecology, physiology and life histories of major groups and subgroups if invertebrates, including animal-like "protozoans"
Explain the primary hypotheses associated with major structural advances in the animal kingdom, including multicellularity, germ layer differentiation, and development of body cavities
Identify from preserved and living material the major groups and subgroups of invertebrates, including representatives at familial, generic and specific levels, particularly of forms found in South Florida, as well as important life history stages, distributions and functional adaptations to specific environments
Use and be able to discuss primary literature sources (e.g., peer-reviewed journal publications) on marine invertebrates.

Quick Search

Find Books, Journals, Media:

E-Books | Advanced Search | My Library Account | ILL - Interlibrary Loan

Search Full Text Finder to find the full text of a publication.

If you see an embargo next to a e-journal title: An embargo period is a period of time which an official academic publication is not yet available online, either due to publishing restrictions or subscription contracts. Ex: "Embargo: 1 Year" = access begins one year ago from today's date.

If you have the DOI of an article, you can search for the article using DOI Tools.

Databases: search for articles, datasets, and videos on your topic
View Databases by Subject OR All Databases
	Ocean & Aquatic Science Databases
	Environmental Sciences Databases
	Biology Databases