Criminal Law Field Placement Clinic Resource Guide
The 4th Amendment - Protection Against Unreasonable Search and Seizure
The right of the people to be secure in their persons, houses, papers, and effects, against unreasonable searches and seizures, shall not be violated, and no Warrants shall issue, but upon probable cause, supported by Oath or affirmation, and particularly describing the place to be searched, and the persons or things to be seized.
Understanding the 4th Amendment in Florida
- Florida Search & Seizure (Lexis)Florida Search & Seizure provides a comprehensive examination of Florida and applicable federal law regarding search and seizure issues. Topics addressed include the exclusionary rule and its exceptions, probable cause and reasonable suspicion, search warrants, warrantless searches, motor vehicle stops, and suppression motions and hearings.
- Florida Jurisprudence 2d. Criminal Law - Procedure - Search and Seizure (Westlaw)This legal encyclopedia explains how the 4th Amendment comports with Florida state law. Use the Table of Contents on the left hand side of this page to navigate to areas related to 4th Amendment search and seizure. Illustrations are provided throughout to help readers understand the legal application of each section. Further content includes links to relevant key numbers and supporting case law.
- Trial Handbook for Florida Lawyers § 31:1. Illegally Obtained Evidence, In General (Westlaw)This link directs you to the Florida Trial Handbook for Lawyers on Westlaw. Use the Table of Contents on the left hand side of the page to navigate to areas related to 4th Amendment Search and Seizure. The text on each page gives quick listed summaries of all relevant case law, with links to the cases included in the footnote references.
Search and Seizure (Suggested Treatise)
Search and Seizure is the only book of its kind written by an active trial lawyer for other active trial lawyers and judges. Clearly written and comprehensive in scope, Search and Seizure offers expert insight on such issues as reasonable expectation of privacy, consent, and probable cause, as well as current guidelines governing search and seizure in such specific circumstances as vehicles, professional offices, and airports. It contains practice pointers throughout the text, concise summaries of the standards of governing a particular rule of search and seizure law, and numerous checklists you can use to debrief a client or prepare for a suppression motion and hearing. Extensive case citations illustrate the applications of the Fourth Amendment and, in every case, describe precisely the exact location of the quotes within a case.
Search and Seizure: Volume 1 by Call Number: Available via Lexis DigitalISBN: 9780769888453Publication Date: 10-07-2022
Search and Seizure: Volume 2 by Call Number: Available via Lexis DigitalISBN: 9780769888453Publication Date: 10-07-2022
Audiobooks
Sum and Substance on Criminal Procedure (Audio Book) by Publication Date: 2022This audio lecture covers the most important issues raised in a constitutional criminal procedure course relating to police practices. The lecture focuses on the Fourth, Fifth, Sixth, and Fourteenth Amendments and covers many issues, such as the meanings of the Fourth Amendment terms “search,” “seizure,” and “probable cause,” analysis of the exceptions to the search warrant requirement, and the doctrines of standing and the exclusionary rule. The lecture also covers police interrogation law as covered by the due process, self-incrimination, and right to counsel provisions of the Constitution, as well as the landmark Miranda v. Arizona decision.
Principles of Criminal Procedure. Chapter 2. Arrest, Search, and Seizure (Audiobook) by Call Number: Available via West Academic.This audiobook examines various investigative procedures, including search and seizure, entrapment, interrogation, lineup and photo identification, and describes the scope and administration of exclusionary rules relating to those procedures. The book link included here directs you to Chapter 2. Arrest, Search and Seizure.
