BMME 5600 Training in Standard Molecular Biology Methods: Find Books
The primary goal of this course is to provide hands on experience in carrying out basic molecular biology/genetics protocols. Proper manipulation of nucleic acids (DNA, RNA) precedes sophisticated in-depth analyses such as genome sequencing, qPCR or cloni
Featured Resources
Advanced Methods in Molecular Biology and Biotechnology by
Advanced Methods in Molecular Biology and Biotechnology: A Practical Lab Manual is a concise reference on common protocols and techniques for advanced molecular biology and biotechnology experimentation. Each chapter focuses on a different method, providing an overview before delving deeper into the procedure in a step-by-step approach. Techniques covered include genomic DNA extraction using cetyl trimethylammonium bromide (CTAB) and chloroform extraction, chromatographic techniques, ELISA, hybridization, gel electrophoresis, dot blot analysis and methods for studying polymerase chain reactions. Laboratory protocols and standard operating procedures for key equipment are also discussed, providing an instructive overview for lab work. This practical guide focuses on the latest advances and innovations in methods for molecular biology and biotechnology investigation, helping researchers and practitioners enhance and advance their own methodologies and take their work to the next level. Explores a wide range of advanced methods that can be applied by researchers in molecular biology and biotechnology Features clear, step-by-step instruction for applying the techniques covered Offers an introduction to laboratory protocols and recommendations for best practice when conducting experimental work, including standard operating procedures for key equipment
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780128244500Publication Date: 2020-10-28
Molecular Biology Techniques by
Molecular Biology Techniques: A Classroom Laboratory Manual, Fourth Edition is a must-have collection of methods and procedures on how to create a single, continuous, comprehensive project that teaches students basic molecular techniques. It is an indispensable tool for introducing advanced undergraduates and beginning graduate students to the techniques of recombinant DNA technology--or gene cloning and expression. The techniques used in basic research and biotechnology laboratories are covered in detail. Students will gain hands-on experience on subcloning a gene into an expression vector straight through to the purification of the recombinant protein. Presents student-tested labs proven successful in real classroom laboratories Includes a test bank on a companion website for additional testing and practice Provides exercises that simulate a cloning project that would be performed in a real research lab Includes a prep-list appendix that contains necessary recipes and catalog numbers, providing staff with detailed instructions
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780128157756Publication Date: 2019-03-05
Protocols Used in Molecular Biology by
Protocols used in Molecular Biology is a compilation of several examples of molecular biology protocols. Each example is presented with a concise introduction, materials and chemicals required, a step-by-step procedure and troubleshooting tips. Information about the applications of the protocols is also provided. The techniques included in this book are essential to research in the fields of proteomics, genomics, cell culture, epigenetic modification and structural biology. The protocols can also be used by clinical researchers (neuroscientists and oncologists, for example) for medical applications (diagnostics, therapeutics and multidisciplinary projects). Techniques explained in this reference include: - Nucleic Acid (DNA/RNA) isolation - Next-generation sequencing through real time PCR - Western Blotting - 2-D gel electrophoresis - Immunohistochemistry - Chromatin immunoprecipitation (ChIP) - Live cell-culture techniques - Golgi Staining Key Features: - Recent laboratory protocols - Diverse examples of molecular biology experiments - Simple step-by-step presentation of information - Special focus on scientific and clinical applications Protocols used in Molecular Biology is essential reading for academicians, molecular biologists, as well as graduate and undergraduate students studying basic and applied research. Pharmacologists, and medical researchers can also benefit from the wide array of techniques presented in the book.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9789811439315Publication Date: 2020-01-23
Research Methodology by
Designed with students, for students Eight steps, two pathways, one book. The Fifth Edition of the bestseller Research Methodology has reimagined, redesigned, and fully renovated how a textbook can help students achieve success in their methods course or research project. Eight steps: Foolproof for any beginner researcher, the book breaks the process of designing and doing a research project into achievable stages. It delivers students from research problem to their written research report at the pace they need, with clear explanations, DIY tasks and study skills support. In a new landscape format it presents figures, models and visualizations elegantly, so they don′t break over a page, making even complex concepts easier to understand. Two pathways: With an innovative, beautiful design, regular progress checkpoints have been built into the book and its online resources. As students proceed through the 8 steps, each chapter provides regular opportunities for students to check understanding or give themselves a challenge. Each pathway then gives them the resources they need. Confused? Stop, practise with quizzes and flashcards, or use a video to look at a concept a different way. Up for a challenge? Access a wealth of additional material including research articles, readings, case studies, activities, bibliography tools and inspiration to pursue your curiosity, impress your lecturer, and nail your assignments. With this one book, every student gets what they need to succeed. It is the perfect essential text for students and beginner researchers across the social sciences.
Call Number: H62 .K84 2019ISBN: 9781526449894Publication Date: 2019-02-15
Molecular Biology & Scientific Method Books & E-Books
Marine Microbiology by
Marine micro-organisms play a vital role in the maintenance of our planet, a fact which will have great bearing on our ability to respond to problems such as population increase, over-exploitation of fisheries, climate change and population. Powerful new tools, especially in molecular biology, remote sending and deep-sea exploration, have led to astonishing discoveries of the abundance and diversity of marine microbial life and its role in global ecology. New tools and an increased interest in ecological factors have caused an upsurge of interest in this field of study. The book aims to convey the fascinating discoveries and great importance of this fast moving discipline to the student. Marine Microbiology is divided into three sections: the first reviews the main features of the marine environment and key aspects of marine microbial life; the second looks at the role of marine microorganisms in ecology, and the final section considers some of the applications of this knowledge, looking into areas such as disease and biodegradation.
Call Number: QR106 .M86 2004ISBN: 9781859962886Publication Date: 2003-12-31
Molecular Biology of RNA by
RNA plays a central, and until recently, somewhat underestimated role in the genetics underlying all forms of life on earth. This versatile molecule not only plays a crucial part in the synthesis of proteins from a DNA template, but is also intrinsically involved in the regulation of gene expression, and can even act as a catalyst in the form of a ribozyme. This latter property has led to the hypothesis that RNA - rather than DNA - could have played an essential part in the origin of life itself. This landmark text provides a systematic overview of the exciting and rapidly moving field of RNA biology. Key pioneering experiments, which provided the underlying evidence for what we now know, are described throughout, while the relevance of the subject to human disease is highlighted via frequent boxes. For the second edition of Molecular Biology of RNA, more introductory material has been incorporated at the beginning of the text, to aid students studying the subject for the first time. Throughout the text, new material has been included - particularly in relation to RNA binding domains, non-coding RNAs, and the connection between RNA biology and epigenetics. Finally, a new closing chapter discusses how exciting new technologies are being used to explore current topical areas of research.
Call Number: QP623 .E45 2016ISBN: 9780199671397Publication Date: 2016-01-02
Scientific Method in Brief by Call Number: Q175 .G3368 2012ISBN: 9781107666726Publication Date: 2012-09-06
Scientific Method for Ecological Research by Call Number: QH541.2 .F66 2000ISBN: 052166005XPublication Date: 2000-04-13
Research Methods, Statistics, and Applications by Call Number: Q180.55.S7 A33 2015ISBN: 9781452220185Publication Date: 2014-02-04
Scientific Method in Practice by
As the gateway to scientific thinking, an understanding of the scientific method is essential for success and productivity in science. This book is the first synthesis of the practice and the philosophy of the scientific method. It will enable scientists to be better scientists by offering them a deeper understanding of the underpinnings of the scientific method, thereby leading to more productive research and experimentation. It will also give scientists a more accurate perspective on the rationality of the scientific approach and its role in society. Beginning with a discussion of today's 'science wars' and science's presuppositions, the book then explores deductive and inductive logic, probability, statistics, and parsimony, and concludes with an examination of science's powers and limits, and a look at science education. Topics relevant to a variety of disciplines are treated, and clarifying figures, case studies, and chapter summaries enhance the pedagogy. This adeptly executed, comprehensive, yet pragmatic work yields a new synergy suitable for scientists and instructors, and graduate students and advanced undergraduates.
Call Number: Q175 .G337 2002ISBN: 0521816890Publication Date: 2002-12-12
Statistics and Scientific Method by
Most introductory statistics text-books are written either in a highly mathematical style for an intended readership of mathematics undergraduate students, or in a recipe-book style for an intended audience of non-mathematically inclined undergraduate or postgraduate students, typically in asingle discipline; hence, "statistics for biologists", "statistics for psychologists", and so on.An antidote to technique-oriented service courses, this book is different. It studiously avoids the recipe-book style and keeps algebraic details of specific statistical methods to the minimum extent necessary to understand the underlying concepts. Instead, the text aims to give the reader a clearunderstanding of how core statistical ideas of experimental design, modelling and data analysis are integral to the scientific method. Aimed primarily at beginning postgraduate students across a range of scientific disciplines (albeit with a bias towards the biological, environmental and health sciences), it therefore assumes some maturity of understanding of scientific method, but does not require any prior knowledge ofstatistics, or any mathematical knowledge beyond basic algebra and a willingness to come to terms with mathematical notation.Any statistical analysis of a realistically sized data-set requires the use of specially written computer software. An Appendix introduces the reader to our open-source software of choice, R, whilst the book's web-page includes downloadable data and R code that enables the reader to reproduce all ofthe analyses in the book and, with easy modifications, to adapt the code to analyse their own data if they wish. However, the book is not intended to be a textbook on statistical computing, and all of the material in the book can be understood without using either R or any other computersoftware.
Call Number: Q180.55.S7 D54 2011ISBN: 9780199543199Publication Date: 2011-09-30
Ensuring Research Integrity and the Ethical Management of Data by
Data management technology is rapidly progressing, and with it comes the need for stricter rules that ensure the information being collected is handled appropriately. Ensuring Research Integrity and the Ethical Management of Data is an essential resource that examines the best approaches for providing quality research, as well as how to effectively manage that information in a reputable way. Featuring extensive research on relevant topics such as qualitative data collection, data sharing, data misinterpretation, and intellectual property, this scholarly publication is an ideal reference source for academicians, students, and researchers interested in current trends and techniques in ethical research and data management. Topics Covered: The many academic areas covered in this publication include, but are not limited to: Data Misinterpretation Data Privacy Data Reporting Data Sharing Intellectual Property Peer Review Process Qualitative Data Collection Quantitative Data Processing
Call Number: Q180.55.M67 E56 2018ISBN: 9781522527305Publication Date: 2018-01-31
Principles of Scientific Research by
Students and researchers need more information than ever on STEM content and the practice of science. Unlike any other resource, this new title delves into the world of scientific research, to give high school and undergraduate students a better understanding of concepts and theories behind scientific research across all disciplines. These easy-to-understand articles will provide students and teachers with instructional articles about each topic and provide a context for application and incorporation into their own scientific practices.
Call Number: Q126.9 .P723 2017ISBN: 9781682176092Publication Date: 2017-11-08
Know Your Variables by
Know Your Variables unlocks the gate to simple data analysis for any stats course. Packed with lively examples it shows students what variables are and why looking for relationships between them is so interesting and so powerful.Little Quick Fix titles provide quick but authoritative answers to the problems, hurdles, and assessment points students face in the research course, project proposal, or design - whatever their methods learning is. Lively, ultra-modern design; full-colour, each page a tailored design. An hour′s read. Easy to dip in and out of with clear navigation enables the reader to find what she needs - quick. Direct written style gets to the point with clear language. Nothing needs to be read twice. No fluff. Learning is reinforced through a 2-minute overview summary; 3-second summaries with super-quick Q&A DIY tasks create a work plan to accomplish a task, do a self-check quiz, solve a problem, get students to what they need to show their supervisor. Checkpoints in each section make sure students are nailing it as they go and support self-directed learning. How do I know I'm done? Each Little Quick Fix wraps up with a finale checklist that allows the reader to self-assess they've got what they need to progress, submit, or ace the test or task.
Call Number: Q180.55.M38 M33 2019ISBN: 9781526458841Publication Date: 2019-01-16
- Molecular Biology Techniques by
Molecular Biology Techniques: A Classroom Laboratory Manual, Fourth Edition is a must-have collection of methods and procedures on how to create a single, continuous, comprehensive project that teaches students basic molecular techniques. It is an indispensable tool for introducing advanced undergraduates and beginning graduate students to the techniques of recombinant DNA technology--or gene cloning and expression. The techniques used in basic research and biotechnology laboratories are covered in detail. Students will gain hands-on experience on subcloning a gene into an expression vector straight through to the purification of the recombinant protein. Presents student-tested labs proven successful in real classroom laboratories Includes a test bank on a companion website for additional testing and practice Provides exercises that simulate a cloning project that would be performed in a real research lab Includes a prep-list appendix that contains necessary recipes and catalog numbers, providing staff with detailed instructions
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780128157756Publication Date: 2019-03-05
Marine Microbiology by
Deliberately breaking with the classical biology-centered description of marine organisms and their products, this reference emphasizes microbial technology over basic biology, setting it apart from its predecessors. As such, it systematically covers the technology behind high-value compounds for use as pharmaceuticals, nutraceuticals or cosmetics, from prospecting to production issues. Following a definition of the field, the book goes on to address all industrially important aspects of marine microbial biotechnology. The first main part contains a description of the major production organisms, from archaebacteria to cyanobacteria to algae and symbionts, including their genetic engineering. The remaining four parts look at commercially important compounds produced by these microorganisms together with their applications. Throughout, the emphasis is on technological considerations, and the future potential of these organisms or compound classes is discussed. A valuable and forward-looking resource for innovative biotechnologists in industry as well as in academia.
Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9783527665280Publication Date: 2013-06-05
Research Methodology by
This book offers a design research methodology intended to improve the quality of design research- its academic credibility, industrial significance and societal contribution by enabling more thorough, efficient and effective procedures.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781351013253Publication Date: 2019-02-12
The Whys of a Scientific Life by
The first in the Focus Series on Global Science Education,The Whys of a Scientific Lifeexamines why scientists do what they do. Working from a diverse background in scientific research, including academic departments of physics and chemistry, as well as the scientific civil service, the author describes the choices scientists make. Fundamentally, a scientist asks questions based on curiosity. In addition, the environment is very important. By influencing their elected governments, society itself shapes the scientific research that is undertaken by scientists. This book follows on naturally from the author's last book, Skills for a Scientific Life, which is a how-to guide for scientists and those that aspire to engage in science as a career. Key Features: User friendly and concise, this text dissects the whys of science and discovery The author has outstanding experience in mentoring science students and staff, and also in outreach activities for the public and students of all ages including schools The final chapter emphasises the joys of the scientist in research
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780429752803Publication Date: 2018-10-03
Isaac Newton's Scientific Method by Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780199570409Publication Date: 2012-02-20
Optimal Experimental Design with R by Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781439816974Publication Date: 2011-05-18
Experimental Design and Data Analysis for Biologists by
An essential textbook for any student or researcher in biology needing to design experiments, sample programs or analyse the resulting data. The text begins with a revision of estimation and hypothesis testing methods, covering both classical and Bayesian philosophies, before advancing to the analysis of linear and generalized linear models. Topics covered include linear and logistic regression, simple and complex ANOVA models (for factorial, nested, block, split-plot and repeated measures and covariance designs), and log-linear models. Multivariate techniques, including classification and ordination, are then introduced. Special emphasis is placed on checking assumptions, exploratory data analysis and presentation of results. The main analyses are illustrated with many examples from published papers and there is an extensive reference list to both the statistical and biological literature. The book is supported by a website that provides all data sets, questions for each chapter and links to software.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 0521811287Publication Date: 2002-03-21
A Practical Guide to Scientific Data Analysis by Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780470851531Publication Date: 2009-12-21
Understanding Research Methods by
A perennial bestseller since 1997, this updated tenth edition of Understanding Research Methods provides a detailed overview of all the important concepts traditionally covered in a research methods class. It covers the principles of both qualitative and quantitative research, and how to interpret statistics without computations, so is suitable for all students regardless of their math background. The book is organized so that each concept is treated independently and can be used in any order without resulting in gaps in knowledge#65533;allowing it to be easily and precisely adapted to any course. It uses lively examples on contemporary topics to stimulate students#65533; interest, and engages them by showing the relevance of research methods to their everyday lives. Numerous case studies and end-of-section exercises help students master the material and encourage classroom discussion. The text is divided into short, independent topic sections, making it easy for you to adapt the material to your own teaching needs and customize assignments to the aspect of qualitative or quantitative methods under study#65533;helping to improve students#65533; comprehension and retention of difficult concepts. Additional online PowerPoint slides and test bank questions make this a complete resource for introducing students to research methods. #65533; New to this edition: New topic section on design decisions in research Additional material on production of knowledge and research methods Significant development of material on ethical considerations in research Fresh and contemporary examples from a wide variety of real, published research Topic-specific exercises at the end of each section now include suggestions for further steps researchers can take as they build their research project.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 0415790522Publication Date: 2017-07-20- Principles of Scientific Research by
Provides students and researchers with an easy-to-understand introduction to the fundamentals of scientific research. Students and researchers need more information than ever on STEM content and the practice of science. Unlike any other resource, this new title delves into the world of scientific research, to give high school and undergraduate students a better understanding of concepts and theories behind scientific research across all disciplines. These easy-to-understand articles will provide students and teachers with instructional articles about each topic and provide a context for application and incorporation into their own scientific practices. More than 100 entries explain these theories and concepts in easy-to-understand language, so readers come away with a better understanding of each topic and can then put that information to use. Entries are arranged under three broad categories, and include: Statistics Methodologies includes Linear & Non-Linear Relationships, Correlational Modeling, Histograms, Significance Levels, Chi-Squared Test and more. Research Methodologies illustrates ideas in Case Study Research, Completely Randomized Designs, Ethnography, Multiple Case Study, Split Plot Type Designs, Time-Series Designs, Cluster Sampling, and more. Theoretics of Research outlines theories of Comparative Research, Deductive Reasoning, Descriptive Research, Explanatory Research, Inductive Reasoning, Objectivity, Quantitative Research, and others. These informative entries will inform and educate high school and undergraduate students on the fundamentals of research methods, practice and theory. This new volume will be a must-have source for high school and undergraduate libraries and science collections at all levels.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781682176092Publication Date: 2017-08-01
Scientific Methods Used in Research and Writing by
Research publications, projects, and teaching learning theories have become very important to universities, institutions, organizations, and industries. Many submissions are rejected due to author's lack of writing and research skills. This new book provides a quick, basic starting point to learning the needed skills. The book discusses the statistical methods involved, covers the development of academic writing skills for a higher impact, teaches learning theories, and uses a structured and holistic approach for educational research proposal development. This book will be used by research scholars, undergraduates, postgraduates, and anyone interested in engineering and learning the basic academic writing skills and scientific methods needed.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781000299656Publication Date: 2020-12-01
Principles of Scientific Methods by
Principles of Scientific Methods focuses on the fundamental principles behind scientific methods. The book refers to "science" in a broad sense, including natural science, physics, mathematics, statistics, social science, political science, and engineering science. A principle is often abstract and has broad applicability while a method is usually
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781482238105Publication Date: 2016-04-19
Find Books, Journals, Media:
E-Books | Advanced Search | My Library Account | ILL - Interlibrary Loan |