Special Topics in Marine and Environmental Science
Resources for Marine and Environmental Science Special Topics or Independent Study courses
Elements & Heavy Metals - Books & E-Books
The Handbook of Trace Elements by
Compiled by two of the world's experts in the field, The Handbook of Trace Elements brings together into a single source a complete listing of the trace elements found in both naturally occurring and manmade substances in the environment. The book provides a thorough description by element for 41 trace elements, transition metals, and micronutrients found in Earth's crust, soil, water, plants, animals, and humans. Elucidating the ecological impact of industrial waste and health problems in animals and humans, this widely accessible resource continues to provide a reliable reference for researchers, scientists, and other professionals engaged in the study of trace elements.
Call Number: QP534 .P349 1997ISBN: 1884015344Publication Date: 1997-04-24
Trace Elements in Abiotic and Biotic Environments by
Trace Elements in Abiotic and Biotic Environments helps readers understand the fundamental principles and phenomena that control the transfer of trace elements. This book describes the occurrence and behavior of trace elements in rocks, soil, water, air, and plants, and also discusses the anthropogenic impact to the environment. In addition, it covers the presence of trace elements in feeds, as either contaminants or as nutritional or zootechnical additives, and their transfer across the food chain to humans. Also discussed is international legislation on trace elements for both micronutrients and contaminants in soil and plant food. A special focus is placed on the human health effects of both trace element deficiency and excess. All trace elements are covered--from aluminum to zirconium--as well as rare-earth elements (actinides and lanthanides).
Call Number: QD139.T7 K33 2015ISBN: 9781482212792Publication Date: 2015-04-07
Practical Handbook of Estuarine and Marine Pollution by
This extensive handbook presents up-to-date coverage of significant developments in estuarine and marine pollution. Multidisciplinary in approach, Practical Handbook of Estuarine and Marine Pollution is an essential resource for anyone involved in the study or management of coastal and marine pollution problems. The book examines in detail anthropogenic effects on estuarine and marine ecosystems from local, regional, and global perspectives. A truly international collection of data is presented in an organized framework on a wide range of subject areas, including eutrophication, organic loading, oil pollution, polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons, halogenated hydrocarbons, trace metals, radioactive waste, dredging and dredged-spoil disposal, and effects of electric generating stations. Whether you are a student, a scientist, a policy maker, or an administrator, you no longer need to spend countless hours rounding up information and data - Practical Handbook of Estuarine and Marine Pollution has already done it for you.
Call Number: GC1085 .K46 2019ISBN: 9780367401191Publication Date: 2019-10-07
Inorganic Contaminants and Radionuclides by
Inorganic Contaminants and Radionuclides is a single reference covering common inorganic contaminants in detail, including their distribution in the environment, challenges linked to management, geogenic sources, anthropogenic sources, exposure and effects, international agreements and legislation relating to the contaminant, remediation options and global case studies. In addition, the book provides summaries of contaminated sites and key details about contaminants to present a more comprehensive understanding and improve remediation and management practices. The book's clear, consistent organization makes it a valuable resource for researchers, students and practitioners working in environmental science, environmental management and environmental engineering. One of the major constraints to assessing and remediating contaminated sites is the lack of awareness of the extent and severity of contaminated sites amongst the community, regulators, policymakers, industry operators, university graduates and environmental managers. This book helps to manage these constraints.
Call Number: TD196.R3I56 2024ISBN: 9780323904001Publication Date: 2023-10-23
Inorganic Contaminants and Radionuclides by
Inorganic Contaminants and Radionuclides is a single reference covering common inorganic contaminants in detail, including their distribution in the environment, challenges linked to management, geogenic sources, anthropogenic sources, exposure and effects, international agreements and legislation relating to the contaminant, remediation options and global case studies. In addition, the book provides summaries of contaminated sites and key details about contaminants to present a more comprehensive understanding and improve remediation and management practices. The book's clear, consistent organization makes it a valuable resource for researchers, students and practitioners working in environmental science, environmental management and environmental engineering. One of the major constraints to assessing and remediating contaminated sites is the lack of awareness of the extent and severity of contaminated sites amongst the community, regulators, policymakers, industry operators, university graduates and environmental managers. This book helps to manage these constraints. Provides a one-stop reference on the nature and properties of inorganic contaminants, including a transdisciplinary approach to managing contaminated sites Includes global case studies covering contaminated site assessment, management and remediation Presents in-depth research and data on specific contaminants, with a separate chapter for each contaminant
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780323906852Publication Date: 2023-10-17
Trace Elements in Abiotic and Biotic Environments by
This book helps readers understand the fundamental principles and phenomena that control the transfer of trace elements. It describes the occurrence and behavior of trace elements in rocks, soil, water, air, and plants, and also discusses the anthropogenic impact to the environment. In addition, the book covers the presence of trace elements in feeds, as either contaminants or as nutritional or zootechnical additives, and their transfer across the food chain to humans. All trace elements are covered-from aluminum to zirconium-as well as rare-earth elements (actinides and lanthanides).
Call Number: EBOOK (Ebsco)ISBN: 9781482212815Publication Date: 2015-04-07
Trace Elements in Abiotic and Biotic Environments by
This book helps readers understand the fundamental principles and phenomena that control the transfer of trace elements. It describes the occurrence and behavior of trace elements in rocks, soil, water, air, and plants, and also discusses the anthropogenic impact to the environment. In addition, the book covers the presence of trace elements in feeds, as either contaminants or as nutritional or zootechnical additives, and their transfer across the food chain to humans. All trace elements are covered-from aluminum to zirconium-as well as rare-earth elements (actinides and lanthanides).
Call Number: EBOOK (Proquest)ISBN: 9781000218978Publication Date: 2015-04-07
Practical Handbook of Estuarine and Marine Pollution by
This extensive handbook presents up-to-date coverage of significant developments in estuarine and marine pollution. Multidisciplinary in approach, Practical Handbook of Estuarine and Marine Pollution is an essential resource for anyone involved in the study or management of coastal and marine pollution problems. The book examines in detail anthropogenic effects on estuarine and marine ecosystems from local, regional, and global perspectives. A truly international collection of data is presented in an organized framework on a wide range of subject areas, including eutrophication, organic loading, oil pollution, polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons, halogenated hydrocarbons, trace metals, radioactive waste, dredging and dredged-spoil disposal, and effects of electric generating stations. Whether you are a student, a scientist, a policy maker, or an administrator, you no longer need to spend countless hours rounding up information and data - Practical Handbook of Estuarine and Marine Pollution has already done it for you.
Call Number: EBOOK (Taylor & Francis)ISBN: 9780203742488Publication Date: 2017-12-14
Find Books, Journals, Media:
E-Books | Advanced Search | My Library Account | ILL - Interlibrary Loan |
NSU Oceanographic Campus Library, 8000 North Ocean Drive, Dania Beach, Florida 33004
(954) 262-3699 | oclibrary@nova.edu | Hours | NSU Libraries