Special Topics in Marine and Environmental Science
Resources for Marine and Environmental Science Special Topics or Independent Study courses
Organic Contaminants & POPs - Books and eBooks
Organic Pollutants in the Geosphere by
This third volume focusses on anthropogenic organic pollutants harming the environment. Their structural diversity and fate in the environment, their effects and relevance are presented. For such a flexible usage this textbook series 'Fundamentals in Organic Geochemistry' consists of different volumes with clear defined aspects and with manageable length. Organic Geochemistry is a modern scientific subject characterized by a high transdisciplinarity and located at the edge of chemistry, environmental sciences, geology and biology. Therefore, there is a need for a flexible offer of appropriate academic teaching material on an undergraduate level addressed to the variety of students coming originally from different study disciplines.
Call Number: TD177.S39 2018ISBN: 9783319689371Publication Date: 2018-01-22
The Fate of Persistent Organic Pollutants in the Environment by
Persistent organic pollutants (POPs) are organic compounds of natural or anthropogenic origin that resist photolytic, chemical and biological degradation. They are characterized by low water solubility and high lipid solubility, resulting in bioaccumulation in fatty tissues of living organisms. These properties of unusual high persistence and semi-volatility, coupled with other characteristics, have resulted in the presence of POPs all over the world, even in regions where they have never been used. With the evidence of long-range transport of these substances to regions, the international community has now, at several occasions called for urgent global actions to reduce and eliminate releases of these chemicals. Many countries have already banned or severely restricted the production and use of the twelve POPs in recent decades. Yet they remain a serious problem around the world. Because these chemicals have the ability to travel long distances from their original sources, relying on national-level action alone is ultimately a futile effort. This book employs a science-based approach to identify and take action against POPs, and additionally, provides access to technical information on POPs. The book will be an overview of the existing POP monitoring activities and programs.
Call Number: TD196.O73 N38 2007ISBN: 9781402066412Publication Date: 2007-11-21
Pollution: Causes, Effects, and Control by
Twenty years on from the first edition of Pollution and the topic remains high in the public awareness. Environmental pollution is now a major area of research, consultancy and technological development and is a priority for the political agendas of both the developed and developing worlds. The fifth edition of this book is fully updated, and includes an entirely new chapter on Climate Change, presenting an authoritative view on this topic. Chapters in fast moving areas have been completely revised and several newcomers have joined the original set of authors. This popular book has proved invaluable as a teaching resource for two decades and is frequently used as a reference by practitioners in the field. Readers of earlier editions will benefit from updates on technologies such as nanoscience, and the legislative changes that have occurred since the fourth edition in 2001.
Call Number: TD174 .P673 2014ISBN: 9781849736480Publication Date: 2013-11-01
Practical Handbook of Estuarine and Marine Pollution by
This extensive handbook presents up-to-date coverage of significant developments in estuarine and marine pollution. Multidisciplinary in approach, Practical Handbook of Estuarine and Marine Pollution is an essential resource for anyone involved in the study or management of coastal and marine pollution problems. The book examines in detail anthropogenic effects on estuarine and marine ecosystems from local, regional, and global perspectives. A truly international collection of data is presented in an organized framework on a wide range of subject areas, including eutrophication, organic loading, oil pollution, polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons, halogenated hydrocarbons, trace metals, radioactive waste, dredging and dredged-spoil disposal, and effects of electric generating stations. Whether you are a student, a scientist, a policy maker, or an administrator, you no longer need to spend countless hours rounding up information and data - Practical Handbook of Estuarine and Marine Pollution has already done it for you.
Call Number: GC1085 .K46 2019ISBN: 9780367401191Publication Date: 2019-10-07
Organic Pollutants in the Geosphere by
This third volume focusses on anthropogenic organic pollutants harming the environment. Their structural diversity and fate in the environment, their effects and relevance are presented. For such a flexible usage this textbook series 'Fundamentals in Organic Geochemistry' consists of different volumes with clear defined aspects and with manageable length. Organic Geochemistry is a modern scientific subject characterized by a high transdisciplinarity and located at the edge of chemistry, environmental sciences, geology and biology. Therefore, there is a need for a flexible offer of appropriate academic teaching material on an undergraduate level addressed to the variety of students coming originally from different study disciplines.
Call Number: EBOOKISBN: 9783319886862Publication Date: 2019-06-04
The Fate of Persistent Organic Pollutants in the Environment by
Persistent organic pollutants (POPs) are organic compounds of natural or anthropogenic origin that resist photolytic, chemical and biological degradation. They are characterized by low water solubility and high lipid solubility, resulting in bioaccumulation in fatty tissues of living organisms. These properties of unusual high persistence and semi-volatility, coupled with other characteristics, have resulted in the presence of POPs all over the world, even in regions where they have never been used. With the evidence of long-range transport of these substances to regions, the international community has now, at several occasions called for urgent global actions to reduce and eliminate releases of these chemicals. Many countries have already banned or severely restricted the production and use of the twelve POPs in recent decades. Yet they remain a serious problem around the world. Because these chemicals have the ability to travel long distances from their original sources, relying on national-level action alone is ultimately a futile effort. This book employs a science-based approach to identify and take action against POPs, and additionally, provides access to technical information on POPs. The book will be an overview of the existing POP monitoring activities and programs.
Call Number: EBOOKISBN: 9781402066429Publication Date: 2007-12-14
Pollution: Causes, Effects, and Control by
Twenty years on from the first edition of Pollutionand the topic remains high in the public awareness. Environmental pollution is now a major area of research, consultancy and technological development and is a priority for the political agendas of both the developed and developing worlds. The fifth edition of this book is fully updated, and includes an entirely new chapter on Climate Change, presenting an authoritative view on this topic. Chapters in fast moving areas have been completely revised and several newcomers have joined the original set of authors. This popular book has proved invaluable as a teaching resource for two decades and is frequently used as a reference by practitioners in the field. Readers of earlier editions will benefit from updates on technologies such as nanoscience, and the legislative changes that have occurred since the fourth edition in 2001.
Call Number: EBOOKISBN: 9781782625605Publication Date: 2015-11-09
Practical Handbook of Estuarine and Marine Pollution by
This extensive handbook presents up-to-date coverage of significant developments in estuarine and marine pollution. Multidisciplinary in approach, Practical Handbook of Estuarine and Marine Pollution is an essential resource for anyone involved in the study or management of coastal and marine pollution problems. The book examines in detail anthropogenic effects on estuarine and marine ecosystems from local, regional, and global perspectives. A truly international collection of data is presented in an organized framework on a wide range of subject areas, including eutrophication, organic loading, oil pollution, polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons, halogenated hydrocarbons, trace metals, radioactive waste, dredging and dredged-spoil disposal, and effects of electric generating stations. Whether you are a student, a scientist, a policy maker, or an administrator, you no longer need to spend countless hours rounding up information and data - Practical Handbook of Estuarine and Marine Pollution has already done it for you.
Call Number: EBOOK (Taylor & Francis)ISBN: 9780203742488Publication Date: 2017-12-14
Find Books, Journals, Media:
E-Books | Advanced Search | My Library Account | ILL - Interlibrary Loan |
NSU Oceanographic Campus Library, 8000 North Ocean Drive, Dania Beach, Florida 33004
(954) 262-3699 | oclibrary@nova.edu | Hours | NSU Libraries