Special Topics in Marine and Environmental Science
Resources for Marine and Environmental Science Special Topics or Independent Study courses
Special Topics - Marine Ecosystem Field Techniques
MBIO 4900C
Fall 2024
Course Description:
Marine Ecosystem Field Techniques exposes the student to the variety of ways to collect field data from several marine ecosystems, learn to prepare for and record these data, create a database using Microsoft Excel and Access, and learn how to organize their data for analysis using the statistical package R. Students will learn how to create a study design, employ it in the field while adjusting to conditions, and prepare their data for analysis. Students will learn how to utilize a variety of instruments to collect data. Students are required to work outdoors in various weather conditions as well as in the lab. Students will have an understanding of how to design and undertake field collections, organize their data, and begin statistical analyses.
Mammalogy Techniques Lab Manual by
Get outside! A hands-on lab manual for instructors incorporating fieldwork into their courses on mammalogy. Mammals inhabit nearly every continent and every sea. They have adapted to life underground, in the frozen Arctic, the hottest deserts, and every habitat in-between. In Mammalogy Techniques Lab Manual--the only field manual devoted to training the next generation of mammalogists--biologist and educator James M. Ryan details the modern research techniques today's professionals use to study mammals wherever they are found. Ideal for any mammalogy or wildlife biology course, this clear and practical guide aids students by getting them outside to study mammals in their natural environments. Twenty comprehensive chapters cover skull and tooth identification, radio and satellite GPS tracking, phylogeny construction, mark and recapture techniques, camera trapping, museum specimen preparation, optimal foraging, and DNA extraction, among other topics. Each chapter includes several exercises with step-by-step instructions for students to collect and analyze their own data, along with background information, downloadable sample data sets (to use when it is not practical to be out in the field), and detailed descriptions of useful open-source software tools. This pragmatic resource provides students with real-world experience practicing the complex techniques used by modern wildlife biologists. With more than 60 applied exercises to choose from in this unique manual, students will quickly acquire the scientific skills essential for a career working with mammals.
Call Number: QL703 .R93 2018ISBN: 9781421426075Publication Date: 2018-10-30
Marine Mammal Ecotoxicology by
Marine Mammal Ecotoxicology: Impacts of Multiple Stressors on Population Health provides tactics on how to develop a comprehensive methodology for the study of existing threats to marine mammals. By presenting a conservation-biology approach and new and emerging technologies, this work helps provide crucial knowledge on the status of marine mammal populations that not only helps readers understand the ecosystem's health, but also instigate mitigation measures. This volume provides information that helps investigators unravel the relationships between exposure to environmental stressors (e.g., climate change, pollutants, marine litter, pathogens and biotoxins) and a range of endpoints in marine mammal species. The application of robust examination procedures and biochemical, immunological, and molecular techniques, combined with pathological examination and feeding ecology, has led to the development of health assessment methods at the individual and population levels in wild marine mammals.
Call Number: QL713.2 .M236 2018ISBN: 9780128121443Publication Date: 2018-09-25
Sirenian Conservation by
This important scientific volume comprehensively explores the biology and ecological status of manatees and dugongs in all of the geographic regions where they can be found today, from the Caribbean to Eastern Africa, from Arabia to the Amazon, and from Japan through the South Pacific to Australia. Many of these dwindling populations are situated in developing countries--locales that have previously received little attention in the scientific literature. In these areas, people occupying rivers or coastlines still capture sirenians for food and other uses (oil, bones for carving, leather). In addition, disruption, erosion, or complete loss of sirenian habitat occurs because of dredge and fill, coastal run-off, chemical pollution, and damage from boat propellers. Sirenian Conservation features contributions from an international group of scientists who are working to address the many challenges to manatee and dugong food supply, environment, reproduction, and survival. They share stories of programs that rescue, rehabilitate, release, and monitor these animals; offer reports on practical, replicable, and cost-effective management techniques; and summarize current research strategies.
Call Number: QL737.S6 S575 2012ISBN: 9780813037615Publication Date: 2012-06-10
Fisheries Techniques by
The comprehensive instructional and reference volume on fisheries sampling and analysis techniques.
This new edition describes the techniques and approaches used to collect and analyze fisheries samples and data, with a greater emphasis on quantitative techniques and estuarine and marine systems. Most chapters have been rewritten and all have been updated to include recent technological, analytical, and philosophical advances. A comprehensive glossary of terms is included.
The book is intended for practicing fisheries professionals, researchers, professors, and advanced undergraduate and graduate students.
Call Number: SH332 .F575 2012ISBN: 9781934874295Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Field Hydrogeology by
In recent years, the focus in hydrogeologic investigations has expanded to include aquifer sustainability as part of resource evaluations. While there are other books on the subject, Field Hydrogeology: A Guide for Site Investigations and Report Preparation provides the first integrated presentation of the American Society of Testing Materials (ASTM) standards, US Geological Survey (USGS), and US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) field techniques. It also includes access to a website containing software for designing aquifer tests and aquifer-recharge experiments. Written by an author with more than 50 years of experience in hydrology and geology, this reference treats the subject from a field standpoint. Useful as a field guide or textbook, it contains standard methods for planning and undertaking hydrogeologic investigations. It incorporates case studies, contains a glossary of field-hydrogeology technical terms, and provides a detailed list of ASTM standards and key hydrologic Web sites. The guide is based on ASTM standards as well as EPA and US Department of Interior field technical manuals. The text covers hydrogeologic fundamentals, conceptual models, planning an investigation, surface investigations, subsurface investigations, field inventory, stream flow measurements, water quality measurements, and report preparation. This revised and updated Second Edition also includes new material on the history of hydrogeology, field safety, aquifers, groundwater quality, hydrogeologic maps, and federal regulations. It gives students and seasoned professionals a vast array of clearly written descriptive materials and an extensive source of references available at their fingertips. What's New in This Second Edition: New chapter on the history of hydrogeology New chapter on groundwater development and management, including US federal regulations and transboundary aquifers New material on field safety, groundwater quality and testing, and construction of hydrogeologic cross section and maps New international case studies New THEIS computer model to design aquifer tests Updated information on latest principles and techniques
Call Number: GB1002.3 .M66 2012ISBN: 9781439841242Publication Date: 2011-08-04
Marine Mammal Ecology and Conservation by
Marine mammals command a high level of public attention, reflected in specific legislation for their protection and management in many countries. They also present particular challenges to ecologists and conservation biologists. They are mostly difficult to observe, they occupy an environment that is vast in its three dimensional extent, there are often perceived conflicts between marine mammals and people, and furthermore several species are now close to extinction. Marine mammals have some intriguing features in their biology - the ability to dive to crushing depths, to perform breath-hold dives that defy our current understanding of mammalian physiology, and many have an ability to hunt down prey using sophisticated sonar that we are only just beginning to understand. Many species also have complex social structures. We still have much to learn about these extraordinary animals so a comprehensive and authoritative overview of current methodology is now timely. The intention of this book is both to summarize the state-of-the-art and to encourage innovation and further progress in this research field.
Call Number: QL713.2 .M2743 2010ISBN: 9780199216567Publication Date: 2010-10-24
Preserving Reef Connectivity: A Guide for Marine Protected Area Managers by
Provides a summary of what is currently known about connectivity as well as the techniques and tools used for measuring connectivity for differenet types of organisms such as corals, fish and lobster. It also highlights the gaps in our knowledge and offers suggestions and advice on how to use what connectivity information is available.
Call Number: GC1018.5 .P74 2010ISBN: 9781921317064Publication Date: 2010
Marine Mammals Ashore by
A comprehensive manual for understanding and dealing with a stranded seal, manatee, dolphin, whale, or sea otter, this book contains information for the interested beach dweller or student and for the scientist or marine resource manager. Marine Mammals Ashore describes rescue operations, how to organize a response team, and how to deal with the media and the public. It includes basic information on marine mammal biology, life history, and health, and an extensive bibliography .Marine Mammals Ashore also provides stranding network participants with practical guidelines for collecting data and specimens to better understand the biology and behavior of marine animals and the condition of their environment. All chapters have been updated and expanded, with emphasis on topics that include: enhancing network organization, public education, and media relations. natural and human-related mortality in each major marine mammal group. recognizing, responding to, and investigating unusual mortality events. new or updated protocols for specimen and data collection (e.g., samples for PCR analysis; basic guidelines for investigating possible noise-related strandings; collecting environmental data and samples; and a detailed protocol for examining marine mammals for signs of human interactions). Updated overview of marine mammal stranding frequency and distribution in North America, with coverage extended to Canada and Mexico.
Call Number: QL717 .G47 2005ISBN: 9780977460908Publication Date: 2005-12-01
Techniques for Wildlife Investigations and Management by
Techniques for Wildlife Investigations and Management is the sixth edition in an edited series published by The Wildlife Society, beginning with the first edition in 1960. This sixth edition contains 34 chapters, including updates for all but one of the 28 chapters present in the previous edition, as well as nine new chapters.
Most chapters in this book include a thorough literature review that covers both the relevant theory and the technical specifics about how to apply a wide variety of data collection, analytical, or management techniques relevant to wildlife research and management. Thus, many chapters will serve as an excellent basic reference for anyone interested in gaining a basic understanding of a new wildlife research or management topic, and will provide a valuable resource for a wide range of wildlife professionals, including teachers, researchers, managers, and graduate students.
Call Number: SK355 .R47 2005ISBN: 9780933564152Publication Date: 2005-08-01
A Field Guide for Sea Turtle Nesting Surveys: Southeast U.S. Region by
The track and nest identification portion of this manual (pages 16-25) can be used as a dichotomous key, and are color coded by species. The two most basic, and most important, pieces of information to be gleaned from nest surveys are what kind of turtle left the track, and whether or not the crawl resulted in a successful nest. These questions are addressed sequentially in this manual, and the reader can follow the instructions given on each page for each species.
Call Number: QL666.C5 W6 2004Publication Date: 2004
Global Seagrass Research Methods by
This thorough and informative volume presents a set of detailed, globally applicable techniques for seagrass research. The book provides methods for all aspects of seagrass science from basic plant collection to statistical approaches and investigations of plant-animal interaction. The emphasis is on methods that are applicable in both developing and developed countries. The importance of seagrasses in coastal and near shore environments, and ultimately their contribution to the productivity of the world's oceans, has become increasingly recognised over the last 40 years. Seagrasses provide food for sea turtles, nearly 100 fish species, waterfowl and for the marine mammals the manatee and dugong. Seagrasses also support complex food webs by virtue of their physical structure and primary production and are well known for their role as breeding grounds and nurseries for important crustacean, finfish and shell fish populations. Seagrasses are the basis of an important detrital food chain. The plants filter nutrients and contaminants from the water, stabilise sediments and act as dampeners to wave action. Seagrasses rank with coral reefs and mangroves as some of the world's most productive coastal habitat and strong linkages among these habitats make the loss of seagrasses a contributing factor in the degradation of the world's oceans. Contributors from around the world provide up-to-date methods for comparable collection of ecological information from both temperate and tropical seagrass ecosystems.
Call Number: QK495.A14 G56 2001ISBN: 0444508910Publication Date: 2001-11-06
Cellular and Molecular Approaches in Fish Biology by
Cellular and Molecular Approaches in Fish Biology is a highly interdisciplinary resource to bring industry professionals, students and researchers up-to-date with the latest developments and information on fish biology research combining a historical overview of the different research areas in fish biology and detailed descriptions of cellular and molecular approaches with explanations and recommendations for research. The book presents a global perspective of each research area with detailed analytical methodologies on the cellular and molecular mechanisms within fish biology for experimentation. The book provides different points of view on how researchers have addressed timely issues, while describing and dissecting some of the new experimental/analytical approaches used to answer the key questions at cellular and molecular levels, making this a valuable resource to those in industry and academia as well as those entering the field. Provides detailed descriptions of each research approach, highlighting the tricks of the trade for its effective and successful application Includes the latest developments in fish reproduction, fish development and nutrition, fish welfare, fish immunology, ecology and biomedics.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780128222744Publication Date: 2021-12-02
Active Coral Restoration by
Active Coral Restoration: Techniques for a Changing Planet is a timely, comprehensive, ground-breaking volume that provides a foundational understanding of the current and emerging practices and technologies used for active coral reef restoration projects around the world. Edited by David Vaughan, this work contains contributed chapters written by someof the foremost authorities on coral reef restoration. It is a must have for all present and future practitioners of coral reef restoration, including research scientists, resource managers, aquarists, volunteers, students of marine science, and policy makers. KEY FEATURES: --Demonstrates new and emerging methods and technologies for active coral restoration, including fragmentation and micro-fragmentation, coral fusion and skinning, coral larvae capture and rearing, and assisted evolution for coral resistance and resilience --Offers strategies on how to set up land- and field-based coral nurseries as well as new emerging technologies such as pop up nurseries --Contains over 250 color figures and photographs to illustrate important concepts and procedures --Includes 11 relevant case studies from around the world to highlight key principles and success stories within restoration projects
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781604278323Publication Date: 2021-04-27
Sea Turtle Research and Conservation by
Sea Turtles: Field Research and Conservation is a comprehensive reference of experiences with sea turtle species from global experts. This book looks at the human side of protecting and studying these unique animals around the world, as well as the challenges involved, such as cultural differences and conducting research in remote locations. Led by a renowned expert in sea turtle conservation, this book addresses the largest issue facing sea turtle species currently; nearly all species of sea turtles are endangered due to poaching, fishing snares, climate change, and more. Chapters in this book range from the use of cutting-edge technology to learn more about this elusive reptile, to working with communities with long histories of sea turtle trade and consumption. It provides readers with firsthand accounts of sea turtle conservation efforts from conservationists based around the world and offers important suggestions and solutions for ensuring the future of these sea turtle species. Sea Turtles: Field Research and Conservation is the ideal resource for field biologist and marine conservationists, specifically those working in marine herpetology and with sea turtle species. Policymakers concerned with marine conservation, wildlife protection, and sustainable development, will also find this a useful reference for efforts and directions to enact change and save sea turtles from extinction. Offers examples of groundbreaking technology to conduct noninvasive sea turtle research Written by global experts working in the field to study and protect sea turtle species Includes human-to-human case studies and advice for collaborating with cultures and communities to save these endangered animals
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780128210307Publication Date: 2020-11-27
Shark Research by
Over the last decade, the study of shark biology has benefited from the development, refinement, and rapid expansion of novel techniques and advances in technology. These have given new insight into the fields of shark genetics, feeding, foraging, bioenergetics, imaging, age and growth, movement, migration, habitat preference, and habitat use. This pioneering book, written by experts in shark biology, examines technologies such as autonomous vehicle tracking, underwater video approaches, molecular genetics techniques, and accelerometry, among many others. Each detailed chapter offers new insights and promises for future studies of elasmobranch biology, provides an overview of appropriate uses of each technique, and can be readily extended to other aquatic fish and marine mammals and reptiles. Including chapter authors who were pioneers in developing some of the technologies discussed in the book, this book serves as the first single-source reference with in-depth coverage of techniques appropriate for the laboratory and field study of sharks, skates, and rays. It concludes with a unique section on Citizen Science and its application to studies of shark biology. This is a must-read for any marine biologist or scientist working in the field of shark biology, as well as marine biology students and graduates.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781315317113Publication Date: 2018-09-03
Advances in Marine Vertebrate Research in Latin America by
This book gathers the most recent research findings on ecology and conservation of marine vertebrates in Latin America, making use of high technological methods to show readers the diversity of the marine research that has been conducted in these countries over the last decades. The book brings authors from more than 23 institutions of 7 different countries developing the most diverse research aiming at ocean conservation through the ecology of different vertebrate animals, such as whales, dolphins, manatees, turtles, seabirds and fish. This book deals with technological advances and innovation in the ecology and conservation of marine vertebrates in Latin America. This eclectic collection is broad in scope but provides detailed summaries of new methods that are deployed in the study of marine environmental conservation. Key issues revolve around the development and application of educational methodologies in the field of marine vertebrate research, which provide a rational basis for better management of marine environments using modern techniques associated with GIS, satellite tracking, aerial systems, bioacoustics, biogeochemistry, genetics, underwater videography, species photoidentification, molecular biology, trophic ecological methods, ethological methods, and behavioural ecology, among others. Discussion and elucidation of these kinds of techniques are aimed at university-level students and post-graduate researchers. The scope of this volume includes whales, sharks, rays, dolphins, tropical fishes, turtles, manatees as well as aspects of Latin American marine ecosystem conservation. Researchers in this biogeographic region, as well as others involved with marine vertebrate research, will find this work essential reading.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9783319569840Publication Date: 2017-08-29
Reintroduction of Fish and Wildlife Populations by
Reintroduction of Fish and Wildlife Populations provides a practical step-by-step guide to successfully planning, implementing, and evaluating the reestablishment of animal populations in former habitats or their introduction in new environments. In each chapter, experts in reintroduction biology outline a comprehensive synthesis of core concepts, issues, techniques, and perspectives. This manual and reference supports scientists and managers from fisheries and wildlife professions as they plan reintroductions, initiate releases of individuals, and manage restored populations over time. Covering a broad range of taxonomic groups, ecosystems, and global regions, this edited volume is an essential guide for academics, students, and professionals in natural resource management.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780520284616Publication Date: 2016-09-13
Fish Cytogenetic Techniques by
Recent advances in fish cytogenetics have enhanced the interest in chromosome analysis in both fundamental (systematics and comparative genomics among fishes and other vertebrate groups) and applied (aquaculture, conservation and response to pollutants, whole genome sequencing of model fish species) research. Although the genomic material, the chromosomes, is basically the same in the various organisms, experience has clearly shown that fish chromosomes have to be handled with specific protocols. In laboratories around the world, traditional cytogenetic techniques and molecular cytogenetics have seen a vast improvement but the technical details and protocols are often not published in scientific journals because of constraints in format and size and therefore they are not accessible to the whole scientific community. These shortcomings are very well known to fish cytogeneticists and the idea to prepare a specific manual was first discussed during the first "Workshop of Fish Cytogenetics" held in Concarneau (France), in 1992. Resulting from the above workshop, a draft compilation of the techniques and protocols in fish cytogenetics available at that time had been produced and distributed privately, but never published. There does not exist, at present, any published handbook or manual specifically dealing with fish cytogenetics. This book fills this void by bringing together and updating the main techniques so that the traditional methods can be standardized. Moreover, this book includes novel developments or improvements; some of the protocols provided here are practically unknown to the scientific community and even now unpublished.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781482211986Publication Date: 2015-06-24
Field Techniques for Sea-Ice Research by
As much as one-tenth of the world's oceans are covered with sea ice, or frozen ocean water, at some point during the annual cycle. Sea ice thus plays an important, often defining, role in the natural environment and the global climate system. This book is a global look at the changes in sea ice and the tools and techniques used to measure and record those changes. The first comprehensive research done on sea-ice field techniques, this volume will be indispensable for the study of northern sea ice and a must-have for scientists in the field of climate change research.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781602230590Publication Date: 2010-02-28
Marine Mammal Ecology and Conservation by
Marine mammals command a high level of public attention, reflected in specific legislation for their protection and management in many countries. They also present particular challenges to ecologists and conservation biologists. They are mostly difficult to observe, they occupy an environment that is vast in its three dimensional extent, there are often perceived conflicts between marine mammals and people, and furthermore several species are now close to extinction. Marine mammals have some intriguing features in their biology - the ability to dive to crushing depths, to perform breath-hold dives that defy our current understanding of mammalian physiology, and many have an ability to hunt down prey using sophisticated sonar that we are only just beginning to understand. Many species also have complex social structures. We still have much to learn about these extraordinary animals so a comprehensive and authoritative overview of current methodology is now timely. The intention of this book is both to summarize the state-of-the-art and to encourage innovation and further progress in this research field.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780191550799Publication Date: 2010-01-01
Monitoring Plant and Animal Populations by
Monitoring Plant and Animal Populations offers an overview of population monitoring issues that is accessible to the typical field biologist and land managers with a modest statistical background. The text includes concrete guidelines for ecologists to follow to design a statistically defensible monitoring program. User-friendly, practical guide, written in a highly readable format. The authors provide an interdisciplinary scope to address the current, widespread interest in monitoring in many environmental fields, including pure and applied ecology, conservation biology, and wildlife management. Emphasizes the role of monitoring in adaptive management. Defines important terminology and contrasts monitoring with other data-collection activities. Covers the applicable principles of sampling and shows how to design a monitoring project. Provides a step-by-step overview of the monitoring process, illustrated by flow charts and references. The authors also offer guidelines for analyzing and interpreting monitoring data. Illustrates the foundation of management objectives and describes their components, types, and development. Describes common field techniques for measuring important attributes of animal and plant populations. Reviews different methods for recording monitoring data in the field, managing the data, and communicating data to policy makers.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781444313109Publication Date: 2009-05-11
Age and Growth of Chondrichthyan Fishes: New Methods, Techniques and Analysis by
Over the last few years there have been advances in the quantitative study of age and growth of chondrichthyan fishes. Novel approaches to ageing of various chondrichthyan fishes continue to arise. This volume is a collection of papers on several of these topics that include new hard parts (e.g. caudal thorns) for assessments of age, new techniques for validation (e.g. bomb radiocarbon) and reexaminations of previous age and growth models. This volume also contains papers on the importance of assessing the precision and accuracy of statistical formulas, analyses, and models that are used in age and growth studies. There is currently a great deal of research being conducted, some of which is truly "pushing the envelope," in attempts to assess the life history parameters of numerous chondrichthyan fishes.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781402055706Publication Date: 2007-04-05
Bird Ecology and Conservation: A handbook of techniques by
In this intensely practical handbook, a team of leading ornithologists describe a wide range of standard methods that can be applied to the study of avian ecology and conservation. Topics covered range from surveys and tracking and handling to breeding biology, foraging behavior, and migration. Chapters on conservation techniques describe how to assess species over-exploitation, the methods available for the intensive conservation of endangered species, and the principles involved in the maintenance and restoration of habitats. This comprehensive synthesis will be essential reading for graduate students and researchers as well as a valuable resource for environmental consultants and professional conservationists worldwide. Bird Ecology and Evolution is the first title in a new series of practical handbooks which include titles focusing on specific taxonomic groups as well as those describing broader themes and subjects. William J. Sutherland is the series editor.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780198520863Publication Date: 2004-08-26
R and RStudio can be found on all computers at the Oceanographic Campus Library.
The library also provides a useful guide with relevant books, e-books, and online tutorials:
 |
 |
Find Books, Journals, Media:
E-Books | Advanced Search | My Library Account | ILL - Interlibrary Loan
Search Full Text Finder to find the full text of a publication.
If you see an embargo next to a e-journal title: An embargo period is a period of time which an official academic publication is not yet available online, either due to publishing restrictions or subscription contracts. Ex: "Embargo: 1 Year" = access begins one year ago from today's date.
Search Full Text Finder to find the full text of a publication.
|
Databases: search for articles, datasets, and videos on your topic |
|
|
View Databases by Subject OR All Databases |
|
Search NSUWorks - NSU's Institutional Repository:
Browse or search scholarship in Digital Commons @ NSUWorks!
Find Research Tips and Useful Resources
Oceanographic Campus Library Guides
News, Events, & Training | Writing & Citation Style | Course Guides | Browse by Subject | How-To Guides | LibraryLearn : Short Video Tutorials | Razor's Research Bytes