DiversityRx is a clearinghouse of information on how to meet the language and cultural needs of minorities, immigrants, refugees and other diverse populations seeking health care.
The EthnoMed site contains information about cultural beliefs, medical issues and other related issues pertinent to the health care of recent immigrants.
The Cultural Profiles Project provides an overview of life and customs in hundreds of different cultures. Although written for a Canadian audience, this project provides useful information.
HRSA resources designed to improve communication with patient populations with special needs related to age, race, culture, gender, or sexual-orientation.
HRSA has a free online go-at-your-own-pace course/tutorial designed to increase provider awareness of cultural diversity, varying levels of language proficiency, and other factors that affect provider-patient communication.
Physician's Practical Guide to Culturally Competent Care - A self-directed training course for physicians and other health care professionals with a specific interest in cultural competency.
a database of multilingual public health resources for those providing health care for refugees and asylees. Database of documents, audio and video resources.
This monograph provides recommendations to help hospitals address unique patient needs, meet the new Patient-Centered Communication standards, and comply with existing Joint Commission requirements.
- web resource that connects people to authoritative health information in Asian languages that is freely available on the World Wide Web. SPIRAL is maintained by the Tufts University Hirsh Health Sciences Library
Cultural Competency for Health Administraion and Public Health is serves as an introductory text addressing comprehensive coverage specific to the fields of health services administration and public health. While cultural competency has become a popular topic in these fields, the general population, health service administration and public health students, health service administrators and public health practitioners are in need of a greater key information relevant to the topic and how to apply this knowledge in their area of study/work. This book provides readers with a clear and concise overview of the subject matter and the necessary tools to apply cultural competency processes in various healthcare settings, offering a systematic and disciplined approach to the process of achieving cultural competence.
Supplemental Resources
Tool for Assessing Cultural Competence Training (TACCT) - PDF VersionTACCT is a self-administered assessment tool that can be used by medical schools to examine all components of the entire medical school curriculum. TACCT enables schools to identify gaps and redundancies in their curricula, which will enable schools to make the best use of opportunities and resources. The TACCT can be used for both traditional and problem-based curricula.
Using TACCT - Guidelines for preparing and completing the TACCT instrument
Guide to Culturally Competent Health Care by 
Cultural Competency for Health Administration and Public Health by