Criminal Law & Procedure
A guide designed to provide students with sources related to criminal law and procedure.
Primary Law
Federal Rules and Statutes
Below are links to some of the main federal law statutes. This is not a comprehensive list.
- Title 18 - Crimes and Criminal ProcedureThe Title of the US Code that sets out federal criminal law and procedure.
- Federal Rules of Criminal ProcedureThe set of procedural rules governing criminal proceedings in U.S. Federal courts.
Cases
Finding Cases Generally
- Criminal Law & Procedure CasesLexis database of all its criminal law & procedure cases.
Access via Lexis.
Local and Remote for NSU College of Law only. - Criminal Law Case DatabaseWestlaw database of all of its criminal law cases.
Access via Westlaw.
Local and Remote for NSU College of Law only.
Key Numbers and Topics
- West Key Number 110- Criminal LawThis key number breaks down criminal law into sections like elements, defenses, jurisdiction etc.
Access via Westlaw.
Local and Remote for NSU College of Law only. - West Key Number 349- Searches and SeizuresThis key number looks specifically at issues that arise under searches and seizures.
Access via Westlaw.
Local and Remote for NSU College of Law only. - Lexis Topic- Criminal Law & ProcedureThis topic includes all substantive and procedural criminal law issues.
Access via Lexis.
Local and Remote for NSU College of Law only.
Secondary Sources
Legal Encyclopedias and Treatises
Given the breadth of the topic of Federal Criminal Law, there are many treatises on the subject. Thus linked are pages with every criminal law treatise available on Westlaw and Lexis. Additionally, there are select resources from both.
- Criminal Law- Secondary Sources- LexisThis link provides access to all Lexis in-depth resources related to criminal law. Browse treatises, practice guides, and legal encyclopedias to find comprehensive and extensive analysis of various criminal law topics.
Access via Lexis.
Local and Remote for NSU College of Law only. - Criminal Law- Secondary Sources- WestlawWestlaw secondary sources filtered by the criminal law topic. Feel free to browse the available materials or filter your search more to find relevant resources related to criminal law.
Access via Westlaw.
Local and Remote for NSU College of Law only. - American Jurisprudence 2d: Criminal LawThe Criminal Law section of this legal encyclopedia provides in-depth discussion and analysis on numerous topics related to criminal law. Browse the table of contents to find relevant topics and corresponding, comprehensive analysis.
Access via Westlaw.
Local and Remote for NSU College of Law only. - Criminal ProcedureWayne R. LaFave et. al.
Criminal procedure treatise that analyses the law at every step of the process.
Access via Westlaw.
Local and Remote for NSU College of Law only. - Advanced Introduction to U.S. Criminal ProcedureChristopher Slobogin
Focuses on SCOTUS cases and the most important statutory rules.
Access via Elgar Advanced Introductions.
Local and Remote for NSU College of Law only.
Study Aids
Study Aids can provide a good introduction to a new area of law and are useful when beginning your research.
- Understanding Criminal LawJoshua Dressler
Comprehensive treatise on substantive Criminal Law.
Access via LexisNexis Digital Library.
Local and Remote for NSU College of Law Only. - Short and Happy Guide to Criminal ProcedureLeslie W. Abramson
Makes the law about police practices and criminal trial proceedings accessible and easy to remember.
Access via West Study Aid Subscription.
Local and Remote for NSU College of Law only.
Law Review Articles
Law Review Articles often discuss new, developing areas or recommended changes in the law.
- American Criminal Law ReviewPublished by Georgetown University Law Center
Seeks to serve the criminal law community by providing a forum for the best scholarship in the field.
Access via HeinOnline
Local for registered users. Remote for NSU only. - Ohio State Journal of Criminal LawPublished by Ohio State University, Moritz College of Law
Seeks to provide serious discourse on critical issues in the field of criminal justice.
Access via HeinOnline.
Local for registered users. Remote for NSU only. - Virginia Journal of Criminal LawPublished by University of Virginia School of Law
Articles on both criminal law and criminal procedure.
Access via HeinOnline.
Local for registered users. Remote for NSU only.
- Last Updated: Oct 19, 2022 9:56 AM
- URL: https://libguides.nova.edu/crimlawandproc
- Print Page