Criminal Law & Procedure
A guide designed to provide students with sources related to criminal law and procedure.
Primary Law
Florida Statutes and Rules of Court
- Florida Statute- Title XLVI- CrimesThis Title of the Florida Code defines criminal offenses and their elements, and provides for defenses, mitigation, and allotments of penalties related to each identified offense.
- Florida Statute- Title XLVII- Criminal ProcedureThis Title of the Florida Code governs the procedure of all criminal cases instituted in the state of Florida.
- Florida Rules of Criminal Procedure (As of October 1, 2022)The Florida Rules of Criminal Procedure are the rules of court that govern all criminal proceedings.
- LexisNexis Florida Rules of Court Annotated 2022Volume 2 includes an annotated version of the Florida Rules of Criminal Procedure.
Access via LexisNexis Digital Library.
Local and Remote access for NSU College of Law only.
Secondary Sources
Encyclopedias
Legal Encyclopedia articles are good for a general introduction to an area of law.
- 14 Fla. Jur 2d. Criminal Law- Procedure SummaryCovers the procedural criminal law of Florida; including, topics such as arrests, search and seizure, confessions and admissions, new trials and appeals.
Access via Westlaw.
Local and Remote access for NSU College of Law only. - 16 Fla. Jur 2d Criminal Law- Substantive Principles/OffensesCoverage includes in-depth discussion of crime legislation, elements and classification of offenses, defenses to criminal offenses, and other substantive information regarding particular offenses.
Access via Westlaw.
Local and Remote access for NSU College of Law only.
Treatises
Treatises contain detailed coverage and practical tips. These contain thorough explanations of the law and citations to relevant cases, statutes, regulations and other secondary sources.
- Florida Criminal Practice and ProcedureJenifer M. Harris and Patrick N. Harris
This practice guide provides step-by-step guidance on many procedural issues and practice topics that arise in Florida criminal courts.
Access via Lexis.
Local and Remote access for NSU College of Law only. - Florida Criminal Practice & Procedure--Florida Practice SeriesMichael Ufferman
West's Criminal Law Practice Series discusses substantive legal topics relevant to Florida criminal law.
Access via Westlaw.
Local and Remote Access for NSU College of Law only. - Florida Criminal Defense Trial Manual (LexisNexis)Trisha Zeller
The Florida Criminal Defense Trial Manual contains thorough coverage of the most commonly prosecuted felony proceedings in the state of Florida.
Access via Lexis.
Local and Remote Access for NSU College of Law only.
- Last Updated: Aug 14, 2024 4:07 PM
- URL: https://libguides.nova.edu/crimlawandproc
- Print Page