Featured Resource
Encyclopedia of Estuaries by
The Encyclopedia of Estuaries, part of Springer's Encyclopedia of Earth Sciences Series, provides a single, state-of-the-art, comprehensive reference volume on estuaries for research scientists, educators, students, and others. Consisting of hundreds of subject entries in an easy-to-use format, this volume covers the physical, chemical, and biological characteristics of estuaries. Authors from around the world have contributed to the encyclopedia on such diverse subjects as biotic communities, essential habitats, food webs, fisheries, hydrology, pollution, conservation, and many more. The Encyclopedia of Estuaries will meet the needs of professionals worldwide by supplying detailed information from world-class estuarine and marine scientists as well as experts from other fields of study. The Editor: Michael J. Kennish is a world-class estuarine scientist and a research professor in the Institute of Marine and Coastal Sciences at Rutgers University, New Brunswick, New Jersey (USA). In addition to his research on estuaries, Dr. Kennish has conducted biological and geological research on coastal ocean and deep-sea environments. Much of his research has involved the development and application of innovative methods to assess anthropogenic impacts and to determine the condition and health of coastal ecosystems. Dr. Kennish is the author or editor of 13 scholarly books in marine science, and he is the author or co-author of more than 170 articles in science journals and books. In addition, he has edited 7 compendium science journal special issues on various topics in marine science.
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9789401788014Publication Date: 2015-10-29
Everglades Ecology & Conservation Books & E-Books
Wetland Ecology by
Richly illustrated in colour and packed with examples from every major continent and wetland type, this third edition has been completely rewritten to provide undergraduates with a thoroughly accessible introduction to the basic principles. It divides the world's wetlands into six principal types and presents six major causal environmental factors, arranged by importance and illustrated with clear examples, making it easy for instructors to plan tailored lectures and field trips and avoid overwhelming students with unnecessary detail. It retains its rigor for more advanced students with sections on research methods and experiments, and over a thousand classic and contemporary references. Each chapter ends with questions that review the content covered and encourage further investigation. With expanded sections on topical issues such as sea level rise, eutrophication, facilitation and the latest approaches to restoration and conservation, the new edition of this prize-winning textbook is a vital resource for wetland ecology courses.
Call Number: QH541.5.M3 K44 2024ISBN: 9781009288637Publication Date: 2023-09-28
Everglades by
The Everglades is the largest subtropical wilderness left in the continental United States. It was established as a national park in 1934 when the National Park Service set aside approximately 2,354 of the estimated 5,000 square miles comprising the original Everglades. Today, the national park is a World Heritage Site, an International Biosphere Reserve, and a Wetland of International Importance. The park even includes a Nike Missile Site that is on the U.S. Registry of Historic Places. More than one million people visit the park annually, but vast changes have drastically altered the natural landscape they see. Few visitors realize that, for more than a century, the state and federal governments have constructed drainage canals and ditches to redirect some 1.7 billion gallons of water per day toward the Atlantic and Gulf coasts in order to support agricultural pursuits and large-scale urban and suburban development. The ensuing conflicts over water and the "best" use of land-between preservation, restoration, and desecration--have led to a curious blending of natural and human landscapes that are both around and inside Everglades National Park. After reading The Orchid Thief by Susan Orlean, and with a Guggenheim Fellowship in hand, Marion Belanger headed south to the Everglades to discover for herself what the writer had seen and so vividly captured in prose. Belanger went to find wilderness, because that is what a traditional national park is supposed to promote. Instead she found a puzzling dichotomy: visually, it is often hard to know whether one is outside or within this "natural" sanctuary, thus blurring the lines between what is natural and what is not. Although Belanger remains the curious observer, it becomes apparent that, in hindsight, the Everglades is an environment not meant for human touch. In her photographic sequence we see the pull between commerce and human enterprise and the need for boundless wilderness. Ultimately nature and culture are inseparably intertwined, as seen in the Everglades both from outside and within.
Call Number: F317.E9 B45 2009ISBN: 1930066848Publication Date: 2009-10-01
The Everglades by
Before 1947, when Marjory Stoneman Douglas named The Everglades a "river of grass," most people considered the area worthless. She brought the world's attention to the need to preserve The Everglades. In the Afterword, Michael Grunwald tells us what has happened to them since then. Grunwald points out that in 1947 the government was in the midst of establishing the Everglades National Park and turning loose the Army Corps of Engineers to control floods--both of which seemed like saviors for the Glades. But neither turned out to be the answer. Working from the research he did for his book, The Swamp, Grunwald offers an account of what went wrong and the many attempts to fix it, beginning with Save Our Everglades, which Douglas declared was "not nearly enough." Grunwald then lays out the intricacies (and inanities) of the more recent and ongoing CERP, the hugely expensive Comprehensive Everglades Restoration Plan.
Call Number: F317.E9 D6 2007ISBN: 1561643947Publication Date: 2007-09-01
Landscapes and Hydrology of the Predrainage Everglades by
"A magnificent undertaking in historical detective work, or 'forensic ecology' in the authors' words. The book will totally reset our way of envisioning the Everglades."--Peter Stone, South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control "Represents a landmark in the study of historical ecology in South Florida. It is a must-read for hydrologists, ecologists, policy makers, and managers involved in restoration ecology."--William F. Loftus, retired, Department of Interior Florida is in the midst of a colossal multi-billion dollar project to restore the Everglades, a flowing, patterned wetland, once larger than Delaware and Rhode Island combined. This comprehensive plan has been clouded by politics and, more important, challenged by the absence of a clear "original conditions" yardstick against which to measure restoration progress. A group of experts at the South Florida Water Management District have united in an effort to mitigate this dilemma. Using survey notes, historical maps, photos, and firsthand descriptions, they have reconstructed a vivid ecological--and hydrological--picture of the Everglades of the 1800s, before drainage of the swamp drastically altered the landscape. Painstaking documentation and cross-verification of the historic sources (included on a DVD) allow the reader a front-seat view of the process of "forensic" reconstruction. Landscapes and Hydrology of the Predrainage Everglades advances the science behind Everglades restoration. This landmark work offers an invaluable lens for scientists and policy-makers into the technical aspects of this massive wetland. The work is equally accessible to the layperson, gathering in one volume the many and varied voices of the first Europeans to set foot in the Everglades. Christopher McVoy is a soil physicist and wetland ecologist. Winifred Park Said is a botanist, modeler, and environmental planner. Jayantha Obeysekera is a hydrologist and director of the Hydrologic and Environmental Systems Modeling Department at the South Florida Water Management District. Joel VanArman is a biologist, retired after 35 years of Everglades studies. Thomas W. Dreschel is an environmental scientist specializing in aquatic systems.
Call Number: GE155.F6 L36 2011ISBN: 081303535XPublication Date: 2011-05-22
Everglades National Park Geologic Resource Evaluation Report by
The Natural Resource Publication series addresses natural resource topics that are of interest and applicability to a broad readership in the National Park Service and to others in the management of natural resources, including the scientific community, the public, and the NPS conservation and environmental constituencies. Manuscripts are peer-reviewed to ensure that the information is scientifically credible, technically accurate, appropriately written for the intended audience, and is designed and published in a professional manner.
Call Number: QE99 .T4676 2008ISBN: 1491298588Publication Date: 2013-08-06
Exploring Wild South Florida by
An insider's guide to the natural areas of south Florida, from Hobe Sound in the east and Punta Gorda in the west down to the Keys and the Dry Tortugas. Includes Everglades National Park, Big Cypress National Preserve, the coral reefs of both Biscayne National Park and Pennekamp State Park, and Ding Darling National Wildlife Refuge and Corkscrew Swamp, as well as many smaller state and county parks, recreation areas, and nature centers. Includes maps and information on camping, boating, hiking, fishing, tours, and more.
Call Number: QH105.F6 J49 2011ISBN: 1561645001Publication Date: 2011-09-01
Snake in the Grass by
A plague is spreading throughout the Florida Everglades. The nonnative Burmese python--one of the largest snakes on the planet--is now known to be reproducing freely in the shallow waters of the famed River of Grass. Over the past decade, thousands of pythons have made themselves at home across the landscape. And though scientists work feverishly to learn as much as possible about this unprecedented invader, methods of control remain elusive. Many questions remain in the wake of this troubling discovery. How far north might Burmese pythons venture from the Everglades wilderness? What might their presence mean for the countless birds and mammals--some of them endangered--with which south Florida has become synonymous? And does history seem poised to repeat itself as new, large reptiles are discovered to be thriving in the area's favorable climate? An Everglades naturalist describes how the story unfolding in the Florida Everglades provides new opportunities to revisit our understanding of wilderness and man's place within it.
Call Number: QL666.O6 P3525 2012ISBN: 1561645133Publication Date: 2012-03-01
Saving Florida by
"Gives long-overdue recognition to the women who shaped the state's environmental movement and saved Florida's water, land, and quality of life from worse destruction."--Cynthia Barnett, author of Blue Revolution: Unmaking America's Water Crisis "Highlights the overlooked role of women in Florida's environmental leadership. This is an exciting, important book."--Buddy MacKay, former governor of Florida "A brilliant exposition of the varied types of talent it takes to fight the battles, wars and votes which must be undertaken if even a fraction of Florida's heritage is to be saved."--Victoria Tschinkel, vice chairperson, 1000 Friends of Florida "Shows how passionate, strong minded, independent women did what was necessary to change the hearts and minds of policy makers to keep our air and water healthy."--Clay Henderson, former president, Florida Audubon Society "Poole's portraits of these indomitable women, many of them previously unknown, could well inspire the next generation of activists."--Judith G. Poucher, author of State of Defiance: Challenging the Johns Committee's Assault on Civil Liberties Florida is renowned for its beautiful beaches, natural springs, and subtropical wilderness, but it is widely joked that the official bird should be the construction crane. Dredge-and-fill projects, air pollution, and pesticides spread so uncontrollably during the twentieth century that they sparked an environmental movement within the state, and those who led the fight were very often women. Saving Florida reveals how women's clubs prompted legislation to establish Florida's first state park, which became the core of Everglades National Park, in 1916--before women even had the right to vote. It tells the story of Doris Leeper, who convinced her community and federal government to protect a 24-mile stretch of sandy beach that is now the breathtaking Canaveral National Seashore. It remembers Clara Dommerich, who summoned the "Who's Who" of Central Florida to her living room for the first meeting of the Florida Audubon Society. And it celebrates the towering environmental legacy of the three "Marjories": author Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings, scientist Marjorie Harris Carr, and journalist Marjory Stoneman Douglas. These and many other women led the fight for unprecedented changes in how the Sunshine State reveres its unique natural resources. They set the foundation for this century's environmental agenda, which came to include the idea of sustainable development. As a collective force they forever altered how others saw women's roles in society.
Call Number: QH76.5.F6 P66 2015ISBN: 9780813060811Publication Date: 2015-05-05
An Ecotourist's Guide to the Everglades and the Florida Keys by
"As essential as sunscreen and a must-have for anyone visiting or living in South Florida."--Mac Stone, author of Everglades: America's Wetland "An alluring snapshot, capturing the regions' fun side with fishing, fantasy, food, and an overall funky feel."--Mary Barley, chair, Everglades Trust "Delivers all of the hidden and not-so-hidden gems that even the most discerning traveler needs to have for a true national park experience in South Florida, combining the ever-evolving story of the unique and amazing Everglades ecosystem with the must-do's for every visitor."-- John Adornato, Sun Coast Regional Director, National Parks Conservation Association "More than just a guidebook: it's a warm, inviting exploration of South Florida's natural beauty and history."--Laura Albritton, author of Miami for Families: A Vacation Guide for Parents and Kids "Shows readers how to experience natural beauty in places they would never find on their own--and makes the workings of this complicated ecosystem easy to understand."--Daniel Burkhardt, editor of Florida Bay Forever: A Story of Water from the Everglades to the Keys Packed with adventure and a local's expert advice, this guide is essential reading for a fun-filled trip through the world's most famous wetland, the Everglades, and the spectacular marine environment of the 130-mile island chain formed by the Florida Keys. From the Ten Thousand Islands to Big Cypress, the Everglades, and the Florida Keys, Silk stops through alluring locales, such as a mysterious Coral Castle in the Redland/Homestead area, and the exceptional waterside campgrounds of Biscayne National Park. Silk's tour of the region even features an eerie Cold War-era missile base deep in Everglades National Park. Awe-inspiring boardwalks, paddles through mangroves, dives to imperiled reefs, a ride on the famous African Queen boat from the eponymous Bogart and Hepburn movie, and a sampling of the scenic and quirky attraction of Key West complete Silk's journey. Along the way, the reader will learn about local history and culture and discover some of the eclectic, locally owned restaurants, watering holes, and attractions that possess the charming Old Florida character.
Call Number: F317.E9 S54 2016ISBN: 9780813062655Publication Date: 2016-04-12
Amphibians and Reptiles of Florida by
Florida is home to a more diverse variety of amphibians and reptiles than any other state due to its wide array of ecosystems--from pine forests to the subtropical Everglades to the tropical Keys--and its large number of established nonnative species. This volume is a comprehensive account of the 219 species known to exist in the state. Chapters are organized into families and species of salamanders, frogs, turtles, crocodilians, lizards, and snakes, including both native and nonindigenous species. A final chapter addresses nonnative species not proven to be established in the state. Each species is presented with one or more color photographs, an up-to-date distribution map, and detailed information about its appearance, current taxonomy, geographic distribution and habitat, reproduction and develop-ment, diet, behavior, and conservation status. Many of the photographs highlight the differences between sexes, between juveniles and adults, and between larval stages. This volume also includes a thorough discussion of the environmental impacts that are threatening the herpetofauna of the state. As parts of Florida are experiencing degradation of natural habitats at record rates, particularly large urban areas such as the southeastern Atlantic Coast, species that cannot adapt will disappear. This volume will be a touchstone for future efforts to study and protect the extraordinary biodiversity of Florida's native amphibians and reptiles.
Call Number: QL653.F6 K79 2019ISBN: 9781683400448Publication Date: 2019-02-26
Adapting Land Use and Water Management Plans to a Changing Climate in Miami-Dade and Broward Counties, Florida by
Florida's Miami-Dade and Broward counties are vulnerable to flooding and intrusion of saltwater into drinking water wells as a consequence of sea level rise, changes in precipitation, and the distribution of future asset growth across the region. The authors developed an integrated groundwater and economic model and decision support tool to help regional planners and decisionmakers focus mitigation actions on the most vulnerable areas.
Call Number: GB1197.83.F6 G76 2018ISBN: 9781977400734Publication Date: 2019-09-15
A Paddler's Guide to Everglades National Park by
"Navigating the 1.5-million-acre Everglades National Park just got easier. From lists of necessary tools for a safe, dry and successful adventure to locating ground and beach campsites for weary campers to rest their boards, the guide works."--St. Petersburg Times "This well-organized, clearly written guide . . . covers all the conceivable necessities. . . . Invaluable."--Tampa Tribune "[Molloy] describes backcountry campsites; unusual chickees to Calusa Indian mounds to beachfront islands. . . . A good starting point for those who would attempt such an up-close visit to the Everglades."--Ocala Star-Banner "After learning all about the Everglades in this book, you might want to get out and see this unique place firsthand."--Fairchild Tropical Garden Magazine "Offers important information for boaters (tidal activity, campsites, routes to avoid, what to pack, wind challenges, approximate paddling time, and much more) and includes detailed maps . . . . [Molloy's] writing style is both authoritative and enticing; he can almost make you want to drift about in clouds of mosquitoes and no-see-ums."--Library Journal Whether forging uncharted territory or slipping along marked canoe trails, Molloy guides readers through more than 400 miles of creeks, bays, marshes, and the Gulf of Mexico. This indispensable reference has been comprehensively updated, and now includes GPS coordinates and twelve new paddle routes.
Call Number: GV776.F62 E937 2015ISBN: 9780813060842Publication Date: 2015-04-14
The Everglades Handbook by
The second edition of a bestseller, The Everglades Handbook: Understanding the Ecosystemcontinues to provide a wealth of information on the entire ecosystem of the Everglades. Offering the essentials of what the ecosystem is and how it works, the Handbook benefits those addressing issues such as Everglades restoration, water management, wildlife management, and water quality problems in urban and agricultural planning. With an emphasis on natural history, the text is unified around themes of biogeography and ecosystem functions of the plant and animal communities. It presents current and historical geology, discussions of human impacts, ecosystem degradation, and planned restoration, and covers the socioeconomic aspects of the Everglades ecosystem. What's new in the Second Edition: Additional chapter on Big Cypress Swamp New section on Lake Okeechobee and its headwaters A new synthesis chapter which diagrams ecological succession and food webs
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781566706148Publication Date: 2004-07-26
Adaptive Monitoring and Assessment for the Comprehensive Everglades Restoration Plan by
This Go Girl story explores the difficulty of traveling with family on vacation Iris is on an awesome family vacation, but her little brother is being sooo annoying! Can they still have a great time, or will he ruin everything?
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 0309507030Publication Date: 2003-04-30
Adventure Guide to the Florida Keys and Everglades National Park by
Adventure Guides are the perfect travel companion for the modern explorer. Whether you're looking to backpack around your home state or boost the number of stamps in your passport by traveling overseas, these books will heighten your travel experience. Our team of knowledgeable authors offers comprehensive introductions that cover history, geography, climate, when to go, transportation, planning and culture. Region-by-region, the books then delve into the heart of the area, with driving tours and side trips to the best museums, historic sites and shops. But the focus is on activities, and you'll learn about the best spots for diving, snorkeling, horseback riding, hiking, biking, rock climbing and more. Extensive listings of recommended tour operators, too. Select places to stay and eat, as well as regional festivals and celebrations. Diving, canoeing, birding, fishing, aerial tours and swamp hiking from Key Largo, Islamorada & Marathon down to Big Pine Key, Little Torch Key and fun-packed Key West. Complete list of adventure outfitters. Color photos.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 0585041911Publication Date: 1997-01-01
All About Everglades: Draining, Development, Geography, Ecology and Restoration by
This is a complete book to know all about Everglades. Chapter 1 - Draining and Development of the Everglades, Chapter 2 - Geography and Ecology of the Everglades, Chapter 3 - Restoration of the Everglades, Chapter 4 - Everglades National Park.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9788132324607Publication Date: 2012-01-01
The Biology of Freshwater Wetlands, 2nd Edition by
This introduction to freshwater wetlands describes those abiotic features of wetlands that make them unique as a habitat and examines in detail the adaptations, distributions, and interactions of various organisms (microbes, invertebrates, plants, and vertebrates) that collectively form wetland ecosystems. All kinds of freshwater wetlands are covered including lacustrine, palustrine, riverine and tidal forms. The management, conservation and restoration of wetlands are also covered. This is an accessible text suitable for both undergraduate and graduate students taking courses in wetland ecology as well as professional researchers in the fields of limnology and freshwater ecology requiring a concise overview of the topic.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780198525394Publication Date: 2012
Everglades Wildflowers by
The Everglades region is a mosaic of interconnected ecosystems where a slight elevation change can lead you from dry, rocky pinelands and shady hardwood hammocks to flooded grassy prairies and deep, mysterious swamps. Fascinating wildflowers abound in every habitat. This full-color, expanded second edition contains beautiful photos, easy-to-understand descriptions, and interesting facts about 362 wildflowers that inhabit this picturesque region.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781493014590Publication Date: 2015-01-06
The Geology of the Everglades and Adjacent Areas by
An explosion of housing, commercial, agricultural, and municipal development has rapidly encroached on the edges of the Everglades. A large amount of geological data has been gathered from these unexplored inaccessible peripheral areas. This book presents an overview of this research, painting a complete picture of the history of the Everglades.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 142004558XPublication Date: 2007-04-18
Microbiology of the Everglades Ecosystem by
The first synthesis of current research regarding Everglades microbial community structure and function, this book provides an understanding of the physical and chemical factors affecting the structure of microbial communities, including nutrient effects, sea level rise, and other potential stressors. The book integrates traditional research on algal and bacterial structure and function, helping to provide a more holistic understanding of the varying microbial communities throughout the Everglades. From periphyton, to soils and detritus, to flocculent organic matter, Microbiology of the Everglades Ecosystem covers new and emerging methods and their global application.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781498711845Publication Date: 2015-03-26
Paddling the Everglades Wilderness Waterway by
For anyone who has ever dreamed of truly experiencing America's unique Everglades National Park, there is only one way: by canoe or kayak. AndPaddling the Everglades Wilderness Waterway is the all-in-one guide for safe adventure on this spectacular 99-mile route. No time for such days-long expeditions? No matter. Authors Holly Genzen and Anne McCrary Sullivan entice with their favorite day- and overnight trips from various Everglades departure points. Having spent years exploring this maritime labyrinth, the authors now share their intimate knowledge of historic Everglades rivers and bays, the endless horizon of its Gulf Coast, the eerie beauty of its mangrove forests, andthe secrets of ancient tribes and early-American pioneers who left their distinctive traces. Descriptions of wildlife abound (the birds! the alligators!), as do the details of exquisite flora that flourishes here. But Genzen and Sullivan do not skimp on practicalities nor on threats to this environment. Safety, weather, insects, food, fresh water, and camping on rustic "chickee" platforms stilted above the rivers all earn many pages here. As does what lies in store for the timeless but fragileEverglades ecology. This book is a treasure trove for all paddlers--from novices to champions.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780897328982Publication Date: 2011-08-09Progress Toward Restoring the Everglades by Although the progress of environmental restoration projects in the Florida Everglades remains slow overall, there have been improvements in the pace of restoration and in the relationship between the federal and state partners during the last two years. However, the importance of several challenges related to water quantity and quality have become clear, highlighting the difficulty in achieving restoration goals for all ecosystem components in all portions of the Everglades. "Progress Toward Restoring the Everglades" explores these challenges. The book stresses that rigorous scientific analyses of the tradeoffs between water quality and quantity and between the hydrologic requirements of Everglades features and species are needed to inform future prioritization and funding decisions.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780309160063Publication Date: 2011-05-26
Wetland Plants by
A detailed account of the biology and ecology of vascular wetland plants and their applications in wetland plant science, Wetland Plants: Biology and Ecology presents a synthesis of wetland plant studies and reviews from biology, physiology, evolution, genetics, community and population ecology, environmental science, and engineering. It provides a thorough discussion of the range of wetland plants adaptations to conditions such as life in water or saturated soils, high salt or high sulfur, as well as low light and low carbon dioxide levels. The authors include the latest research on the development of plant communities in newly restored or created wetlands and on the use of wetland plants as indicators of ecological integrity and of wetland boundaries. Over 140 figures, including over 70 original photographs, allow you to visualize the concepts, 40 tables give you easy access to definitions and data, and international examples provide you with a broad base of information. The growing consensus in wetlands literature and research suggests that methods are needed to assess the ecological health or integrity of wetlands, to set goals for wetland restoration, and to track the status and trends of wetlands. Wetland plants are emerging as important indicators, and becoming an important part of this research. Wetland Plants: Biology and Ecology contains up-to-date information on this increasingly important area in wetlands technology.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781566703727Publication Date: 2001-06-13
Florida's Wetlands by
Taken from the earlier book Priceless Florida (and modified for a stand-alone book), this volume discusses Florida's wetlands, including interior wetlands, seepage wetlands, marshes, flowing-water swamps, beaches and marine marshes, and mangrove swamps. Introduces readers to the trees and plants, insects, mammals, reptiles, and other species that live in Florida's unique wetlands ecosystem, including the Virginia iris, American white waterlily, cypress, treefrogs, warblers, and the Florida black bear. < < Previous in series Next in series > > See all of the books in this series
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781561646876Publication Date: 2014-09-02
Drying Up by
America's wettest state is running out of water. Florida--with its swamps, lakes, extensive coastlines, and legions of life-giving springs--faces a drinking water crisis. Drying Up is a wake-up call and a hard look at what the future holds for those who call Florida home.Journalist and educator John Dunn untangles the many causes of the state's freshwater problems. Drainage projects, construction, and urbanization, especially in the fragile wetlands of South Florida, have changed and shrunk natural water systems. Pollution, failing infrastructure, increasing outbreaks of toxic algae blooms, and pharmaceutical contamination are worsening water quality. Climate change, sea level rise, and groundwater pumping are spoiling freshwater resources with saltwater intrusion. Because of shortages, fights have broken out over rights to the Apalachicola River, Lake Okeechobee, the Everglades, and other important watersheds.Many scientists think Florida has already passed the tipping point, Dunn warns. Drawing on more than one hundred interviews and years of research, he affirms that soon there will not be enough water to meet demand if "business as usual" prevails. He investigates previous and current restoration efforts as well as proposed future solutions, including the "soft path for water" approach that uses green infrastructure to mimic natural hydrology.As millions of new residents are expected to arrive in Florida in the coming decades, this book is a timely introduction to a problem that will escalate dramatically--and not just in Florida. Dunn cautions that freshwater scarcity is a worldwide trend that can only be tackled effectively with cooperation and single-minded focus by all stakeholders involved--local and federal government, private enterprise, and citizens. He challenges readers to rethink their relationship with water and adopt a new philosophy that compels them to protect the planet's most precious resource.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780813056203Publication Date: 2019-03-12
Find Books, Journals, Media:
E-Books | Advanced Search | My Library Account | ILL - Interlibrary Loan |