ENVS 3170 Everglades Ecology and Conservation
Other Course Guides
Everglades Ecology and Conservation
Everglades Ecology and Conservation
ENVS 3170
Fall 2023
An overview of the Greater Everglades Ecosystem that integrates biological, geological, ecological, conservation, social, economic and political aspects to the ecosystem and its current restoration efforts. The course will examine the main biological and physical features of South Florida, and the ecological processes that make this a unique ecosystem. The course will also examine man's relationship with the ecosystem since the times of their earliest occupation in the region to present. The course incorporates classroom time and 4 all-day Saturday fieldtrips.
Required Textbooks:
National Audubon Society Regional Guide to Florida by
Filled with concise descriptions and stunning photographs, the National Audubon Society Field Guide to Florida belongs in the home of every Florida resident and in the suitcase or backpack of every visitor. This compact volume contains: An easy-to-use field guide for identifying 1,000 of the state's wildflowers, trees, mushrooms, mosses, fishes, amphibians, reptiles, birds, butterflies, mammals, and much more; A complete overview of Florida's natural history, covering geology, wildlife habitats, ecology, fossils, rocks and minerals, clouds and weather patterns and night sky; An extensive sampling of the area's best parks, preserves, beaches, forests, islands, and wildlife sanctuaries, with detailed descriptions and visitor information for 50 sites and notes on dozens of others. The guide is packed with visual information -- the 1,500 full-color images include more than 1,300 photographs, 14 maps, and 16 night-sky charts, as well as 150 drawings explaining everything from geological processes to the basic features of different plants and animals. For everyone who lives or spends time in Florida, there can be no finer guide to the area's natural surroundings than the National Audubon Society Field Guide to Florida.
Call Number: QH105.F6 N38 1998 (Reference Book - LIB USE ONLY)ISBN: 9780679446774Publication Date: 1998-05-26- National Audubon Society Regional Guide to Florida by
The most comprehensive field guide available to the flora and fauna of Florida--a portable, essential companion for visitors and residents alike--from the go-to reference source for over 18 million nature lovers. This compact volume contains: An easy-to-use field guide for identifying 1,000 of the state's wildflowers, trees, mushrooms, mosses, fishes, amphibians, reptiles, birds, butterflies, mammals, and much more; A complete overview of Florida's natural history, covering geology, wildlife habitats, ecology, fossils, rocks and minerals, clouds and weather patterns and night sky; An extensive sampling of the area's best parks, preserves, beaches, forests, islands, and wildlife sanctuaries, with detailed descriptions and visitor information for 50 sites and notes on dozens of others. The guide is packed with visual information -- the 1,500 full-color images include more than 1,300 photographs, 14 maps, and 16 night-sky charts, as well as 150 drawings explaining everything from geological processes to the basic features of different plants and animals.
Call Number: AVAILABLE FOR PURCHASE ONLINEISBN: 9780679446774Publication Date: 1998-05-26
The Everglades Handbook by
"This fourth edition covers the key subjects of previous editions with major updates of the new science and understanding. If there ever was a necessary book for Everglades advocates, students, authors, members of government and their agencies, The Everglades Handbook: Understanding the Ecosystemis an absolute must!" --Nathaniel P. Reed, from the Foreword "This book is far and away the best guide now in print to Everglades issues -- authoritative, well-illustrated, well-indexed, and readable." -- Martha Musgrove, retired Miami Heraldjournalist, founding President of the Decision Makers Forum, and Southeast Regional Director of the Florida Wildlife Federation "Given the astonishing breadth and depth of scientific activities in the Everglades, Tom Lodge once again illustrates his savvy as an articulate science writer in condensing the complex dynamics of this remarkable ecosystem. ...In summary, the Handbook reviews a vast literature into a compelling read about the natural treasures of the Everglades." --Evelyn E. Gaiser, Executive Director, School of Environment, Arts and Society, and Associate Dean, College of Arts & Sciences, Florida International University, modified from Wetlands (2011) 31 _____________________________________________________________________________________ The fourth edition presents expanded treatment of subjects where our knowledge of the Everglades and its restoration has greatly improved. This more detailed coverage includes: Computer modeling and its applications to the Everglades environment Quantified role of water flow in shaping the Everglades landscape The origin and evolution of fixed tree islands Sulfur and related mercury as wetland pollutants Up-to-date summary of the now quantified economic benefits of restoration, shown to be far in excess of the cost The Everglades Handbook: Understanding the Ecosystem, Fourth Editionis a scholarly reference packed cover to cover with scientific information about the ecosystem of the Everglades - taking into account how drastically the Everglades has changed. Topically, the book covers disciplines ranging from ecology, geology, climatology, hydrology, anthropology to conservation biology. Written in Tom Lodge's trademark accessible style, this extensively researched text is essential reading for anybody trying to understand the challenges we face in restoring this unique ecosystem.
Call Number: QH105.F6 L63 2017ISBN: 9781498742900Publication Date: 2016-12-22- The Everglades Handbook by
"This fourth edition covers the key subjects of previous editions with major updates of the new science and understanding. If there ever was a necessary book for Everglades advocates, students, authors, members of government and their agencies, The Everglades Handbook: Understanding the Ecosystemis an absolute must!" --Nathaniel P. Reed, from the Foreword "This book is far and away the best guide now in print to Everglades issues -- authoritative, well-illustrated, well-indexed, and readable." -- Martha Musgrove, retired Miami Heraldjournalist, founding President of the Decision Makers Forum, and Southeast Regional Director of the Florida Wildlife Federation "Given the astonishing breadth and depth of scientific activities in the Everglades, Tom Lodge once again illustrates his savvy as an articulate science writer in condensing the complex dynamics of this remarkable ecosystem. ...In summary, the Handbook reviews a vast literature into a compelling read about the natural treasures of the Everglades." --Evelyn E. Gaiser, Executive Director, School of Environment, Arts and Society, and Associate Dean, College of Arts & Sciences, Florida International University, modified from Wetlands (2011) 31 _____________________________________________________________________________________ The fourth edition presents expanded treatment of subjects where our knowledge of the Everglades and its restoration has greatly improved. This more detailed coverage includes: Computer modeling and its applications to the Everglades environment Quantified role of water flow in shaping the Everglades landscape The origin and evolution of fixed tree islands Sulfur and related mercury as wetland pollutants Up-to-date summary of the now quantified economic benefits of restoration, shown to be far in excess of the cost The Everglades Handbook: Understanding the Ecosystem, Fourth Editionis a scholarly reference packed cover to cover with scientific information about the ecosystem of the Everglades - taking into account how drastically the Everglades has changed. Topically, the book covers disciplines ranging from ecology, geology, climatology, hydrology, anthropology to conservation biology. Written in Tom Lodge's trademark accessible style, this extensively researched text is essential reading for anybody trying to understand the challenges we face in restoring this unique ecosystem.
Call Number: AVAILABLE FOR PURCHASE ONLINEISBN: 9781498742900Publication Date: 2016-12-22
- Students will demonstrate an in-depth knowledge and an appreciation for the complex nature of current environmental issues surrounding the Greater Everglades Ecosystem and the South Florida environment
- Students will describe the key processes influencing the ecology of the Everglades ecosystem
- Students will synthesize and evaluate the main anthropogenic threats to the Everglades ecosystem
- Students will articulate, both orally and in writing, the ongoing debates surrounding Everglades management and restoration
- Students will utilize a field journal to describe and document field experiences
Quick Search
Find Books, Journals, Media:
E-Books | Advanced Search | My Library Account | ILL - Interlibrary Loan
Search Full Text Finder to find the full text of a publication.
If you see an embargo next to a e-journal title: An embargo period is a period of time which an official academic publication is not yet available online, either due to publishing restrictions or subscription contracts. Ex: "Embargo: 1 Year" = access begins one year ago from today's date.
Search Full Text Finder to find the full text of a publication.
|
Databases: search for articles, datasets, and videos on your topic |
|
|
View Databases by Subject OR All Databases |
|
Search NSUWorks - NSU's Institutional Repository:
Browse or search scholarship in Digital Commons @ NSUWorks!
Find Research Tips and Useful Resources
Oceanographic Campus Library Guides
News, Events, & Training | Writing & Citation Style | Course Guides | Browse by Subject | How-To Guides | LibraryLearn : Short Video Tutorials | Razor's Research Bytes