ENVS 3170 - Everglades Ecology and Conservation

This project includes the University of Florida's most important historical record collections documenting the despoiling of the Everglades and the development of South Florida in the late 19th and early 20th centuries.

The U.S. Army Corps of Engineers has a long history of maintaining the nation's waterways, but only in the last two decades has the Corps taken its knowledge of routing water and applied it towards ecosystem restoration. The Ecosystem Branch oversees the planning, design, construction and management of ecosystem restoration projects in Florida, Puerto Rico, and other U. S. territories in the Caribbean Islands.

Provided by the Florida Museum of Natural History.

The Everglades Cooperative Invasive Species Management Area (Everglades CISMA) is an interagency partnership that manages, researches, and educates about invasive species across South Florida. The Everglades CISMA contains six major partners plus numerous cooperators including federal, state, and local government agencies, universities, tribes, and nonprofit organizations.

The Everglades Depth Estimation Network (EDEN) is an integrated network of water-level gages, interpolation models, and applications that generates daily water-level data and derived hydrologic data across the freshwater part of the greater Everglades landscape. The Comprehensive Everglades Restoration Plan (CERP) through the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers and U.S. Geological Survey Greater Everglades Priority Ecosystem Sciences provides support for EDEN and for the goal of providing consistent, documented, and readily accessible hydrologic and ground-elevation data for the Everglades.

Collection of scientific papers, curriculum materials, general background readings, technical reports, photographs, maps, historical records relating to the South Florida environment.

A single gateway to: 1) the growing universe of world metadata and catalog records connecting users directly to Everglades digital resources; 2) a full-text search of documents curated and housed locally on Florida International University servers; and 3) important born-digital material housed in government and non-government agencies and their content management systems.

Provided by the Everglades Cooperative Invasive Species Management Area, this site includes a list of invasive plants.

The Everglades Cooperative Invasive Species Management Area (Everglades CISMA) is an interagency partnership that manages, researches, and educates about invasive species across South Florida.

Restoration of the Everglades includes the involvement of Federal, State, Local, and Tribal Governments, as well Former Stakeholder Bodies and Academic Institutions.

The Florida Coastal Everglades Long-Term Ecological Research (FCE-LTER) project is a collaboration of over 120 researchers, students, and technical staff. The team studies the ways in which hydrology, climate, and human activities affect ecosystem patterns in the estuarine ecotones, or regions where freshwater and saltwater mix, of the Florida Coastal Everglades.

The Everglades encompasses a series of rivers, lakes and estuaries and within these waters exist a deep and inextricable relationship between Florida’s environment and the quality of life for the more than seven million residents that call south Florida home. By saving America’s Everglades – through the largest environmental restoration project in the nation’s history – Florida is restoring wetlands, revitalizing water quality and reviving the habitats for more than 60 endangered and threatened species.

Friends of the Everglades was founded in 1969 by renowned journalist, author, and environmental activist Marjory Stoneman Douglas. The mission of Friends of the Everglades is to preserve, protect, and restore the only Everglades in the world.

Everglades National Park protects an unparalleled landscape that provides important habitat for numerous rare and endangered species like the manatee, American crocodile, and the elusive Florida panther.

Since its dedication in 1947, Everglades National Park has been touted as one of the great biological wonders of the world. Taking center stage is the diverse array of animals that call this place home.

This website provides a background on the history and culture of the Everglades.

Located at the confluence of temperate North America and the tropical Caribbean, Everglades National Park is home to representative flora from both climes. The optimal growing conditions that are prevalent throughout south Florida foster a lush growth of plant life that sustains a diverse complex of flora. The Everglades serve as important habitat for a number of endemic and legally protected species. Although nine distinct ecosystems have been identified within Everglades National Park, their boundaries overlap within the dynamic landscape, which is subject to the elements of south Florida.

Reclaiming the Everglades documents the history of the Everglades and the south Florida environment from 1884-1934; The digitized items represent a rich diversity of unique or rare materials: personal correspondence, essays, typescripts, reports and memos; photographs, maps and postcards; and publications from individuals and the government.

Recognizing that a healthy ecosystem is vital to a healthy economy, the South Florida Water Management District – working with our local, state and federal partners – is committed to restoring, revitalizing and protecting this national treasure.

The State of the Everglades Report is published twice a year to provide updates on recent progress and new challenges. The publication is full of news and information and is a great way to catch up on all of Audubon's Everglades efforts.

The U.S. Army Corps of Engineers has a long history of maintaining the nation's waterways, but only in the last two decades has the Corps taken its knowledge of routing water and applied it towards ecosystem restoration. The Ecosystem Branch oversees the planning, design, construction and management of ecosystem restoration projects in Florida, Puerto Rico, and other U. S. territories in the Caribbean Islands.

The Everglades Research & Education Center (EREC) near Belle Glade is an agricultural and environmental research and education unit of the University of Florida's, Institute of Food and Agricultural Sciences (IFAS). The seventeen scientists located at the Center are from various academic disciplines (see faculty list) and participate in interdisciplinary team approaches to investigate agricultural and environmental issues.