MSMS 6203 Climate Change
Course Guide for MSMS 6203 Climate Change
Featured Resources
Introduction to Modern Climate Change by
This is an invaluable textbook for any introductory survey course on the science and policy of climate change, for both non-science majors and introductory science students. The second edition has been thoroughly updated to reflect the most recent science from the latest IPCC reports, and many illustrations include new data. The new edition also reflects advances in the political debate over climate change. Unique amongst textbooks on climate change, it combines an introduction to the science with an introduction to economic and policy issues, and is tightly focused on anthropogenic climate change. It contains the necessary quantitative depth for students to properly understand the science of climate change. It supports students in using algebra to understand simple equations and to solve end of chapter problems. Supplementary online resources include a complete set of PowerPoint figures for instructors, solutions to exercises, videos of the author's lectures, and additional computer exercises.
Call Number: QC903 .D46 2016ISBN: 9781107096820Publication Date: 2015-09-29
Global Climate Change by
An internationally recognized expert on the geology of barrier islands, Orrin H. Pilkey is one of the rare academics who engages in public advocacy about science-related issues. He has written dozens of books and articles explaining coastal processes to lay readers, and he is a frequent and outspoken interviewee in the mainstream media. Here, the colorful scientist takes on climate change deniers in an outstanding and much-needed primer on the science of global change and its effects. After explaining the greenhouse effect, Pilkey, writing with son Keith, turns to the damage it is causing: sea level rise, ocean acidification, glacier and sea ice melting, changing habitats, desertification, and the threats to animals, humans, coral reefs, marshes, and mangroves. These explanations are accompanied by Mary Edna Fraser's stunning batiks depicting the large-scale arenas in which climate change plays out. The Pilkeys directly confront and rebut arguments typically advanced by global change deniers. Particularly valuable are their discussions of "Climategate," a manufactured scandal that undermined respect for the scientific community, and the denial campaigns by the fossil fuel industry, which they compare to the tactics used by the tobacco companies a generation ago to obfuscate findings on the harm caused by cigarettes.
Call Number: QD903 .P55 2011ISBN: 9780822350958Publication Date: 2011-06-30
Encyclopedia of Climate Change by
This new edition of The Encyclopedia of Climate Change provides comprehensive coverage of global warming and climate change, including scientific descriptions and explanations of all factors, from carbon dioxide to sunspots, that might contribute to climate change. Previously published as the Encyclopedia of Global Warming in 2009, this new edition, now titled the Encyclopedia of Climate Change brings the conversation up-to-date with a full update of existing material and over 100 new entries. New content includes detailed information from the 2015 UN Climate Change Conference, Greenpeace Activists, the Politics of Global Warming, Environmental Politics, Negotiations on Greenhouse Gas Emissions and The Standing March, to name a few. This encyclopedia is designed to provide students at the high school and undergraduate levels with a convenient source of information on the fundamental science and sociopolitical issues, including the debates and controversies, surrounding climate change. The study of climate change involves not only scientists but also politicians, policy makers, businesses, government and nongovernment agencies, and the general public. A student attempting to understand both the environmental science and social issues and controversies will encounter not just scientific terms and concepts but political organizations, geographic areas, social concepts, persons, countries, organizations, and laws as well. The essays in the set fall into one or more of the following broad categories: animals, Arctic and Antarctic, astronomy, chemistry and geochemistry, climatic events and epochs, conferences and meetings, cryology and glaciology, diseases and health effects, economics, industries and products, energy, environmentalism, conservation and ecosystems, ethics, human rights and social justice, fossil fuels, geology and geography, laws, treaties and protocols, meteorology and atmospheric sciences, nations and peoples, oceanography, organizations and agencies, physics and geophysics, plants and vegetation, pollution and waste, popular culture and society, science and technology, transportation, and water resources.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781682171417Publication Date: 2016-11-01
Climate Change Books & E-Books
River Profiles by
Centuries of mismanagement and destructive development have gravely harmed American waterways, with significant consequences for the ecosystems and communities built around them. But a range of passionate and committed people have stepped up to restore streams and rivers around the United States. A husband-and-wife scientist team in Pennsylvania lead projects to unclog the sediment left by early colonists' dams. Members of the Tulalip Tribes in western Washington State bring beavers back to headwater streams. A public servant in Milwaukee drives the sewer department to remove concrete channels and reduce flood risk. Community activists in Atlanta push for environmental justice in river restoration. Telling these stories and many more, Pete Hill-a twenty-year veteran of the field of watershed restoration-provides a deep dive into the world of river and stream conservation. He profiles the practitioners, scientists, and activists from all walks of life who take part in restoration efforts, exploring their differing, sometimes controversial approaches. Through their stories, Hill illustrates the challenges and rewards of river restoration and the evolving scientific understanding in the field. Underscoring the need for a variety of strategies adapted to different local contexts, he shows that new ideas have come from a wide range of people-from those operating the machinery to those researching stream ecology-and that Indigenous knowledge offers vital resources. At once personal and learned, insightful and inspiring, this book shines a light on the people working to heal our streams and rivers.
Call Number: QH97 .H55 2024ISBN: 9780231207645Publication Date: 2024-04-09
Saving a Rainforest and Losing the World by
An unflinching investigation of the false promises of land sparing, exposing how its illusory successes mask the failures of green capitalism For two decades, the concept of land sparing, the claim that agricultural intensification can spare land by preventing forest clearing for agricultural expansion, has dominated tropical forest conservation. Land sparing policies transform landscapes and livelihoods with the promise of reconciling agricultural development with environmental conservation. But that land sparing promise is false. Based on six years of research on agrarian frontiers in Indonesia, Brazil, and Bolivia, this book traces where and how land sparing becomes policy and charts the social and ecological effects of these political contests. Gregory M. Thaler explains why land sparing appears successful in some places but not in others and reveals that success as an illusion achieved by displacing deforestation to new frontiers. The failure of land sparing exposes a harsh truth behind assurances of green capitalism: capitalist development is ecocide.
Call Number: QH541.5.R27 T48 2024ISBN: 9780300272482Publication Date: 2024-02-27
Advanced Introduction to Environmental Impact Assessment by
Elgar Advanced Introductions are stimulating and thoughtful introductions to major fields in the social sciences, business and law, expertly written by the world's leading scholars. Designed to be accessible yet rigorous, they offer concise and lucid surveys of the substantive and policy issues associated with discrete subject areas. This updated second edition of the Advanced Introduction to Environmental Impact Assessment offers an up-to-date exploration of the current theory and practice of Environmental Impact Assessment (EIA), a crucial tool for evaluating and mitigating the impacts of development projects on the environment. Angus Morrison-Saunders provides an overview of the key concepts, principles, and methodologies of EIA, with a focus on recent developments, emerging trends, and best practices in the field. Key Features: Fresh analyses of how environment and development intersect in EIA Exploration of the fundamental ideas promoted by the pioneers of EIA Revised content on international best practice EIA principles and how they apply today Reflections on the increasing need to adopt a holistic, sustainability-oriented approach to EIA. With accessible style, comprehensive coverage, and a practical approach, this book is an essential resource for students, scholars, and practitioners in environmental studies, environmental governance, policy and regulation, urban planning, and related fields who want to deepen their understanding of EIA.
Call Number: TD194.6 .M687 2023ISBN: 9781803922133Publication Date: 2023-10-03
The Lost Continent by
This poignant tribute to the beauty of coral reefs sheds light on the destruction of global reef ecosystems and the climate science behind the conservation efforts to save them. Broken into three parts-Discovering Corals, Wonder and Devastation, and Searching for Hope-and told through a series of gripping stories, author and documentarian David Alexander Baker takes readers on a global adventure to the front lines of an unfolding ecological crisis. More than half of the world's coral reefs have been destroyed in the past fifty years due to the climate crisis. The Lost Continent helps readers gain a deeper understanding of coral reefs and why they are vital to the health of our oceans-and the survival of our planet-and highlights the incredible conservation and restoration strides being made around the world. With over 60 breathtaking photographs of coral reefs spanning from Colombia to Australia to the Florida Keys readers will be moved both by the majesty of nature and the urgency to preserve and restore these great cities of the seas.
Call Number: QH75 .B2649 2022ISBN: 9781623545147Publication Date: 2022-10-18
Contaminants and Clean Technologies by
Contaminants and Clean Technologies provides valuable information on environmental contaminants such as industrial pollutants, micropollutants, pesticides, endocrine disruptors, pharmaceuticals, toxins, and hormones. It focuses on the various types of environmental contaminants discharged from various sources; their toxicological effects in environments, humans, animals, and plants; and their removal methods. It also covers, comprehensively, information on the contaminants released by various industries and agricultural practices, which cause severe threats to the environment. Features of the book: Elucidates systematic information on various types of environmental contaminants, and their fate and consequences Discusses contaminants such as endocrine disruptors, pharmaceutical waste, and personal care products Provides an overview of physicochemical and biological treatment technologies for sustainable development Details recent research finding in the area of environmental contaminants and their future challenges
Call Number: TD174 .C66 2020ISBN: 9780367225995Publication Date: 2020-03-12
Democracy and Climate Change by
Democracy and Climate Change explores the various ways in which democratic principles can lead governments to respond differently to climate change. The election cycle can lead to short-termism, which often appears to be at odds with the long-term nature of climate change, with its latency between cause and effect. However, it is clear that some democracies deal with climate change better than others, and this book demonstrates that overall stronger democratic qualities tend to correlate with improved climate performance. Beginning by outlining a general concept of democratic efficacy, the book provides an empirical analysis of the influence of the quality of democracy on climate change performance across dozens of countries. The specific case study of Canada's Kyoto Protocol process is then used to explain the mechanisms of democratic influence in depth. The wide-ranging research presented in the book opens up several new and exciting avenues of enquiry and will be of considerable interest to researchers with an interest in comparative politics, democracy studies and environmental policies.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 0415371163Publication Date: 2017-07-28
Coastal Change, Ocean Conservation and Resilient Communities by
This collection of essays and design case studies explores a range of ideas and best practices for adapting to dynamic waterfront conditions while incorporating nature conservation in urbanized coastal areas. The editors have curated a selection of works contributed by leading practitioners in the fields of coastal science, community resilience, habitat restoration, sustainable landscape architecture and floodplain management. By highlighting ocean-friendly innovations and strategies being applied in coastal cities today, this book illustrates ways to cohabit with many other species who share the waterfront with us, feed in salt marshes, bury their eggs on sandy beaches, fly south over cities along the Atlantic Flyway, or attach themselves to an oyster reef. This book responds to the need for inventive, practical, and straightforward ways to weather a changing climate while being responsible shoreline stewards.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9783319419145Publication Date: 2016-11-26
Climate Change and Social Movements by
Climate Change and Social Movements is a riveting and thorough exploration of three important campaigns to influence climate change policy in the United Kingdom. The author delves deep into the campaigns and illuminates the way policymakers think about and respond to social movements.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781137468796Publication Date: 2016-04-29
Facing Climate Change by
Facing Climate Change explains why people refuse to accept evidence of a warming planet and shows how to move past partisanship to reach a consensus for action. A climate scientist and licensed Jungian analyst, Jeffrey T. Kiehl examines the psychological phenomena that twist our relationship to the natural world and their role in shaping the cultural beliefs that distance us further from nature. He also accounts for the emotions triggered by the lived experience of climate change and the feelings of fear and loss they inspire, which lead us to deny the reality of our warming planet. But it is not too late. By evaluating our way of being, Kiehl unleashes a potential human emotional understanding that can reform our behavior and help protect the Earth. Kiehl dives deep into the human brain's psychological structures and human spirituality's imaginative power, mining promising resources for creating a healthier connection to the environment-and one another. Facing Climate Change is as concerned with repairing our social and political fractures as it is with reestablishing our ties to the world, teaching us to push past partisanship and unite around the shared attributes that are key to our survival. Kiehl encourages policy makers and activists to appeal to our interdependence as a global society, extracting politics from the process and making decisions about our climate future that are substantial and sustaining.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780231177184Publication Date: 2016-03-01
Promoting Climate Change Awareness Through Environmental Education by
Addressing global climate change is a monumental battle that can only be fought by the leaders of tomorrow, but future leaders are molded through education and shaped by the leaders of today. While the pivotal role of education in spreading awareness of climate change is one universally espoused, equally universal is the recognition that current education efforts are falling woefully short. Promoting Climate Change Awareness through Environmental Education stems the rising tide of shortcomings in environmental education by plugging a known gap in current research and opening a dialogue for the future. Targeting an audience of young scholars, academics, researchers, and policymakers, this volume provides a much needed dam of empirical evidence regarding the role of youth education in addressing one of the greatest challenges of our age. This timely publication focuses on topics such as building resilience to climate change, green learning spaces, gender issues and concerns for developing countries, and the impact of young adults on the future of environmental sustainability.
Call Number: GE70 .P8 2016ISBN: 1466687649Publication Date: 2015-09-30
Climate Change: a Wicked Problem by
Under one cover, Frank Incropera provides a comprehensive, objective and critical assessment of all issues germane to the climate change debate: science, technology options, economic ramifications, cultural and behavioural issues, the influence of special interests and public policy, geopolitics and ethical dimensions. The underlying science is treated in depth, but in an approachable and accessible manner. A strong case is made for the reality of anthropogenic climate change, while confronting the range of issues that remain uncertain and deconstructing opposing views. Incropera assesses the strengths and weaknesses of technology options for mitigating the effects of climate change, analyzes nontechnical factors - economic, cultural and political - and provides an in-depth treatment of ethical implications. This book is intended for those wishing to become fully informed about climate change and is designed to provide the reader with a firm foundation for drawing his or her own conclusions.
Call Number: QC903 .I475 2016ISBN: 9781107109070Publication Date: 2015-09-23
The Politics of Global Climate Change by
In 2009 the US House of Representatives passed legislation requiring reductions in greenhouse gas emissions by 18 percent over the coming decade. Later that year, President Obama went to Copenhagen to sign a treaty requiring reductions by 50 percent over a two-decade period. The President came back with nothing: no firm commitment to reduce emissions and only a vague target to hold global temperature rises to under 2 C. How does a President who has a 75-vote majority in the House and a 19-vote majority in the Senate-who has pre-approval for a treaty reducing greenhouse gas production by 18 percent-not achieve a treaty with at least the minimum goal of 18 percent reductions by 2020? Others have answered the puzzle by looking at institutional designs or negotiation dynamics. This book articulates a multilevel process that starts with local politics to explain how they can influence international negotiations and why President Obama's efforts in Copenhagen were doomed to fail. Understanding the role of local private interests can help form strategies for overcoming national resistance to climate change legislation and ultimately international agreements that could change the environmentally self-destructive course we are on."
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781612059112Publication Date: 2014-12-01
Climatic and Ecological Change in the Americas by
This book offers a comparative analysis of the experiences, responses, and adaptations of people to climate variability and environmental change across the Americas. It foregrounds historical ecology as a structural framework for understanding the climate change crisis throughout the region and throughout time. In recent years, Indigenous and local populations in particular have experienced climate change effects such as altered weather patterns, seasonal irregularities, flooding and drought, and difficulties relating to subsistence practices. Understanding and dealing with these challenges has drawn on peoples' longstanding experience with climate variability and in some cases includes models of mitigation and responses that are millennia old. With contributions from specialists across the Americas, this volume will be of interest to scholars from fields including anthropology, archaeology, geography, environmental studies, and Indigenous studies.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781032321073Publication Date: 2023-07-25
Green House Gas Emissions Reporting and Management in Global Top Emitting Countries and Companies by
Human-induced climate change is one of the imminent threats to humankind in recent times. Climate change, exacerbated by the greenhouse gas (GHG) in the atmosphere has consequential effects on the social and environmental outcome of human health, clean air, sufficient food, safe drinking water and secure shelter. In extreme circumstances it has resulted in the loss of human life, damage to property and displacement. As record numbers of hurricanes, wildfires and floods have occurred and millions of people have been forcibly displaced by weather-related events and extreme temperatures since 2008, this volume addresses vital issues pertinent to environmental accounting and management. Green House Gas Emissions Reporting and Management in Global Top Emitting Countries and Companiesincreases our understanding of GHG emissions and documents evidence for policy formulation aimed at reducing the accumulation of such emissions. The contributors consider a range of issues from across the globe: the nature and quantum of GHG emissions research published in top journals; the extent of GHG disclosures in China; impact of corporate governance mechanisms on GHG disclosures in US; board interlocks effect on GHG performance in India; the Paris Climate Agreement affect on climate disclosures in South Africa; and social factors influence in determining GHG emissions in the top 100 emitting countries. The Advances in Environmental Accounting & Management series aims to advance knowledge of the governance and management of corporate environmental impacts and the accounting involved.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781802628852Publication Date: 2023-07-11
Climate Adaptation Modelling by
This open access book focuses on an issue only marginally tackled by this literature: the still existing gap between adaptation science and modelling and the possibility to effectively access and exploit the information produced by policy making at different levels, international, national and local. To do so, the book presents the proceedings of a high-level expert workshop on adaptation modelling, integrated with main results from the "Study on Adaptation Modelling" (SAM-PS) commissioned by the European Commission's Directorate-General for Climate Action (DG CLIMA) and implemented by the CMCC Foundation - Euro-Mediterranean Centre on Climate Change, in collaboration with the Institute for Environmental Studies (IVM), Deltares, and Paul Watkiss Associates (PWA). What is the latest development in adaptation modelling? Which tools and information are available for adaptation assessment? How much are they practically usable by the policy community? How their uptake by practitioners can be improved? What are the major research gaps in adaptation modelling that needs to be covered in the next future? How? This book addresses these questions presenting the results of a study on adaptation modelling commissioned by the European Commission's Directorate-General for Climate Action (DG CLIMA) enriched by the outcomes of a high-level expert workshop on adaptation also part of the research. This book aspires to provide a useful support to academics, policy makers and practitioners in the field of adaptation to orient them in the expanding adaptation modelling assessment literature and suggest practical ways for its application. This book, mainly addressed to academics, policy makers and practitioners in the field of adaptation, aims to providing orientation in the large and expanding methodological/quantitative literature, presenting novelties, guiding in the practical application of adaptation assessments and suggesting lines for future research. This open access book focuses on an issue only marginally tackled by this literature: the still existing gap between adaptation science and modelling and the possibility to effectively access and exploit the information produced by policy making at different levels, international, national and local. To do so, the book presents the proceedings of a high-level expert workshop on adaptation modelling, integrated with main results from the "Study on Adaptation Modelling" (SAM-PS) commissioned by the European Commission's Directorate-General for Climate Action (DG CLIMA) and implemented by the CMCC Foundation - Euro-Mediterranean Centre on Climate Change, in collaboration with the Institute for Environmental Studies (IVM), Deltares, and Paul Watkiss Associates (PWA).
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9783030862107Publication Date: 2022-02-01
Climate Change Science by
Climate Change Science: Causes, Effects and Solutions for Global Warming presents unbiased, state-of-the-art, scientific knowledge on climate change and engineering solutions for mitigation. The book expands on all major prospective solutions for tackling climate change in a complete manner. It comprehensively explains the variety of climate solutions currently available, including the remaining challenges associated with each. Effective, complementary solutions for engineering to combat climate change are discussed and elaborated on. Some of the more high-risk proposals are qualitatively and quantitatively compared and contrasted with low-risk mitigation actions to facilitate the formulation of feasible, environmentally-friendly solutions. The book provides academics, postgraduate students and other readers in the fields of environmental science, climate change, atmospheric sciences and engineering with the information they need for their roles. Through exploring the fundamental information currently available, exergy utilization, large-scale solutions, and current solutions in place, the book is an invaluable look into how climate change can be addressed from an engineering-perspective using scientific models and calculations.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780128237670Publication Date: 2021-05-26
Nature-based Solutions for Resilient Ecosystems and Societies by
Over the past few decades, the frequency and severity of natural and human-induced disasters have increased across Asia. These disasters lead to substantial loss of life, livelihoods and community ass ets, which not only threatens the pace of socio-economic development, but also undo hard-earned gains. Extreme events and disasters such as floods, droughts, heat, fire, cyclones and tidal surges are known to be exacerbated by environmental changes including climate change, land-use changes and natural resource degradation. Increasing climate variability and multi-dimensional vulnerabilities have severely affected the social, ecological and economic capacities of the people in the region who are, economically speaking, those with the least capacity to adapt. Climatic and other environmental hazards and anthropogenic risks, coupled with weak and wavering capacities, severely impact the ecosystems and Nature’s Contributions to People (NCP) and, thereby, to human well-being. Long-term resilience building through disaster risk reduction and integrated adaptive climate planning, therefore, has become a key priority for scientists and policymakers alike. Nature-based Solutions (NbS) is a cost-effective approach that utilizes ecosystem and biodiversity services for disaster risk reduction and climate change adaptation, while also providing a range of co-benefits like sustainable livelihoods and food, water and energy security. This book discusses the concept of Nature-based Solutions (NbS) – both as a science and as art – and elaborates on how it can be applied to develop healthy and resilient ecosystems locally, nationally, regionally and globally. The book covers illustrative methods and tools adopted for applying NbS in different countries. The authors discuss NbS applications and challenges, research trends and future insights that have wider regional and global relevance. The aspects covered include: landscape restoration, ecosystem-based adaptation, ecosystem-based disaster risk reduction, ecological restoration, ecosystem-based protected areas management, green infrastructure development, nature-friendly infrastructure development in various ecosystem types, agro-climatic zones and watersheds. The book offers insights into understanding the sustainable development goals (SDGs) at the grass roots level and can help indigenous and local communities harness ecosystem services to help achieve them. It offers a unique, essential resource for researchers, students, corporations, administrators and policymakers working in the fields of the environment, geography, development, policy planning, the natural sciences, life sciences, agriculture, health, climate change and disaster studies.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9789811547126Publication Date: 2020
The Science and Impact of Climate Change by
This volume provides a holistic and concise overview of the complex science of climate change involving the interplay of multiple factors. It also acts as a primer and a one-source reference to all th e aspects of climate change, allowing researchers to understand the complexity of this science and to see the larger picture, thereby aiming towards holistic solutions. Beginning in the second half of the twentieth century, the impacts of climate change have been the worst nightmare to hit humanity so fiercely, causing loss of human life and irreparable destruction to natural and man-made infrastructure in many parts of the world. The difference between climate change now and in the past is that of sudden and disproportionate disruption of the natural energy dynamics by the changing consumption patterns of billions of human beings who, in their quest for economic superiority, have polluted the terrestrial and aquatic ecosystems. The picture that emerges from the exhaustive analysis of international data drawn from the most reliable sources indicates that we have possibly gained access to the gateway of extinction and it is time that we take corrective steps immediately. The book’s chapters not only provide an overview of climate change science but also include detailed discussion on current research. This unique analytical text is suitable for conservation environmentalists, researchers, and academicians working in the field, along with policy makers, research and training institutes, and nongovernment organizations.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9789811308093Publication Date: 2019
Open Space by
An examination of environmental satellite data sharing policies, offering a model of data-sharing policy development, case and practical recommendations for increasing global data sharing. Key to understanding and addressing climate change is continuous and precise monitoring of environmental conditions. Satellites play an important role in collecting climate data, offering comprehensive global coverage that can't be matched by in situ observation. And yet, as Mariel Borowitz shows in this book, much satellite data is not freely available but restricted; this remains true despite the data-sharing advocacy of international organizations and a global open data movement. Borowitz examines policies governing the sharing of environmental satellite data, offering a model of data-sharing policy development and applying it in case studies from the United States, Europe, and Japan--countries responsible for nearly half of the unclassified government Earth observation satellites. Borowitz develops a model that centers on the government agency as the primary actor while taking into account the roles of such outside actors as other government officials and non-governmental actors, as well as the economic, security, and normative attributes of the data itself. The case studies include the U.S. National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) and the U.S. National Oceanographic and Atmospheric Association (NOAA), and the United States Geological Survey (USGS); the European Space Agency (ESA) and the European Organization for the Exploitation of Meteorological Satellites (EUMETSAT); and the Japanese Aerospace Exploration Agency (JAXA) and the Japanese Meteorological Agency (JMA). Finally, she considers the policy implications of her findings for the future and provides recommendations on how to increase global sharing of satellite data.
Call Number: QE33.2.R4 B677 2017ISBN: 9780262037181Publication Date: 2017-12-15
Florida's Climate: Changes, Variations, and Impacts by
Florida's climate has been and continues to be one of its most important assets. It has enabled the growth of many major industries, including tourism and agriculture, which now rank at the top of Florida's diverse economic activities. Our state's climate enables its native ecosystems to flourish and attract citizens from around the world. The dependencies of Florida's society and ecosystems on climate are widely recognized and generally taken for granted. However, we now know that climate around the world is changing. Questions arise about whether or not Florida's climate is changing, how rapidly these changes might occur, and how Florida may adapt to anticipated changes and help mitigate the rates of change. This book provides a thorough review of the current state of research on Florida's climate, including physical climate benchmarks; climate prediction, projection, and attribution; and the impacts of climate and climate change on the people and natural resources of Florida. The editors have gathered more than 90 researchers at universities across the state and beyond to address important topics such as sea level rise, water resources, and how climate affects various sectors, including energy, agriculture, forestry, tourism, and insurance. This volume offers accessible, accurate information for students, policymakers, and the general public. About the Editors: Eric P. Chassignet is a professor in the Department of Earth, Ocean and Atmospheric Science and director of the Center for Ocean-Atmospheric Prediction Studies at Florida State University. James W. Jones is a distinguished professor emeritus in the Department of Agricultural and Biological Engineering at the University of Florida. Vasubandhu Misra is an associate professor in the Department of Earth, Ocean and Atmospheric Science and the Center for Ocean-Atmospheric Prediction Studies at Florida State University. Jayantha Obeysekera is the chief modeler at the South Florida Water Management District. About the Florida Climate Institute: The Florida Climate Institute (FCI) is a multi-disciplinary network of scientists working to achieve a better understanding of climate variability and change. The FCI has ten member universities - Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University (FAMU); Florida Atlantic University (FAU); the Florida Institute of Technology (FIT); Florida International University (FIU); Florida State University (FSU); Nova Southeastern University (NSU); the University of Central Florida (UCF); the University of Florida (UF); the University of Miami (UM); and the University of South Florida (USF).
Call Number: QC984.F6 C53 2017ISBN: 9781979091046Publication Date: 2017-11-29
The Monsoons and Climate Change by
This book presents a global overview examining monsoon variability in South Asia, Australian, South America and North American, as well as a focus on glaciers and monsoon systems. Monsoon systems are important components of the Earth's climate and play fundamental roles in water and energy balances. The variability and changes in the monsoons affect millions of people and the economies of many countries. This book presents the physical mechanisms involved with monsoon systems, including recent modeling advances addressing climate changes and future projections. The Monsoons and Climate Change will be of interest to both graduate students and researchers.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9783319216508Publication Date: 2015-12-22
Handbook of Research on Climate Change Impact on Health and Environmental Sustainability by
Climate change is not only one of the greatest threats to modern civilization; it is also a great challenge to economic development in the 21st century. Global warming can lead to periods of both drought and intense rain, causing crops to fail and ruining the livelihoods of many in underdeveloped countries. The Handbook of Research on Climate Change Impact on Health and Environmental Sustainability is an authoritative reference source that offers a comprehensive and timely analysis of various aspects of global warming and its consequences. Featuring such topics as assessment of and adaption to climate change, water and its socio-economic impact, the environmental effects of climate change on human health, and the mitigation of climate change on both a local and global level, this expansive handbook is an essential reference source for students, researchers, academicians, engineers, government executives, and other practitioners looking to make a difference in the treatment of our environment. This publication features timely research on subjects including, but not limited to, climate change and its effect on both urbanization and the trade competitiveness of different regions, water-related diseases flourishing due to climate change, health risks and rethinking health service provision, losses from natural disasters, farmersâe(tm) views on the environment, drought management policies, groundwater resource management, trends in long-term rainfall, fishery management and productivity, preserving biodiversity, and sustainable forest use.
Call Number: QC903 .H367 2016ISBN: 9781466688148Publication Date: 2015-11-05
Earth's Climate Evolution by
To understand climate change today, we first need to know how Earth's climate changed over the past 450 million years. Finding answers depends upon contributions from a wide range of sciences, not just the rock record uncovered by geologists. In Earth's Climate Evolution, Colin Summerhayes analyzes reports and records of past climate change dating back to the late 18th century to uncover key patterns in the climate system. The book will transform debate and set the agenda for the next generation of thought about future climate change. The book takes a unique approach to the subject providing a description of the greenhouse and icehouse worlds of the past 450 million years since land plants emerged, ignoring major earlier glaciations like that of Snowball Earth, which occurred around 600 million years ago in a world free of land plants. It describes the evolution of thinking in palaeoclimatology and introduces the main players in the field and how their ideas were received and, in many cases, subsequently modified. It records the arguments and discussions about the merits of different ideas along the way. It also includes several notes made from the author's own personal involvement in palaeoclimatological and palaeoceanographic studies, and from his experience of working alongside several of the major players in these fields in recent years. This book will be an invaluable reference for both undergraduate and postgraduate students taking courses in related fields and will also be of interest to historians of science and/or geology, climatology and oceanography. It should also be of interest to the wider scientific and engineering community, high school science students, policy makers, and environmental NGOs. Reviews: "Outstanding in its presentation of the facts and a good read in the way that it intersperses the climate story with the author's own experiences. [This book] puts the climate story into a compelling geological history." -Dr. James Baker "The book is written in very clear and concise prose, [and takes] original, enlightening, and engaging approach to talking about 'ideas' from the perspective of the scientists who promoted them." -Professor Christopher R. Scotese
Call Number: QC879.8 .S86 2015ISBN: 9781118897393Publication Date: 2015-10-19
Climate Change, Biodiversity, and Sustainability in the Americas by
This book compiles the latest research on the effects of climate change on biodiversity in the Americas and the sustainability efforts being made to preserve the ecological integrity of these regions. Scientists working in Canada, Puerto Rico, Argentina, the USA, Mexico, Panama, and Costa Rica contribute their findings in such varied areas as avian populations, the impacts of climate extremes on biodiversity, carbon storage in tree plantations, and the relationship between precipitation and vegetation. The changing climate and human activity are affecting ecosystems throughout the Americas. Governments, NGOs, industries, and communities need to learn about these changes in order to adapt their planning, infrastructure, and operations to mitigate the loss of biodiversity.
Call Number: QH101 .C45 2015ISBN: 9781935623724Publication Date: 2015-09-08
At Every Depth by
The world's oceans are changing at a drastic pace. Beneath the waves and along the coasts, climate change and environmental degradation have spurred the most radical transformations in human history. In response, the people who know the ocean most intimately are taking action for the sake of our shared future. Community scientists track species in California tidepools. Researchers dive into the waters around Sydney to replant kelp forests. Scientists and First Nations communities collaborate to restore clam gardens in the Pacific Northwest.
In At Every Depth, the oceanographer Tessa Hill and the science journalist Eric Simons profile these and other efforts to understand and protect marine environments, taking readers to habitats from shallow tidepools to the deep sea. They delve into the many human connections to the ocean-how people live with and make their living from the waters-journeying to places as far-flung as coral reefs, the Great Pacific Garbage Patch, and the Arctic and Antarctic poles. At Every Depth shares the stories of people from all walks of life, including scientists, coastal community members, Indigenous people, shellfish farmers, and fisheries workers. It brings together varied viewpoints, showing how scientists' research and local and Indigenous knowledge can complement each other to inform a more sustainable future. Poignantly written and grounded in science, this book offers a narrative perspective on the changing oceans, letting us see how our relationships to the oceans are changing too.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780231553254Publication Date: 2024
Assessments and Conservation of Biological Diversity from Coral Reefs to the Deep Sea by
Assessments and Conservation of Biological Diversity from Coral Reefs to the Deep Sea: Uncovering Buried Treasures and the Value of the Benthos examines marine benthic habitats around the world that are linked by their physical location at the bottom of the oceans. The book approaches deep sea marine biodiversity with perspectives on genetics, microbiology and evolution, weaving a narrative of vital expert linkages with the goal of protecting something that most people cannot witness or experience. It provides a full assessment of biological diversity within benthic habitats, from coral reefs to plankton and fish species, and offers global case studies. It is the ideal resource for marine conservationists and biologists aiming to expand their knowledge and efforts to the rarely seen, yet equally important, realms of the ocean and respective benthic species. As these deep-sea ecosystems and their species face unprecedented threats of destruction and extinction due to factors including climate change, this book provides the most current knowledge of this undersea world along with solutions for its conservation. Compares and contrasts between shallow and marine habitats to reveal revolutionary connections and continuity Analyzes modern threats and gaps in biological knowledge regarding benthic communities Examines benthic biodiversity through vertical vs. horizontal gradients Poses possible solutions for the conservation of benthic habitats and organisms
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780128241134Publication Date: 2023-11-30
The Application of Lake Sediments for Climate Studies by
The book discusses a comprehensive overview of various limnological approaches for climate studies, and sheds light on a multi-dimensional approach (i.e., field, laboratory, and data analysis; modern investigations; proxy development/calibration; proxy interpretation; and validation of climate models with proxy data) for climate reconstruction. The study highlighted the utilization of lake sediment as an archive for paleoclimate research. With the help of several case studies from around the globe (Israel, India, Turkey, Kyrgyzstan, Tibet, China and Europe), this brief provides a unique way to understand the implication of the methodological framework for climate studies. The book emphasizes the importance of field-based modern investigations to establish baseline characteristics of lake basins according to changes in environmental conditions. It also unveils the role of paleoclimate studies in climate model validation to forecast future climate variability. The book is a valuable resource for early career researchers interested in climate studies especially those using lake sediments as climate archive.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9783031347085Publication Date: 2023-08-31
Ocean Carbon Dioxide Removal for Climate Mitigation by
Examining the existing legal framework for ocean carbon dioxide removal (CDR), this forward-thinking book highlights potential legal challenges and opportunities associated with using the ocean to remove and store carbon dioxide from the atmosphere. It describes five commonly discussed ocean CDR techniques, including rock-based ocean alkalinity enhancement (OAE), electrochemical OAE, ocean fertilization, artificial upwelling and downwelling, and seaweed cultivation, and explores the legal issues that different techniques could raise. This timely book explores the laws governing ocean CDR research and deployment at the international level and domestically in seven countries across Asia, Europe, and North America. The analysis highlights the complexities and uncertainties associated with applying existing international and domestic law to ocean CDR, providing lawyers and policymakers with invaluable insights into areas where legal reforms are needed to facilitate in-ocean research and deployment. This book is essential reading for lawyers, policymakers, and others interested in advancing innovative climate change solutions. It will also appeal to academic and private sector scientists who are conducting research into ocean CDR.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781802208849Publication Date: 2023-04-25
Ocean Acidification and Marine Wildlife by Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780128223314Publication Date: 2021-07-14
Research handbook on ocean acidification law and policy by Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9781789900149Publication Date: 2021
Impact by
The rise in sea level is a visible and remorseless indicator of global warming, the consequences of which can be experienced worldwide - in contrast to other effects of climate change that are not yet noticeable at a larger scale. The book illustrates, in an impressive way, the ecological, commercial, and social impact associated with the rise in sea levels, taking the examples of the American East Coast and the Gulf of Mexico: the author has documented this region from his Cessna between 2005 and 2018 using large-format aerial photography. The pictures illustrate the different conditions of the areas documented at different times of the year, before and after major weather events, and thereby provide evidence of how dramatically the geography and landscape are altered due to climate change.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9783035621815Publication Date: 2020-11-23
Climate Change and Infectious Fish Diseases by
Climate change with global warming is not disputed by the vast majority of scientists and the aquatic system is most affected. A global rise in water temperature and acidification of the aquatic environment will continue even if we can significantly reduce the current output of the two most important greenhouse gasses (carbon dioxide and methane). These and other environmental changes will affect fish health which includes infectious pathogens. This important new text is the second volume on climate change and fish health. It covers changes to the freshwater ecosystem and their current and expected effects on selected infectious diseases of fish. The book represents contributions by over 50 experts from 18 countries. Comprehensive and thought-provoking, the book details abiotic and biotic environmental changes in temperate and tropical freshwater ecosystems, sequestrations of atmospheric carbon dioxide and effects on infectious diseases (12 microbial and 10 parasitic) in economically important fish in tropical, subtropical and temperate waters. The text is key reading for fish disease scientists, aquatic ecologists, fish health consultants, veterinarians, policy makers and all who are interested in fish health and the environment.
Call Number: SH172 .C54 2020ISBN: 9781789243277Publication Date: 2020-10-26
SeaCities Urban tactics for sea-level rise by
Highlights a strategy which includes four tactics on how to deal with the risk of sea-level rise and other water hazardsPresents case studies from three citiesOffers opportunities for cities for urban extensions like marine estates, aquatic food production, sea-related industry, and oceanic tourist attractions. - Springer
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9789811587481Publication Date: 2020
Climate Change and Sea Level Rise in South Florida by
South Florida is frequently cited as the part of the United State of America as most susceptible to the devastation accompanying sea level rise. Several scholarly studies have shown the negative impac t of coastal location in Florida on housing values. Are the residents of South Florida concerned? Is susceptibility to sea level rise actually affecting the housing market in terms of demand, the availability of home mortgages, or house prices? Are people living at particular risk from sea level rise aware of this risk and more open to new information about climate change? Do they support policies and laws to mitigate the pace and extent of climate change? Answers to these questions are not only of general interest, but they are also key to our understanding of the human dimensions of this problem. This book describes the results of a detailed survey in which respondents viewed a local map displaying flooding to their own community that would result from a Category 3 hurricane in 2033. It discusses political party identification and ideology that has an overwhelming impact in shaping views about sea level rise and climate change. This book has enormous implications for the effectiveness of communicating risk information. The text is important if we, as a nation, are to design communication strategies that will lead to broader policy to combat or mitigate this risk. Read less.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9783030326029Publication Date: 2020
Climate Change and Impacts in the Pacific by
This edited volume addresses the impacts of climate change on Pacific islands, and presents databases and indexes for assessing and adapting to island vulnerabilities. By analyzing susceptibility vari ables, developing comprehensive vulnerability indexes, and applying GIS techniques, the book's authors demonstrate the particular issues presented by climate change in the islands of the Pacific region, and how these issues may be managed to preserve and improve biodiversity and human livelihoods. The book first introduces the issues specific to island communities, such as high emissions impacts, and discusses the importance of the lithological traits of Pacific islands and how these physical factors relate to climate change impacts. From here, the book aims to analyze the various vulnerabilities of different island sectors, and to formulate a susceptibility index from these variables to be used by government and planning agencies for relief prioritization. Such variables include tropical cyclones, built infrastructures, proximity to coastal areas, agriculture, fisheries and marine resources, groundwater availability, biodiversity, and economic impacts on industries such as tourism. Through the categorization and indexing of these variables, human and physical adaptation measures are proposed, and support solutions are offered to aid the inhabitants of affected island countries. This book is intended for policy makers, academics, and climate change researchers, particularly those dealing with climate change impacts on small islands.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9783030328788Publication Date: 2020
Research handbook on climate change, oceans and coasts by
"This thought-provoking Research Handbook offers a critical survey of the law and governance issues facing the world's oceans and coasts in this era of Anthropocentric climate change. It discusses the biophysical impacts that climate change is having upon our oceans and coasts, as well as the various ways that international, national and sub-national laws have sought to respond. With contributions from scientists and lawyers, this comprehensive Research Handbook provides cutting edge analysis of the marine governance responses to climate change and how this will need to adapt in a rapidly changing world. It reflects on the interaction of climate change with regional marine governance regimes and analyses the likely impacts on maritime and national security. Illustrating the up-to-date treatment of interactions between climate and oceans regimes, this incisive Research Handbook examines the possible adaptation options to address specific issues for our oceans and coasts. The Research Handbook on Climate Change, Oceans and Coasts will be a key resource for students, scholars and practitioners of climate change, water law and environmental law and policy, while also being of benefit to researchers in the cross-cutting fields of human rights and disaster law"-- Provided by publisher.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781788112239Publication Date: 2020
NSU Oceanographic Campus Library, 8000 North Ocean Drive, Dania Beach, Florida 33004
(954) 262-3699 | oclibrary@nova.edu | Hours | NSU Libraries