MCCC 5300 Climate Change
MCCC 5300: Climate Change
 |
Climate Change Course Numbers: The Societal Perspective: MAMC 4450; MCCC 5350 The Scientific Basis: CZMT 0790; MEVS 5100 The Marine Environment: MSMS 6203 |
The Societal Perspective:
The social consequences of a changing climate are numerous and have the potential to significantly alter human-livelihood and even create community conflict and unrest. In this course, which is one of the two required (core) courses for the Graduate Certificate in Marine and Coastal Climate Change, students will explore climate change from a social perspective. Where appropriate, the course will be explored in the context of the marine and coastal environment.
The Scientific Basis:
Understanding the physical basis of the climate system is necessary in order to make sound predictions about future climate variability and its potential impacts on society. This course, which is one of the two required (core) courses for the Graduate Certificate in Marine and Coastal Climate Change, will examine climate change from the scientific side. Students will learn how the climate system works, how climate has changed throughout Earth's history, and how this information is used to predict the response of climate to both natural and anthropogenic forcing in the future. The course will be placed in the context of the marine and coastal environment.
The Marine Environment:
The purpose of this class is to provide students with an overview of climate change and how it is impacting the marine environment. Students will be introduced to concepts such as the modern climate system, what climate change is, as well as evidence for it. Students will be able to place recent climate change within the context of historical records. Topics such as ocean acidification, sea level rise, coral bleaching, hurricanes, marine ecosystems and ocean circulation patterns will allow students to explore the role that climate change is having on the the oceans and coasts. Discussion will include perspectives from the scientific and social side of this issue.
|
Climate Change Course Numbers: The Societal Perspective: MAMC 4450; MCCC 5350 The Scientific Basis: CZMT 0790; MEVS 5100 The Marine Environment: MSMS 6203 |
Climate Change: The Societal Perspective Textbooks:
Rough Guide to Climate Change by
The Rough Guide to Climate Changegives the complete picture of the single biggest issue facing the planet. Cutting a swathe through scientific research and political debate, this completely updated 3rd edition lays out the facts and assesses the options - global and personal - for dealing with the threat of a warming world. The guide looks at the evolution of our atmosphere over the last 4.5 billion years and what computer simulations of climate change reveal about our past, present and future. This updated edition includes scientific findings that have emerged since the 2007 report from the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC), as well as background on recent controversies and an updated politics section that reflects post-Copenhagen developments. Discover how rising temperatures and sea levels, plus changes to extreme weather patterns, are already affecting life around the world. The Rough Guide to Climate Changeunravels how governments, scientists and engineers plan to tackle the problem and includes information on what you can do to help.
Call Number: QC981.8.C5 H468 2011ISBN: 1848365799Publication Date: 2011-05-02
The Science and Politics of Global Climate Change by
The second edition of Dessler and Parson's acclaimed book provides an integrated treatment of the science, technology, economics, policy, and politics of climate change. Aimed at the educated non-specialist, and at courses in environmental policy or climate change, the book clearly lays out the scientific foundations of climate change, the issues in current policy debates, and the interactions between science and politics that make the climate change debate so contentious and confusing. This new edition is brought completely up to date to reflect the rapid movement of events related to climate change. In addition, all sections have been improved, in particular a more thorough primer on the basic science of climate change is included. The book also now integrates the discussion of contrarian claims with the discussion of current scientific knowledge; extends the discussion of cost and benefit estimates; and provides an improved glossary.
Call Number: AVAILABLE FOR PURCHASE ONLINEISBN: 0521737400Publication Date: 2010-02-18
Into a Warming World by
The evidence continues to mount: melting ice caps, rising temperatures, increasingly frequent natural disasters. As the devastating effects of global warming come into sharper focus, societies must work to both mitigate greenhouse gas emissions and adapt to ongoing and inevitable climate change. The actions taken in the coming century will be critically important in determining whether or not we can salvage our environment. We cannot shrink from the overwhelming magnitude of climate change or the radical solutions it demands. The Worldwatch Institute's State of the World 2009 investigates a wide range of potential paths to change, including new technology, policy changes, consumption, and finance, with the ultimate goal of mobilizing humanity around climate change and revealing global warming as one of the truly great challenges of our time.
Call Number: AVAILABLE ONLINEISBN: 9780393334180Publication Date: 2009-01-12
Climate Change: The Scientific Basis Textbooks:
- Rough Guide to Climate Change by
The Rough Guide to Climate Changegives the complete picture of the single biggest issue facing the planet. Cutting a swathe through scientific research and political debate, this completely updated 3rd edition lays out the facts and assesses the options - global and personal - for dealing with the threat of a warming world. The guide looks at the evolution of our atmosphere over the last 4.5 billion years and what computer simulations of climate change reveal about our past, present and future. This updated edition includes scientific findings that have emerged since the 2007 report from the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC), as well as background on recent controversies and an updated politics section that reflects post-Copenhagen developments. Discover how rising temperatures and sea levels, plus changes to extreme weather patterns, are already affecting life around the world. The Rough Guide to Climate Changeunravels how governments, scientists and engineers plan to tackle the problem and includes information on what you can do to help.
Call Number: QC981.8.C5 H468 2011ISBN: 1848365799Publication Date: 2011-05-02
Earth's Climate by
Paleoclimatology courses are growing, attracting a wide variety of students in earth and environmental sciences, geography, ecology, and related fields. "Earth's Climate: Past and Future" works as either a nonmajors introduction to Earth system science or climate change, or as a majors/graduate-level overview of the processes and techniques in climate science. Written from a multidisciplinary perspective by one of the field's preeminent researcher/instructors, the text summarizes the major lessons to be learned from 550 million years of climate changes, as a way of evaluating the climatological impact on and by humans in this century. The book also looks ahead to possible effects during the next several centuries of fossil fuel use."
Call Number: AVAILABLE FOR PURCHASE ONLINEISBN: 0716737418Publication Date: 2000-12-15
Climate Change & The Marine Environment Textbooks:
New edition of Introduction to Modern Climate Change coming to the Oceanographic Library soon! In the meantime, we have the previous edition linked below.
Introduction to Modern Climate Change by Call Number: QC903 .D46 2016ISBN: 9781107096820Publication Date: 2015-09-29
- eBook Version: Introduction to Modern Climate Change , 3rd EditionAvailable via the Cambridge Core Database. Must be signed in with NSU ID.
|
Climate Change Course Numbers: The Societal Perspective: MAMC 4450; MCCC 5350 The Scientific Basis: CZMT 0790; MEVS 5100 The Marine Environment: MSMS 6203 |
In The Societal Perspective, students will learn:
- How climate change will impact society
- What measures can be taken to mitigate or adapt to climate change.
- Who is responsible and who is most vulnerable.
- Whether we should be actively trying to take control of the climate system in an effort to offset the effects of greenhouse gas emissions
In The Scientific Basis, students will:
- Relate human population size to natural resources and resource consumption
- Explain the carbon, hydrologic, nitrogen, sulfur, and phosphorus cycles
- Describe ecological succession, population ecology, and carrying capacity
- Summarize the effects of air pollution on human health and natural systems
- Describe causes and effects of global climate change
- Discuss sustainable freshwater use and management practices
- Summarize types of water pollution and methods for improving water quality
- Identify human activities that contribute to marine pollution and impact marine ecosystems
- Summarize soil and land resource conservation efforts
- Discuss human causes of species endangerment and extinction
- Describe the types of solid and hazardous wastes and how they are managed
- Summarize the pros and cons associated with various energy sources
- Write a report, develop a lesson plan or create an interpretive guide based on an Environmental Science topic
In The Marine Environment, student will learn:
- How climate change will impact society.
- What measures can be taken to mitigate or adapt to climate change.
- Who is responsible and who is most vulnerable.
- Whether we should be actively trying to take control of the climate system in an effort to offset the effects of greenhouse gas emissions.
- How the climate system works.
- How climate has changed throughout Earth's history.
- How this information is used to predict the response of climate to both natural and anthropogenic forcing in the future.
Other Course Guides
Quick Search
Find Books, Journals, Media:
E-Books | Advanced Search | My Library Account | ILL - Interlibrary Loan
Search Full Text Finder to find the full text of a publication.
If you see an embargo next to a e-journal title: An embargo period is a period of time which an official academic publication is not yet available online, either due to publishing restrictions or subscription contracts. Ex: "Embargo: 1 Year" = access begins one year ago from today's date.
If you have the DOI of an article, you can search for the article using DOI Tools.
|
Databases: search for articles, datasets, and videos on your topic |
|
|
View Databases by Subject OR All Databases |
|
Search NSUWorks - NSU's Institutional Repository:
Browse or search scholarship in Digital Commons @ NSUWorks!
Find research tips, useful resources, and more by searching our LibGuides or browsing the topics below:
Oceanographic Campus Library Guides | Writing & Citation Style | Course Guides | Browse by Subject | How-To Guides | LibraryLearn : Short Video Tutorials | Razor's Research Bytes |