MSMS 6207 Stable Isotopes in the Environment: Find Books
This course is structured to offer a background in stable isotope biochemistry and how stable isotope ratios can be utilized in a variety of research.
Featured Resources
Stable Isotopes As Indicators of Ecological Change by
The 20th century has experienced environmental changes that appear to be unprecedented in their rate and magnitude during the Earth's history. For the first time, Stable Isotopes as Indicators of Ecological Change brings together a wide range of perspectives and data that speak directly to the issues of ecological change using stable isotope tracers. The information presented originates from a range of biological and geochemical sources and from research fields within biological, climatological and physical disciplines covering time-scales from days to centuries. Unlike any other reference, editors discuss where isotope data can detect, record, trace and help to interpret environmental change.
Call Number: QH541.15.S68 S715 2007ISBN: 9780123736277Publication Date: 2007-10-12- Stable Isotopes As Indicators of Ecological Change by
The 20th century has experienced environmental changes that appear to be unprecedented in their rate and magnitude during the Earth's history. For the first time, Stable Isotopes as Indicators of Ecological Change brings together a wide range of perspectives and data that speak directly to the issues of ecological change using stable isotope tracers. The information presented originates from a range of biological and geochemical sources and from research fields within biological, climatological and physical disciplines covering time-scales from days to centuries. Unlike any other reference, editors discuss where isotope data can detect, record, trace and help to interpret environmental change.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780123736277Publication Date: 2007-10-12
Stable Isotope Books & E-Books
Stable Isotopes to Trace Migratory Birds and to Identify Harmful Diseases by
This manuscript discusses the potentials of the approaches as mentioned below to monitor the AIVs in WMW. Molecular diagnostic platforms enable for accurate detection of the AIVs in the feces of infected birds. Similar technologies can be used to determine the bird species through DNA barcoding, enabling non-invasive research on the epidemiology of the disease. Wild migratory waterfowl (WMW) play significant role in thetransmission of avian influenza viruses (AIVs) on large distances.Understanding bird migrations may therefore significantly contribute towardsunderstanding of the disease epidemiology, however most conventionalapproaches to trace WMW migrations are based on capturing, tagging (mostlyringing or GPS devices) and their re-capturing to link the departure andarrival places. Stable isotope ratios in metabolically inert tissues (feathers, beaks, claws) reflect the ratios present at the point of intake (drinking or feeding), thus enabling for tracing bird origins at stopover places. Molecular diagnostic platforms such as the polymerase chain reaction(PCR) enable for accurate detection of the AIVs in the feces of infectedbirds. Similar technologies (genetic sequencing) can be used to determine thebird species through DNA barcoding. Simple and easy collection of feather andfecal samples at the stopover places may generate a full information packageon which species of WMW carries the AIVs (PCR+DNA barcoding on the feces), aswell as the origin of these species (SI+DNA barcoding on the feathers).Therefore, such approaches enable for research on the epidemiology and theecology of the AIVs in WMW using a non-invasive platform, which does notrequire capturing of WMW. This manuscript discusses the potentials of theseapproaches to monitor the AIVs in WMW. p>
Call Number: QL698.9 .V3513 2016ISBN: 9783319282978Publication Date: 2016-08-09
A Small Scale Approach to Organic Laboratory Techniques by
Featuring new experiments, a new essay, and new coverage of nanotechnology, this organic chemistry laboratory textbook offers a comprehensive treatment of laboratory techniques including small scale and some microscale methods that use standard-scale ("macroscale") glassware and equipment. The book is organized based on essays and topics of current interest and covers a large number of traditional organic reactions and syntheses, as well as experiments with a biological or health science focus. Seven introductory technique-based experiments, thirteen project-based experiments, and sections on green chemistry and biofuels spark students' interest and engage them in the learning process. Instructors may choose to offer Cengage Learning's optional Premium Website, which contains videos on basic organic laboratory techniques.
Call Number: QD261 .I543 2016ISBN: 9781305253926Publication Date: 2015-02-11
An Introduction to the Chemistry of the Sea by
Fully updated and expanded, this new edition provides students with an accessible introduction to marine chemistry. It highlights geochemical interactions between the ocean, solid earth, atmosphere and climate, enabling students to appreciate the interconnectedness of Earth's processes and systems and elucidates the huge variations in the oceans' chemical environment, from surface waters to deep water. Written in a clear, engaging way, the book provides students in oceanography, marine chemistry and biogeochemistry with the fundamental tools they need for a strong understanding of ocean chemistry. Appendices present information on seawater properties, key equations and constants for calculating oceanographic processes. New to this edition are end-of-chapter problems for students to put theory into practice, summaries to allow easy review of material and a comprehensive glossary. Supporting online resources include solutions to problems and figures from the book.
Call Number: GC111.2 .P55 2013ISBN: 9780521887076Publication Date: 2012-12-13
Modern Environmental Analysis by Mass Spectrometry by
This volume provides a wide-ranging and practical overview of all aspects of the use of mass spectrometry in envrionmental applications.
Call Number: TD193 .C6525 2012ISBN: 9781906799120Publication Date: 2011-10-01
Chemistry of the Environment by
Chemistry of the Environment, 3rd edition,is a concise, clear and current account of today's environmental issues and the science one needs to understand them. This intermediate-level text, which recommends General Chemistry as a prerequisite, systematically lays out themes of sustainability, atmosphere, hydrosphere, lithosphere and biospheres, while stressing the interconnectedness of environmental problems and solutions.The completely revised third edition explains the natural chemical cycles, and how humans affect them. It also analyzes strategies for ameliorating human impacts. This stimulating new text uses concise, straightforward language and an accessible narrative style to inform quantitative thinking.Ancillaries A detailed Instructors' Manual is available for adopting professors. Art and tables from the textbook may be downloaded by adopting professors.
Call Number: TD193 .S7 2012ISBN: 9781891389702Publication Date: 2011-09-01
Isotope Geochemistry by
After the discovery that elements were commonly composed of isotopes, there developed a range of studies of the variability of isotopic compositions in Earth materials, which was able to add to our understanding of Earth processes and history. This collection of chapters from the Treatise on Geochemistry describes the range of isotopic studies. The chapters are grouped into the following categories: light stable isotopes, radiogenic tracers, noble gases and radioactive tracers. The first three groups depend on mass spectrometric measurements. The section on radioactive tracers employs both radioactive counting techniques and the newly developed accelerator mass spectrometric techniques.
Call Number: QE501.4.N9 I86 2011ISBN: 9780080967103Publication Date: 2010-09-27
Mass Spectrometry by
This book is tailored for students and professionals as well as novices from other fields to mass spectrometry. It will guide them from the basics to the successful application of mass spectrometry in their daily research. Starting from the very principles of gas-phase ion chemistry and isotopic properties, it leads through the design of mass analyzers and ionization methods in use to mass spectral interpretation and coupling techniques. Step by step the readers will learn how mass spectrometry works and what it can do as a powerful tool in their hands. The book comprises a balanced mixture of practice-oriented information and theoretical background. The clear layout, a wealth of high-quality figures and a database of exercises and solutions, accessible via the publisher's web site, support teaching and learning.
Call Number: QD96.M3 G76 2004ISBN: 3540407391Publication Date: 2006-06-01
Isotope Tracers in Metabolic Research by
In the past few years, the number of applications of tracers for in vivo biomedical studies has greatly increased. New analytical tools at the genetic and protein levels have spurred this growth, opening the door for a deeper understanding of metabolic events. This in turn promises to yield significant advances in the understanding and treatment of human disease. Now fully revised and expanded, Isotope Tracers in Metabolic Research, Second Edition is the established definitive text on stable and radioactive isotope tracers. In unique, multidisciplinary fashion, it presents comprehensive coverage of new methodological, mathematical, and theoretical approaches. This new Second Edition includes: All-new chapters on nuclear magnetic resonance, mass isotopomer analysis, and methods of protein metabolism analysis A completely updated categorized list of over 750 references Major advances in the development of mass isotopomer and positional isotopomer techniques, noninvasive isotope techniques for studying metabolic pathways, hyphenated techniques, and new tracer techniques The latest developments in quantification of DNA synthesis and mass spectrometry spurred by genome sequencing and proteomics New coverage of mathematical modeling Expanded coverage of microdialysis probes, laboratory procedures, and regulatory issues related to human studies In this complete guide to performing tracer studies, the authors systematically cover tracer selection, modeling considerations, sample derivitization, mass spectrometry analysis, and data interpretation. Problems and discussion questions highlight key points in each chapter. Isotope Tracers in Metabolic Research, Second Edition offers students and researchers a comprehensive, practical resource for utilizing the latest tracer methodologies.
Call Number: QP519.9.R28 W65 2005ISBN: 9780471462095Publication Date: 2004-10-18
Environmental Chemistry by
Environmental Chemistry, Eighth Editionbuilds on the same organizational structure validated in previous editions tosystematically develop the principles, tools, and techniques of environmental chemistry to provide students and professionals with a clear understanding of the science and its applications. Revised and updated since the publication of the best-selling Seventh Edition, this text continues to emphasize the major concepts essential to the practice of environmental science, technology, and chemistry while introducing the newest innovations to the field. The author provides clear explanations to important concepts such as the anthrosphere, industrial ecosystems, geochemistry, aquatic chemistry, and atmospheric chemistry, including the study of ozone-depleting chlorofluorocarbons. The subject of industrial chemistry and energy resources is supported by pertinent topics in recycling and hazardous waste. Several chapters review environmental biochemistry and toxicology, and the final chapters describe analytical methods for measuring chemical and biological waste. New features in this edition include: enhanced coverage of chemical fate and transport; industrial ecology, particularly how it is integrated with green chemistry; conservation principles and recent accomplishments in sustainable chemical science and technology; a new chapter addressing terrorism and threats to the environment; and the use of real world examples.
Call Number: TD193 .M36 2005ISBN: 9781566706339Publication Date: 2004-08-26
Environmental Isotopes in Hydrogeology by
Groundwater is an increasingly important resource to human populations around the world, and the study and protection of groundwater is an essential part of hydrogeology - the subset of hydrology that concentrates on the subsurface. Environmental isotopes, naturally occurring nuclides in water and solutes, have become fundamental tools for tracing the recharge, history, and contamination of groundwater.
Call Number: GB1001.72.R34 C57 1997ISBN: 9781566702492Publication Date: 1997-07-23
Applications of Modern Mass Spectrometry by
Applications of Modern Mass Spectrometry covers the latest advances in the use of mass spectrometry inscientific research. The series attempts to present readers information on thebroad range of mass spectrometry techniques and configurations, data analysisand practical applications. Each volume contains contributions from eminentresearchers who present their findings in an easy to read format. Themultidisciplinary nature of the works presented in each volume of this bookseries make it a valuable reference on mass spectrometry to academicresearchers and industrial R&D specialists in applied sciences,biochemistry, life sciences and allied fields. The first volume of the series presents 5 reviews:- Applications of mass spectrometry for the determination of themicrobial crude protein synthesis in ruminants- Qualitative and quantitative LC-MS analysis in food proteins andpeptides- Chemometrics as a powerful and complementary tool for massspectrometry applications in life sciences- Recent developments of allied techniques of qualitative analysis ofheavy metal ions in aqueous solutions with special reference to modern massspectrometry- New techniques and methods in explosive analysis
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9789811433825Publication Date: 2020-07-02
Isotopes and the Natural Environment by
This book provides straightforward and practical information on isotopes applied to a variety of natural sciences. It covers the basics of isotopes and includes detailed examples from a range of natural sciences: ecology, biology, human health, environment and climate, geography, and geology, highlighting their applicability in these fields. It is a must-read for all advanced-undergraduate and graduate students working with isotopes, regardless of the area, and is a very useful one-stop resource for scientists starting in isotope research.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9783030336523Publication Date: 2020
Mass Spectrometry by
Provides a comprehensive description of mass spectrometry basics, applications, and perspectives Mass spectrometry is a modern analytical technique, allowing for fast and ultrasensitive detection and identification of chemical species. It can serve for analysis of narcotics, counterfeit medicines, components of explosives, but also in clinical chemistry, forensic research and anti-doping analysis, for identification of clinically relevant molecules as biomarkers of various diseases. This book describes everything readers need to know about mass spectrometry--from the instrumentation to the theory and applications. It looks at all aspects of mass spectrometry, including inorganic, organic, forensic, and biological MS (paying special attention to various methodologies and data interpretation). It also contains a list of key terms for easier and faster understanding of the material by newcomers to the subject and test questions to assist lecturers. Knowing how crucial it is for young researchers to fully understand both the power of mass spectrometry and the importance of other complementary methodologies, Mass Spectrometry: An Applied Approach teaches that it should be used in conjunction with other techniques such as NMR, pharmacological tests, structural identification, molecular biology, in order to reveal the true function(s) of the identified molecule. Provides a description of mass spectrometry basics, applications and perspectives of the technique Oriented to a broad audience with limited or basic knowledge in mass spectrometry instrumentation, theory, and its applications in order to enhance their competence in this field Covers all aspects of mass spectrometry, including inorganic, organic, forensic, and biological MS with special attention to application of various methodologies and data interpretation Includes a list of key terms, and test questions, for easier and faster understanding of the material Mass Spectrometry: An Applied Approach is highly recommended for advanced students, young scientists, and anyone involved in a field that utilizes the technique.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781119377337Publication Date: 2019-06-17
Tracking Animal Migration with Stable Isotopes by
Tracking Animal Migration with Stable Isotopes, Second Edition, provides a complete introduction to new and powerful isotopic tools and applications that track animal migration, reviewing where isotope tracers fit in the modern toolbox of tracking methods. The book provides background information on a broad range of migration scenarios in terrestrial and aquatic systems and summarizes the most cutting-edge developments in the field that are revolutionizing the way migrant individuals and populations are assigned to their true origins. It allows undergraduates, graduate students and non-specialist scientists to adopt and apply isotopes to migration research, and also serves as a useful reference for scientists. The new edition thoroughly updates the information available to the reader on current applications of this technique and provides new tools for the isotopic assignment of individuals to origins, including geostatistical multi-isotope approaches and the ways in which researchers can combine isotopes with routine data in a Bayesian framework to provide best estimates of animal origins. Four new chapters include contributions on applications to the movements of terrestrial mammals, with particular emphasis on how aspects of animal physiology can influence stable isotope values. Includes an animal physiology component that is an in-depth overview of the cautions and caveats related to this technique Covers marine and aquatic isoscapes and methods to track marine organisms for researchers trying to apply isotopic tracking to animals in these environments Features state-of-the-art statistical treatments for assignment and combining diverse datasets
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780128147245Publication Date: 2018-09-13
Geochemistry of Non-Traditional Stable Isotopes by
The goal for Volume 55 of Reviews in Mineralogy and Geochemistry was to bring together a summary of the isotope geochemistry of non-traditional stable isotope systems as is known through 2003 for those elements that have been studied in some detail, and which have a variety of geochemical properties. In addition, recognizing that many of these elements are of interest to workers who are outside the traditional stable isotope fields, we felt it was important to include discussions on the broad isotopic variations that occur in the solar system, theoretical approaches to calculating isotopic fractionations, and the variety of analytical methods that are in use. We hope, therefore, that this volume proves to be useful to not only the isotope specialist, but to others who are interested in the contributions that these non-traditional stable isotopes may make toward understanding geochemical and biological cycles. The review chapters in this volume were the basis for a two-day short course on nontraditional stable isotopes held prior (May 15-16, 2004) to the spring AGU/CGU Meeting in Montreal, Canada.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780939950676Publication Date: 2018-04-09
Stable Isotope Geochemistry by
This classic textbook is an introduction to the systematics and the use of stable isotopes in geosciences. It is subdivided into three parts: i) theoretical and experimental principles, ii) fractionat ion processes of light and heavy elements, iii) the natural variations of geologically important reservoirs. Since the publication of the previous edition advances in multicollector-ICP-mass-spectrometry allow precise measurements of new isotope systems. In this new edition therefore, 42 elements with resolvable natural variations in isotope composition are discussed. New findings from non-traditional isotope systems have been incorporated. Many new references have been added, which enable quick access to recent literature.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9783319785271Publication Date: 2018
Geochemistry of Silicon Isotopes by
The book starts with an introduction on silicon isotopes and related analytical methods, and explains the mechanisms of silicon isotope fractionation. Silicon isotope distributions in lithosphere, hydrosphere and biosphere are shown based on results from field studies, and silicon isotope relevance for applications are presented.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9783110402452Publication Date: 2017-12-18
Non-Traditional Stable Isotopes by
The development of multi-collector inductively coupled plasma mass spectrometry (MC-ICPMS) makes it possible to precisely measure non-traditional stable isotopes. This volume reviews the current status of non-traditional isotope geochemistry from analytical, theoretical, and experimental approaches to analysis of natural samples. In particular, important applications to cosmochemistry, high-temperature geochemistry, low-temperature geochemistry, and geobiology are discussed. This volume provides the most comprehensive review on non-traditional isotope geochemistry for students and researchers who are interested in both the theory and applications of non-traditional stable isotope geochemistry.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780939950980Publication Date: 2017-03-06
Isotopic Landscapes in Bioarchaeology by
This work takes a critical look at the current concept of isotopic landscapes ("isoscapes") in bioarchaeology and its application in future research. It specifically addresses the research potential of cremated finds, a somewhat neglected bioarchaeological substrate, resulting primarily from the inherent osteological challenges and complex mineralogy associated with it. In addition, for the first time data mining methods are applied. The chapters are the outcome of an international workshop sponsored by the German Science Foundation and the Centre of Advanced Studies at the Ludwig-Maximilian-University in Munich. Isotopic landscapes are indispensable tracers for the monitoring of the flow of matter through geo/ecological systems since they comprise existing temporally and spatially defined stable isotopic patterns found in geological and ecological samples. Analyses of stable isotopes of the elements nitrogen, carbon, oxygen, strontium, and lead are routinely utilized in bioarchaeology to reconstruct biodiversity, palaeodiet, palaeoecology, palaeoclimate, migration and trade. The interpretive power of stable isotopic ratios depends not only on firm, testable hypotheses, but most importantly on the cooperative networking of scientists from both natural and social sciences. Application of multi-isotopic tracers generates isotopic patterns with multiple dimensions, which accurately characterize a find, but can only be interpreted by use of modern data mining methods.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9783662483398Publication Date: 2016-03-12
Groundwater Geochemistry and Isotopes by
Understand the Environmental Processes That Control Groundwater QualityThe integration of environmental isotopes with geochemical studies is now recognized as a routine approach to solving problems of natural and contaminated groundwater quality. Advanced sampling and analytical methods are readily accessible and affordable, providing abundant geoc
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781466591745Publication Date: 2015-04-17
Find Books, Journals, Media:
E-Books | Advanced Search | My Library Account | ILL - Interlibrary Loan |