Resources from the Broward Community
- Early Learning Coalition of Broward County Storytimes
Join the ELC of Broward County for 3 weekly storytimes!
Monday: English at 9am and 2pm
Wednesday: Spanish and 9am and 2pm
Friday: Haitian Creole at 9am and 2pm - KidVision PreK Virtual Field Trips with Miss Penny
Join Miss Penny on virtual field trips! Log in or create a (FREE) account to visit Broward without leaving your home!
Read Alouds
- HarperKids
HarperCollins Children's Books presents stories and activities about some of you and your child's favorite books! - Mr. Shawn's Storytime
A children's librarian turned stay-at-home-dad reads books to you and your kids! - StoryBlocks
Storyblocks is a project of Colorado Libraries for Early Literacy, working in partnership with Rocky Mountain Public Broadcasting Services. It is a collection of 30-60 second videos designed to model to parents, caregivers, and library staff some songs, rhymes, and fingerplays appropriate for early childhood. Each video clip includes helpful early literacy tips to increase caregivers’ understanding of child development and pre-literacy needs. - Storyline Online
Storyline Online provides read alouds and activities for books you love. Open them in your favorite video player, including YouTube and Vimeo to get started!
- Brightly Storytime
Brightly Storyime brings you full-length picturebooks read out loud by their storyteller, Ms. Linda. - HarperKidsHarperCollins Children's Books presents stories and activities about some of you and your child's favorite books!
- Mr. Shawn's StorytimeA children's librarian turned stay-at-home-dad reads books to you and your kids!
- StoryBlocksStoryblocks is a project of Colorado Libraries for Early Literacy, working in partnership with Rocky Mountain Public Broadcasting Services. It is a collection of 30-60 second videos designed to model to parents, caregivers, and library staff some songs, rhymes, and fingerplays appropriate for early childhood. Each video clip includes helpful early literacy tips to increase caregivers’ understanding of child development and pre-literacy needs.
- Storyline OnlineStoryline Online provides read alouds and activities for books you love. Open them in your favorite video player, including YouTube and Vimeo to get started!
- Storytime In Space
Join astronauts on the International Space Station as they read popular children's books to you IN SPACE.
- Brightly StorytimeBrightly Storyime brings you full-length picturebooks read out loud by their storyteller, Ms. Linda.
- HarperKidsHarperCollins Children's Books presents stories and activities about some of you and your child's favorite books!
- KidLit TV
Enjoy storytime with authors at KidLit TV Headquarters! - Storyline OnlineStoryline Online provides read alouds and activities for books you love. Open them in your favorite video player, including YouTube and Vimeo to get started!
- Storytime In SpaceJoin astronauts on the International Space Station as they read popular children's books to you IN SPACE.
Bring the Arts into Your Home!
- Alina Celeste and Mi Amigo Hamlet
Alina Celeste and Mi Amigo Hamlet will be live Monday through Friday, at 10am and 4pm ET - Union Square Play Online
One family activity, one kids’ video, and one event for parents—brought to you online EVERY.SINGLE.DAY.
Virtual Field Trips
- 12 World-Famous Museums That Offer Virtual Tours You Can Take From The Comfort Of Your Own Couch
Staying at home doesn't have to be boring! If you never had the chance to visit any of these 12 world-famous museums, fear not - you now have the perfect opportunity to stroll around them and take as much time as you need looking at all the paintings, sculptures and artifacts. - Access Mars
Take a trip to space and visit the surface of Mars. Thanks to NASA's Curiousity rover, you can see the planet up close! - Boston Children's Museum
Visit the Boston Children's Museum any time from the comfort of your own couch! - Discovery Education Virtual Field Trips
No permission slips required. These virtual events let educators take students to amazing places and give them remarkable experiences, without ever leaving the classroom. - Great Wall of China
Maybe it can't be seen from space, but it sure can be seen from your house! - KidVision Pre-K Virtual Field Trips with Ms. PennyKidVision Pre-K virtual field trips bring people and places right into the classroom with no cost or worry. They engage and delight children, stimulating a mind set for learning.
- Live Webcams from the Georgia Aquarium
Take a few moments to see live webcam footage from the Georgia Aquarium! Try out the Ocean Voyager, visit Southern Sea Otters, or even say hello to Beluga Whales! - You Can Virtually Tour A Whole Bunch Of National Parks From Your Couch
Good news! You don't actually have to leave your couch to see some of America's most glorious landscapes. Powered by Google Earth, a whole bunch of parks offer free virtual tours.
Check out some of the highlights!
Free Online Resources
- ABCya
ABCya provides over 400 fun and educational games for grades PreK through 6th. These activities are designed by parents and educations to help make learning fun! - Bedtime Math
Bedtime Math wants to make math a part of your everyday routine, with games, activities and apps! - Breakout EDU Fun@Home
Breakout EDU Fun@Home is a collection of digital games that students can play at home. Students can click on any game and start playing! - Clifford Interactive Storybooks
Clifford the Big Red Dog: Interactive Storybooks! Phonics fun, games, and stories for early readers! - DaybyDayNY
A Family Literacy Calendar created by the New York State Library. Check here for songs, stories, activities, and videos chosen by professionals for you and your families to share. - FunBrain
An online eduactional website offering books and games for pre-schoolers through middle grade. - Go Noodle
Go Noodle provides movement and mindfulness activities for children with an educational spin, created and shared by experts. - Into the Book
Into the Book is a multimedia package designed to improve elementary students' reading comprehension, as well as their ability to learn across the curriculum. - Khan Academy
A nonprofit with the mission to provide a free, world-class education for anyone, anywhere. Classes are available for ages 2 and up. Check out Khan Academy Kids to inspire a lifetime of learning and discovery for kids ages 2-7!
If you're not sure where to start on Khan Academy, we recommend checking out the Imagineering In a Box course offered by Disney itself! See how Disney Imagineers use all sorts of skills to create their immersive experiences and give it a try for yourself along the way. - Kiz Club
Thousands of FREE teaching resources! Get worksheets, flashcards, story patterns, and much much more! - PNC Grow Up Great
Designed for teachers to use flexibly with existing curricula, we collaborated with our grant partners to develop resources and lessons to enhance hands-on learning for young children. - Prodigy
Motivate students from 1st to 8th grade to learn and practice math! Create a free account to get started! - Starfall
Starfall is a free public service to teach children. It includes language arts and mathematics for preschool through third grade and is aligned with Common Core State Standards. - StoryPlace: The Children's Digital Learning Library
StoryPlace, created by the Mecklenburg County Libraries, presents favorite stories and activities for children as well as early literacy information for parents and caregivers. - Wide Open School
Wide Open School is a free collection of the best online learning experiences for kids curated by the editors at Common Sense.
Paid Online Resources
Many paid resources are making themselves available to schools, students, and parents during the current period of school closures.
- ABC Mouse Early Learning Academy
Guided online curriculum for kids ages 2-8 years old. Available as a 30 day free trial! - BrainPOP
BrainPOP makes rigorous learning experiences accessible and engaging for all. Available as a free 30 day trial. - epic!
Epic! is the Leading Digital Library for Kids 12 and Under. Available as a 30 day free trial and educators can sign up for a free account. - Scholastic Learn at Home
Even when schools are closed, you can keep the learning going with these special cross-curricular journeys. Every day includes four separate learning experiences, each built around a thrilling, meaningful story or video. Kids can do them on their own, with their families, or with their teachers. Just find your grade level and let the learning begin!
