Accounting and Taxation
Getting started
Accountants and auditors prepare and examine financial records. Most accountants tend to specialize in a particular area. Some popular accounting specialties are public, managerial, government, tax, financial, forensic and auditing. They work in a variety of settings, ranging from payroll services, insurance, government or tax preparation.
Related occupations: budget analysts, financial analysts, financial managers, personal financial advisors, tax examiners and collectors.
Accounting standards
What Are Generally Accepted Accounting Principles (GAAP)?
A common set of accounting rules, standards, and procedures that public companies in the U.S. must follow for financial reporting purposes.
FASAB Handbook of Federal Accounting Standards and Other Pronouncements, as Amended (as of June 30, 2021) or Handbook by Chapter
What are International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRS)?
Set of rules, standards and procedures set by the International Accounting Standards Board (IASB).
Introduction to accounting and taxation
Here is a list of books you can use if you need to familiarize yourself with accounting and taxation related terms.
Accounting Dictionary by
The first English-Spanish translation dictionary of accounting terms to cover the differences in accounting terminology for Spanish-speaking countries This bilingual Accounting Dictionary offers not only English-Spanish and Spanish-English translations of accounting terms but also a Spanish-Spanish section correlating the different terms used in major Spanish-speaking countries. The only accounting dictionary to offer such coverage, this useful reference provides accounting practitioners and students with easy, accurate guidance for translating in and among: Argentina * Chile * Colombia * Mexico * Spain * Venezuela. Ideal for translating financial statements, conducting audits, and performing accounting functions in multinational companies, Accounting Dictionary is an essential tool for all accountants, financial managers, and students participating in the burgeoning Spanish-speaking market. Order your copy today!
ISBN: 0471451347Publication Date: 2004-05-10
Auditor's Dictionary by
The Dictionary of Auditing is a one-stop resource for key auditing terminology, concepts, and processes essential to auditors and of increasing interest to those that work with them. Covers key regulatory developments such as Sarbanes Oxley and provides links for further reading.
ISBN: 0471684651Publication Date: 2004-10-06
The Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of Accounting by
The Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of Accounting provides clear, concise, and highly informative definitions and explanations of the key concepts in accounting. Bringing together specially commissioned and carefully edited entries from an international team of the world's best known and most respected accounting scholars and teachers, this will become the standard reference for students, researchers, academics, and practitioners. With entries ranging from extended explorations of major topics to short definitions of key terms, this major reference work gives the user authorative and comprehensive coverage of the whole field of accounting.
ISBN: 0631223649Publication Date: 1998-01-01
A Dictionary of Accounting by
This best-selling dictionary includes more than 3,800 entries covering all aspects of accounting, including financial accounting, financial reporting, management accounting, taxation, auditing, corporate finance, and accounting bodies and institutions. Its international coverage includesimportant terms from UK, US, Australia, India, and Asia-Pacific.Over 150 new entries have been added to this edition to reflect the very latest developments in the accounting profession, e.g. Accounting Coucil, European Financial Stability Mechanism, and General Anti-Abuse Rule. In addition, existing entries have been updated to cover the latest developments,most notably the Financial Reporting Standard Applicable in the UK and the Republic of Ireland, which sets out new rules in areas such as goodwill, hedge accounting, and fair value accounting. There is increased coverage of topics such as corporate governance, accounting ethics, accounting scandals,and major firms and professional bodies.With its authoritative and accessible definitions and its wide-ranging coverage, this dictionary is essential for students and professionals in accounting and finance. It is also an ideal source of reference for anyone seeking a clear guide to the often-confusing world of accountancy terms.
ISBN: 0198743513Publication Date: 2016-09-21
A Dictionary of Accounting by
The language of the accounting world is lively and varied. From backflush accounting, bed and breakfast, and low balling to purchased goodwill, random walk hypothesis, suspense account, and teeming and lading, this comprehensive resource offers straightfoward definitions of the latest financial jargon. A perfect compliment to A Dictionary of Finance, A Dictionary of Accounting covers every aspect of the accounting profession, including financial accounting and reporting, management accounting, direct and indirect taxation, auditing, corporate finance, and accounting bodies and institutions. With 4,000 authoritative entries, this clear and up-to-date dictionary will be invaluable to a wide range of students and professionals involved in any of the many, and often complicated, matters of accounting and finance.
ISBN: 0192800299Publication Date: 1996-01-11
Dictionary of Accounting Terms by
Each of these very useful and up-to-date quick reference dictionaries lists and defines several thousand specialized terms alphabetically. Business students, business professionals, and savvy consumers will find a wealth of helpful information in these volumes. More than 2,500 accounting terms are defined -- with many updated entries in this edition to reflect recent trends in accounting practice. Definitions are expanded where appropriate with examples, charts, and tables. Here's a valuable quick-reference handbook for business managers, accountants, bookkeepers, and business students.
ISBN: 0764180045Publication Date: 2000-01-01
A Dictionary of Taxation by
A Dictionary of Taxation, Second Editionis comprehensive and more substantive than a simple listing of definitions and will prove to be an enormously valuable reference. Professor James provides just the right amount of detail and insight for each entry, frequently commenting on the historical evolution of a term, and for many entries, providing a list of the original sources upon which the entry is based. I highly recommend this directory to academic researchers, makers of public policy, and private sector professionals.' - Carl P. Kaiser, Washington and Lee University 'Simon James' second edition of A Dictionary of Taxationhas arrived at last! Tax is one of those things that is universal and unavoidable, and at the same time, dynamic and intriguing. James does a sterling job at capturing so many terms herein, not just technical explanations, but also their history and significance. There are also helpful suggestions for further reading. Both experts and novices alike will find this an interesting and very useful text to have close at hand.' - Margaret McKerchar, Australian School of Taxation and Business Law (Atax) This second edition of the Dictionary of Taxationcontains over 200 new or substantially revised entries to enhance the existing wide range of accessible definitions and terms used to describe various aspects of tax and tax systems around the world. The entries relate to the analysis of taxation, key concepts, major developments and controversies in taxation. The Dictionarydraws on economic, accounting and legal aspects of taxation as well as the contributions of other social sciences to the understanding of taxation and its effects. Sorted alphabetically, with cross-referencing, each entry presents the essential points of a particular law, accountancy practice or economic concept. Additionally this revised and updated Dictionaryoffers a guide to readers of other literature on certain concepts or practices. Written in an accessible style, it will be indispensable to all those who need to know more about the concepts of taxation, including practitioners, academics and students.
ISBN: 9781849801225Publication Date: 2012-05-31
A Guide to the New Language of Accounting and Finance by
The disciplines of accounting and finance have been rapidly changing in recent years. The methods and techniques being used have created a new language for managers, students, practitioners, academics. The Guide focuses specifically on the terms used in accounting and finance. Important terms and phrases are identified but with a much longer, in-depth explanation than you would normally find in a dictionary. Not only does each entry gives a thorough explanation of each term, it provides two or more references to academic articles that go into much greater depth. Hence, the entries give the reader immediate access to the literature. At the end of the book, the full reference to all the articles that have been cited in the text is given including a list of the many acronyms used in the new world of accounting and finance.
ISBN: 9781637421307Publication Date: 2021-10-15
International dictionary of accounting acronyms by
The International Dictionary of Accounting Acronyms is a must for busy professionals and students involved in accounting or finance. This comprehensive reference book defines close to 2,000 acronyms. Examples and graphic illustrations are used throughout to clarify definitions. The Dictionary contains an appendix of sources of further information and is fully cross-referenced.
Publication Date: 1999
International Financial Reporting Standards Desk Reference by
"This book is written by authors who clearly understand the challenges facing all who seek to understand and apply international standards. I recommend it to you." -From the Foreword by Sir David Tweedie Chair of the International Accounting Standards Board In this defining resource, authors Roger Hussey and Audra Ong have compiled everything accountants, executives, and organizations in different countries need to reach agreement on accounting rules and standards. International Financial Reporting Standards Desk Reference includes a background on how the movement toward a common language for international accounting evolved to its present state, summarizes existing standards highlighting the key issues covered, and captures those terms and phrases that are fundamental to an understanding of the common language of global business. Written to help readers fully comprehend this global language, International Financial Reporting Standards Desk Reference includes: An overview of the International Accounting Standards (IAS) and Inter-national Financial Reporting Standards (IFRS) and their impact A dictionary of words and phrases used in the international business world, with a strong emphasis on terms used by the International Accounting Standards Board History of the International Accounting Standards Board: how it was formed, its structure, and the way it operates Insights on future trends of the International Accounting Standards Board
ISBN: 0471727156Publication Date: 2005-04-22
Shepard's-McGraw-Hill Tax Dictionary for Business by
"Having trouble keeping up with today's ballooning and ridiculously complex Internal Revenue Code? Tired of spending hours of your valuable time on tedious and time-consuming tax research? This comprehensive, all-inclusive, and up-to-the-minute reference work is designed to help you cut through the thousands of sections, regulations, and revenue rulings that make up today's massive tax code and to put at your fingertips ALL the information you need to answer your most difficult tax questions." "The result of a landmark collaboration between McGraw-Hill and Shepard's, the top legal publisher in the country, Shepard's McGraw-Hill Tax Dictionary for Business is specifically prepared to meet the needs of small business owners, harried managers, company controllers, and other business professionals who need sophisticated answers to complex questions - but who also want those answers explained in clear, simple, concise, and jargon-free language." "Designed for easy use, the Dictionary is the only reference work in its field to provide more than 6000 clear, jargon-free tax definitions; include extensive cross-referencing for quick access; emphasize the most recent changes in the tax laws and highlight the latest issues; increase coverage of tax definitions that are of particular interest to small business owners; and enhance understanding of complicated tax terms and concepts through practical examples that can be worked out in your office." "Here's just a small sampling of the timely information you'll find in these pages: the latest IRS rules regarding home office deductions; how today's tax code impacts golden parachute agreements; regulations governing fuels and energy investment credits; new IRS rules for partnership liabilities, partnership liquidations, partnership minimum gains, and partnership flips; what your company needs to know about "key employees" and so-called "top-heavy plans"; how taxable substances are defined under today's new tax laws; and much more!"--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
ISBN: 0070423717Publication Date: 1994-01-01
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
Encyclopedia of Business and Finance by
Designed for the non-specialist, this is a complete reference covering finance and banking, accounting, marketing, management, and information systems. Contributors include academics and business scholars from leading business programs. The new completely revised second edition includes 320 signed essays.
ISBN: 9780028660813Publication Date: 2006-09-01
The Encyclopedia of Taxation and Tax Policy by
From adjusted gross income to zoning and property taxes, The Encyclopedia of Taxation and Tax Policy, CD-ROM Edition offers the first complete guide to taxes and tax-related issues. More than 150 tax practitioners and administrators, policy-makers, and academics contributed. The result is a unique and authoritative reference that examines virtually all tax instruments used by governments (individual income, corporate income, sales and value-added, property, estate and gift, franchise, poll, and many variants of these taxes), as well as characteristics of a good tax system, budgetary issues, and many current federal, state, local, and international tax policy issues. Each essay provides the generalists with a quick and reliable introduction to many topics but also gives tax specialists the benefit of the best thinking of other experts in a manner that makes the complex understandable. Reference lists point the reader to additional sources of information for each topic. The CD-ROM edition is searchable by topic, author, and keyword. Published in cooperation with the National Tax Association.
ISBN: 0877666822Publication Date: 1999-10-01
The History of Accounting by
This encyclopedia's more than 400 entries focus on such subjects as publications in the field, institutional bodies, accounting and economic concepts and much more. It is aimed at the student, researcher or professional.
ISBN: 0815308094Publication Date: 1996-03-01
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
Accountants' Handbook, Special Industries and Special Topics by
This highly regarded reference is relied on by a considerable part of the accounting profession in their day-to-day work. This handbook is the first place accountants, auditors, bankers, lawyers, financial analysts, and other preparers and users of accounting information look to find answers to questions on accounting and financial reporting. The new edition will be updated to reflect the new FASB Codification, as well as including expanded coverage of fair value and guidance on developing fair value estimates, fraud risk and exposure, healthcare, and IFRS.
ISBN: 9781118407103Publication Date: 2012-05-04
Accounting Handbook by
The newly updated edition of this authoritative reference volume deserves a place in the library of every accountant, bookkeeper, accounting manager, CPA, CFO, controller, business manager, and business student. An opening overview of financial accounting describes financial statements and presents details on financial reporting requirements and compliance, and U.S. GAAP (Generally Accepted Accounting Principles) and IFRS (International Financial Reporting Standards). Chapters that follow cover cost management, as well as taxation forms and their preparation. An extensive A-to-Z dictionary of accounting terms presents short-entry definitions of everything from Abacus to Z Score.
ISBN: 9780764166570Publication Date: 2014-11-01
Federal Accounting Handbook by
For the first time in decades, federal accounting practices have been altered by significant changes imposed by Congress and regulatory agencies, as well as by the establishment in 1990 of the Federal Accounting Standards Advisory Board (FASB). These changes affect the hundreds of thousands of people involved on a daily or repeated basis with planning, budgeting, accounting, processing, and reporting on the activities of federal government programs, including the beneficiaries of federal loans and loan guarantees. Knowledge of how to "keep the books Straight" is vital to anyone conducting such business. Here is the only book to encompass all the recent revisions including the changes by the new FASB and the Chief Financial Officers Act. Written in nontechnical language for both the professional and nonprofessional, Wiley Federal Accounting Handbook provides all you need to know about the what, why, when, and how of federal financial management, including: * The federal budget-process, phases, and concepts * Contracts and grants * Nonappropriated funds activities * Costing of entities, programs, and activities * Interagency expenditures, receipts, transfers, reimbursements, and refunds * Assets, liabilities, and net entity position * And much more Essential Information for: * federal program managers and analysts * financial managers and budget analysts * auditors and accountants * legislators and their staffs * academics, researchers, and students * anyone doing business with the federal government Also available: Wiley GAAP for Governments 2000 Wiley GAAP for Governments 2000 for Windows(r) Wiley GAAP for Governments Field Guide 2000-2001 Other useful references for accounting and auditing professionals: Wiley Practitioner's Guide to GAAS 2000 for Windows(r) CD-ROM Wiley Auditor's SAS Field Guide 2000 (a quick-reference companion to GAAS 2000) Wiley GAAP 2000 Wiley GAAP 2000 for Windows(r) Wiley IAS 2000 Wiley IAS 2000 for Windows(r) Wiley Not-for-Profit GAAP 2000 Wiley Not-for-Profit GAAP 2000 for Windows(r) Wiley Not-for-Profit Accounting Field Guide
ISBN: 0471371580Publication Date: 1999-12-29
Handbook of Environmental Accounting by
`In a world that is possibly threatened by catastrophic climate changes it is more important than ever to augment and modify current systems of national accounts so as to measure welfare in a dynamic context, i.e. move towards social accounting. This outstanding text written by leading names in the field covers all essential aspects of dynamic welfare theory and also goes beyond pure theory by providing discussion of how to go from theory to application.' - Per-Olov Johansson, Stockholm School of Economics, Sweden This concise Handbook examines welfare measurement problems in a dynamic economy, focusing on the welfare-economic foundations for social accounting. With environmental accounting becoming an increasingly important area of research, this timely Handbook assesses the ways in which the system of national accounts should be modified to accurately reflect the social value of economic activity, and how the comprehensive (or `green') net national product ought to be measured. It also addresses the principles for measuring welfare in a community at a given point in time, cost-benefit analysis for measuring welfare change and the principles for measuring sustainability, all of which have played important roles in the development of theories of social accounting. Covering a broad range of topics on environmental accounting such as endogenous risk and social accounting, money metrics welfare measures, public sector aspects of social accounting, dynamic cost-benefit analysis, and genuine saving, this unique Handbook will be a stimulating read for researchers and graduate students focusing on welfare economics and environmental economics.
ISBN: 9781847203847Publication Date: 2010-11-30
Handbook of Governmental Accounting by
Demystifying a growing and dynamic field, Handbook of Governmental Accounting reflects the increasing complexity of this area, enabling readers to grasp the intricate accounting that is involved as government expenditures multiply and governments engage in progressively complex transactions. Drawing on the expertise of a distinguished group of contributors, the book begins with a discussion of the growth of generally accepted accounting principles (GAAP), providing a historical perspective which highlights the greater levels of accountability in government finance. It covers governmental funds, proprietary funds, and fiduciary funds. It also reviews governmental financial reporting and examines the process of auditing governmental entities. While the majority of the chapters relate to state and local governments in the United States, the book also provides insight into federal accounting and international public sector accounting standards. Presenting numerous useful charts and sample budget outlines, this book provides concrete guidance in an area that has increased in complexity as governmental accountability takes on a heightened priority.
ISBN: 9781574447583Publication Date: 2008-12-19
Handbook of Management Accounting Research by
This 2-volume set includes: Handbook of Management Accounting Research, Volume 1 Edited by Christopher S. Chapman, University of Oxford; Anthony G. Hopwood, University of Oxford; and Michael D. Shields, Michigan State University Volume one of the Handbook of Management Accounting Research series sets the context for both Handbooks, with three chapters outlining the historical development of management accounting as a discipline and as a practice in three broad geographic settings. The bulk of the first volume then draws together a series of contributions that analyze the scholarly literature in terms of distinct intellectual and theoretical social science perspectives. The volume includes a chapter which looks at work informed by psychology as a base discipline. The volume also includes a set of chapters that seek to evaluate and explain issues of research method for the different approaches to research found within management accounting. Handbook of Management Accounting Research, Volume 2 Edited by Christopher S. Chapman, University of Oxford; Anthony G. Hopwood, University of Oxford; and Michael D. Shields, Michigan State University Volume two of the Handbook of Management Accounting Research series consists of two groups of chapters. The first draw together research that has focused on particular management accounting practices. The second set synthesizes contributions to the literature that have been focused within particular organizational contexts. Volume two concludes with a review of research on how management accounting practice and research varies around the world. Volumes 1 and 2 are also available as individual products. *Includes both volumes of the popular Handbooks of Management Accounting Research series *Extensive review of scholarly literature *Examines particular management accounting practices and specific organizational contexts *Adopts a global perspective of management accounting practices
ISBN: 9780080453408Publication Date: 2007-02-01
Handbook of Research on Environmental Taxation by
The Handbook of Research on Environmental Taxation captures the state of the art of research on environmental taxation. Written by 36 specialists in environmental taxation from 16 countries, it takes an interdisciplinary and international approach, focusi
ISBN: 9781781952146Publication Date: 2012-12-28
The International Tax Handbook by
No Marketing Blurb
ISBN: 9781780436777Publication Date: 2015-05-08
The Routledge Handbook of Accounting Ethics by
The perspective of this book is to present "ethics" as a conversation about how we decide what is good or bad, right or wrong. It is a collection of conversations employed by educators to assist accounting students in developing their understanding of accounting's ethical aspects and to help them develop into critical thinkers who consider the ethical complexities of the function of accounting in human society. Because we are social beings, ethics is a central human concern, since it involves determining the ethicality of human actions and their effect on other individuals, as well as determining the collective societal acceptance or rejection of an action. Thus, the book's primary goal is to call attention to the intersectionality of accounting and ethics and to encourage students and researchers to consider the ethical implications of accounting decisions. The book contains a diversity of perspectives within which discussions of accountants' and accounting's ethical responsibilities may occur. The contributing authors were deliberately chosen for their diverse perspectives on whence moral guidance for accounting may come. Each chapter stands on its own and represents the thinking of its authors. The book is not a primer on correct behavior for accountants but a place where educators may spur the conversation along.
ISBN: 9780429490224Publication Date: 2020-12-29
Routledge Handbook of Environmental Accounting by
This handbook showcases the broad spectrum of diverse approaches to environmental accounting which have developed during the last 30 years across the globe. The volume covers a range of physical issues such as water, carbon and biodiversity, as well as specific accounting matters such as management control, finance and audit. Moreover, seven chapters present environmental accounting issues that arise in the regions of Africa, Asia, Europe, MENA, North America, the Pacific and South America. The handbook also highlights future challenges in all the topic areas addressed as well as introducing new topics, such as links between environmental accounting and the circular economy, and the issues associated with animal rights. Edited by leading scholars in the area and with key contributions from across the discipline, and covering a diverse range of perspectives and locations, the volume is divided into five key parts: * Part 1: Framing the issues * Part 2: Financial accounting and reporting * Part 3: Management accounting * Part 4: Global and local perspectives * Part 5: Thematic topics in environmental accounting This handbook will act as a significant publication in drawing together the history of the field and important reference points in its future development, and will serve as a vital resource for students and scholars of environmental accounting and environmental economics.
ISBN: 9780367152369Publication Date: 2021-03-30
Taxation by
Taxation is a subject of enquiry that cuts across a range of disciplines, including law, economics, politics, psychology, history and accountancy, to name a few. However, research into taxation as a social and institutional phenomenon - rather than as abstraction from the real world - is largely neglected. Taxation: A Fieldwork Research Handbook opens up new avenues of enquiry in the research of taxation by offering suggestions on how research might be conducted into actual tax practice, rather than abstract models. This book: Introduces tax as a field of enormous potential for research to all social scientists Explains the methodological issues relating to tax research Provides new opportunities for tax researchers to widen the scope of their enquiries Encourages researchers to think differently about this subject Given the importance of taxation to modern society, not only as a revenue raising mechanism, but also as a tool of governance used to influence social actors, this unique text is a vital read for any social science researcher interested in this subject.
ISBN: 9780203122594Publication Date: 2012-03-29
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
Accounting All-In-One for Dummies with Online Practice by
Your all-in-one accounting resource If you're a numbers person, it's your lucky day! Accounting jobs are on the rise -- in fact, the Bureau of Labor Statistics projects a faster-than-average growth rate of 11% in the industry through 2024. So, if you're seeking long-term job security while also pursuing your passion, you'll be stacking the odds in your favor by starting a career in accounting. Accountants don't necessarily lead a solitary life behind a desk in a bank. The field offers opportunities in auditing, budget analysis, financial accounting, management accounting, tax accounting, and more. In Accounting All-in-One For Dummies, you'll benefit from cream-of-the-crop content culled from several previously published books. It'll help you to flourish in whatever niche you want to conquer in the wonderful world of accounting. You'll also get free access to a quiz for each section of the book online. Report on financial statements Make savvy business decisions Audit and detect financial fraud Handle cash and make purchasing decisions Get free access to topic quizzes online If you're a student studying the application of accounting theories or a professional looking for a valuable desktop reference you can trust, this book covers it all.
ISBN: 9781119453949Publication Date: 2018-03-12
Auditing for Dummies by
Want to be an auditor and need to hone your investigating skills? Look no further. This friendly guide gives you an easy-to-understand explanation of auditing-from gathering financial statements and accounting information to analyzing a client's financial position. Packed with examples, it gives you everything you need to ace an auditing course and begin a career today.#9679 Auditing 101-get a crash course in the world of auditing and a description of the types of tasks you'll be expected to perform during a typical day on the job#9679 It's risky business-find out about audit risk and arm yourself with the know-how to collect the right type of evidence to support your decisions#9679 Auditing in the real world-dig into tons of sample business records to perform your first audit#9679 Focus on finances-learn how both ends of the financial equation - balance sheet and income statement - need to be presented on your client's financial statements#9679 Seal the deal-get the lowdown on how to wrap up your audit and write your opinion#9679 After the audit-see the types of additional services that may be asked of you after you've issued your professional opinion
ISBN: 9781618039637Publication Date: 2019-11-12
Bookkeeping and Accounting All-In-One for Dummies - UK by
UK bookkeeping and accounting basics for the rest of us Unless you're one of those rare "numbers people," the thought of accounting and bookkeeping probably make your head spin. While these pragmatic and confusing practices may not be fun for the rest of us, mastering them is absolutely essential in order to run and maintain a successful business. Thankfully, Bookkeeping & Accounting All-in-One For Dummies, UK Edition, is here to take the intimidation out of crunching numbers and offers easy-to-follow, step-by-step instruction on keeping your business' finances in order with information specific to a business in the United Kingdom. Written in plain English and packed with loads of helpful instruction, this approachable and all-encompassing guide arms you with everything you need to get up and running on all the latest accounting practices and bookkeeping software. Inside, you'll find out how to prepare financial statements, balance your books, keep the tax inspector off your back, and so much more. Gives you access to supplemental online samples of bookkeeping forms, accounting templates, and spreadsheets Includes many practical bookkeeping and accounting exercises and templates Simplifies every aspect of accounting and record-keeping Shows you how to run your business "by the books" If you're a small business owner or employee who is confused and intimidated by managing your accounts and books, this comprehensive guide empowers you to take charge of those pesky figures to keep your business afloat.
ISBN: 9781119026532Publication Date: 2015-06-08
Bookkeeping for Dummies by
The fast and easy way to master the art of bookkeeping If you're a business owner or an employee who manages finances, the latest edition of Bookkeeping For Dummies is for you. This handy guide gives you clear and concise information on how to keep track of accounts, prepare balance sheets, organize ledgers or journals, create financial statements, and so much more. Packed with the most up-to-date bookkeeping practices, tax information, and small-business laws, Bookkeeping For Dummies is an accessible, invaluable resource you'll turn to again and again. Accurate and complete bookkeeping is crucial to any -business owner--but jumping in headfirst without knowing your accounts from your balance sheets can confuse even the most astute businessperson. That's where Bookkeeping For Dummies helps! Written in the familiar and friendly tone that has defined the For Dummies brand for more than twenty years, this clear and comprehensive guide covers everything you'll encounter as you set out to tackle your company's books, ensuring you're on the right track and saving you tons of headaches along the way. So what are you waiting for? It's time to hit the books! Offers easy-to-follow instructions to keep track of your business' financial well-being Covers managing assets and liabilities Includes updated QuickBooks screenshots and Excel spreadsheets Provides guidance on producing balance sheets and creating financial statements Whether you're just starting out with bookkeeping--or a bookkeeper who needs to brush up on your skills--Bookkeeping For Dummies sets you up for success.
ISBN: 9781118950371Publication Date: 2014-12-11
The Complete Idiot's Guide to Accounting by
The art of accounting-by the numbers. The Complete Idiot's Guide(r) to Accounting, Third Editiontakes the guess work out of this basic business activity. This updated edition has all the current information any business person will need to understand the 'books,' along with a useful workbook style appendix to re-enforce the lessons learned throughout the book. Fully updated including all new forms. New workbook appendix with dozens of useful exercises. Up-to-date information on the changes in payroll taxes, including the new Medicare tax (US Medicare) This book is based around USA accounting methods. 368 Pages.
ISBN: 9781615640652Publication Date: 2011-02-01
Introductory Accounting by
Accurate accounting is the key to a successful business. But when you're dealing with assets and liabilities, profit and loss, and debits and credits, juggling all the numbers can quickly get confusing. Introductory Accounting gives you everything you need to know about basic financial accounting to manage your dollars and cents and keep your accounts in order. Ideal for small businesses, as well as any large company bookkeeper, this book covers: * Structuring your business and choosing an accounting method. * Setting up an accounting system and basic operating procedures (tracking sales, determining costs, managing cash, etc.). * Creating employee records, maintaining a payroll system, and accounting for benefits. * Keeping tax and benefit records. * Reporting costs. * Closing out cash journals and employee accounts at month-end and balancing ledgers. * Preparing month-end and year-end statements and reports. * Producing a balance sheet and monthly profit-and-loss (P&L) statements. * Using accounting software.
ISBN: 1615648879Publication Date: 2016-02-09
Reading Financial Reports for Dummies by
Your personal roadmap to becoming fluent in financial reports At first glance, the data in financial reports might seem confusing or overwhelming. But, with the right guide at your side, you can learn to translate even the thickest and most complex financial reports into plain English. In Reading Financial Reports For Dummies, you'll move step-by-step through each phase of interpreting and understanding the data in a financial report, learning the key accounting and business fundamentals as you go. The book includes clear explanations of basic and advanced topics in finance, from the difference between private and public companies to cash flow analysis. In this book, you'll also find: Full coverage of how to analyze annual reports, including their balance sheets, income statements, statements of cash flow, and consolidated statements Real-world case studies and financial statement examples from companies like Mattel and Hasbro Strategies for analyzing financial reports to reveal opportunities for operations optimization Reading Financial Reports For Dummies is a can't-miss resource for early-career investors, traders, brokers, and business leaders looking to improve their financial literacy with a reliable, accurate, and easy-to-follow financial handbook.
ISBN: 9781119871361Publication Date: 2022-04-05
Taxes for Dummies by
Take the anxiety out of tax season and file your return with confidence In Taxes For Dummies, 2022 Edition, you'll get line-by-line advice and plan ahead strategies that take the fear and anxiety out of tax season and save you money now and in the months and years ahead. This completely updated edition includes detailed coverage of the numerous tax bills have passed in recent years. You'll learn everything you need to know to file your own taxes with confidence and intelligently plan year-round tax strategies. In this book, you'll: Discover how to take advantage of every deduction and tax credit that applies to your specific circumstances Learn to navigate the IRS website and the newest versions of the most popular online tax preparation and filing options Understand new retirement account options and the implications of new foreign taxation rules Plan ongoing, multi-year tax strategies that will help you achieve your financial goals at every stage of your life Taxes For Dummies, 2022 Edition is the perfect resource for any United States taxpayer planning to file their own 2021 taxes. Whether you're a first-time taxpayer, an expat filing from outside the US, or a seasoned veteran of tax season looking for the latest deductions and strategies to reduce your tax bill, this book is a must-read resource that'll transform how you think about taxes.
ISBN: 9781119858454Publication Date: 2022-01-06
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
Required/recommended materials for selected accounting and taxation courses
| ACT 5001 | Williams, Jan; Haka, Susan; Bettner, Mark; Carcello, Joseph. Financial and Managerial Accounting. |
| ACT 5004 | Whitecotton, Stacey. Managerial Accounting. |
| ACT 5006 | Spiceland, David. Intermediate Accounting. |
| ACT 5007 | Spiceland, David. Intermediate Accounting. |
| ACT 5010 | Messier. Auditing + Assurance Services. |
| ACT 5140 | Williams, Jan; Haka, Susan; Bettner, Mark; Carcello, Joseph. Financial and Managerial Accounting. |
| ACT 5713 |
Schroeder, Richard G.; Clark, Myrtle W.; Cathey, Jack M. Financial Accounting Theory and Analysis. |
| ACT 5717 | Albrecht, W. Steve; Albrecht, Chad O.; Albrecht, Conan C. Fraud Examination. (2009 edition) |
| ACT 5721 | Mintz, Steven M. Ethical Obligations and Decision-Making in Accounting. |
| ACT 5725 | Easton, Peter D.; Mcanally, Mary Lea; Sommers, Gregory A. Financial Statement Analysis and Valuation. |
| ACT 5730 |
Richardson, Vernon; Terrell, Katie; Teeter, Ryan. Data Analytics for Accounting. |
| ACT 5731 | Richardson, Vernon; Chang, Chengyee; Smith, Rod. Accounting Information Systems. |
| ACT 5733 | Datar, Srikant M.; Rajan, Madhav V. Horngren's Cost Accounting. |
| ACT 5743 |
Richardson, Vernon; Terrell, Katie; Teeter, Ryan. Data Analytics for Accounting. |
| ACT 578 |
Clarkson, Kenneth W.; Miller, Roger Leroy. Business Law: Text and Cases. |
| TXX 5760 |
Smith, Ephraim P.; Harmelink, Philip J.; Hasselback, James R. CCH Federal Taxation: Basic Principles. |
| TXX 5767 | Misey Jr., Robert J.; Goller, Michael G. Federal Taxation Practice and Procedure. |
| TXX 5769 | Everett, John O. Contemporary Tax Practice. |
| TXX 5771 | Ricketts, Robert; Tunnell, P Larry. Practical Guide to Partnerships, LLCs and S Corporations |
| ACT 2020 | Whitecotton, Stacey. Managerial Accounting. |
| ACT 2030 | Phillips, Fred. Fundamentals of Financial Accounting. |
| ACT 3050 | Spiceland, David. Intermediate Accounting. |
| TXX 3110 |
Young, James C. South-Western Federal Taxation: Comprehensive 2023 |
| TXX 4110 |
Young, James C. South-Western Federal Taxation: Comprehensive 2023 |
