Library Guides: Health Sciences: Books &amp; eBooks

Online Textbooks, Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Background resources, usually textbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries, etc., can provide

The eBooks within these collections are also listed individually in NSU's catalog. So, why search these eBook collections as well?

These eBook collections allow you to search within the full-text of multiple eBooks at one time, so if chapters within a book cover your topic, it will appear in the results.
If you are looking for a specific book/eBook, please search the NSU catalog by the title to see if we own it.

Access Medicine
Full-text, illustrations, and expanded features from McGraw-Hill medical textbooks.
Clinical Key
Contains over 1000 eBooks. Search in the main search box or click on Books (top bar) to browse by title or specialty
Credo Reference
Dictionaries and encyclopedias on health, education, science & the social sciences.
Includes Dorland's Illustrated Medical, Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology, Encyclopedia of Aging, & Encyclopedia of Women's Health.
Search the entire database or click on "Find a Book" to browse or search individual eBooks.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Encyclopedias on education, multicultural studies, religion, education,social science, science, & technology. Click on GVRL (upper left corner) to browse the encyclopedias by subject
Sage Research Methods Online
tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. SRMO contains books, journals and videos. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand a particular method or identify a new method, and write up their research. Since SRMO focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used by researchers from the social sciences, health sciences and more.

Search by keyword, subject, title or author

Circulating material can be checked out for 4 weeks

Reserve material can be checked out for 3 hours (in-library use only)

Distance Students

Print Journals

Articles in print journals can be requested from ILL. The article will be scanned and sent to your ILL account.

Note: Always search the eJournal Finder to check for electronic availability of the journal first.

Reserved Print Book Chapters

Reserved books do not leave the library. You can request a limited amount of material (copyright restrictions!) to be scanned and sent to you.
Go to ILL
After logging in, select Book Chapter (left side of screen) and fill out the form

Circulating Print Books

Circulating print books (not audiovisual material) can be delivered to you.

Search the catalog
Select the title
If it is a circulating item, click on "Order for Delivery"
NSU will mail the item to you free of charge, but you are responsible for the return postage.