Library Guides: Health Sciences: Key Databases

Recommended Research Databases

These databases represent the most useful HPD resources. For more databases, use the links in the box to the right.

Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier encompasses the expansive academic disciplines now being offered in colleges and universities. This resource provides an elaborate array of titles to cornerstone academia.
AgeLine (EBSCO)
Citations and abstracts on health-related, public policy, social and fiscal issues related to aging. Sources include scholarly and consumer-oriented publications.
more...less...
Citations and abstracts on health-related, public policy, social and fiscal issues related to aging. Sources include scholarly and consumer-oriented publications.
Alt HealthWatch
Full-text database focused on complementary, alternative and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Multiple source types.
more...less...
Full-text database focused on complementary, alternative and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Multiple source types.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Citations and abstracts for literature of nursing and allied health. Also includes full-text from selected journals, legal cases, drug records, research instruments, clinical trials, and more.
more...less...
Citations and abstracts for literature of nursing and allied health. Also includes full-text from selected journals, legal cases, drug records, research instruments, clinical trials, and more.
Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials
Bibliography of controlled trials.
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
Full-text articles/reviews, as well as protocols focusing on the effects of healthcare.
EMBASE.com
Information on pharmacological and biomedical literature from EMBASE (since 1974) and from MEDLINE (since 1966).
Global Health
The definitive international public health database, Global Health is the only specialist bibliographic, abstracting and indexing database dedicated to public health research and practice.
NHS Economic Evaluation Database
The NHS Economic Evaluation Database (NHS EED) assists decision-makers in the world of professional health care by providing information on the costs and effects of drugs, treatments and procedures. Economic evaluations - the cost-benefit analysis of two or more different medical treatments - from around the world are systematically identified, described and appraised for quality while their relative strengths and weaknesses are explored and highlighted.
more...less...
The NHS Economic Evaluation Database (NHS EED) assists decision-makers in the world of professional health care by providing information on the costs and effects of drugs, treatments and procedures. Economic evaluations - the cost-benefit analysis of two or more different medical treatments - from around the world are systematically identified, described and appraised for quality while their relative strengths and weaknesses are explored and highlighted. The database contains over 6,000 abstracts of quality-assessed economic evaluations and more than 21,000 total records. NHS EED is produced by the Centre for Reviews and Dissemination (CRD) at the University of York, UK.
ProQuest Central
Our largest full-text multidisciplinary database includes over 13,000 titles, with over 10,000 available in full text. Content is provided in over 160 subject areas.
Proquest Nursing & Allied Health
Excellent for students and researchers in nursing, community health sciences, communications disorders and other health-related disciplines.
PsycINFO
Citations and abstracts to literature in psychology, the behavioral sciences, and other related disciplines. Includes psychological research and its applications
SPORTDiscus
This database covers sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education, kinesiology, coaching, training, sport administration, officiating, sport law & legislation, college & university sport, disabled persons, facility design & management, intramural & school sport, doping, health, health education, biomechanics, movement science, injury prevention rehabilitation, physical therapy, nutrition, exercise physiology, sport & exercise psychology, recreation, leisure studies, tourism, allied health, occupational health & therapy, public health and more.
Web of Science
Science Citation Index Expanded (1975-present)
Social Sciences Citation Index (1975-present)
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present)

Start Here

CINAHL Plus with Full-Text

CINAHL is the electronic version of the Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature. Full text for nearly 770 of the 4,500 journals indexed dating back to 1937. CINAHL covers nursing, health sciences, alternative/complementary, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.

Medline (EBSCO)
Full text of medical literature including clinical medicine, nursing, dentistry, allied health, health care services and administration, biological and physical sciences, etc.

PubMed (MEDLINE)

More than 19 million citations for biomedical articles from MEDLINE and life science journals. Citations may include links to full-text articles from PubMed Central or publisher web sites. This link requires an NSU login, and will include links to options for finding full text of articles.

PsycInfo
Citations and abstracts to literature in psychology, the behavioral sciences, and other related disciplines. Includes psychological research and its applications.

SPORTDiscus with Full Text
Provides full-text articles from over 490 journals on sports, fitness, sports medicine, and related disciplines.

All NSU Databases

Health and Medicine Databases

Databases Sorted by Material Type:

Dissertations
List of resources providing dissertations
Tests & Measurements
Informational guide on locating research instruments as well as studies using specific research instruments

Health Sciences: Key Databases

Finding Articles

Recommended Research Databases

Start Here

All NSU Databases