Library Guides: Health Sciences: Evidence-based Info

Evidence-Based Pyramid

Evidence-Based Health Care Resource from the New York University Libraries

Evidence-Based Practice

Oxford University's Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine states that evidence-based medicine is the conscientious, explicit and judicious use of current best evidence in making decisions about the care of individual patients

CINAHL Complete
CINAHL Complete is the worlds most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals.
Limit by Publication Type for systematic review, clinical trials, etc. Also try the Clinical Queries option.
ClinicalKey
Contains guidelines and "First Consult" monographs
Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (formerly Cochrane Controlled Trials Register)
Bibliography of controlled trials. Includes information from journals, conference proceedings and other sources not included in other databases.
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews contains full text articles, as well as protocols focusing on the effects of healthcare. The reviews are highly structured and systematic, with evidence included or excluded on the basis of explicit quality criteria, to minimize bias.
Cochrane Methodology Register
A bibliography of publications which report on methods used in the conduct of controlled trials.
Embase
Information on pharmacological and biomedical literature o limit your EMBASE search to the best evidence-producing studies: Click on the ‘Limits’ icon to use ‘Clinical Queries’.
Natural Medicines
Evidence-based resource contains over 1,000 product monographs providing up-to-date clinical information on natural and herbal medicines, and dietary supplements. Cited references are linked to PubMed abstracts when available.
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source
Excellent for students and researchers in nursing, community health sciences, communications disorders and other health-related disciplines.
PsycINFO
Citations and abstracts to literature in psychology, the behavioral sciences, and other related disciplines. Includes psychological research and its applications
PubMed/Medline
More than 19 million citations for biomedical articles from MEDLINE and life science journals.
Limit by "Article Type" (systematic review, clinical trial, etc.) Also try the Clinical Queries filter.
Note: Medline content can also be searched from other vendors (EBSCO, etc.)
Trip Database
The TRIP Database is a clinical search engine designed to allow clinicians to quickly find answers to their clinical questions using the best available evidence
Up to Date
Illustrated, full-text, evidence-based topic guides provide clinical information on a wide variety of diseases and disorders including their diagnosis, management and therapy. Also includes drug information, as well as screening and prevention strategies
Web of Science
Provides abstracts, cited references, times cited, and links to full text when available for articles in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities

EBM Tutorials

Centre for Evidence Based Medicine (CEBM), Oxford
Tools for each step of the EBM Process
Evidence Based Medicine Toolkit
Adapted from the Users' Guides series prepared by the Evidence Based Medicine Working Group and originally published in JAMA
Intro to Evidence-based Medicine
Produced by Duke University Medical Center Library and Health Sciences Library, UNC-Chapel Hill

Guidelines

ClinicalKey
Click on Practice Guidelines (along top bar) and browse or search for guidelines
Current Practice Guidelines
National Guideline Clearinghouse (NGC)
Public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines
Access Medicine
On the toolbar, click on "Quick Reference" to access the dropdown menu for Guidelines