Skip to Main Content
Nova southeastern University logo Martin and Gail Press Health Professions Division Library Logo

Health Sciences: Find the Full Text Article From a Specific Citation

Recommended resources for Health Sciences Program students and faculty

Locate the full text article from a citation

 

 

Have a citation and need the full text article? 

Use the options on this page to locate the article you need.

 

 

Option 1: Full Text Finder:

Search the library's electronic journals for the article, so it can be immediately printed or saved.

Option 2: Catalog:

Not available electronically? Search the catalog to see if the print journal is in the library.

(Davie students only. Distance students skip to Option 3)

Option 3: Interlibrary Loan (ILL):

Article not available electronically or in print? 

Request the material from ILL (Free service)

Option 1: Search the Full Text Finder (previously Journal Finder) for a Specific Electronic Journal

Search

From the HPD Library Homepage, use the Full-Text Finder to look for a specific journal in our electronic resources.

  1. Click on “Search Full-Text Finder”
  2. Type in the exact journal title
  3. If you are unsure of the exact title, use the drop-down box and select "Contains" to search for words within a title

I. Find

The eJournal Finder does not accept the journal title abbreviation (AMA citation style uses abbreviations)


If your citation has the journal abbreviation and you can't figure out the journal name, go to 

 

  1. PubMed Journals Database
  2. Type in the abbreviation and click on Search
  3. Example: Clin Ther     Results: Clinical Therapeutics
  4. Use the full title in the Journal Finder

 

II. Search

 Enter the journal name NOT the article title or the abbreviated journal name (AMA citation style)

 

              
 
 full text finder
 

Results

 

  • If the journal is available electronically, one or more resources will be listed.
  • ALWAYS check date ranges and embargos (if any) listed next to the resource.
  • Check your citation and select the resource that contains that year.

 

Date Ranges:

Full-text availability dates will vary by resource.

If your date is not available in any of the resources, go to Option 2 (Davie students) or Option 3 (distance students)

 

 

Embargoes (blackout dates):

Full text articles are not available during the embargo period.

Example: an embargo of 7 months means no full text for the past 7 months.

 

Browse for Article

1. Once you have selected a resource, click on the title.

2. The resource will not open directly to your article so browse to the correct year/volume/issue.

3. Once you select the correct year/volume/issue, you will see a list of articles for that specific issue. Browse the list until you find the article. 

Every resource looks different, the screenshot below is just one example

Tips:
  • Look for a list of years or volumes. Click on the correct one for your article.

 

  • Look for a link to the Archives, Back Issues, or Back List

 

  • Look for a search box and enter the article title.

Option 2: Search the Catalog for Print Journals

 

Option 3: Interlibrary Loan

Request an Article

  • Material not available in Nova's print and electronic resources can be requested from Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
  • This is a free service.
  • ILL will try to obtain the article from another library system somewhere in the United States.
  • This service can take several days.

 

 

  1. Go to ILL
  2. Click on  the Illiad icon in the middle of the page
  3. Log in with your Nova ID & password
  4. Click on Journal Article (left side of screen)
  5. Enter the requested information in all of the required fields on the form
  6. Click on Submit Request
  7. If ILL is able to obtain the article, you will receive an email with a link to your ILLiad account.
  8. Log in and click on Electronically Received Articles to view the article (left side of screen)