Skip to Main Content
Nova southeastern University logo Martin and Gail Press Health Professions Division Library Logo

Public Health: CHES & MCHES

Recommended resources for HPD Master of Public Health (M.P.H.) Program students and faculty

Exam FAQs

CHES Overview

The CHES examination is a competency-based tool used to measure possession, application and interpretation of knowledge in the Seven Areas of Responsibility for Health Education Specialists. The exam reflects the entry-level Sub-competencies of these Areas of Responsibility. Consisting of 165 multiple-choice questions (150 scored and 15 pilot tested), the CHES examination is offered in paper-and-pencil format at college campuses throughout the United States. While there are approximately 120 testing sites currently registered, any campus with a testing service is eligible to become a testing site.

A CHES is an individual that has: 

1) Met required academic preparation qualifications 
2) Successfully passed a competency-based examination administered by the National Commission for Health Education Credentialing, Inc.
3) Satisfies the continuing education requirement to maintain the national credential

To dowload the CHES exam brochure click here

MCHES Overview

Extensive research involving health education specialists across the nation has verified the existence of entry- and advanced-levels of health education practice with the differentiation at five years of experience. In 2009, it was released that the NCHEC Board of Commissioners voted to implement an advanced-level of certification. This proves to be an exciting time for the profession of health education and for health education specialists. The MCHES examination was offered for the first time in October 2011. The MCHES exam is offered in conjunction with the CHES examination in April and October at over 120 testing sites across the country.

The Master Certified Health Education Specialist (MCHES) exam is based on the scientific approach to measure the existing health education advanced-level Sub-competencies related to the Seven Areas of Responsibilities. 
The exam consists of 165 multiple choice questions (150 scored, 15 pilot tested) some of which are scenario based, and is administered in paper-and pencil format.

A MCHES is an advanced-level practitioner that has: 
1) Met required academic qualifications, worked in the field for a minimum of five years 
2) Successfully passed a competency-based assessment administered by the National Commission for Health Education Credentialing, Inc. 
3) Satisfies the continuing education requirement to maintain the national credential

For more information on the MCHES examination click here

Studying for Exam