Library Guides: Health Informatics: MSHI-M1 Class Resources

Books by Topic - Biochemistry

The Big Picture: Medical Biochemistry
Lippincott Illustrated Reviews: Biochemistry Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2021, 2022 and 2023! Praised by faculty and students for more than two decades, Lippincott® Illustrated Reviews: Biochemistry is the long-established go-to resource for mastering the essentials of biochemistry. This best-selling text helps students quickly review, assimilate, and integrate large amounts of critical and complex information, with unparalleled illustrations that bring concepts to life.   Like other titles in the popular Lippincott® Illustrated Review Series, this text follows an intuitive outline organization and boasts a wealth of study aids that clarify challenging information and strengthen retention and understanding. This updated and revised edition emphasizes clinical application and features new exercises, questions, and accompanying digital resources to ready students for success on exams and beyond. NEW! Clinical Application boxes train students to confidently apply biochemistry in clinical scenarios. NEW! Cross-references to other Lippincott® Illustrated Reviews titles help students grasp how biochemical concepts relate to other basic sciences. UPDATED! Vibrant illustrations and detailed tables clarify complex biochemical concepts. NEW and UPDATED! Study Questions and Answers for each chapter test students' retention and strengthen their test-taking confidence. UPDATED! Integrative Case Studies with Review Questions familiarize students with commonly encountered clinical scenarios and alert them to potential widespread implications of presenting issues. NEW! Animations enhance students' understanding of biochemical concepts and processes with vivid detail and accuracy.
High-Yield Q & A Review for USMLE Step 1: Biochemistry and Genetics This full-color review offers a fast and effective way for you to prepare for regular course examinations in biochemistry and medical biochemistry, as well as medical board exams and the USMLE Step 1. A unique feature of this review is the integration of medical biochemistry with physiology, pathophysiology, pathology, and anatomy, making it perfect for today's rapidly changing medical school curriculum. Important related topics such as carbohydrate, lipid, protein metabolism, and associated disease/pathologies are incorporated into a concise, focused review of biochemistry. High-Yield Q & A Review for USMLE Step 1 is packed with learning aids: 1,100 multiple-choice questions and thorough explanations for each answer 350 full-color illustrations Detailed clinical boxes with high-yield information concerning diseases and disorders related to defects in the pathways being discussed Every chapter includes: - An outline listing the major topics covered - A list of high-yield terms related to the content - Numerous explanatory figures and tables designed to increase your understanding of must know material - A checklist that recaps important and high-yield concepts
Fundamentals of Biochemistry Medical Course and Step 1 Review Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality,  authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The biochemistry/USMLE® review you've been waiting for . . . clear, concise,  high yield, and clinically relevant INCLUDES AN ONLINE VIDEO LECTURE FOR EVERY CHAPTER! The goal of Fundamentals of Biochemistry: Medical Course & Step 1 Review is to make biochemistry an approachable, clinically relevant subject for your first years of medical school, and, most importantly, when you prepare to take the USMLE® Step 1 examination. The authors believe that when biochemistry is put in a clinical context, learning and understanding it becomes much less complicated, as all the pieces of the "puzzle" fall into place.  A SELF-CONTAINED, HIGH-YIELD GUIDE UNLIKE ANY OTHER You will find Fundamentals of Biochemistry: Medical Course & Step 1 Review to be a self-contained guide to high-yield biochemistry, with a strong focus on the topics you are most likely to see on the USMLE® Step 1 exam.  You can select any chapter and find a self-contained summary of the relevant topic. The authors begin with the basics of the cell and DNA, and protein synthesis, then cover the central aspects of metabolism, and finish with nutrition and genetics.  EASY-TO-ABSORB CHAPTERS ENHANCED BY COMPANION ONLINE VIDEOS The information is delivered in a simple outline format that pinpoints the high-yield information you need to know. Each chapter is also presented as a lecture, in video format, so you can review the topic in real time and add additional notes as you learn each topic or review them later.
Case Files Biochemistry 3/e Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. LEARN BIOCHEMISTRY IN THE CONTEXT OF REAL-LIFE PATIENTS AND PREPARE FOR THE USMLE Step 1 Experience with clinical cases is key to excelling on the USMLE Step 1 and shelf exams, and ultimately to providing patients with competent clinical care. Case Files: Biochemistry provides 53 true-to-life cases thatillustrate essential concepts in this field. Each case includes an easy-tounderstand discussion correlated to essential basic science concepts, definitions of key terms, biochemistry pearls, and USMLE-style reviewquestions. With Case Files, you'll learn instead of memorize. Learn from 53 high-yield cases, each with board-style questions and key-point pearls Master complex concepts through clear and concise discussions Practice with review questions to reinforce learning Polish your approach to clinical problem-solving Perfect for medical and dental students preparing for course exams and the Boards
Biochemistry Lippincott's Illustrated Reviews: Biochemistry is the long-established first-and best resource for the essentials of biochemistry. Students rely on this text to help them quickly review, assimilate, and integrate large amounts of critical and complex information. For more than two decades, faculty and students have praised LIR Biochemistry's matchless illustrations that make concepts come to life. NEW! extensive revisions and updated content integrative and chapter-based cases new and updated figures new questions bonus online chapter on Blood Clotting Plus all the hallmark features you count on from Lippincott's Illustrated Reviews: Outline format - perfect for both concise review and foundational learning Annotated, full-color illustrations - visually explain complex biochemical processes Chapter overviews and summaries - reinforce your study time Clinical boxes - take students quickly from the classroom to the patient, associating key concepts with real-world scenarios More than 200 review questions in the book FREE with purchase! A comprehensive online exam featuring 500+ practice questions, plus fully searchable eBook
Medical Biochemistry Brought to you in a thorough yet accessible manner, the new edition of Medical Biochemistry gives access to all of the latest information on basic and clinically focused genetic and molecular biology. Featuring a team of contributors that includes investigators involved in cutting-edge research as well as experienced clinicians, this updated medical textbook offers a unique combination of both research and practice that's ideal for today's problem-based integrated courses. Relate biochemistry to everyday practice with the help of Clinical Boxes integrated into the text, and access in-depth coverage of important topics - including recent research in biochemistry - through Advanced Concept Boxes. Test your knowledge and improve retention with Active Learning Boxes at the conclusion of each chapter, and quickly review the most common lab tests performed with convenient Clinical Test Boxes. Effectively study the most updated information in biochemistry with the help of a dynamic, full-color design. Better understand the relationship between science and clinical practice with material organized by organ rather than system. Quickly review descriptions of difficult concepts with an online glossary available at Student Consult. Additional online components include clinical images, clinical boxes, case studies, online note-taking capabilities, and 150 multiple-choice and USMLE-style questions. Gain a thorough understanding of biomarkers and their uses with brand-new information on the subject. Access today's most recent research regarding Gene Therapy, Proteomics and Recombinant DNA Techniques, Role of Kidney in Metabolism, and Neurochemistry.
Principles of Medical Biochemistry The smart way to study! Elsevier titles with STUDENT CONSULT will help you master difficult concepts and study more efficiently in print and online! Perform rapid searches. Integrate bonus content from other disciplines. Download text to your handheld device. And a lot more. Each STUDENT CONSULT title comes with full text online, a unique image library, case studies, USMLE style questions, and online note-taking to enhance your learning experience. Half the size and weight of the usual biochemistry text. Includes clinical cases throughout the text, and a case study section at the end in order to illustrate the practical application of biochemistry concepts. Comprehensive coverage of all the topics that are typically included in medical biochemistry courses Focuses on topics that are of specific medical interest, such as plasma proteins and lipoproteins, molecular carcinogenesis, laboratory diagnostic tests, and the rapidly evolving new applications of molecular genetics. Expanded coverage of molecular genetics, genome structure, and the molecular basis of genetic disease. Discussions of gene therapy and germline gene modifications. Information on molecular carcinogenesis, apoptosis, and signaling pathways. Superb new page design with full color illustrations Online version via the STUDENT CONSULT website with USMLE test questions and integration links
Marks' Essentials of Medical Biochemistry Based on the Second Edition of Marks' Basic Medical Biochemistry: A Clinical Approach, Marks' Essentials of Medical Biochemistry has been streamlined to focus on only the most essential biochemical concepts important to medical students. The authors present facts and pathways to emphasize how the underlying biochemistry is related to the body's overall physiological functions. This text presents patients to the students as the biochemistry is being discussed, which strengthens the link between biochemistry and medicine and allows the student to learn about this interaction as the biochemistry is presented. Each chapter includes clinical and biochemical notes and comments, questions and answers to encourage further thinking, and suggested references for those who would like to pursue a particular topic in more depth.

Books by Topics - Microbiology/Immunology

Elsevier's Integrated Immunology and Microbiology Each title in the new Integrated series focuses on the core knowledge in a specific basic science discipline, while linking that information to related concepts from other disciplines. Case-based questions at the end of each chapter enable you to gauge your mastery of the material, and a color-coded format allows you to quickly find the specific guidance you need. Bonus STUDENT CONSULT access - included with the text - allows you to conveniently access the book's content online #65533; clip content to your handheld device #65533; link to content in other STUDENT CONSULT titles #65533; and more! These concise and user-friendly references provide crucial guidance for the early years of medical training, as well as for exam preparation. Includes case-based questions at the end of each chapter Features a colour-coded format to facilitate quick reference and promote effective retention Offers access to STUDENT CONSULT! At www.studentconsult.com, you'll find the complete text and illustrations of the book online, fully searchable #65533; "Integration Links" to bonus content in other STUDENT CONSULT titles #65533; content clipping for handheld devices #65533; an interactive community center with a wealth of additional resources #65533; and much more!
Mims' Medical Microbiology and Immunology
Immunology Lippincott's Illustrated Reviews: Immunology offers a highly visual presentation of essential immunology material, with all the popular features of the series: over 300 full-color annotated illustrations, an outline format, chapter summaries, review questions, and case studies that link basic science to real-life clinical situations. Lippincott's Illustrated Reviews: Immunology can be used as a review text for a short immunology course, or paired with Lippincott's Illustrated Reviews: Microbiology for a combined microbiology/immunology course.
Clinical Microbiology Made Ridiculously Simple Extensive updates, with a new chapter on hospital-acquired gram-negative bacteria.
Microbiology Lippincott's Illustrated Reviews: Microbiology, Third Edition enables rapid review and assimilation of large amounts of complex information about medical microbiology. The book has the hallmark features for which Lippincott's Illustrated Reviews volumes are so popular: an outline format, 450 full-color illustrations, end-of-chapter summaries, review questions, plus an entire section of clinical case studies with full-color illustrations. NEW TO THIS EDITION: an online testbank of 100 review questions.

Books by Topic - Physiology

Guyton and Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology, 14e Known for its clear presentation style, single-author voice, and focus on content most relevant to clinical and pre-clinical students, Guyton and Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology, 14th Edition, employs a distinctive format to ensure maximum learning and retention of complex concepts. A larger font size emphasizes core information, while supporting information, including clinical examples, are detailed in smaller font and highlighted in pale blue - making it easy to quickly skim the essential text or pursue more in-depth study. This two-tone approach, along with other outstanding features, makes this bestselling text a favorite of students worldwide. Offers a clinically oriented perspective written with the clinical and preclinical student in mind, bridging basic physiology with pathophysiology. Focuses on core material and how the body maintains homeostasis to remain healthy, emphasizing the important principles that will aid in later clinical decision making. Presents information in short chapters using a concise, readable voice that facilitates learning and retention. Contains more than 1,200 full-color drawings and diagrams - all carefully crafted to make physiology easier to understand. Features expanded clinical coverage including obesity, metabolic and cardiovascular disorders, Alzheimer's disease, and other degenerative diseases. Includes online access to interactive figures, new audio of heart sounds, animations, self-assessment questions, and more. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Physiology Cases and Problems Physiology Cases and Problems, Fourth Edition is a collection of carefully selected patient case studies that cover the clinically relevant physiology topics that first and second year medical students need to know for physiology coursework and for the USMLE Step 1. Organized by body system, the book presents cases studies with questions and problems, followed by complete explanations and solutions including diagrams, graphs, and charts. Students may use this book alone, in small groups, or as a complement to BRS Physiology. Either way, it is intended to be a dynamic, working book that challenges its users to think more critically about physiologic principles. This book includes a number of features to help students master the principles of physiology: 62 cases organized by body system to help students integrate material Several expanded cases, including myasthenia gravis, atrioventricular conduction block, carbon monoxide poisoning, peptic ulcer disease, galactorrhea and amenorrhea, and prolactinoma 2 new cases on Chronic Renal Failure, Liver Failure and Hepatorenal Syndrome New full-color interior, tables, and illustrations Within each case, questions are arranged sequentially so that they intentionally build upon each other Question difficulty varies from basic to challenging, recognizing the progression that most students make Major equations are presented in boldface type, followed by explanations of all terms Key topics are listed at the end of each case so that students may focus their study Common Abbreviations are presented on the inside front cover, and normal values and constants are presented on the inside back cover Online access to Ebook
USMLE Road Map: Physiology USMLE Road Map: Physiology presents a concise and focused examination of the essential concepts in physiology. Through a streamlined and easy-to-follow hierarchical outline format, it guides students through the basic physiologic principles and reviews the normal and abnormal functions of the major organ systems. The outline is enhanced with an extensive and original illustration program that visually conveys the essential information and promotes retention of the material. Features such as clinical correlations and clinical problems are also included.
Berne and Levy Physiology, 8e Pairing necessary detail with concise readability, Berne & Levy Physiology, 8th Edition, provides a perfect balance of content to deliver an in-depth understanding of the body's dynamic processes. Long respected for its scientifically rigorous approach, this highly regarded, mid-size text offers essential physiology with integrated coverage of biophysics andkey experimental observations and examples-all designed to provide a solid scientific foundation in physiology for future scientists and clinicians.  Uses a logical, organ system-based approach that clearly describes all of the mechanisms that control and regulate bodily function.  Includes new clinical case examples, as well as In the Clinic and At the Molecular Level boxes that highlight practical aspects of this fundamental science.  Provides key experimental observations and examples that offer a rich understanding of the body's dynamic processes.  Discusses recent discoveries such as the role of lymphatics in the nervous system.  Begins each chapter with a bulleted list of questions and ends with key concepts covered in that chapter.  Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. 
Ganong's Review of Medical Physiology, 26e The leading text on human physiology for more than four decades--enhanced by all new video tutorials A Doody's Core Title for 2019!  For more than four decades, Ganong's Review of Medical Physiology has been helping those in the medical field understand human and mammalian physiology. Applauded for its interesting and engagingly written style, Ganong's concisely covers every important topic without sacrificing depth or readability, and delivers more detailed, high-yield information per page than any other similar text or review.  Thoroughly updated to reflect the latest research and developments in important areas such as chronic pain, reproductive physiology, and acid-base homeostasis, Ganong's Review of Medical Physiology, Twenty-Sixth Edition incorporates examples from clinical medicine to illustrate important physiologic concepts. Ganong's will prove valuable to students who need a concise review for the USMLE, or physicians who want to keep pace with the ever-changing world of medical physiology. * More than 600 full-color illustrations * Two types of review questions: end-of-chapter and board-style * NEW! Increased number of clinical cases and flow charts * NEW! Video tutorials from the author; high-yield Frequently Asked Question feature with detailed explanations; improved legends that eliminate the need to refer back to the text 
Medical Physiology, 3e by Walter F. Boron; Emile L. Boulpaep For a comprehensive understanding of human physiology - from molecules to systems -turn to the latest edition of Medical Physiology. This updated textbook is known for its unparalleled depth of information, equipping students with a solid foundation for a future in medicine and healthcare, and providing clinical and research professionals with a reliable go-to reference. Complex concepts are presented in a clear, concise, and logically organized format to further facilitate understanding and retention. Clear, didactic illustrations visually present processes in a clear, concise manner that is easy to understand. Intuitive organization and consistent writing style facilitates navigation and comprehension. Takes a strong molecular and cellular approach that relates these concepts to human physiology and disease. Student Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience includes access -- on a variety of devices -- to the complete text with thorough hyperlinking, images, 10 animations, and copious linkout notes prepared by the Editors. An increased number of clinical correlations provides a better understanding of the practical applications of physiology in medicine. Highlights new breakthroughs in molecular and cellular processes, such as the role of epigenetics, necroptosis, and ion channels in physiologic processes, to give insights into human development, growth, and disease. Several new authors offer fresh perspectives in many key sections of the text, and meticulous editing makes this multi-authored resource read with one unified voice. Your purchase entitles you to access the web site until the next edition is published, or until the current edition is no longer offered for sale by Elsevier, whichever occurs first. If the next edition is published less than one year after your purchase, you will be entitled to online access for one year from your date of purchase. Elsevier reserves the right to offer a suitable replacement product (such as a downloadable or CD-ROM-based electronic version) should online access to the web site be discontinued.
Costanzo Physiology Through six highly regarded editions, students and instructors alike have come to appreciate Dr. Linda Costanzo's clear, helpful writing style, logical organization, and easy-to-follow presentation of a challenging and complex topic in medical education. Costanzo Physiology, 7th Edition, retains the step-by-step, to-the-point approach that makes this text ideal for coursework and USMLE preparation. Complex concepts are presented in a simple, easy-to-digest manner, and are accompanied by well-designed figures and tables that provide handy visuals for procedures or physiologic equations. Fully updated throughout, this edition remains the students' choice for concise, clear instruction and a strong foundation in human physiology. Offers a comprehensive and consistent overview of core physiologic concepts at the organ system and cellular levels, making complex principles easy to understand.  Presents information in a short, simple, and focused manner - the perfect presentation for success in coursework and on exams.  Provides step-by-step explanations and easy-to-follow diagrams clearly depicting physiologic principles.  Contains new coverage of SARS CoV-2 physiology, renal handling of uric acid, delta/delta analysis is acid-base physiology, endolymph physiology, respiratory distress syndrome, compensatory bronchiolar constriction, and more.  Includes high-yield online features such as student FAQs with thorough explanations, animations, and video tutorials from Dr. Costanzo.  Integrates equations and sample problems throughout the text.  Features chapter summaries for quick overviews of important points, boxed Clinical Physiology Cases for a more thorough understanding of application, and end-of-chapter questions to reinforce understanding and retention.  Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Boron and Boulpaep Concise Medical Physiology by Walter F. Boron; Emile L. Boulpaep Medical students and faculty have long looked to Boron & Boulpaep's Medical Physiology for an unparalleled, comprehensive understanding of complex human physiology. By popular demand, the new Boron & Boulpaep Concise Medical Physiology offers Boron & Boulpaep's authoritative content in a condensed, entry-level presentation that is well-illustrated and student friendly. You'll find the same trusted quality and attention to detail as the parent text, with a logically organized format, clear, instructive figures, and online animations-all focused on the essential information you need to know for a solid introduction or a quick review. Takes a strong molecular and cellular approach that relates these concepts to human physiology and disease. Presents challenging material in a clear, concise, logically organized format to further facilitate understanding and retention. Features simplified, didactic illustrations that clearly depict complex concepts. Focuses on the essentials, making it ideal for programs and courses with limited hours for physiology coverage, or as a review companion to Boron & Boulpaep's Medical Physiology. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.