Black History Month: More Resources

This guide contains information on the library's collection of resources relating to Black History Month.

Tips for Searching

Public Databases: Go to our Electronic Resources and search for the following databases:

Gale Literature - LitFinder
For information on African-American authors and their works, click on the "Person Search" button. Then select "Full Text Documents", choose "African American" under "Ethnicity", and click on the "Search" button. You will find full-text information on everyone from Maya Angelou to Ahmos Zu-Bolton, II, and over 1800 others.

Books and other materials: Search NovaCat, the NSU libraries catalog, using any of the following keywords:

black history
african american literature
african american scientists
african american education
See a complete list of subjects in NovaCat

Local Black History Resources

Old Dillard Museum and School
more...less...
"Built in 1924, the Old Dillard School, originally called “The Colored School,” is not only the first school constructed for blacks in Broward County, but also is one of the oldest buildings in Fort Lauderdale."
Black History in Fort Lauderdale
more...less...
This article outlines "the role played by African Americans throughout the area's sometimes turbulent history and their contributions to its growth," going back 100 years to the the early settlement of South Florida.
African-American Research Library and Cultural Center
more...less...
Since its opening, AARLCC has become an integral part of the community, offering classes in computer technology and educational, recreational, and cultural programs on a regular basis. AARLCC has displayed over 38 major exhibits and offered 184 cultural programs to over 895,000 customer, celebrities, noted authors and international speakers.
The Collaborative Archive from the African Diaspora
more...less...
Established in 2010 by the University of Miami Libraries, the Collaborative Archive from the African Diaspora (CAAD) is a free online resource for scholars seeking manuscripts and other original cultural materials related to South Florida's historically black communities, with special emphasis on African American and Caribbean collections. All records in the CAAD represent collections that can be accessed in South Florida archives, libraries, and cultural heritage institutions.
The Black Archives
more...less...
The Black Archives, incorporated on November 17, 1977, is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization governed by a Board of Directors. Intended for school children and founded by Dorothy Jenkins Fields, its purpose is to document the black experience in Miami-Dade County from 1896 to the present, which, for a variety of reasons, is not widely documented. From the photographs and documents of pioneer families to souvenir programs from churches and organizations, The Black Archives preserves the identity of black South Florida.

Internet Resources

Here are some additonal resources on the Internet related to Black History Month. Click any of the links below to view the website.

The Alvin Sherman Library is not responsible for the content, accuracy, or any other aspect of external websites.

Brainfuse - Live Tutoring

With a Broward County Library card, click here to enter Brainfuse for FREE online live tutoring and skills-building for K-12, college and adult learners. Assistance is available daily from 11:00 a.m. to 11:55 p.m. EST, also in Spanish.

Broward County Library

Click here to visit the Broward County Library's website to search their catalog and databases.

Last Updated: Apr 4, 2024 2:05 PM
URL: https://libguides.nova.edu/blackhistorymonth
Print Page

Subjects: -Community Resources, History & Political Science, Public Library Services

Tags: bhm, black history month