The purpose of this page is to show you how to find other dissertations and theses.
To conduct a general search for dissertations available in digital format from a variety of universities, start in the ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global database. Below the "Search Options" section, check the box for "Doctoral Dissertations" for "Manuscript Type" before searching for your keywords.
For dissertations not available online in full-text, but indexed in ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global, there are a couple of options for obtaining a copy:
In addition to ProQuest's Dissertations and Theses Full Text subscription database, there are numerous public Web sites that provide varying amounts of information on dissertations and theses worldwide. The Web site may provide citations only, or citations and abstracts. Some include some full text. Most provide information on completed dissertations though some provide information on dissertations that are "in progress."
Abes: Agence Bibliographique de l'Enseignement Superieur
Provides citations to French dissertations.
Australian Digital Theses Program
Provides citations and full-text for a few thousand theses and dissertations published in Australia.
The British Library
Provides citations of theses from British universities (most doctoral theses from the early 1970s onward), from the United States (475,000 doctoral theses), and from Canada (several hundred doctoral theses from 1980 forward).
Center for Research Libraries
Twenty thousand doctoral dissertations from outside of the United States and Canada are searchable from this site. Items can be ordered through ILL by students, faculty, and staff.
Digital Library and Archives
Provides citations and abstracts of over 6,700 theses and dissertations. Free full-text access is provided for over 4,500 of these items.
Directory of Dissertations in Progress
Citations of dissertations "in progress" in the area of history from the U.S. and Canada.
Includes only a few hundred dissertations and theses, but provides free, full-text access to the first twenty-five pages of each item.
Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology
Provides citations for dissertations in musicology from approximately 1950 to the present. International in scope.
NDLTD - Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations http://www.ndltd.org
Provides citations from thousands of digital dissertations and theses that are in PDF format. Many are freely available in full-text and can be viewed online.
Theses Canada Portal
Provides access to bibliographic citations for all the theses in the National Library of Canada Theses Collection. Provides full-text for theses published between January 1, 1998 to August 31, 2002.
TREN: Theological Research Exchange Network
Provides citations to 6,800 theological theses/dissertations and conference papers. Items can then be purchased.