A database is a collection of information published electronically by a credible source or publishing company. The information in a database is arranged into records that can be searched by a computer.
While you may find a lot of results when using Google, Bing, or other search engines on the web, these results may not be appropriate to cite in your actual paper. Instead, search the internet to brainstorm ideas and then research those concepts in the databases.
The majority of scholarly articles found within a database are not freely available on the internet.
Provides citations and abstracts related to current issues and public affairs. Includes references to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Websites, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed. 1972 - present.
The most comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. CIAO publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.
Full-text articles from scholarly journals are available (from Volume 1 to issues published 2-5 years ago) in the arts, business, humanities, literature, social sciences, general science, mathematics and statistics.
Full-text publications of the Organisation for Economic Co-Operation and Development, including country studies, reports, ebooks, periodicals, working papers, and statistics databases. They cover economics, business, and social issues in the 30 member countries and 70 other countries. Formerly SourceOECD.