Library Guides: Nursing: MSN Clinical (APRN)

Start your research with CINAHL

Start with:

CINAHL Complete (EBSCO)
Advanced Search allows for many nursing specific searches such as "First Author as Nurse", "Any Author as Nurse", and the ability to sort literature by nursing program level (BSN to DNP)

Expand your search with:

APA PsycInfo (formerly PsycINFO)
more...less...
Citations and abstracts to literature in psychology, the behavioral sciences, and other related disciplines. Includes psychological research and its applications. Contains material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work.
ClinicalKey Nursing
more...less...
ClinicalKey Nursing provides evidence-based content including books, journals, videos, patient education handouts, practice guidelines and clinical trials.
MEDLINE (EBSCO)
more...less...
Citations and abstracts to medical literature including clinical medicine, nursing, dentistry, allied health, health care services and administration, biological and physical sciences, etc. Links to selected full-text articles.
Nursing & Allied Health Collection: Comprehensive
more...less...
Full text of selected journals indexed in CINAHL. Subject areas include nursing, biomedicine, health sciences, consumer health and allied health disciplines.
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source
more...less...
Excellent for students and researchers in nursing, community health sciences, communications disorders and other health-related disciplines. Full text from over 250 leading nursing and allied health journals back to mid-1990's; indexing back to 1980's. Browse includes video.

Need additional results?

Browse the Full List of Nursing Databases
Search across multiple databases at once and/or try SharkSearch
Ask a Librarian for assistance building a search strategy

Verify Peer-Review?

Check the journal title in Ulrich's Web. If the journal title (NOT the article title) is peer-reviewed or refereed, a referee jersey will appear next to the title.

Clinical Skills

Recommended Point-of-Care Apps

Five Minute Clinical Consult (Free for Current NSU students) - point of care diagnostic and patient management tool is designed to help support patient care decisions (Download Installation Instructions)
Epocrates - available on Google Play and AppStore
Medscape - available on Google Play and AppStore
VisualDx (Free for Current NSU students) Differential diagnosis tool with images (Download Installation Instructions)
UCentral with Johns Hopkins Guides (Free for Current NSU students) - available through NSU Libraries (Download Installation Instructions)
UpToDate (Free for Current NSU students) - Evidence-based, point-of-care tool available through NSU Libraries (Download Installation Instructions)

Access Medicine

Auscultation Classroom hosts 25 heart and lungs sounds.

Heart Sounds and Murmurs - Cardiac auscultation reference guide includes over a hundred heart sounds, both real and simulated. Use these buttons to view sounds by auscultation area.

Lung Sounds - the lung auscultation guide provides quick access to twenty lung or breath sounds. This site includes audio, listening tips and a waveform.

Recommended eBooks

Guide to clinical documentation
Publication Date: 2019
3 Simultaneous Users
Chart Smart
Publication Date: 2011
1 Simultaneous User
Degowin's Diagnostic Examination, 11th Edition by Richard F. Leblond; Donald D. Brown; Manish Suneja
ISBN: 9781260134889
Publication Date: 2020

Websites & Other Resources

Clinical Skills
Select Browse By Category & Select Nursing Documentation
Purdue OWL - SOAP Notes
USMLE Clinical Skills Practice Writing Patient Notes

Pharmacology Databases

Clinical Pharmacology
Full-text information on all US prescription drugs, as well as herbal supplements, nutritional and over-the-counter products, and investigational drugs.
Facts and Comparisons eAnswers
Facts and Comparisons online provides quick access to comprehensive drug information to assist with comparing prescription drugs, drug interactions, drug identification, patient counseling and education and much more.
LexiComp
Database of drug monographs.Tools for checking drug interactions, drug identification, and calculations, and news on drugs, FDA recalls/shortages/alerts.
Medical Letter
Includes : The Medical Letter on Drugs and Therapeutics - Objective, peer-reviewed evaluations of new FDA-approved drugs, and new information on previously approved drugs; Treatment Guidelines from The Medical Letter- Unbiased reviews of drug classes used to treat common disorders. Includes the doses, adverse effects and the recommendations of Medical Letter consultants; Antimicrobial Therapy; Adverse Drug Interactions and CME's.
Natural Medicines
Evidence-based resource contains over 1,000 product monographs providing up-to-date clinical information on natural and herbal medicines, and dietary supplements. Cited references are linked to PubMed abstracts when available.
UpToDate
Illustrated, full-text, evidence-based topic guides provide clinical information on a wide variety of diseases and disorders including their diagnosis, management and therapy. Also includes drug information, as well as screening and prevention strategies.

Pharmacology Websites

DailyMed
more...less...
DailyMed provides high quality information about marketed drugs. This information includes FDA labels (package inserts). This Web site provides health information providers and the public with a standard, comprehensive, up-to-date, look-up and download resource of medication content and labeling as found in medication package inserts. The National Library of Medicine (NLM) provides this as a public service and does not accept advertisements.

Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination with OSCE Clinical Skills Videos

Recommended Databases

Access Medicine
On the toolbar, click on "Quick Reference" to access the dropdown menu for Guidelines
CINAHL (EBSCO)
Within the Search Options, locate the Publication Type filter and select Practice Guidelines
Clinical Key
Select Browse ... to access a dropdown. Then select Guidelines. Then use the search box on the left or browse by authoring organization or specialty
MEDLINE (EBSCO)
Within Search Options, locate the Publication Type filter and select Guidelines and Practice Guidelines.
TRIP Pro
Search keywords then select Guideline filter. Filters available by country.
UpToDate
Society and international guidelines

Recommended Websites

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
AHRQ includes archived guidelines from the National Guideline Clearinghouse from 1992-2018.
ECRI Guidelines Trust
**Please note you must register for free account to access this resource**--from their site: ECRI Guidelines Trust is a publicly available online repository of objective, evidence-based clinical practice guideline content.
NICE UK Guidelines
The National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE) provides UK guidance and advice to improve health and social care.
NIH Covid-19 Treatment Guidelines
These Treatment Guidelines have been developed to inform clinicians how to care for patients with COVID-19. Because clinical information about the optimal management of COVID-19 is evolving quickly, these Guidelines will be updated frequently as published data and other authoritative information become available.
Epocrates Online
Free Account Registration required. Access Guidelines through the app or by selecting the link above.

Track-Specific Resources

Recommended Clinical Databases

AccessMedicine
- Family Medicine eTextbooks
- DDX- Differential Diagnosis Tool
Bates Visual Guide to Physical Examination with OSCE's -online video skills for head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques.
Clinical Skills - online video skills & procedures reference system
ClinicalKey Nursing - evidence-based content including books, journals, videos, patient education handouts, practice guidelines and clinical trials
Red Book Online - Current AAP recommendations for diagnosing, treating and preventing infectious disease in infants, children and adolescents.
VisualDX- differential diagnosis app for point-of-care
UpToDate - evidence-based app for point-of-care

Recommended eJournals

Recommended Websites

Recommended Library eBooks

The Color Atlas and Synopsis of Family Medicine, 3rd Edition
ISBN: 9781259862045
Publication Date: 2018
CURRENT Diagnosis and Treatment in Family Medicine
ISBN: 9780071827751
Publication Date: 2020
Guide to Diagnostic Tests, Seventh Edition
ISBN: 9781259640896
Publication Date: 2017
Hazzard's Geriatric Medicine and Gerontology, Eighth Edition by Jeffrey B. Halter; Joseph G. Ouslander; Stephanie Studenski; Kevin P. High; Sanjay Asthana; Mark A. Supiano; Christine S. Ritchie; Kenneth Schmader
ISBN: 9781260464450
Publication Date: 2022-06-13
Symptom to Diagnosis an Evidence Based Guide, Fourth Edition
ISBN: 9781260121117
Publication Date: 2019

Recommended Clinical Databases

AccessMedicine
APA PsycInfo
Clinical Key Skills
Counseling and Therapy in Video - Collection of video for the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling.
DSM Library - Provides online access to major psychiatry reference material and journals, including the DSM library, psychiatric textbooks, and American Journal of Psychiatry. Book chapters are downloadable to tablets and smartphones.
John Hopkins Guides from UCentral - Evidence-based Guidelines for quick point-of-care use ABX, Diabetes, Psychiatry, HIV Guides, Clinical Anesthesia Procedures
UpToDate - Psychiatric Topics are covered in this point-of-care tool
VisualDX - differential diagnosis app for point-of-care