Library Guides: Nursing: Resources by Specialty

Resources by Specialty

Recommended Databases

AccessMedicine
- Emergency Medicine eTextbooks
- DDx Diagnosaurus
Clinical Key Skills
- Emergency Nursing Skills
- Pediatric Emergency Nursing Skills
John Hopkins Guides from UCentral - Evidence-based Guidelines for quick point-of-care use ABX, Diabetes, Psychiatry, HIV Guides, Clinical Anesthesia Procedures
UpToDate - Emergency Medicine (Pediatric and Adult) Topics are covered in this point-of-care tool

Recommended eBooks

Emergency Nursing
Available via eBook Central
Emergency Nursing Core Curriculum
Available via ClinicalKey Nursing
Fast Facts for the Triage Nurse
Available via eBook Central
Roberts and Hedges' Clinical Procedures in Emergency Medicine and Acute Care
Available via Clinical Key
Rosen's Emergency Medicine: Concepts and Clinical Practice
ISBN: 9780323757904
Publication Date: 2023
Available via Clinical Key
Sheehy's Emergency Nursing
Available via ClinicalKey Nursing

Recommended Websites

Emergency Nurses Association

Recommended eBooks

Basic & Clinical Biostatistics: Fifth Edition
Available via AccessMedicine
Clinical Epidemiology
Available via LWW Health Library
Epidemiology 101
Available via EBookCentral (1 user)

Recommended Journals

Recommended Websites

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Geographical Statistics
World Health Organization (WHO): Data & Statistics
HealthMap: Global Disease Alert Map
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Data Archives (SAMHDA)
Cancer Statistics
- Cancer Statistics, 2019 This is an annual article published by the journal CA: Cancer Journal for Clinicians.
- Cancer Statistics, National Cancer Institute (NCI) at the National Institutes of Health (NIH)
- North American Association of Central Cancer Registries (NAACCR)

Recommended Databases

AccessMedicine
- Family Medicine eTextbooks
- DDX- Differential Diagnosis Tool
Bates Visual Guide to Physical Examination with OSCE's -online video skills for head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques.
Clinical Skills - online video skills & procedures reference system
ClinicalKey Nursing - evidence-based content including books, journals, videos, patient education handouts, practice guidelines and clinical trials
VisualDX- differential diagnosis app for point-of-care
UpToDate - evidence-based app for point-of-care

Recommended eBooks

The Color Atlas and Synopsis of Family Medicine, 3rd Edition
Available on Access Medicine
CURRENT Diagnosis and Treatment in Family Medicine
ISBN: 9781260134902
Publication Date: 2020
Available via AccessMedicine
Minor Emergencies by Buttaravoli, Philip
ISBN: 9780323662048
Publication Date: 2022
Available via ClinicalKey Nursing

Recommended eJournals

Recommended Databases

AccessMedicine
- Internal Medicine eBooks
Clinical Skills
ClinicalKey Nursing - evidence-based content including books, journals, videos, patient education handouts, practice guidelines and clinical trials
John Hopkins Guides from UCentral - Evidence-based Guidelines for quick point-of-care use ABX, Diabetes, Psychiatry, HIV Guides, Clinical Anesthesia Procedures
UpToDate - Emergency Medicine (Pediatric and Adult) Topics are covered in this point-of-care tool
VisualDX- differential diagnosis app for point-of-care

Recommended Websites

Recommended Databases

AccessPharmacy
more...less...
AccessPharmacy from McGraw-Hill is an online curricular resource designed to meet the changing demands of pharmacy education. A flexible resource, AccessPharmacy allows students to select a core curriculum topic, browse by organ system, review textbooks, search across leading pharmacy online references and view optimized content on a mobile device.
Clinical Pharmacology
Drug Information Portal
more...less...
The Drug Information Portal at http://druginfo.nlm.nih.gov is a free web resource from the National Library of Medicine (NLM) that provides an informative, user-friendly portal to current drug information for over 15,000 drugs. Links to sources span the breadth of NLM, the National Institutes of Health (NIH) and other government agencies. Current information regarding consumer health, clinical trials, AIDS-related drug information, MeSH® pharmacological actions, PubMed® biomedical literature, and physical properties and structure is easily retrieved by searching on a drug name. A varied selection of focused topics in medicine and drug-related information is also available from displayed subject headings.
Natural Medicines
more...less...
Evidence-based resource contains over 1,000 product monographs providing up-to-date clinical information on natural and herbal medicines, and dietary supplements. Cited references are linked to PubMed abstracts when available.

Recommended Databases

AccessMedicine
APA PsycInfo
ClinicalKey Nursing
ClinicalKey Skills
Counseling and Therapy in Video - Collection of video for the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling.
DSM Library - Provides online access to major psychiatry reference material and journals, including the DSM library, psychiatric textbooks, and American Journal of Psychiatry. Book chapters are downloadable to tablets and smartphones.
John Hopkins Guides from UCentral - Evidence-based Guidelines for quick point-of-care use ABX, Diabetes, Psychiatry, HIV Guides, Clinical Anesthesia Procedures
UpToDate - Psychiatric Topics are covered in this point-of-care tool
VisualDX - differential diagnosis app for point-of-care

Recommended eBooks

CURRENT Diagnosis & Treatment Psychiatry, Third Edition
ISBN: 9780071754422
Available via AccessMedicine

Recommended eJournals

Recommended Databases

Other Graduate Resources and Organizations

American Academy of Nurse Practitioners
Founded in 1985, the American Academy of Nurse Practitioners® (AANP) is the largest, full-service national professional membership organization created for NPs of all specialties. As The Voice of the Nurse Practitioner®, AANP represents the interests of the approximately 155,000 NPs around the country, advocating for the active role of NPs as providers of high-quality, cost-effective health care.
American Association of Colleges of Nursing
The American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN) is the national voice for baccalaureate and graduate nursing education. AACN's educational, research, federal advocacy, data collection, publications, and special programs work to establish quality standards for nursing education; assist deans and directors to implement those standards; influence the nursing profession to improve health care; and promote public support for professional nursing education, research, and practice.
American Medical Informatics Organization
AMIA is the center of action for more than 4,000 health care professionals, informatics researchers, and thought-leaders in biomedicine, health care and science. AMIA is an unbiased, authoritative source within the informatics community and the health care industry. AMIA and its members are transforming healthcare through trusted science, education, and practice in biomedical and health informatics.
AMIA is the professional home of leading informaticians: clinicians, scientists, researchers, educators, students, and other informatics professionals who rely on data to connect people, information, and technology.
American Nursing Informatics Association
The purpose of ANIA (formerly ANIA-CARING) is to advance the field of nursing informatics through communication, education, research and professional activities. The Corporation is organized to operate as a professional organization within the meaning of Section 501(c) (6) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as amended.
American Organization of Nurse Executives
The American Organization of Nurse Executives (AONE) is the national organization of nurses who design, facilitate and manage care.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Doctor of Nursing Practice Online Community
This is a DNP forum for the communication of information, ideas, and innovations to promote professional growth and development.
ENP Network
ENP Network is a continuously evolving nurse practitioner community that improves communication, collaboration, and networking possibilities throughout the industry.
Geriatric Nursing - Hartford Institute for Geriatric Nursing
Your source for evidence based and authoritative information about nursing care of older adults.
HealthCare.Gov - Government Healthcare
Government healthcare explained & list of resources.
Hospital and Health Networks (H&HN)
For eight decades, we have continually provided hospital and health care business executives with direction, perspective and information essential to their life’s work.
H&HN is the flagship publication of the American Hospital Association and the most trusted and credible management publication in the field. It is the leading publication for hospital and system executives, and it continues its history of journalistic excellence by capturing more national editorial and design awards than any other healthcare management magazine.
National Academies Press (Institute of Medicine: IOM Reports)
Health and Medicine research at the National Academies focuses on issuesaffecting the health of the public, including population-based public health measures and the public health infrastructure. It also ensures that there is adequate attention to the science base underlying health and health care, as national and international needs evolve and change. The public and private policies and institutional relations that shape health sciences research and policy or that facilitate application of new knowledge are of particular concern.
National Health Policy Forum
The National Health Policy Forum's mission is to cultivate a learning community among key senior staff in Congress, its support agencies, and the executive branch of the federal government in order to improve the policymaking process on the nation's critical health issues.
National League for Nursing (NLN)
NLN promotes excellence in nursing education to build a strong and diverse workforce to advance the nation's health.
Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Publications and Research
This frequently updated news digest on the subject of Nurses & Nursing highlights key articles from major journals, news publications and blogs. The digest is a free service of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation.
Sigma Theta Tau (STTI) International Honor Society of Nursing
STTI, the only international nursing honor society worldwide, is a global community of nurse leaders with members belonging to 475 chapters who live in 90 countries. Through this network, members lead in using knowledge, scholarship, service and learning to improve the health of the world's people.
The Commonwealth Fund
The Commonwealth Fund is a private foundation that aims to promote a high performing health care system that achieves better access, improved quality, and greater efficiency, particularly for society's most vulnerable, including low-income people, the uninsured, minority Americans, young children, and elderly adults.
The Fund carries out this mandate by supporting independent research on health care issues and making grants to improve health care practice and policy. An international program in health policy is designed to stimulate innovative policies and practices in the United States and other industrialized countries.
The TIGER Initiative
TIGER: Advancing the integration of health informatics to transform practice, education and consumer engagement.
TIGER Initiative is to enable nurses and interprofessional colleagues to use informatics and emerging technologies to make healthcare safer, more effective, efficient, patient-centered, timely and equitable by interweaving evidence and technology seamlessly into practice, education and research fostering a learning healthcare system.
World Health Organization
WHO is the directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system. It is responsible for providing leadership on global health matters, shaping the health research agenda, setting norms and standards, articulating evidence-based policy options, providing technical support to countries and monitoring and assessing health trends.