Administrative Theory & Praxis: A Journal of Dialogue in Public Administration TheoryPeer reviewed
Leading quarterly journal for critical, normative, or interpretive scholarship focused on various aspects of public administration theory, governance, and management.
ATP welcomes manuscripts that situate public administration within broader social, economic, cultural, political, and historical contexts; introduce new theories, frameworks, and literatures; or develop challenging, thought-provoking philosophical arguments about the field.
Administration & SocietyPeer reviewed
Administration & Society advances understanding of public and nonprofit organizations, their administrative processes, their effects on society, and their place in governing systems.
Administrative Science QuarterlyPeer reviewed
ASQ publishes the best organizational theory papers from a number of disciplines, including organizational behavior and theory, sociology, psychology and social psychology, strategic management, economics, public administration, and industrial relations.
Canadian Public AdministrationPeer reviewed
Examines the structures, processes, outputs and outcomes of public management and public policy. It covers executive, legislative, judicial and quasi-judicial functions at all three levels of Canadian government.
International Review of Public AdministrationPeer reviewed
IRPA covers a wide array of public administration field, including but not confined to:
comparative and international administration
governance and intersectoral relationships
democratic governance and public administration
organizational theory and human resource management in the public sector
innovation and organizational learning in the public sector
public budgeting and finance
policy tools and evaluation
various fields of public policy (social welfare policy, education policy, health policy, etc.)
Journal of Public Administration, Finance and LawPeer reviewed
Journal of Public Administration, Finance and Law (JOPAFL) presents an interdisciplinary approach in public administration, finance and law, on different lines of analysis, following the philosophy of international interdisciplinary journals.
Public Administration QuarterlyPeer reviewed
Public Administration Quarterly is a general journal publishing single-article manuscripts and symposia in all areas of public administration, and is committed to the consistent use of the blind-review process in making publishing decisions.
Health Care Management ReviewPeer reviewed
Health Care Management REVIEW (HCMR) is a peer-reviewed quarterly journal that addresses the full range of challenges and concerns that busy health care academics and executives face every day, and provides the latest developments in the health care field. Written by high-profile authors and guided by a prestigious Editorial Board, HCMR presents in-depth analysis and solutions in a reader-friendly format. The journal features multidisciplinary content that applies theoretical frameworks and principles to health services management and practice. Topics include new developments, practical solutions, and insightful analyses in finance, marketing, labor relations, cost containment, quality assurance, planning, computers and technology, staff recruitment, pay and benefits, and much more.
International Journal of Public LeadershipPeer reviewed
The International Journal of Public Leadership (IJPL) provides a forum for the exchange of ideas and insights on all aspects of leadership in the public sphere, including government, politics and civil society.
International Journal of Public Sector ManagementPeer reviewed
In over 30 years of continuous publication, IJPSM has covered the full range of public management research including studies of organizations, public finances, performance management, Human Resources Management, strategy, leadership, accountability, integrity, collaboration, e-government, procurement, and more.
International Public Management JournalPeer reviewed
IPMJ features work from scholars around the world who conduct research in the areas of public management and government reform, comparative public administration, organizational theory, and organizational behavior. IPMJ seeks to provide a bridge between those conducting research on public management and public administration on the one hand, and those working in the areas of organizational behavior and organization theory on the other.
International Public Management ReviewPeer reviewed
The purpose of the International Public Management Review is to publish manuscripts reporting original, creative research in the field of public management. Theoretical, empirical and applied work including case studies of individual nations and governments, and comparative studies are given equal weight for publication consideration.
Journal of Public ProcurementPeer reviewed
The Journal of Public Procurement covers all aspects of public procurement at a local, regional, national and international level. Multi-disciplinary, the journal examines public procurement from the perspectives of management, law, economics and politics.
Public Budgeting & FinancePeer reviewed
The content of the journal spans the spectrum of budget process and policy and financial management, is never limited to one level of government or even to one country, and always even-handedly crosses disciplines and approaches in applied government finance.
Public Management ReviewPeer reviewed
PMR covers such key issues as:
- social policy making and implementation in the plural state
- inter-sectoral (government non-profit-for profit) relationships
- the evaluation and critique of the ’new public management’ paradigm
- governance institutions and processes
- globalization and convergence in public management
- state reform and structural adjustment, and the operational/ strategic management of public service organisations, including such issues as contracting, marketing and strategic management.
Public Money and ManagementPeer reviewed
Public Money & Management (PMM) is a highly-respected international journal covering finance, policy and management issues in public services.
PMM publishes papers and articles which contribute new knowledge as a basis for policy or management improvements, or which reflect on evidence from public service management and finance.
Public Performance and Management ReviewPeer reviewed
Public Performance & Management Review (PPMR) is a leading peer-reviewed academic journal that addresses a broad array of influential factors on the performance of public and nonprofit organizations.
Continuing themes include, but are not limited to: managing for results, measuring and evaluating performance, designing accountability systems, improving budget strategies, managing human resources, building partnerships, facilitating citizen participation, applying new technologies, and improving public sector services and outcomes.
Public Personnel ManagementPeer reviewed
Founded by the International Public Management Association for Human Resources (IPMA-HR), Public Personnel Management (PPM) is published specifically for human resource executives and managers in the public sector. Each quarterly edition contains in-depth articles on trends, case studies and the latest research by top human resource scholars and industry experts.
Review of Public Personnel AdministrationPeer reviewed
The Review of Public Personnel Administration presents timely, rigorous scholarship on human resource management in public service organizations. The journal provides research for scholars and professionals to stay abreast of advancements and innovations in the field.
The journal publishes articles that reflect the varied approaches used in the study and practice of human resource management in the public sector. The journal analyzes the effects of specific HR procedures or programs on the management function and assesses the impact of HR management on the broader areas of public policy and administration.
International Review of Public PolicyNot peer reviewed
IRPP is the flagship journal of the most important world-wide association for public policy in the social sciences, the International Public Policy Association (IPPA). The journal hosts contributions on theories of the policy process, empirical tests of models, agenda-setting, decisions, policy instruments policy types, policy change, policy implementation, evaluation & appraisal, and a host of other social-scientific issues revolving around public policy. IRPP publishes both comparative studies and single case studies.
Journal of Policy Analysis & ManagementPeer reviewed
Journal of Policy Analysis and Management (JPAM) strives for quality, relevance, and originality. The editors give priority to articles that relate their conclusions broadly to a number of substantive fields of public policy or that deal with issues of professional practice in policy analysis and management.
Journal of Public PolicyPeer reviewed
The Journal of Public Policy applies social science theories and concepts to significant political, economic and social issues and to the ways in which public policies are made. Its articles deal with topics of concern to public policy scholars worldwide. The journal often publishes articles that cut across disciplines, such as environmental issues, international political economy, regulatory policy and European Union processes.
Journal of Social PolicyPeer reviewed
The Journal of Social Policy carries high quality articles on all aspects of social policy in an international context. It places particular emphasis upon articles which seek to contribute to debates on the future direction of social policy, to present new empirical data, to advance theories, or to analyse issues in the making and implementation of social policies.
Policy SciencesPeer reviewed
The journal offers articles that examine the normative aspects of policy sciences; conceptual articles addressing concrete policy issues; articles on particularly controversial pieces of analysis; opposing perspectives, including critiques and rejoinders on articles already published, which open the journal to an exchange of views rather than restricting it to pure presentation; and special issues that analyze specific topics in depth.
Policy Studies JournalPeer reviewed
A scholarly journal that presents public policy problems that relate to sociology and political science at all levels of government. Published on behalf of the Policy Studies Organization (PSO). Articles are generally comparative in nature and written by social scientists and other public policy researchers.
Poverty & Public PolicyPeer reviewed
Poverty & Public Policy publishes quality research on poverty, income distribution, and welfare programs from scholars around the globe. PPP is eclectic, publishing peer-reviewed empirical studies, peer-reviewed theoretical essays on approaches to poverty and social welfare, book reviews, data sets, edited blogs, and incipient data from scholars, aid workers and other hands-on officials in less developed nations and nations that are just beginning to focus on these problems in a scientific fashion.
Public Policy and AdministrationPeer reviewed
The journal aims to publish original peer-reviewed material within the broad field of public policy and administration. This includes recent developments in research, scholarship and practice within public policy, public administration, government, public management, administrative theory, administrative history and administrative politics.
Public Works Management and PolicyPeer reviewed
Public Works Management & Policy is dedicated to publishing analyses, research, and opinions to help shape the agenda for discussion and resolution of the broad and diverse issues facing the international infrastructure profession.
In the pages of Public Works Management & Policy you will find useful and valuable work on a wide range of topics, including: public infrastructure and the economy, public works institutions, functions and history, infrastructure development and financing infrastructure, engineering and project management, environmental planning and policy, public works service operations, performance and risk infrastructure, system maintenance and renewal, public works legal issues and risk management for infrastructure systems.
Statistics and Public PolicyPeer reviewed
Statistics and Public Policy publishes research related to evidence-based methods directly relevant to public policy questions. Such research includes data analysis that sheds light on particular questions in public policy, as well as investigates methods typically used in such analyses.
Perspectives on Public Management and GovernancePeer reviewed
Perspectives on Public Management and Governance is dedicated to theory development and conceptual work challenging and advancing the field of public affairs. PPMG seeks to develop new theories, frameworks, and conceptual models, as well as summative and critical evaluations of existing theoretical frameworks.
State/local government journals
Local Government StudiesPeer reviewed
Local Government Studies is the leading journal for the study of local politics, policy, public administration and management and governance. First established in 1975, it is an influential forum for critical dialogue and exchange on local government and a vital resource for academics, politicians, policy makers and practitioners internationally.
State and Local Government ReviewPeer reviewed
State and Local Government Review is the premier journal of scholarship, practical engagement, and discourse on state and local governance. The journal explores subnational governance and administration in federal and multilevel systems around the globe.
SIAM has an interest not only in state and local government, but also in the effective interaction among public officials in a federal system. It seeks to foster the dissemination of information about research and experience that contributes to the understanding and improvement of the intergovernmental system.