Real Estate
This guide is a collection of resources that will help you with your research on real estate topics. It covers residential, industrial and commercial. The guide includes materials related to various phases of a real estate project: development, appraisal,
- Home
- Books
- Journals
- Databases
- Websites
- Associations and professional organizations
- Cite your sources
- How do I ...?
Need Help? Ask A Librarian!
There are several ways to ask for help when you need it.
Call 954-262-4613 (Toll-Free)
Email refdesk@nova.edu
Chat with a Librarian online
Appointment Request Form | En Español
Text (954) 621-1400 (Start your question with "NSU')
Additional recommended websites
Fannie Mae
- Economic & Housing Outlook – topics covered include interest rate movement, the housing market, the mortgage market, and the overall economic climate.
- The Economic & Strategic Research Group also provides a weekly snapshot of current macroeconomic and housing data in the Economic & Housing Weekly Note.
Federal Housing Finance Agency
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
- Industry statistics for NAICS 531: real estate – workforce, earnings and hours, earnings, fatalities, injuries, and illnesses, workplace trends
U.S. Census Bureau
- Building Permits Survey - statistics on the number of new housing units authorized by building permits. Data are available monthly, year- to- date, and annually at the national, state, selected metropolitan area, county and place levels.
- Housing data
- Housing vacancies and homeownership
- Population and Housing Unit Estimates Visualizations
- Survey of Market Absorption of New Multifamily Units
U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development
American Institute of Architects
American Real Estate Society
Building Owners and Managers Association
Mortgage Bankers Association
- News and research – the association offers products that cover all business areas - economic forecasting, residential, commercial and multifamily.
National Association of Home Builders
- NAHB/Wells Fargo Housing Market Index (HMI) - market conditions for the sale of new homes at the present time and in the next six months as well as the traffic of prospective buyers of new homes.
CCIM Institute
Florida Realtors
NAIOP
- Space Demand Forecasts - the Industrial Space Demand Forecast utilizes variables that comprise the entire supply chain and lead the demand for space, including varying measures of employment, GDP, exports and imports, and air, rail and shipping data.
- The Office Space Demand Forecast is based on 5 variables: growth rate in GDP, corporate profits of domestic industries, total employment in the financial sector, ISM-NM Inventories Index and ISM-NM Supplier Deliveries Index.
- Economic Impacts of Commercial Real Estate – U.S. and state reports, Canada and province and city reports
- CRE Sentiment Index
- The Development Approvals Index: A New Tool to Evaluate Local Approvals Processes
- Development Magazine
- Market Share blog – the official blog for real estate
National Association of Realtors
- Analysis and Case Studies on Office-to-Housing Conversions
- Commercial Market Insights
- Commercial Real Estate International Business Trends
- Commercial Real Estate Metro Market Reports
- Commercial Real Estate Market Trends and Outlook
- Home sales: existing and pending
- Housing Affordability Index
- REALTORS® and Sustainability: Commercial
- Surveys - Commercial lending , Market recovery, Loan type, NAR Flash Survey: Economic Pulse
- Weekly Real Estate Monitor
National Property Managers Association
Society of Industrial and Office Realtors
AEW
CBRE
Colliers International
- Search by geography - national and local. You can also search by property type – coverage includes hotels, healthcare, industrial, land, multifamily, office, retail.
- Knowledge Leader Blog
Core Logic
Deloitte
Dodge Data and Analytics
Ernst & Young
JLL
Knight Frank
KPMG
Newmark Group
- Quarterly market reports on major office and industrial markets across the United States
- Also check out Real Insight research available on the Insights page.
Savills
- Current market trends and predictions
- Market reports : office and industrial
Zillow
- Housing data covers the Zillow Home Value Index (ZHVI), the Zillow Home Value Forecast (ZHVF), the Zillow Observed Rent Index (ZORI) and more.
- Market reports
- Housing trends reports