Sport and Recreation Management
Books
Ambush Marketing in Sports by
Ambush marketing is a strategy by which a company or organisation uses their marketing communications to associate themselves with an event without being an official sponsor or authorised partner or licensee. It has become a particular concern in the marketing of major sports events, with international sponsorship and branding properties worth many millions of dollars. Ambush Marketing in Sports is the first book to offer comprehensive analysis of the theoretical and practical implications of ambush marketing. Drawing on cutting-edge empirical research data, the book outlines an innovative model for understanding ambush marketing and offers practical advice for all stakeholders, from sponsors and event organisers to media organisations. The book examines the opportunities and the risks of ambush marketing, assesses the legal, ethical and business dimensions, and offers advice for preventing ambush marketing in a range of contexts. Fully supported throughout with examples and cases from major international sports events, such as the FIFA World Cup and the Olympic Games, this book is important reading for any student, researcher or practitioner with an interest in sport marketing, sport business or event management.
ISBN: 9780415626781Publication Date: 2013-03-15
Developing Successful Sport Marketing Plans by
The first book of its kind, written by a renowned leader in sport marketing and management. Sport administrators and managers need more than ever to understand and communicate how to envision, develop, implement and supervise all stages of the marketing plan. Covering the concepts of situational analysis, consumer behaviour, target marketing, marketing objectives, strategies and tactics, market segmentation, data-based marketing, implementation and control. This book offers sound, industry-proven methods and guides the reader through each stage of a marketing plan. Sequential chapters, sample plans from industry, questions, key terms, and user-friendly format will be useful to everyone from CEOs to interns.
ISBN: 1885693249Publication Date: 2000-10-01
Emerging Trends and Innovation in Sports Marketing and Management in Asia by
Once only associated with North America and Europe, formal athletic events are now becoming more prevalent in Asia as well. With the expansion of this industry, there is a need for efficient and strategic advertising to promote competitions, events, and teams. Emerging Trends and Innovation in Sports Marketing and Management in Asia brings together research and case studies to evaluate and discuss the effectiveness of current methodologies and theories in an effort to improve promotional activities and the organization of all aspects of the sports industry. This publication is an essential reference source for academicians, researchers, industry practitioners, and upper-level students interested in the theories and practices of sports marketing and management with a special focus on Asia.
ISBN: 9781466675285Publication Date: 2015-01-31
Global Sport Marketing by
Globalization has had a profound impact on the sports industry, creating an international market in which sports teams, leagues and players have become internationally recognized brands. This important new study of contemporary sports marketing examines the opportunities and threats posed by a global sports market, outlining the tools and strategies that marketers and managers can use to take advantage of those opportunities. The book surveys current trends, issues and best practice in international sport marketing, providing a useful blend of contemporary theory and case studies from the Americas, Europe and Asia. It assesses the impact of globalization on teams, leagues, players, sponsors and equipment manufacturers, and highlights the central significance of culture on the development of effective marketing strategy. Global Sport Marketing is key reading for any advanced student, researcher or practitioner working in sport marketing or sport business.
ISBN: 9780203126462Publication Date: 2012-06-14
Integrated Marketing Communications, Strategies, and Tactical Operations in Sports Organizations by
As with any business, economic, financial, and marketing management for sports organizations is critical for attracting, retaining, and engaging fans. Unlike typical businesses, the sports industry is inconsistent, highly emotional with a strong personal nature, and operates in various markets where organizations compete and cooperate at the same time. Thus, traditional management techniques are not always appropriate for these organizations. Integrated Marketing Communications, Strategies, and Tactical Operations in Sports Organizations provides expert insight into the latest trends, strategies, and tactics that can be used in the sports industry to build foundations for successful commercialization. The content within this publication covers city marketing, social media interactions, and atmospheric influence and is designed for managers, marketers, business and industry professionals, stakeholders, academicians, researchers, and students.
ISBN: 9781522576181Publication Date: 2019-01-25
Media Relations in Sport by
Provides a framework for understanding the connection between the informational and commercial sides of sports information management. This book is useful for students in sports management, as well as students in journalism, public relations or communications.
ISBN: 1885693222Publication Date: 2002-01-01
Show Me the Money! How to make money through sports marketing by
How do football clubs make their money? How do clubs become global brands, and their stars recognised throughout the world? Show Me The Money is a fascinating sports marketing handbook that uses football to show how money can be made by a club, a tournament, a federation or individual athlete. Author Esteve Calzada worked as Chief Marketing and Commercial Officer of football giants FC Barcelona for over five years. During that time he made a major contribution towards the commercial transformation that saw the club increase its revenue to over 400 million euros per year. He now works as a consultant at Manchester City FC.Full of true-life examples from Barcelona FC, find out how to generate media coverage, recruit fans and generate income through the correct use of sponsors, television rights, athletes' image rights and the management of licensed products. This is a guide to sports marketing, but not a dull and dry textbook - aimed at sports marketeers and sports marketing students, but fascinating to anyone interested in sport and how football clubs make their money.
ISBN: 9781472903044Publication Date: 2013-10-10
Sport 2. 0 by
Ramifications of the convergence of sports and digital technology, from athlete and spectator experience to the role of media innovation at the Olympics. Digital technology is changing everything about modern sports. Athletes and coaches rely on digital data to monitor and enhance performance. Officials use tracking systems to augment their judgment in what is an increasingly superhuman field of play. Spectators tune in to live sports through social media, or even through virtual reality. Audiences now act as citizen journalists whose collective shared data expands the places in which we consume sports news. In Sport 2.0, Andy Miah examines the convergence of sports and digital cultures, examining not only how it affects our participation in sport but also how it changes our experience of life online. This convergence redefines how we think of about our bodies, the social function of sports, and the kinds of people who are playing. Miah describes a world in which the rise of competitive computer game playing--e-sports--challenges and invigorates the social mandate. Miah also looks at the Olympic Games as an exemplar of digital innovation in sports, and offers a detailed look at the social media footprint of the 2012 London Games, discussing how organizers, sponsors, media, and activists responded to the world's largest media event. In the end, Miah does not argue that physical activity will cease to be central to sports, or that digital corporeality will replace the nondigital version. Rather, he provides a road map for how sports will become mixed-reality experiences and abandon the duality of physical and digital.
ISBN: 9780262343114Publication Date: 2017-02-17
Sport Brands by
Sport brands are a central element of modern sport business and a ubiquitous component of contemporary global culture. This groundbreaking book offers a complete analysis of the topic of sport brands from both a marketing management approach (strategy and implementation) and a psycho-sociological approach (consumption and wider society). In doing so it explores both supply and demand sides, offering a complete introduction to the nature, purpose and value of sport brands not found in any other sports marketing text. The book covers the whole heterogeneity of sport brands, going much further than the sport team and league brands covered in most other books. As well as teams and leagues, the book considers the brands of sports celebrities, events, media, computer games and governing bodies, as well as the ethical, professional and technological 'label brands' associated with sport. Richly illustrated with cases, examples and data, the book explores the tangible and intangible influence of sport brands, their economic and social value, and the subcultures and communities that grow up around them. It also introduces common strategies for growing brands, and growing through brands, and examines the challenges and threats that sport brands face, from boycotts and ambush marketing to counterfeiting. An understanding of sport brands is essential for a fully rounded understanding of contemporary sport marketing. As a result, this book is important reading for any student or practitioner working in sport marketing, sport business, or mainstream marketing management.
ISBN: 9780203114667Publication Date: 2013-03-05
Sport Public Relations and Communication by
An increasingly important element of sport business is the management of the myriad of relationships in which sport entities are involved. It is the relationship management aspect of sport which is the unique focus of this book. Sport Public Relations and Communication discusses and reformulates the principles of public relations and communications by demonstrating how they can be successfully applied in practice within a sports context. Features include: discussion customized to apply directly to sports management, thoroughly exploring the nuances of the field case studies used throughout the book to illustrate the practical application of theory discussion questions to help formulate and articulate defensible arguments in relation to public relations and communications strategies, forging strong links between theory and practice examples used to draw from the authors' extensive experience in North America, the United Kingdom, Europe and Australia and New Zealand, providing a well rounded and global understanding of the field. This is the first book to explore public relations and communications in the sports industry in a global context. It brings together applicable strategies for the sport management or marketing student, and provides a concise guide to how public relations and communications strategies and principles can be applied to sport management and marketing issues.
ISBN: 9780080886114Publication Date: 2012-05-23
Sports Media by
Looking toward a future with increasingly hybridized media offerings, Sports Media: Transformation, Integration, Consumption examines sports media scholarship and its role in facilitating understanding of the increasingly complex world of sports media. Acknowledging that consumer demand for sports media content has influenced nearly every major technology innovation of the past several decades, chapters included herein assess existing scholarship while positing important future questions about the role sports media will play in the daily lives of sports fans worldwide. Contributions from well-known scholars are supplemented by work from younger researchers doing new work in this area. Developed for the Broadcast Education Association's Electronic Media Research series, this volume will be required reading for graduate and undergraduate students in media,nbsp;communication, sociology, marketing, and sports management, and will serve as a valuable reference for future research in sports media.
ISBN: 9780415883689Publication Date: 2011-03-24
Sports Media, Marketing, and Management by
The application of marketing and management concepts to sports products and services is vital to the success of the industry. When appealing to the target audience of an event, it is essential to construct a strong marketing plan by utilizing emergent technologies and strategies. Sports Media, Marketing, and Management: Breakthroughs in Research and Practice is a comprehensive reference source for the latest scholarly material on the effectiveness of current methodologies and theories, in an effort to improve promotional activities, management, and the organization of all aspects of the sports industry. Highlighting a range of pertinent topics, such as brand management, social media, and sports tourism marketing, this publication is ideally designed for students, researchers, academicians, professionals, and practitioners as well as scientists and executive managers interested in the marketing strategies of sporting media and events.
ISBN: 9781522554769Publication Date: 2018-03-02
Sports Publicity by
Sports Publicityoffers unique, practical insight to the oft-overlooked but vastly important aspect of effective public relations within a sport organization. Written by Joe Favorito, former Vice President of PR for the New York Knicks, this book offers a diverse look at the various genres of sport PR, and delves into the history of the field, as well as providing perspective on where it is going with the burgeoning popularity of various new media. Featuring chapters that emphasize and instruct regarding the importance of good writing and speaking, this book also looks at themse such as: how to effectively deal with international media the expectations of non-American press with American athletes how non-American athletes deal with American media respecting traditions and avoiding stereotypes This book uses the professional experience of the author to give students and practioners valuable insights into the industry of sport publicity. It is therefore, an essential read for anyone interested in the sector.
ISBN: 9780750683029Publication Date: 2011-10-20
To stream or not to stream? : A case of social media management within a professional sport organization by
This is a fictional case based on the actual management of a social media strategy that occurred in a professional sport organization in Queensland, Australia. The intention of the case is to explore a range of social media management themes such as live streaming, audience reach, fan engagement, and decision making as they apply to a sport organization. The case primarily focuses on social media live streaming (specifically Facebook Live) and aims to provide an understanding of live video posts in comparison with other post types (i.e., photo, video, text, and links).
ISBN: 9781529798449Publication Date: 2020
The Ultimate Guide to Sports Marketing by
Sports marketing is heralded as one of the most prestigious, exciting, and popular fields in contemporary marketing. The number of related programs in colleges and universities has exploded, and companies tied with sports marketing handle thousands of avid career hopefuls each year. The Ultimate Guide to Sports Marketing is the first book to go behind the scenes and outline a strategic, integrated approach to effective and innovative sports marketing.Completely revised and repackaged to provide detailed strategies on entering the sports marketing field, acquiring funding, managing event logistics and more, this comprehensive guide covers a wide range of topics including: - Use of the Internet as a sports marketing tool - Negotiations and contracts with sponsors and suppliers - Specifics of licensing deals
ISBN: 0071361243Publication Date: 2001-04-11
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
Data Analytics in Professional Soccer by
Daniel Link explores how data analytics can be used for studying performance in soccer. Based on spatiotemporal data from the German Bundesliga, the six individual studies in this book present innovat ive mathematical approaches for game analysis and player assessment. The findings can support coaches and analysts to improve performance of their athletes and inspire other researchers to advance the research field of sports analytics.
ISBN: 9783658211776Publication Date: 2018- Data Analytics in Sports by
In this O’Reilly report, Janine Barlow examines how advanced predictive analytics are impacting the world of sports—from the rise of tools such as Major League Baseball’s Statcast, which collects data on the movement of balls and players, to SportVU, which the National Basketball Association uses to collect spatial analysis data.
Publication Date: 2015
Game of Edges by
In the last two decades, innovation, data analysis, and technology have driven a tectonic shift in the sports business. Game of Edges is the story of how sports franchises evolved, on and off the field, from raggedly run small businesses into some of the most systematically productive companies around. In today's game, everyone from the owners to the marketing staff are using information--data--to give their team an edge. For analysts, an edge is their currency. Figuring out that bunting hurts your offense? That's an edge. So is discovering metrics that can predict the career arc of your free agent shooting guard. Or combing through a decade of ticket-buying data to target persuadable fans. These small, incremental steps move a sports franchise from merely ordinary to the leading edge. Franchises today are more than just sports; they integrate a whole suite of other businesses--television and digital content, gambling and real estate, fashion and apparel, entertainment, catering and concessions, and much more. But an optimized franchise has no room for error. Teams must do what the numbers say, reducing the element of chance, limiting those random moments of athletic heroism that make sports thrilling to watch. Optimization also means the franchise's main goal isn't championships anymore; it's keeping you, the viewer, engaged with the product. Drawing on extensive interviews with franchise owners, general managers, executives, and players, Bruce Schoenfeld introduces dynamic leaders who are radically reimagining the operations of these decades-old teams--and producing mind-boggling valuations. He joins the architects of the Golden State Warriors dynasty for an exclusive reception before tip-off. He stands among the faithful at Anfield, watching Liverpool's analytics guru size up a prized midfielder. And he watches the president of the Chicago Cubs break ground on a new DraftKings gambling parlor at Wrigley Field, not ten miles from the site of the original Black Sox betting scandal. Essential reading for anyone interested in sports, business, or technology, Game of Edges explores a world where winning the game is only the beginning.
ISBN: 9780393531688Publication Date: 2023-06-06
Sports Analytics and Data Science by
This is a complete, practical guide to sports data science and modeling, with examples from sports industry economics, marketing, management, performance measurement, and competitive analysis. Thomas W. Miller, faculty director of Northwestern University's pioneering Predictive Analytics program, shows how to use advanced measures of individual and team performance to judge the competitive position of both individual athletes and teams, and to make more accurate predictions about their future performance. Miller's modeling techniques draw on methods from economics, accounting, finance, classical and Bayesian statistics, machine learning, simulation, and mathematical programming. Miller illustrates them through realistic case studies, with fully worked examples in both Python and R.
ISBN: 9780133886436Publication Date: 2015-11-22
Sports Performance Measurement and Analytics by
This is a thorough introduction to performance measurement and analytics for five major sports: football, soccer, baseball, basketball, and tennis. The only book of its kind, it provides a comprehensive overview of the most important concepts, rules, measurements, and statistics for each sport, while demonstrating real-world analytics applications for all of them. Author Lorena Martin is singularly well-qualified to write this guide. A lifelong athlete, she brings a combination of expertise in applied behavioral science, quantitative methodologies, and exercise physiology. Reflecting all this expertise, she discusses the rules of each game, shows how to think critically about athletic performance assessment, and helps you interpret statistical models in sports. You'll find practical, state-of-the-art guidance on predicting future outcomes, evaluating an athlete's market value, assessing draft picks, and much more. All example applications in Sports Performance Measurement and Analytics build on open source programs, measurements, sports datasets, applied statistics, sports performance research, and predictive modeling work. Designed to meet the rapidly growing demand for sports data science in colleges and universities, this guide will appeal to everyone concerned with sports performance and analytics: students, teachers, sports analysts, physiologists, coaches, managers, general managers, and sophisticated fans.
ISBN: 9780134193304Publication Date: 2016-02-24
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
The business and culture of sports by
Provides global perspectives on such topics as the sustainable design of sports stadiums, the use of social media and advertising in sports marketing, the economic impact on cities hosting mega events , sports governance models, the Olympic and Paralympic Games, coaching and player development, gender representation in sports, sports violence and injury, and many others.
ISBN: 9780028665030Publication Date: 2019
The Business of Sports by
The sports industry is large, visible, and growing--and it has a huge impact on society. That's obvious to die-hard fans who not only watch sporting events but buy everything from balls to ties to paperweights with their favorite team's logo. But even sports haters can't escape the onslaught of professional sports: They are asked to chip in as taxpayers to build public stadiums, and their children are, like it or not, exposed to events sponsored by alcohol and tobacco companies, not to mention the juvenile antics of star athletes. Businesses, of course, take a hit in productivity when the Olympics--or World Series or Super Bowl or World Cup--rolls around. Yet most of us love to watch, and play. The Business of Sports takes on this endlessly fascinating behemoth of an industry to make sense of it all. Yes, sports is big business. How big? Estimates of total annual U.S. spending on sporting goods and services range from $250 to $560 billion a year, and spending related to organized sport alone has been estimated at $200 billion per year. And it's getting bigger, casting an ever-larger shadow over the entire globe. The Business of Sports throws light on the subject by exploring the business and economic dynamics of the industry from a diverse array of perspectives that cover the industry's macroeconomic, management, and marketing/promotion issues. --Volume 1, Perspectives on the Sports Industry, documents the current size, scope, and magnitude of the sports industry in the U.S. and abroad--including the U.K. and China. It also examines the importance of the world's most visible sporting events, like the Olympics, and the impact of sporting events broadcast around the world. --Volume 2, Economic Perspectives on Sport, takes an in-depth look at the sports industry from an economic perspective. The volume delves into the inner workings of leagues and teams, covering economic issues from the design of sports leagues to franchise financial valuations to salary caps to labor relations. --Volume 3, Bridging Research and Practice, fills the gap between scholarly research on sport and practitioners working in the industry. Topics include evaluating talent, maintaining managerial efficiency, analyzing statistical performance indices, and assessing the noneconomic benefits of professional sports. Business and sports are a potent mix of two of the strongest forces moving our society today. And, as the stratospheric salaries of professional athletes indicate, the industry is going through major growth and change. To make sense of it all, it helps to understand the underlying economic principles driving the business decisions made daily by owners and managers in all corners of the world. The unique, multivolume format of The Business of Sports allows sports nuts, journalists, business people, and students to explore the wide variety of issues that fuel the world's crazy passion for all things athletic.
ISBN: 1573567000Publication Date: 2008-06-30
Collective Bargaining in Professional Sports by
Collective Bargaining in Professional Sports provides a timely and practical overview of the impact and importance of the collective bargaining process in the business of professional sports in the United States. Focusing on the contemporary history of collective bargaining in the National Basketball Association (NBA) and the National Football League (NFL), but drawing out important lessons for all professional sports, the book sheds light on some of the key issues within modern sport business and sport governance.　 It offers an inside look into topics such as revenue sharing, competitive balance, circumvention of league rules, player free agency, player social activism, player discipline, and the ethical and legal issues around the use of wearable biometric tracking systems to collect player data.　　 An essential read for sports business industry practitioners and students alike, this is fascinating reading for anybody with an interest in sport business, sport law or labor relations. It is also a valuable resource for anyone who wants to increase their understanding of the business and financial operations of professional sports leagues and teams, player contracts and salaries, and the role and authority of professional sports league commissioners.
ISBN: 9781351781473Publication Date: 2020-02-18
Economics, Management and Optimization in Sports by
Ever since the first Olympic Games in Ancient Greece, sports have become an integral part of human civilization. The last decade has been commemorated by the centennial celebration of the modern Olympic movement. With great anticipation, the Olympics return to Athens, Greece, and we are once again reminded that we live in one of the most exciting periods in the history of sports. Reflecting back on my years of service as the International Olympic Com mittee president, I cannot overlook the remarkable changes that have taken place in the world of sports during these two decades. The technological de velopment and consequent globalization of the world economy opened up a window of new opportunities for the sports industry. As a result, manage ment, economics, and other sciences have become a significant part of modern sports. It is my pleasure to introduce this volume comprising an interesting collec tion of papers dealing with various aspects of management, economics and optimization applied to sports. May this book serve as a valuable source of information to researchers and practitioners as well as to casual readers look ing for a deeper insight into the magnificent world of sports.
ISBN: 3540207120Publication Date: 2004-01-08
The Global Private Health and Fitness Business by
For decades, sports management has not been considered a priority area of interest within sport, and there is a lack of professionalization within the multiple approaches and key performance areas in sports management. However, in recent years, the importance and impact of the sports economy in the percentage of GDP has coincided with an increase in the volume of literature dedicated to the study of sports management, and specifically around fitness centers, the commercialization of their services and the loyalty chain of the users of this business model. The Global Private Health & Fitness Business shows the globalization of the health and fitness industry, and its different forms of management according to different countries, the objective being to show the various business models in the fitness industry in twenty countries around the world and explore their methods of marketing. The content will provide insight into the current situation and what challenges it faces in the future. In addition to these contexts, each chapter ends with the description of the main chains in each country and information on the complexity in the commercialization and loyalty of their services. This book provides a great opportunity to further analyze sports management in different countries, with contributions from leading academics and professionals who share the current situation as well as the challenges of the coming years, providing an excellent resource for all practitioners working in sports management, researchers and students with future projection towards this area.
ISBN: 9781800438521Publication Date: 2021-04-15
Managing Sport Finance by
All good managers working in sport need to have a clear understanding of the principles of finance and accounting. Whether working in the private, public or voluntary sectors, a firm grasp of the basic concepts and techniques of financial management is essential if a manager is to make effective decisions and to implement those decisions successfully. Managing Sport Finance is the first book to offer a comprehensive introduction to financial management and accounting specifically designed for managers working in sport. The book assumes no prior knowledge of finance or accounting on the part of the reader. It clearly and succinctly guides the reader through each key concept and practical technique, including: balance sheets income statements costing systems and decision making investment appraisal budgeting and budgetary control double entry bookkeeping funding for sport interpreting annual reports. Using a rich variety of case studies, examples and data from the real world of sport management, the book places each concept into a managerial context, ensuring that the reader understands why that concept is important and how best to employ each technique. Each chapter also contains a range of useful features, including chapter introductions, learning objectives, activities, summaries, review questions and further reading. This is the most useful, comprehensive and accessible introduction to financial management for sport currently available and is essential reading for any student of sport management or sport development.
ISBN: 9780203850008Publication Date: 2011-03-17
Sport As a Business by
Sport has a number of distinctive characteristics whichimpact onthe extent of its globalization. This book seeks to gain a deeper understanding of the unique development in sports, its governance, its logic of co-creation of value and the advancement of the industry towards internationalisation, professionalization and commercialization
ISBN: 9780230249257Publication Date: 2011-05-17
Sport Entrepreneurship by
This book is the first of its kind to focus on the role of economics, social issues and sustainability in terms of sport entrepreneurship, thereby paving the way for both a monetary and social perspective of the subject. Ratten focuses on sport entrepreneurship from multiple levels of analysis including the athlete, manager, fan and company viewpoint, enabling a holistic understanding of how sport entrepreneurship emerges in society and the role it plays in the knowledge economy. Sport Entrepreneurship: An Economic, Social and Sustainability Perspectiveis fundamentally about innovation, competitiveness and futuristic thinking. This exciting work focuses on how digital technology is driving transformations in the sport industry, enabling readers to understand the shift in sport towards integrating more entrepreneurial activity. Also examined is the role of the knowledge economy in facilitating the shift from a product orientated to more service and technology oriented sport ecosystem. This edited collection enables a change in the way sport entrepreneurship is currently conceived and looks at how it can migrate towards economic, social and sustainability.
ISBN: 9781839828362Publication Date: 2020-08-25
Sport Startups by
Sport Startups: New Advances in Entrepreneurshipexamines the global growth of startup enterprises in the sports sector and addresses how they contribute to new developments in business innovation and entrepreneurship. Highlighting the unique challenges faced by startups in this sector, Vanessa Ratten explores approaches to business model development, branding and marketing, and the utilization of new technologies to build successful enterprises, underpinning her study with a clear theoretical framework rooted in institutional theory. Sport Startupsis one of the first books to specifically focus on the role of startups in sport. Analyzing the inherent start-up aspect of the sporting sector, due to the combination of profit and non-profit ties, which means that many sport enterprises are developed as new start-up business ventures as they link in with the community. The book foregrounds how startups in sport are vital in developing a better global society that emphasizes the role of health and fitness in communities. Sport Startupswill be illuminating reading for all scholars of innovation, entrepreneurship, sports management and business studies.
ISBN: 9781789730838Publication Date: 2020-10-30
Sports Finance and Management by
As the sport business continues to evolve, so too, does Sport Finance and Management. The first version of this book took an in-depth look at changes in the sport industry, including interconnecting financial issues between teams and their associated businesses, the nature of fan loyalty influences, and the impact of sponsorship on team revenues. This second edition updates each of these elements, introduces relevant case study examples in new chapters, and examines the impact of changes in facility design, media opportunities, and league and conference policies on the economic success of teams, the salaries earned by professional players, and the finances of collegiate athletics.
ISBN: 9781315119663Publication Date: 2018-10-10
Sports Fundraising by
Sports Fundraising is a complete introduction to fundamental principles and best practice in sports fundraising. Focusing on the particular challenges of fundraising in intercollegiate and interscholastic sport, and for youth sport organizations, the book is designed to help students develop the professional skills that they will need for a successful career in sports or education administration. Packed with real-life case studies and scenarios, the book offers a step-by-step guide to the effective planning, communication, implementation and management of sports fundraising projects, and introduces the most important issues in contemporary sports fundraising. Each chapter contains a range of useful features, from definitions of key terms to skill-building exercises, exploring both quantitative and qualitative methods for understanding the fundraising process and designing more effective fundraising projects. This is an essential course text for any athletic or sport fundraising course, and an invaluable reference for all professional fundraisers working in sport or education.
ISBN: 9780203126479Publication Date: 2012-05-31
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
Grassroots Sustainability Innovations in Sports Management by
Progression in sustainable sports practices is an up-and-coming area of research that also has an overarching impact on other professional fields. Analyzing the latest trends and methods in this niche area allows for further advancements in the field of sustainability. Grassroots Sustainability Innovations in Sports Management: Emerging Research and Opportunities is a crucial resource that offers an in-depth discussion on growth in the sports sector and how incorporating sustainable practices in this field's rising trajectory can further enhance its impact. Highlighting pertinent topics including innovation dynamics, management studies, corporate social responsibility, and systemic change, this publication is ideal for academicians, students, and researchers that are interested in expanding their knowledge of intertwining sustainable actions with sports administration.
ISBN: 9781522535010Publication Date: 2017-10-31
Key Concepts in Sport Management by
Sharp, clear and relevant this book meets the needs of those studying and researching within the growing discipline of sport management. The intelligently cross-referenced entries provide a concise overview of the key concepts in the field guiding you through the important debates, sources and research methods in the management and delivery of sport. The book introduces readers to the concepts at the centre of their studies; it suggests relevant further reading and thoughts for future research and applies academic theory to business and organizational problems in a real-world context.Written for students, academics and practitioners the entries are designed to meet study needs and include:Clear DefinitionsComprehensive ExamplesPractical Applications Effective Research Methods
ISBN: 9781412928410Publication Date: 2012-09-20- Learning sport management by
This article leads a fictitious student and faculty member through four years of the student's educational adventure in sport management with special attention being given to what students can undertake to best prepare them for the future and improve their chances of landing the right job. This case study demonstrates the value of a comprehensive sport management education and what students can do to set themselves apart from their competition in the job market.
ISBN: 9781526434203Publication Date: 2014
Principles and Practice of Sport Management by
Principles and Practice of Sport Management, Third Edition, provides students with solid fundamental information on what they need to do to be successful in the sport industry. Updated and expanded, this best-selling text offers a unique blend of information on the foundations and principles on which sport management operates as well as how to apply those foundations and principles to the sport industry. The authors, all well-renowned professors in sport management or sport administration, have produced a text that is thorough, practical, and lively, and which lays the groundwork for students as they study and prepare for successful careers in sport management.
ISBN: 9780763749583Publication Date: 2008-01-17
Sport, Recreation and Tourism Event Management by
Sport, Recreation and Tourism Event Managementencourages students to apply theoretical foundations as they "think through" the requirements for any specific event, enabling them to develop a knowledge strategy for event management that will guide them into this field. This book focuses specifically on the operational planning component and the role of the event manager as the planner and facilitator, providing theoretical foundations behind the activities for planning. This book covers topics such as: event development event logistics event quality implementation and monitoring Full of industry applications strengthening the featured theory, Sport, Recreation and Tourism Event Managementis the essential book for anyone entering the event management field.
ISBN: 9780750684477Publication Date: 2011-07-27
The Sports Management Toolkit by
The Sports Management Toolkit is a practical guide to the most important management tools and techniques available to those working in the sport and leisure industries. Designed to bridge the gap between the classroom and the workplace, it includes ten free-standing chapters, each of which provides a detailed introduction to best practice in one of the core sports management disciplines. Written in a clear and straightforward style, and free of management jargon, the book covers all the key functional areas of contemporary sports management, including: marketing performance management risk management human resource management project management finance. Each chapter includes a detailed, step-by-step description of the key tools and techniques and their application; a 'real world' case study to demonstrate the technique in action, plus an extensive guide to further resources and a series of self-test questions. The final chapter offers an extended, integrated case-study, demonstrating how all the key management techniques are combined within the everyday operation of a successful sport or leisure organization. This book is essential reading for all students of sport and leisure management, and for all managers looking to improve their professional practice.
ISBN: 9780415491587Publication Date: 2011-05-26
Torkildsen's Sport and Leisure Management by
For nearly thirty years George Torkildsen's classic textbook has been the most comprehensive and engaging introduction to sport and leisure management available to students at all levels. Now in a fully revised sixth edition, it is still the only textbook that covers all the key topics taught within contemporary sport and leisure management courses. This new edition includes expanded coverage of the practical managerial skills that students must develop if aiming for a career in the sport and leisure industry, from planning and managing people to marketing and entrepreneurship. It includes five completely new chapters on leisure in the home, financial management, quality management and law and enterprise,nbsp;reflecting important developments in contemporary sport and leisure. This edition retains the hallmark strengths of previous editions, including in-depth discussion of the social and cultural context of sport and leisure, full analysis of the public, private and voluntary sectors, and a review of key products and services, including sport, tourism, the arts, play and leisure in the natural environment. Richly illustrated throughout with up-to-date evidence, data, case-studies and international examples, each chapter also contains a range of useful pedagogical features, such as discussion questions, practical tasks and structured guides to further reading and resources. For the first time, a dedicated companion website offers additional teaching and learning resources for students and lecturers. Visit the companion website at www.routledge.com/textbooks/taylor
ISBN: 0203877519Publication Date: 2012-04-27
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
The 'C-Suite' Executive Leader in Sport by
The 'C-Suite' Executive Leader in Sportexplores the challenges of this unique role within elite professional sport. Taking a multidisciplinary approach, the book blends academic theory with practitioner interviews from leading figures working a range of elite sporting disciplines and organisations, enhancing understanding of the C-Suite executive within the world of elite sports, where the exploration of the role remains ambiguous and conflicted. The 'C-Suite' Executive Leader in Sportstudies a range of issues including global sport governance and best practice, high performance organisations, masterminding innovation and change, diversity and inclusion, current and future key challenges faced by sports organisations, C-Suite leader education and professional development, and the future of the C-Suite leader in elite sport. Examining the lived experience of C-Suite executives, contributors analyse how this relates to existing research, seeking to inform and challenge those individuals responsible for identification, recruitment and promotion of C-Suite sports industry personnel. The book's findings have far reaching implications for analysis of C-Suite effectiveness and efficiency across sporting sectors.
ISBN: 9781839097003Publication Date: 2021-04-19
Diversity and Inclusion in Sport by
Diversity and Inclusion in Sport Organizations provides readers with a comprehensive understanding of the ways in which people differ--including race, sex, age, mental and physical ability, appearance, religion, sexual orientation, and social class--and how these differences can influence sport organizations. It offers specific strategies for managing diversity in work and sport environments, provides an overview of diversity training that can be implemented in the workplace, and discusses the legal issues related to the various diversity dimensions. Grounded in research and theory, this user-friendly book emphasizes the practical applications of research findings and provides relevant sport-related examples. Its clear discussions and logical connections among ideas helps readers understand the managerial implications of fostering and sustaining a diverse workforce. The third edition has a new title, which reflects an expansion of the book's content and focus to cover inclusion in addition to diversity and diversity management. It also includes a new chapter on using sport to promote inclusion and social change as well as discussions of legal aspects of diversity and inclusion in relevant chapters.
ISBN: 1621590402Publication Date: 2015-07-01
The Game Changer by
The Game Changer powerfully demonstrates how some organisations in business and sport have done more than raise their performance; they have also changed the rules of the game or the game itself within their industry. It gives examples of the strategies and governance programmes that have emerged to accomplish this, and the challenges of executing them. This book brings to life strategic management in business, sport and not-for-profit organisations. It explores many of the theories taught on MBA and other professional programmes through case studies from the worlds of sport and business, written by authors who have played a part in the change. Alistair Gray has spent much of his career in senior roles in these sectors and brings a unique insight to the field, as well as providing the reader with tools and techniques for improvement in governance and performance. The Game Changer is essential reading for both professionals looking for methods to improve their own performance and to embed strong principles of governance, and business students looking for real-life lessons from practice.
ISBN: 9780429431890Publication Date: 2018-10-11
Global Sport Leadership by
This book explores the global developments in sport leadership and practice. Drawing on the vast and ever-growing leadership literature, the book examines advances in leadership theory and practice in the context of the challenges faced by those working in global sport management positions. It explores the various dimensions of leadership, with a particular focus on the development of leadership theory. It also looks at the operational and contextual elements of leadership in a global sport environment and finally reflects on the status quo, and explores future challenges and research opportunities for leadership and global sport management.
ISBN: 9781315101835Publication Date: 2019-03-20
Sports Business Unplugged: Leadership challenges from the world of sports by
For more than seven years, the incisive commentary of Burton and O'Reilly has graced the pages of SportsBusiness Journal, the industry's leading trade journal. Now, fifty of their most recent columns are collected in one volume, providing thoughtful and deeply knowledgeable insight into many of the industry's most contentious issues. Covering an era in sports that has experienced rapid change, the authors discuss such topics as gender equity, corporate sponsorship, collegiate athletics, diversity, and the future of sports. As two of the leading scholars in the business of sports, Burton and O'Reilly also draw upon years of experience to give both students and industry professionals a dual perspective on the role sports play in a healthy, thriving society.
ISBN: 9780815634768Publication Date: 2016-07-30
The Sports Strategist by
Today's high-performance sports business is more complex than ever before and presents new challenges to the industry at all levels. Sports organizations are fighting hard for the money and engagement of fans, media, and sponsors while facing unprecedented competition both domestically and internationally. The cost of doing business continues to rise, while traditional revenue streams are under increased pressure.In The Sports Strategist: Developing Leaders for a High-Performance Industry, authors Irving Rein, Ben Shields, and Adam Grossman demonstrate that relying too much on winning is a losing long-term strategy for dealing with these challenges. Instead, they argue that sports organizations must focus on identifying and maximizing key factors that, unlike winning, can be controlled and shaped. By building a more well-rounded business, sports strategists will position themselves and their organizations for sustainable success in the industry.Blending extensive industry experience and real-world case studies with their academic expertise, the authors arm students with the combination of the necessary tools to help them make better strategic decisions. Students will learn how to design identities, reinvigorate venue experiences, manage narratives, and maximize new technology in today's connected world. In addition, readers will explore how to implement business analytics, build public support, and apply ethics in decision-making. These techniques are vital to creating a successful sports organization that is ready to reap the benefits of winning when it does happen, without having to suffer when it does not.The demand for innovative leaders who can address these issues and make tough decisions on which challenges to prioritize has never been greater. The Sports Strategist is an essential resource for anyone looking to thrive in the sports industry.
ISBN: 9780190206161Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
Special topics in Sport
Current Issues in Contemporary Sport Development by
This collection of essays is the result of the debate and discussion at the European Sport Development Network's (ESDN) annual conference in 2014. ESDN's vision is to help create an environment where sports policies, programmes and practices are positively influenced by innovative, research-informed insight and collaborations between academics and practitioners. The chapters in this book closely reflect the remit and purpose of the ESDN in that they come from a variety of academics and sport practitioners. Under a broad theme of 'Opportunity through sport', the chapters reflect the nature and breadth of outcomes which are possible through active participation in sport. The contributions to this book touch upon many of these issues. They are all written from the perspective of either academic researchers or applied practitioners working in sport development in line with the aims of ESDN of providing a common forum to bring together research and practice. Four chapters are written from the applied practitioner perspective, five chapters emerge from academic research and one chapter is a hybrid of PhD research located within a county sports partnership. These contributions will be useful for scholars, students and practitioners alike.
ISBN: 9781443885447Publication Date: 2016-01-15
Talent Identification and Development in Sport by
Identifying talent in athletes and developing that ability to its fullest potential is a central concern of sport scientists, sports coaches and sports policy makers. This book offers a comprehensive synthesis of current knowledge in talent identification and development in sport, from the biological basis of ability to the systems and processes within sport through which that ability is nurtured. Written by a team of leading international experts, the book explores key factors and issues in contemporary sport, including: genetics secondary factors such as birth date, cultural context and population size perceptual motor skill acquisition and expertise sports development policy in-depth case studies, including European soccer, East African running and US pro sports. With an emphasis throughout on practical implications and processes for all those working in sport, the book offers an authoritative evaluation of the strengths and weaknesses of contemporary systems for identifying and developing talent in sport. This is important reading for any student, researcher or practitioner with an interest in skill acquisition, youth sport, elite sport, sports coaching or sports development.
ISBN: 9780415581608Publication Date: 2011-09-27- Youth sport organizational structure and athlete development by ISBN: 9781529798302Publication Date: 2020
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
- Ethics of sport and athletics Theory, issues, and application by
This well-organized guide covers the theories and mechanics of moral reasoning, ethical and unethical behavior in sport, and the development of moral education through sport. A practical, case-based approach to sport-related dilemmas teaches readers how to successfully apply moral reasoning skills in good decision making.
Publication Date: 2021
Law, Ethics, and Integrity in the Sports Industry by
Sports play a significant role in society, as they are a multilevel field of interest. Nonetheless, a major problem that has been undermining the field is the rise of issues surrounding integrity. Indeed, major scandals of corruption have been disclosed, and they have challenged the effectiveness of sports institutions. As a result, it is vital to explore how to navigate the complex landscape of legal and ethical issues. Law, Ethics, and Integrity in the Sports Industry is an essential reference source that discusses the legitimacy and integrity of sports institutions by focusing on the social, economic, and political influence of sports. Featuring research on topics such as global sports governance, legal and ethical implications, and the validity of e-sports, this book is ideally designed for scholars interested in institutional aspects of sports and ethics, academicians, researchers, advanced-level students, and officials with a broad interest in sports seeking coverage on the institutional aspects of sports and ethics.
ISBN: 9781522553878Publication Date: 2018-08-30
Practical Ethics in Sport Management by
Leaders and managers throughout the sporting world face many ethical challenges on a daily basis. Should an athletic director chastise an unruly but influential supporter? What factors should affect an athlete's eligibility? Is competitiveness acceptable in youth sports? This text shows aspiring sports management professionals how to identify the moral issues in sports and develop principle-centered leadership practices to lead with justice, honesty, and beneficence. Among the issues addressed are the conflict between sportsmanship and gamesmanship, violence in sports, racial and gender equity, performance-enhancing drugs, academics, and commercialization. Throughout, specific examples from real-world sports situations and reflective questions encourage students to think critically. Instructors considering this book for use in a course may request an examination copy here.
ISBN: 9780786463985Publication Date: 2011-11-23
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
College Sports Traditions by
Every year since 1961, football and basketball players at Middlebury College in Vermont pick up their wheelchair-bound fan, Butch, and bring him to the stadium sidelines to watch their games. At John Brown University, the volleyball team distributes candy to fans before each match. For years, fans attending a University of Maryland football game rubbed the bronze statue of their terrapin mascot, Testudo. Traditions like these are visible statements of school loyalty, and they are part of why college sports are unforgettable. College Sports Traditions: Picking Up Butch, Silent Night, and Hundreds of Others details not only the well-known traditions of major universities, but also the obscure customs of smaller schools. Approximately 1,200 traditions are captured, covering almost every college sport. It depicts such traditions as The Ohio State University's "Script Ohio," University of Kansas's "Waving the Wheat," Linfield College's "End Zone Couches," and even a list of traditions that involve streaking. The wide variety of traditions covered in this book are grouped thematically, including: Before the gameDuring the gameAfter a scoreAfter the game Mascot traditionsPreseason traditionsTraditions probably not university sanctionedRivalriesYells, cheers, and chants From the crazy and eccentric to the touching and meaningful, these traditions connect fans and athletes across generations. The first of its kind, this comprehensive volume encompasses hundreds of universities and colleges throughout the U.S. Featuring 75 photos that bring many of these events to life, College Sports Traditions will be an entertaining read for every sports fan.
ISBN: 9780810891210Publication Date: 2013-01-01
History of Sport and Physical Education in the U. S. by
This historical introduction to the history of sport, physical activity and physical education in the United States covers school, college, amateur and professional sports. It provides a history of men, women and diverse ethnic groups in sport and considers the influence of such phenomena as music, economics, technology and industry. The influence of events and periods such as the jazz age, great depression, affluence, technology and industry are related to sports, with comparative timelines of historical events to give students a frame of reference. Ancient and modern Olympics are compared and there is a new chapter on post World War II history.
ISBN: 0697126633Publication Date: 1994-12-01
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
Books by NSU faculty
The Sports Industry's War on Athletes by
In America, sports are a popular passion, and an astoundingly lucrative business as well. Americans pay out millions of dollars annually for channels and stadiums to bring them closer to their favorite players, and every year, young athletes go to greater lengths to reach those exalted fields of play themselves. Unfortunately, in the quest to offer an ever more compelling product, the sports industry is blind to the manner in which that product is created. Doping, playing through injury, and eating disorders are widespread problems in both professional and college athletics, and speak volumes about the lengths to which people will go in order to make themselves successful. Dirty play, hazing, and cheating are common even at the lowest levels. Most troubling of all, however, are the societal problems created by the sports industry, which include racism, sexism, classism, and homophobia. Peter and Laura Finley's comprehensive work confronts the many problems facing athletics today. Using numerous examples (both historical and current), they begin with the issue as they exist at the highest levels and as they are represented in the media. They then go on to look at how the values and models expressed by professionals are adopted and utilized by coaches, parents, and eventually by amateur athletes of all ages. Finally, the Finleys provide recommendations for improving the sports environment in America, suggesting ways we can work to counteract some of these many harmful influences to ensure that sports realize their potential as a positive and rewarding activity.
ISBN: 0275991725Publication Date: 2006-07-30
Sports Scandals by
Cheaters, gamblers, drugs, and violence. Sound like the latest action/adventure film? It is most likely playing in a stadium, ice rink, track field, basketball court, or ballpark near you. We're talking about the larger-than-life scandals that often surround and sometimes engulf the world of sports. Covering everything from the little leagues to college and professional sports, this indespensable book offers students an intriguing, readable guide to the most notorious scandals in American sports history. Each chapter focuses on a specific category of scandal, including race-related, gender-related, drug-related, violence-related, recruiting and academic-related, and coaching scandals. Insightful, in-depth entries offer and overview of the historical and cultural context, what occurred and who was involved, as well as the response to the scandal. Entries within chapters clearly outline the diversity of viewpoints surrounding the scandal as well as the associated ethical, moral, and legal issues. Highlighting why sport scandals matter to athletes, to coaches, to teams, to organizations, to the media, and to the public, this volume is an ideal resource for both ready reference and for reading cover-to-cover.
ISBN: 9780313344589Publication Date: 2008-06-30
- Piss Off! How Drug Testing and Other Privacy Violations Are Alienating America's YouthCommon Courage Press
2005
- Sports Scandals by
Cheaters, gamblers, drugs, and violence. Sound like the latest action/adventure film? It is most likely playing in a stadium, ice rink, track field, basketball court, or ballpark near you. We're talking about the larger-than-life scandals that often surround and sometimes engulf the world of sports. Covering everything from the little leagues to college and professional sports, this indespensable book offers students an intriguing, readable guide to the most notorious scandals in American sports history. Each chapter focuses on a specific category of scandal, including race-related, gender-related, drug-related, violence-related, recruiting and academic-related, and coaching scandals. Insightful, in-depth entries offer and overview of the historical and cultural context, what occurred and who was involved, as well as the response to the scandal. Entries within chapters clearly outline the diversity of viewpoints surrounding the scandal as well as the associated ethical, moral, and legal issues. Highlighting why sport scandals matter to athletes, to coaches, to teams, to organizations, to the media, and to the public, this volume is an ideal resource for both ready reference and for reading cover-to-cover.
ISBN: 9780313344589Publication Date: 2008-06-30
Browse books by subject