Sport and Recreation Management
- Home
- Books
- Journals
- Databases
- Websites
- Associations and professional organizations
- Cite your sources
- How do I ...?
Need Help? Ask A Librarian!
There are several ways to ask for help when you need it.
Call 954-262-4613 (Toll-Free)
Email refdesk@nova.edu
Chat with a Librarian online
Appointment Request Form | En Español
Text (954) 621-1400 (Start your question with "NSU')
Additional recommended websites
American Statistical Association
- Statistics in Sports provides a listing of data resources and online sports statistics forums for a number of sports as well as a list of journals and publications that publish articles related to sports.
National Collegiate Athletic Association
- Interactive databases for statistics for sports sponsorship and participation, transfers, demographics and finances
- Journal articles and media
North American Society for the Sociology of Sport
- Engaging Sports - Official publication of the association; provides sociologically-informed analysis to help readers think about sports in a way that goes beyond the scores, highlights, and statistics.
North American Society for Sport Management
- Blog - The purpose of the NASSM Blog is to connect academics and practitioners with the latest research, programming, and innovations in the sport industry.
Sport Marketing Association
- Sport Marketing Quarterly - published quarterly
Athletic Business
- Athletic Business Magazine - main topics covered are facilities, operations and leadership.
Business of Sports
- Industry blog dedicated to discussing new ideas and current events in sports business. The posts cover a wide range of topics, including ticket sales, marketing, social media, corporate sponsorships, fan loyalty, brand management, sports media, finance and more.
- North American Venues for U.S. Sports Properties
Knight Commission on Intercollegiate Athletics
- College Athletics Financial Information (CAFI) Database - Explore key revenues and expenses in this database by institution, conference and subdivision.
- Commission reports and official recommendations
SportBusiness
- Reports – insight and analysis. Available for purchase, but executive summaries are available for free on the website.
- Under Sectors you will find information on business, education, esports, finance and law, sponsorship and marketing, technology and more.
Sports Business Journal
- Newsletters & Daily Editions
- The Data section provides useful statistics about sales, attendance, viewership and much more.
Sportseconomics
- Market research case studies & economic analysis case studies
The Sports Economist
Spotrac
- Research and reports – also includes rankings, financial previews
Stats Perform
- Stats Perform have been collecting sports data for nearly 40 years and have built the world’s deepest and richest sports database. Insight & analysis - research, insights and case studies
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
- Sports and exercise - The American Time Use Survey (ATUS) collects information on how, where, and with whom Americans spend their time, providing data on a full range of activities. This Spotlight uses data from the ATUS to examine participation and time spent in sports and exercise activities.
Western University International Centre for Olympic Studies
- Olympika. The International Journal of Olympic Studies is published annually, usually towards the end of the calendar year. It is the official, peer-reviewed journal of the International Centre for Olympic Studies.
WorkInSports
Business search engine
Enter keywords in the field above to search more than twenty business-related periodicals.
These resources were chosen because they are from respected organizations with a primary focus on business. Note that some of these sources, such as Harvard Business Review, have a limited access if you don’t have a subscription. If you are unable to open an article from the search results, search for the article title in the Alvin Sherman Library catalog.
For peer-reviewed journal articles, literature reviews, and primary source material, utilize the business databases on the Alvin Sherman Library website.
| The Atlantic | Fast Company | Inc | New York Times | Wall Street Journal |
| Bloomberg | Financial Times | International Business Times | NPR's Planet Money podcast | Wired |
| Business Insider | Forbes | MarketWatch | SeekingAlpha | |
| CNN Money | Fortune | Money | Training Magazine Network | |
| Entrepreneur | Harvard Business Review | The Motley Fool | Trend Hunter |