Library Guides: Accounting and Taxation: Journals

Journals

Below you will find a list of journals on topics that cover various aspects of accounting and taxation.

Accounting journals

Accounting and the Public Interest Peer reviewed Provides studies linked to public interest by situating them within an economic, social, ethical, and political context.
Accounting, Auditing and Accountability Journal Peer reviewed Accounting, Auditing & Accountability Journal publishes leading-edge research concerning the interaction between accounting/auditing and their socio-economic, institutional and political environments. Through innovation in research design and issue analysis, we encourage critical investigation of policy and practice alternatives and of the impact of accounting on organisations, communities and society.
The Accounting Historians Journal Peer reviewed Addresses the development of accounting thought & practice. It embraces all subject matter relating to accounting history, including but not limited to research that provides an historical perspective on contemporary accounting issues.
The Accounting Historians Notebook Not peer reviewed Covers topics in accounting history, and contains news from the Academy of Accounting Historians.
Accounting Horizons Peer reviewed Reviewed research manuscripts and commentary relevant to all aspects of the discipline of accounting, except education, based on the scholarship of discovery, of integration and of application for members of the American Accounting Association.
The Accounting Review Peer reviewed The Accounting Review is the premier journal for publishing articles reporting the results of accounting research and explaining and illustrating related research methodology. The scope of acceptable articles embraces any research methodology and any accounting-related subject.
Accounting Today Not peer reviewed Coverage includes news emanating from large & small practitioners, regulatory agencies & vendors, in addition to a focus on the top growth niches & management strategies for today's progressive practices.
CPA Journal Peer reviewed Broadly recognized as an outstanding, technical-refereed publication for accounting practitioners, educators, and other financial professionals.
Critical Perspectives on Accounting Research Areas Include: • Studies involving the political economy of accounting, critical accounting, radical accounting, and accounting's implication in the exercise of power • Financial accounting's role in the processes of international capital formation, including its impact on stock market stability and international banking activities • Management accounting's role in organizing the labor process • The relationship between accounting and the state in various social formations • Studies of accounting's historical role, as a means of "remembering" the subject's social and conflictual character • The role of accounting in establishing "real" democracy at work and other domains of life • Accounting's adjudicative function in international exchanges, such as that of the Third World debt • Antagonisms between the social and private character of accounting, such as conflicts of interest in the audit process • The identification of new constituencies for radical and critical accounting information • Accounting's involvement in gender and class conflicts in the workplace • The interplay between accounting, social conflict, industrialization, bureaucracy, and technocracy • Reappraisals of the role of accounting as a science and technology • Critical reviews of "useful" scientific knowledge about organizations
Journal of Accountancy Peer reviewed Articles, interviews, profiles, legislation and news of note on all aspects of accounting for members of the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants.
Journal of Accounting & Economics Peer reviewed The Journal of Accounting and Economics encourages the application of economic theory to the explanation of accounting phenomena. It provides a forum for the publication of the highest quality manuscripts which employ economic analyses of accounting problems. A wide range of methodologies and topics are encouraged and covered: * The role of accounting within the firm; * The information content and role of accounting numbers in capital markets; * The role of accounting in financial contracts and in monitoring agency relationships; * The determination of accounting standards; * Government regulation of corporate disclosure and/or the Accounting profession; * The theory of the accounting firm.
Journal of Emerging Technologies in Accounting Peer reviewed Concerned with the research, education, and practice of advanced information systems, cutting-edge technologies, and artificial intelligence in the fields of accounting, information technology, and management advisory systems.
Journal of Financial Reporting & Accounting Peer reviewed Coverage includes, but is not restricted to: Financial reporting Financial accounting Forensic accounting Financial reporting of intangible assets and intellectual capital Public sector accounting Accounting for human capital Accounting for specialized industry Accounting education & ethics Accounting information system Islamic accounting and reporting Management Accounting Social and environmental reporting Auditing Taxation
Journal of Forensic and Investigative Accounting Peer reviewed
Journal of Governmental & Nonprofit Accounting Peer reviewed Focuses on topics related to governmental and nonprofit accounting.
Management Accounting Quarterly Peer reviewed Trade publication covering accounting theory and practices for accountants.
Public Accounting Report Not peer reviewed Provides competitive intelligence for public accounting firms and the profession, including reporting and analysis of the news, developments, and trends.
Review of Accounting Studies Peer reviewed

Accounting Education Peer reviewed Accounting Education is a peer-reviewed international journal devoted to publishing research-based papers on key aspects of accounting education and training of relevance to practitioners, academics, trainers, students and professional bodies, particularly papers dealing with the effectiveness of accounting education or training. The coverage includes aspects of accounting education and training policy, curriculum issues, computing matters, and accounting research as it impinges on educational or training issues.
Accounting Education News Not peer reviewed Presents news and information for accountants and accounting educators about events and programs of the American Accounting Association.
Global Perspectives on Accounting Education Peer reviewed An academic, peer-reviewed journal that publishes research and instructional resources relevant to accounting faculty and accounting education worldwide.
Issues in Accounting Education Peer reviewed An academic journal that provides accounting education-focused content designed to assist faculty in teaching. Publishes original research, cross-cultural comparisons, and commentary addressing various aspects of the accounting education process, including pedagogy, curriculum, and assessment. Instructional materials and reviews of texts and other books are also included.

Behavioral Research in Accounting Peer reviewed A scholarly journal publishing original research papers, both theoretical and empirical, on accounting and how it affects or is affected by individuals and organizations.
Contemporary Accounting Research Contemporary Accounting Research (CAR), the premiere research journal of the Canadian Academic Accounting Association, publishes leading- edge research that contributes to our collective understanding of accounting's role within organizations, markets or society.
Journal of Accounting Research Peer reviewed The Journal of Accounting Research is a general-interest accounting journal. It publishes original research in all areas of accounting and related fields that utilizes tools from basic disciplines such as economics, statistics, psychology, and sociology. This research typically uses analytical, empirical archival, experimental, and field study methods and addresses economic questions, external and internal, in accounting, auditing, disclosure, financial reporting, taxation, and information as well as related fields such as corporate finance, investments, capital markets, law, contracting, and information economics.
Journal of Forensic Accounting Research Peer reviewed
Journal of International Accounting Research Peer reviewed Publishes articles that increase understanding of the development & use of international accounting & reporting practices or attempt to improve extant practices.
Journal of Management Accounting Research Peer reviewed Presents articles, commentary and review articles focusing on promoting high quality applied and theoretical research.

Tax and taxation journals

ATA Journal of Legal Tax Research Peer reviewed Focuses on legal research methodologies.
International Tax and Public Finance Peer reviewed
International Tax Journal Peer reviewed Original articles and commentary for tax advisors about trends and applications in international taxation and economy.
The Journal of the American Taxation Association Peer reviewed Covers such topics as legal, quantitative, and theoretical research, as well as descriptive pieces dealing with tax topics as well as materials pertaining to education research that disseminate information related to the teaching of taxation.
Journal of Taxation Peer reviewed
National Tax Journal Peer reviewed Refereed articles, research in government finance, special features and reviews of administrative, economic, legal or policy interest for accountants, lawyers, business and government tax administrators and academicians.
The Tax Adviser Not peer reviewed Articles, special reports, recent developments and legislation on all aspects of planning, trends and techniques for professionals in tax published by the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants, the Tax Division.
Taxes: The Tax Magazine Not peer reviewed Provides analysis of current tax issues, trends, and legislative developments. It features topics in legal, accounting, and economic aspects of federal and state tax--and alerts practitioners of planning opportunities and pitfalls, and rules being developed in Washington.

Auditing journals

Auditing: A Journal of Practice & Theory Peer reviewed Presents articles reporting results of original research which contribute to improvements in auditing theory or methodology.
Current Issues in Auditing Peer reviewed Publishes articles on issues of audtiting practice, such as external and internal auditing, government auditing, IT auditing, and assurance services.

Financial management journals

Financial Management Peer reviewed Financial Management (FM) serves both academics and practitioners concerned with the financial management of nonfinancial businesses, financial institutions, and public or private not-for-profit organizations.
Journal of Financial and Quantitative Analysis Peer reviewed The JFQA publishes theoretical and empirical research in financial economics. Topics include corporate finance, investments, capital and security markets, and quantitative methods of particular relevance to financial researchers.
Journal of Financial Economics Peer reviewed The Journal of Financial Economics (JFE) is a leading peer-reviewed academic journal covering theoretical and empirical topics in financial economics. It provides a specialized forum for the publication of research in the area of financial economics and the theory of the firm, placing primary emphasis on the highest quality analytical, empirical, and clinical contributions in the following major areas: capital markets, financial institutions, corporate finance, corporate governance, and the economics of organizations.
Journal of Financial Reporting Peer reviewed
Journal of Government Financial Management Peer reviewed
Review of Financial Studies Peer reviewed The Review of Financial Studies is a major forum for the promotion and wide dissemination of significant new research in financial economics. As reflected by its broadly based editorial board, the Review balances theoretical and empirical contributions. The primary criteria for publishing a paper are its quality and importance to the field of finance, without undue regard to its technical difficulty. Finance is interpreted broadly to include the interface between finance and economics.

Accounting and Taxation

Need Help? Ask A Librarian!

Journals

Accounting journals

Tax and taxation journals

Auditing journals

Financial management journals

Quick Links

NSU Partner Libraries

Attractions

Resources

Help