Books
The DNA of Physician Leadership by
Physicians are increasingly moving into leadership roles and possess enormous potential to advance health care. However, clinical training and practice does not provide the necessary skills for a transition from clinician into physician-leader. In fact, the very skills that make for an outstanding physician often compete, or interfere, with the skills required to be successful in wider leadership roles. The authors provide the aspiring physician-leader with the understanding of what is required to be a successful physician-leader and the tools necessary for the transition including: Understanding the business of health care; Recognizing physician-leader psychology; Establishing influence, the bedrock of leadership; Creating a compelling strategy; Developing high-performing teams; Delegating to maximize leadership impact; Communicating for effectiveness; Negotiating for maximum benefit. This book is practical and realistic with case studies and recommendations on how to make the changes necessary to transform into a successful and fulfilled physician-leader.
ISBN: 9781949991918Publication Date: 2019-11-21
Essentials of healthcare management: Cases, concepts, and skills by
This introductory book is for those preparing for entry- or midlevel healthcare management jobs. Aligned with the competency categorization developed by the Healthcare Leadership Alliance, it provides a knowledge base and develops aptitude in interpersonal skills such as leadership, professionalism, communication, and teamwork, as well as in business skills such as finance, human resources management, strategy, and marketing.
ISBN: 9781640550339Publication Date: 2019
Essentials of Physician Practice Management by
Essentials of Physician Practice Management offers a practical reference for administrators and medical directors and provides a comprehensive text for those preparing for a career in medical administration, practice management, and health plan administration. Essentials of Physician Practice Management is filled with valuable insights into every aspect of medical practice management including operations, financial management, strategic planning, regulation and risk management, human resources, and community relations.
ISBN: 0787975583Publication Date: 2004-07-21
Fundamentals of Health Care Administration by
This foundational text introduces future health care administrators to the full scope of responsibilities associated with these crucial positions. Fundamentals of Health Care Administration prepares students for comprehensive education on the health care industry, and helps them build the strong critical thinking and analysis skills they will need as administrators. Its broad coverage includes finance, human resources, risk assessment, crisis management, compliance, internal and external audits, quality assessment/control, performance improvement, legal and ethical concerns, and more. The first chapter includes a bulleted list of required knowledge and skills from an actual health care administrator's job description. The remaining chapters tie directly to that job description. Each chapter illustrates key concepts with relevant examples, including short selections from authoritative government documents. Complex concepts are organized into bulleted lists or steps, making them easier to understand and use. Extensive chapter review includes multiple choice, matching, short answer, and true/false questions.
ISBN: 9780133065633Publication Date: 2013-10-07
Health Care Administration: Managing Organized Delivery Systems by
Health Care Administration: Managing Organized Delivery Systems, Fifth Edition provides graduate and pre-professional students with a comprehensive, detailed overview of the numerous facets of the modern healthcare system, focusing on functions and operations at both the corporate and hospital level. The Fifth Edition of this authoritative text comprises several new subjects, including new chapters on patient safety and ambulatory care center design and planning. Important Notice: The digital edition of this book is missing some of the images or content found in the physical edition.
ISBN: 9780763782245Publication Date: 2010-04-12
Health Management 2. 0 by
From precision medicine to pandemics, from value-based healthcare to stakeholder engagement, European health systems are facing unprecedented change. How can health managers cope with these challenges and what skills and competencies will they need to deliver transformational change in the 'new normality'? This original volume presents a blueprint for Health Management 2.0 and helps set a path for long-term health system sustainability. Along with a comparative European framework to illustrate current developments in health management, the authors also highlight five key change drivers: integration; personalization; empowerment; digitalization; and life sciences, and examine how each is enabling the development of health systems that are fundamentally different from those of today. With fresh insights for managers, educators, researchers and policy makers, Health Management 2.0promotes a modern interdisciplinary and dynamic approach to health leadership and management - one that focuses on skills and competencies - and outlines international best practice for future teaching and training.
ISBN: 9781800433441Publication Date: 2021-06-28
Healthcare Administration by
As information systems become ever more pervasive in an increasing number of fields and professions, workers in healthcare and medicine must take into consideration new advances in technologies and infrastructure that will better enable them to treat their patients and serve their communities. Healthcare Administration: Concepts, Methodologies, Tools, and Applications brings together recent research and case studies in the medical field to explore topics such as hospital management, delivery of patient care, and telemedicine, among others. With a focus on some of the most groundbreaking new developments as well as future trends and critical concerns, this three-volume reference source will be a significant tool for medical practitioners, hospital managers, IT administrators, and others actively engaged in the healthcare field.
ISBN: 9781466663404Publication Date: 2014-08-31
Integrated Delivery by
The 2020 pandemic proved past best practices too brittle for future challenges. An integrative model of leadership, synergizing the competing values and approaches of other models, is needed. This book focuses on the innovative leadership framework that can support emerging best practices in health care organizations. The practices of innovation and strategic management are indispensable. Within, you will read about: *Health care's past, present, and future trajectory, *How innovation is related and required for ongoing success (and the different kinds of innovation at a leader's disposal), and *The components and practices of strategic management, and how they integrate into the three modes of leadership: anticipatory, strategic, and administrative. Each is highlighted and the attributes of supporting tools summarized. Unlike other leadership books, this one offers a systemic and sustainable perspective. This approach is not simply a "sustain the moment and worry about tomorrow later" approach. It is a "sustain the future, integrating it into our present paradigm now" approach. Especially important is the effort taken to explain and apply matters related to uncertainty, anticipation, as well as approaching future readiness.
ISBN: 9781953349576Publication Date: 2021-02-09
Lean Thinking for Emerging Healthcare Leaders by
Lean Thinking for Emerging Healthcare Leaders: How to Develop Yourself and Implement Process Improvements aims to solve the issues in modern day healthcare by handing over the reins of the improvement process to healthcare professionals. Putting those who are doing the work and are closest to the actual situation in the lead. The purpose of this book is to help you understand how to develop yourself and your leadership in such a way that will best benefit your team and your patients. This includes change management practices that will help to build commitment with your team members, colleagues, management, patients, and other stakeholders. This book educates you, as a leading medical professional, in the principles and values of Lean leadership and management. It will teach you how to improve healthcare from the inside, making it safer, better, faster, more accessible, and more affordable. With this book we want to inspire, motivate, and stimulate you to lead continuous improvement--while being respectful to people--on your way to ideal care for every patient. The primary target audience for the book are medical professionals who have (recently) acquired leadership, management, or business responsibilities. The book will also be of high value to those who obtained temporary leadership positions, like project leaders, problem solvers, change managers, and innovators. Because most of the teachings in the book are meta skills and ways of thinking, the book is easily relatable and transferable to other disciplines and even sectors.
ISBN: 9781952538315Publication Date: 2020-09-23
Management of healthcare organizations: An introduction by
Author Peter C. Olden combines extensive real-world management experience with academic expertise to explain fundamental management theories, concepts, methods, and tools and how to apply them in healthcare organizations. Adopting a student-centered approach, he uses a fresh, engaging style and clear organization of content supported by many exhibits, sidebars, and an appealing design. Although primarily intended for undergraduate students interested in managing healthcare organizations, this book is also a valuable resource for allied health majors and practicing healthcare managers.
ISBN: 9781640550469Publication Date: 2019
Management Lessons from Mayo Clinic: Inside One of the World's Most Admired Service Organizations by
Management Lessons from Mayo Clinic reveals for the first time how this complex service organization fosters a culture that exceeds customer expectations and earns deep loyalty from both customers and employees. Service business authority Leonard Berry and Mayo Clinic marketing administrator Kent Seltman explain how the Clinic implements and maintains its strategy, adheres to its management system, executes its care model, and embraces new knowledge - invaluable lessons for managers and service providers of all industries. Drs. Berry and Seltman had the rare opportunity to study Mayo Clinic's service culture and systems from the inside by conducting personal interviews with leaders, clinicians, staff, and patients, as well as observing hundreds of clinician-patient interactions. The result is a book about how the Clinic's business concept produces stellar clinical results, organizational efficiency, and interpersonal service. By examining the operating principles that guide every management decision at this legendary healthcare institution, the authors Demonstrate how a great service brand evolves from the core values that nourish and protect it Extrapolate instructive business lessons that apply outside healthcare Illustrate the benefits of pooling talent and encouraging teamwork Relate historical events and perspectives to the present-day Mayo Clinic Share inspiring stories from staff and patients An innovative analysis of this exemplary institution, Management Lessons from Mayo Clinic presents a proven prescription for creating sustainable service excellence in any organization.
ISBN: 9780071590747Publication Date: 2008-01-01
Mastering Evaluation and Management Services in Healthcare by
This book explores Evaluation and Management (E/M) coding and serves as a resource in the practice and application of level of service codes. For two decades the 1995 and 1997 guidelines have provided guidance and structure around the documentation requirements necessary to support professional, outpatient services. After twenty-three years, Medicare has announced the adoption of a new set of standards to be released on January 1, 2021. This book will serve as a guide for correct code assignment and as an educational resource for the 1995, 1997 and 2021 documentation guidelines.
ISBN: 9781952538674Publication Date: 2020-12-08
Performance Management in Healthcare by
Performance management, often referred to as process management, is a strategy that can be used to achieve an optimum mix of quality, safety, patient satisfaction and solvency. The basis of performance management is the effective use of resources, as measured by quantifying processes and outcomes using key performance indicators (KPIs) - core measures that gauge the performance of an organization in particular areas. There is more to performance management than selecting a few KPIs from a list and feeding them into a graphical dashboard system. It's about behavior change, leadership, and vision. Written for administrators, clinical staff, process improvement managers and information technology personnel of healthcare organizations, this second edition provides the knowledge necessary to provide the leadership and vision for a performance measurement initiative. This practical resource provides a high-level review of the quality/safety initiatives in healthcare, describes the implementation process from an IT perspective, and offers high-level clinical, financial and cultural details. It features an extensive listing of clinical and non-clinical KPIs: a glossary including financial, medical, and operational terms; and appendices of organizations and sources of indicators and benchmarks.
ISBN: 9781351591386Publication Date: 2017-12-01
Practice Management for Healthcare Professionals by
Healthcare is one field that remains a growing industry, according to the U.S. Bureau of Labor. As the youngest baby boomers continue to ascend in age, the need to employ qualified health care personnel to both prevent and treat medical issues increases. BLS suggests that there will be substantial growth of people in the healthcare field, from practitioners to operations personnel in administration and technology. Yet, many in the field struggle. This book provides relevant, pertinent, and focused information to aid a new or existing practice. The author, a well-respected international practice management consultant and medical practice coach, offers insights to revive a struggling practice. He provides frameworks, templates, and scripts that practices can immediately use.
ISBN: 9781606506981Publication Date: 2015-10-29
A Profile of the Health Management Industry by
Whether you are a seasoned manager who is considering a mid-career change or a college-bound graduate looking at future career in the health science profession, this book offers you a comprehensive, quick glimpse of the health care industry. This book will enable you to begin asking further questions, identify untapped opportunities, and unleash the potential nesting in your current network. Written from a business perspective, this book provides managers with a framework for understanding the historical and competitive landscape in health care. It enables readers to evaluate past development, current issues, and projected changes that affect the industry. It is a good springboard for conversations pertinent to the strategic business development of businesses in the health care industry, especially for non-clinically trained professionals.
ISBN: 9781606499832Publication Date: 2016-08-23
Shortell and Kaluzny's Health Care Management by
Confidence. Leadership skills. Insights from health care pros. To manage health care organizations, you need it all. SHORTELL AND KALUZNY'S HEALTH CARE MANAGEMENT: ORGANIZATION DESIGN AND BEHAVIOR was written by a �who�s who� of experts to prepare you to lead in the modern age. Exposing the issues health care organizations face every day, the authors challenge you to step up, take a position, and act using the skills you�re building in your course. This book also packs the newest research, public policies, government regulations, payment models, key procedures and more into every page -- so you�re ready to take charge of the situation no matter what comes your way.
ISBN: 9781305951174Publication Date: 2019-01-02
Sustainability for Healthcare Management by
Sustainability is not unique to health, yet sustainability is a unique vehicle for promoting healthy values. This book challenges healthcare leaders to think through the implications of our decisions from fiscal, societal and environmental perspectives. It links health values with sustainability drivers in order to enlighten leadership about the value of sustainability as we move toward a new paradigm of health. Fully updated for the second edition, the book now includes case studies about: Waste disposal and cost Chemicals of concern Cost of water Green building ratings This book is a unique resource for researchers, students and professionals working in health and healthcare management because the book connects key concepts of environmental sustainability with healthcare operations. Readers will gain an appreciation for translating leadership priorities into sustainability tactics with beneficial operational outcomes.
ISBN: 9781315276878Publication Date: 2018-03-08
The well-managed healthcare organization by
The Well-Managed Healthcare Organization continues its position as the most comprehensive resource on healthcare management
ISBN: 9781640550599Publication Date: 2019
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
Economics for healthcare managers by
Economics for Healthcare Managers provides the practical guide that healthcare managers need to simplify and strengthen the decision-making process for everyday issues. Written for those with little or no background in economics, the book is designed to engage readers in today's policy and management challenges. The author references classic studies while also drawing on current research and emphasizing contemporary analyses.
ISBN: 9781640550513Publication Date: 2019
Gapenski's understanding healthcare financial management by
Leaders are best positioned for strategically powerful decisions when they approach challenges with a firm grasp of the most pertinent tools of finance. Rich with examples, both real and fictional, this book makes the practical application of abstract concepts comprehensible. This edition has been updated to reflect the December 2017 federal tax bill. Gapenski's Understanding Healthcare Financial Management offers a practical introduction to the useful concepts that every healthcare decision-maker needs to know, giving leaders a real advantage as they face some of the most consequential choices of their careers.
ISBN: 9781640551145Publication Date: 2020
Health Economics and Healthcare Reform by
The effective delivery of healthcare services is vital to the general welfare and well-being of a country's citizens. Financial infrastructure and policy reform can play a significant role in optimizing existing healthcare programs. Health Economics and Healthcare Reform: Breakthroughs in Research and Practice is a comprehensive source of academic material on the importance of economic structures and policy reform initiatives in modern healthcare systems. Highlighting a range of pertinent topics such as clinical costing, patient engagement, and e-health, this book is ideally designed for medical practitioners, researchers, professionals, and students interested in the optimization of healthcare delivery.
ISBN: 9781522531692Publication Date: 2017-07-12
Healthcare Management and Economics by
The long-standing debate on public vs. private healthcare systems has forced an examination of these organizations, in particular whether these approaches play corresponding or conflicting roles in service to global citizens. Healthcare Management and Economics: Perspectives on Public and Private Administration discusses public and private healthcare organizations by gathering perspectives on the differences in service, management, delivery, and efficiency. Highlighting the impact of citizens and information technology in these healthcare processes, this book is a vital collection of research for practitioners, academics, and scholars in the healthcare management field.
ISBN: 9781466639836Publication Date: 2013-04-30
Healthcare Valuation + Website by
In light of the dynamic nature of the healthcare industry sector, the analysis supporting business valuation engagements for healthcare enterprises, assets, and services must address the expected economic conditions and events resulting from the four pillars of the healthcare industry: reimbursement, regulation, competition, and technology. This title presents specific attributes of each of these enterprises, assets, and services and how research needs and valuation processes differentiate depending on the subject of the appraisal, the environment the property interest exists, and the nature of the practices.
ISBN: 9781118292792Publication Date: 2014-02-01
Restoring Quality Health Care by
In Restoring Quality Health Care, Dr. Scott Atlas examines the status of US health care, particularly in light of the Affordable Care Act, and presents a series of key reforms to meet the significant health care challenges facing the nation. Atlas proposes a six-point, strategic, incentive-based reform plan for US health care. The plan aims to instill market-based competition, empower consumers, and reduce the federal government's authority over health care. Those reforms focus on restoring the appropriate incentives in to increase the quality of health care and reduce its costs. Atlas's plan restores the intended purpose of health insurance (to protect against the risk of significant and unexpected health care costs), enhances the affordability of twenty-first-century medical care, and ensures continued innovation. Were the plan to be implemented fully, private and federal government health expenditures would conservatively decrease by trillions of dollars during the decade and access to high-quality health care would significantly improve.
ISBN: 9780817919443Publication Date: 2016-07-30
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
Comparative Health Policy by
This major new comparative text, which is aimed at both students and practitioners, analyzes key issues in health policy to assess the extent to which policy problems and responses in different countries have common causes or spring from specific national circumstances. It analyzes what lessons can be learned about public/private mixes, provision and funding frameworks, and acute and preventive services in a wide range of health systems - systematically comparing Australia, Germany, Japan, New Zealand, the Netherlands, Sweden, Singapore, the UK and the US, but ranging more widely as appropriate.
ISBN: 0333985982Publication Date: 2004-03-04
Global Population Health and Well-Being in the 21st Century by
"This book provides an excellent foundation for students seeking a context for global models and practices in population health...an excellent primer for those who are ready to engage in global health projects." --Jay E. Maddock, PsycCRITIQUES "A must read for public health, clinical, and social care students, teachers, and practitioners alike, including case studies to provide a thorough and up-to-date account of the past, present, and future of global public health. Dr Lueddeke effectively highlights the ingenuity gap between today's wicked problems and their potential solutions, with a timely emphasis on the concepts of "planetary health" and "integrative ecological public health"... A] very informative and groundbreaking read." -- Dr Behrooz Behbod, MB ChB MSc ScD MFPH, Founder, Oxford Public Health Ltd, Oxford Book Review "This book delivers a timely and holistic perspective on population health, providing data and support for innovating and integrating clinical medicine, public health, wellness practices, and healthcare education worldwide... Fills a gap in the literature by addressing population health from a global perspective and considering global public health from the viewpoints of the individual and from the biopsychosocial model of health. Score: 93 - 4 Stars " --Ruthann Russo, PhD, JD, MPH, LAc, The College of New Jersey, Doody's Reviews "This is a remarkable, much-needed book that fills a significant gap in the health and social care literature in the early decades of the 21st century - public, global, clinical, ecological. It is powerful, ambitious, comprehensive, and sweeping at the same time that it is visionary, focused, and deep. Its power and passion are about the potential of population health and well-being optimally applied around the globe to help in creating a world that is healthier, safer, more just, and more sustainable." --Barbara K. Rimer, DrPH, Alumni Distinguished Professor and Dean, UNC Gillings School of Global Public Health, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (From the Foreword) Drawing on current research and the expertise of world-recognized leaders in public, global, clinical, and social health in both developed and developing nations, this book delivers an evidence-based examination of 21st-century challenges in global population health and well-being. With special attention given to major initiatives of the United Nations, especially its Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) 2016 - 2030, and the priorities of the World Health Organization (WHO) and the World Bank, Dr. Lueddeke articulates an imperative to adopt a "One World, One Health" view that recognizes the interdependence of humans, animals, plants, and the environment. The book/text promotes innovative and transformative paradigms for global public health practice, curricula, workforce training, and leadership. Intended for undergraduate and postgraduate courses in global public health, it will also be a welcome addition to the libraries of practitioners and policy-makers at all levels in the public/population/global health continuum. KEY CONTENT AREAS INCLUDE: The historical context of public health from early medicine to present day Exemplary educational initiatives: WHO education guidelines; curriculum commentaries from China, South Africa, and Cuba; a proposed Global Framework for Public Health Services and Functions; and case studies from South America (PAHO/ WHO), India (IPHF), and South Africa (PHASA) The changing roles and educational expectations of public and global health professionals in the early decades of the 21st century The complex interdependence of natural, socioeconomic, and political systems at local, national, regional, and global levels The causes of interstate conflicts and longer-term chal
ISBN: 9780826127679Publication Date: 2015-08-01
Health Care Systems Around the World by
This concise reference provides a one-stop point of research that examines major aspects of health care systems for over 190 countries worldwide. In a consistent format, ten major health care categories are systematically examined for each country: 1. Emergency Health Services; 2. Costs of Hospitalization; 3. Costs of Drugs; 4. Major Health Issues; 5. Government Role in Health Care; 6. Insurance; 7. Access to Health Care; 8. Health Care Facilities; 9. Health Care Personnel (doctor level of training, etc.); and 10. Public Health Programs. The volume is organized in alphabetical order of country names. Each country is presented on a two- or three-page spread with the same descriptive and statistical content, allowing readers to compare health care systems from country to country. For example, a reader may compare costs of drugs in France versus the United States versus Canada. Each country spread will feature short entries on the ten health care categories accompanied by charts, table, and photos as appropriate. The work culminates as a unique and essential resource for pre-med and medical students, as well as researchers in sociology, economics, and the health management fields.
ISBN: 9781452276205Publication Date: 2013-01-01
The Sustainability of Health Care Systems in Europe by
This volume contains an Open Access Chapter The Sustainability of Health Care Systems in Europeprovides a comprehensive understanding of the sustainability of health systems in Europe. Furthermore, it includes an introduction to how EU action in supporting health- care policies in the EU Member States, looking both at implemented actions and describing current priorities for the future. There has been a rapid evolution of the structure of society and the economy over the last few decades which has created new demands for healthcare services. This has placed pressure on policy makers to ensure the sustainability of the health care sector. Policy makers understand the efficiency of the healthcare delivery system needs to be improved, the shortage of health professionals must be tackled, and that there are growing health inequalities and inequity in access to healthcare. These challenges are exacerbated by recent economic shocks including the 2008 recession, the uncertainty related to Brexit, and the crisis induced by the COVID-19 pandemic, which have impacted the ability of European health systems to finance the health care sector. This book is a must read for researchers and students of health economics and health policy.
ISBN: 9781839095009Publication Date: 2021-03-22
Understanding Global Health, 2e by
A complete introductory review of global health--updated to reflect the latest issues and challenges The first edition of "Understanding Global Health" set a new information standard for this rapidly emerging subject. Written by a remarkable group of authors and contributors, this comprehensive, engagingly written text offers unmatched coverage of every important topic--from infectious disease to economics to war. Created with thenon-specialist in mind, "Understanding Global Health" explores the current burden of disease in the world, howhealth is determined, and the problems faced by populations and health care workers around the world. The second edition has been thoroughly updated to include the most current information and timely topics. New chapters cover such topics as human trafficking, malaria and neglected tropical diseases, surgical issues in global health, and mental health. Every chapter includes Learning Objectives, Summary, Study Questions, and References and, in many instances, practical case examples. Thorough coverage of every important subject, including: Epidemiology, Biostatistics, and SurveillanceNutritionPrimary Care in Global HealthTuberculosis and HIV/AIDSEducation and Careers in Global HealthAging Populations and Chronic IllnessGlobal Health Ethics
ISBN: 9781306078023Publication Date: 2013-01-01
World Health Systems by
Your all-in-one companion for health personnel World Health Systems details different health systems, including their related health insurance and drug supply systems, in various parts of the world with both macro- and micro- perspectives. The book is arranged in five parts: the first part presents, from multidisciplinary perspectives, outlines of various health systems throughout the world, as well as current trends in the development and reform of world health systems. The second and third parts expound on the health systems in developed countries, discussing the government's role in the health service market and basic policies on medication administration and expenses, before analyzing the health systems of Britain, Canada, Australia, Sweden, Germany, France, Japan, Poland, USA, Singapore, Hongkong (China), and Taiwan (China). The fourth and fifth parts discuss health systems in less developed countries and areas, typically the BRICS and other countries in Asia (Thailand, Vietnam, the Philippines, Armenia, and Kyrghyzstan), Africa (Egypt, Morocco), Europe (Hungary, Czech Republic, and Bulgaria) and South America (Cuba, Chile, and Mexico), summarizing their past experiences, while making assessments of their current efforts to shed light on future developments. Details a variety of health systems throughout the world Compares their fundamental features and characteristics Discusses their respective strengths and shortcomings Provides insight from an author who holds multiple impressive titles in the health sector Public health professionals and academics alike will want to add World Health Systems to their library.
ISBN: 9781119508908Publication Date: 2019-11-26
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
Advanced Healthcare Systems by
ADVANCED HEALTHCARE SYSTEMS This book offers a complete package involving the incubation of machine learning, AI, and IoT in healthcare that is beneficial for researchers, healthcare professionals, scientists, and technologists. The applications and challenges of machine learning and artificial intelligence in the Internet of Things (IoT) for healthcare applications are comprehensively covered in this book. IoT generates big data of varying data quality; intelligent processing and analysis of this big data are the keys to developing smart IoT applications, thereby making space for machine learning (ML) applications. Due to its computational tools that can substitute for human intelligence in the performance of certain tasks, artificial intelligence (AI) makes it possible for machines to learn from experience, adjust to new inputs and perform human-like tasks. Since IoT platforms provide an interface to gather data from various devices, they can easily be deployed into AI/ML systems. The value of AI in this context is its ability to quickly mesh insights from data and automatically identify patterns and detect anomalies in the data that smart sensors and devices generate--information such as temperature, pressure, humidity, air quality, vibration, and sound--that can be really helpful to rapid diagnosis. Audience This book will be of interest to researchers in artificial intelligence, the Internet of Things, machine learning as well as information technologists working in the healthcare sector.
ISBN: 9781119769286Publication Date: 2022-01-28
Artificial Intelligence by
The rediscovery of the potential of artificial intelligence (AI) to improve healthcare delivery and patient outcomes has led to an increasing application of AI techniques such as deep learning, computer vision, natural language processing, and robotics in the healthcare domain. Many governments and health authorities have prioritized the application of AI in the delivery of healthcare. Also, technological giants and leading universities have established teams dedicated to the application of AI in medicine. These trends will mean an expanded role for AI in the provision of healthcare. Yet, there is an incomplete understanding of what AI is and its potential for use in healthcare. This book discusses the different types of AI applicable to healthcare and their application in medicine, population health, genomics, healthcare administration, and delivery. Readers, especially healthcare professionals and managers, will find the book useful to understand the different types of AI and how they are relevant to healthcare delivery. The book provides examples of AI being applied in medicine, population health, genomics, healthcare administration, and delivery and how they can commence applying AI in their health services. Researchers and technology professionals will also find the book useful to note current trends in the application of AI in healthcare and initiate their own projects to enable the application of AI in healthcare/medical domains.
ISBN: 9781000216868Publication Date: 2020-12-02
Artificial Intelligence for Healthcare Applications and Management by
Artificial Intelligence for Healthcare Applications and Management introduces application domains of various AI algorithms across healthcare management. Instead of discussing AI first and then exploring its applications in healthcare afterward, the authors attack the problems in context directly, in order to accelerate the path of an interested reader toward building industrial-strength healthcare applications. Readers will be introduced to a wide spectrum of AI applications supporting all stages of patient flow in a healthcare facility. The authors explain how AI supports patients throughout a healthcare facility, including diagnosis and treatment recommendations needed to get patients from the point of admission to the point of discharge while maintaining quality, patient safety, and patient/provider satisfaction. AI methods are expected to decrease the burden on physicians, improve the quality of patient care, and decrease overall treatment costs. Current conditions affected by COVID-19 pose new challenges for healthcare management and learning how to apply AI will be important for a broad spectrum of students and mature professionals working in medical informatics. This book focuses on predictive analytics, health text processing, data aggregation, management of patients, and other fields which have all turned out to be bottlenecks for the efficient management of coronavirus patients. Presents an in-depth exploration of how AI algorithms embedded in scheduling, prediction, automated support, personalization, and diagnostics can improve the efficiency of patient treatment Investigates explainable AI, including explainable decision support and machine learning, from limited data to back-up clinical decisions, and data analysis Offers hands-on skills to computer science and medical informatics students to aid them in designing intelligent systems for healthcare Informs a broad, multidisciplinary audience about a multitude of applications of machine learning and linguistics across various healthcare fields Introduces medical discourse analysis for a high-level representation of health texts
ISBN: 9780128245224Publication Date: 2022-01-13
Big Data Analytics for Healthcare by
Big Data Analytics and Medical Information Systems presents the valuable use of artificial intelligence and big data analytics in healthcare and medical sciences. It focuses on theories, methods and approaches in which data analytic techniques can be used to examine medical data to provide a meaningful pattern for classification, diagnosis, treatment, and prediction of diseases. The book discusses topics such as theories and concepts of the field, and how big medical data mining techniques and applications can be applied to classification, diagnosis, treatment, and prediction of diseases. In addition, it covers social, behavioral, and medical fake news analytics to prevent medical misinformation and myths. It is a valuable resource for graduate students, researchers and members of biomedical field who are interested in learning more about analytic tools to support their work. Presents theories, methods and approaches in which data analytic techniques are used for medical data Brings practical information on how to use big data for classification, diagnosis, treatment, and prediction of diseases Discusses social, behavioral, and medical fake news analytics for medical information systems
ISBN: 9780323985161Publication Date: 2022-05-19
Cases on Virtual Reality Modeling in Healthcare by
Virtual reality (VR) provides immersive stereoscopic visualization of virtual environments, and the visualization effect and computer graphics are critical to enhancing the engagement of participants and achieving optimal education and training effectiveness. Constructing realistic 3D models and scenarios for a specific application of VR simulation is no easy task. There are many different tools for 3D modeling. However, many of the modeling tools are used for manufacturing and product design applications and have advanced features and functions which may not be applicable to different levels of users and various specializations. Cases on Virtual Reality Modeling in Healthcare introduces the use of Blender for VR 3D modeling, demonstrates healthcare applications, and examines potential uses in modeling, dressing, and animation in healthcare. Covering a range of topics such as cross reality, rehabilitation games, and augmented reality, this book is ideal for engineers, industry professionals, practitioners, researchers, academicians, instructors, and students.
ISBN: 9781799887928Publication Date: 2021-12-17
Cognitive and Soft Computing Techniques for the Analysis of Healthcare Data by
Cognitive and Soft Computing Techniques for the Analysis of Healthcare Data discusses the insight of data processing applications in various domains through soft computing techniques and enormous advancements in the field. The book focuses on the cross-disciplinary mechanisms and ground-breaking research ideas on novel techniques and data processing approaches in handling structured and unstructured healthcare data. It also gives insight into various information-processing models and many memories associated with it while processing the information for forecasting future trends and decision making. This book is an excellent resource for researchers and professionals who work in the Healthcare Industry, Data Science, and Machine learning. Focuses on data-centric operations in the Healthcare industry Provides the latest trends in healthcare data analytics and practical implementation outcomes of the proposed models Addresses real-time challenges and case studies in the Healthcare industry
ISBN: 9780323903486Publication Date: 2022-01-22
The Digital Pill by
Information technology is changing healthcare in numerous wide-ranging aspects, including significantly improving the overall quality of patient care and therefore helping to reduce limitations in people's daily lives. The Digital Pillreflects on how digital technologies can combat chronic diseases including diabetes, cancer, cardiovascular, respiratory and neurodegenerative diseases as well as mental disorders. Chronic diseases touch every family, generate infinite suffering and cause the lion's share of every countries' healthcare spending across the world. The authors carefully study a broad selection of contemporary companies and healthcare organizations that are shaping digital healthcare. They report pioneering cases from large and small technology, insurance, and pharmaceutical companies as well as healthcare providers of all sorts across the globe and bring forward patterns and corner stones of an affordable and patient centric digital healthcare. The Digital Pillis essential reading for anyone working in, engaged with or interested in understanding the future of healthcare.
ISBN: 9781787566774Publication Date: 2021-03-22
The Electronic Health Record by
The Electronic Health Record: Ethical Considerations analyses the ethical issues that surround the construction, maintenance, storage, use, linkage, manipulation and communication of electronic health records. Its purpose is to provide ethical guidance to formulate and implement policies at the local, national and global level, and to provide the basis for global certification in health information ethics. Electronic health records (EHRs) are increasingly replacing the use of paper-based records in the delivery of health care. They are integral to providing eHealth, telehealth, mHealth and pHealth - all of which are increasingly replacing direct and personal physician-patient interaction - as well as in the developing field of artificial intelligence and expert systems in health care. The book supplements considerations that are raised by national and international regulations dealing with electronic records in general, for instance the General Data Protection Regulation of the European Union. This book is a valuable resource for physicians, health care administrators and workers, IT service providers and several members of biomedical field who are interested in learning more about how to ethically manage health data. Provides examples to explain the various points made in each chapter to increase the readability of the book and provide, in more familiar terms, illustrations of the reasoning that is advanced Encompasses several diagrams to illustrate the logical structure of the ethical relationships that are discussed in the various chapters and to show how they are related to the decision making process Presents a glossary to provide short definitions for some of the more technical terms used in the book
ISBN: 9780128220467Publication Date: 2020-02-26
Ethical Implications of Reshaping Healthcare with Emerging Technologies by
Improving quality of life is one of the main advantages of integrating new innovations into medicine. New technologies are revolutionizing medicine and opening new opportunities for patients, doctors, clinics, and companies. The patient's well-being is monitored autonomously by smartphones, digital medical records simplify everyday clinical work, virtual reality is used for treatment, and robots help in the operating room. The new technological possibilities in healthcare not only change patients' lives, but also the work of doctors, clinics, and companies. In the fields of healthcare and medicine, new technologies can be used for patient communication, health monitoring, or for the treatment of patients, and modern research is devoted to advancing and understanding these technologies. Ethical Implications of Reshaping Healthcare With Emerging Technologies includes the most up-to-date research in the fields of healthcare and medicine worldwide, provides answers to the forms of treatment that are already possible in medicine, and illuminates the future possibilities that are already being researched. In addition, today's knowledge is translated and shown in how new technologies such as autonomous VR-system can be used for pain reduction as part of a treatment. Finally, this book examines the ethical guidelines in healthcare and medicine that are associated with the rapid development of these technologies. This book will be useful for the healthcare industry, hospital administration, the health insurance industry, doctors, healthcare workers, business professionals, IT specialists, medical software designers, scientists, practitioners, researchers, academicians, and students looking for the latest information on the use of emerging technologies in healthcare settings.
ISBN: 9781799878896Publication Date: 2021-10-01
Hands-On Healthcare Data by
Healthcare is the next frontier for data science. Using the latest in machine learning, deep learning, and natural language processing, you'll be able to solve healthcare's most pressing problems: reducing cost of care, ensuring patients get the best treatment, and increasing accessibility for the underserved. But first, you have to learn how to access and make sense of all that data. This book provides pragmatic and hands-on solutions for working with healthcare data, from data extraction to cleaning and harmonization to feature engineering. Author Andrew Nguyen covers specific ML and deep learning examples with a focus on producing high-quality data. You'll discover how graph technologies help you connect disparate data sources so you can solve healthcare's most challenging problems using advanced analytics. You'll learn: Different types of healthcare data: electronic health records, clinical registries and trials, digital health tools, and claims data The challenges of working with healthcare data, especially when trying to aggregate data from multiple sources Current options for extracting structured data from clinical text How to make trade-offs when using tools and frameworks for normalizing structured healthcare data How to harmonize healthcare data using terminologies, ontologies, and mappings and crosswalks
ISBN: 9781098112929Publication Date: 2022-09-20
The healthcare mandate: How to leverage disruptive innovation to heal America's biggest industry by
Webb argues that we can leverage the technology that has resulted from disruptive innovation to fulfill these goals. Emerging digital technologies now make it possible to collect, analyze, and act upon the enormous quantities of health-related data that every individual generates every day. This data often foreshadows disease and can alert the healthcare provider to the existence of a life-threatening condition before there are any outward symptoms, thereby enabling caregivers to pivot from treatment after the fact to anticipation, prevention, and, when necessary, reduced treatment to correct a smaller problem.
ISBN: 9781260468137Publication Date: 2021
The Internet of Medical Things (IoMT) by
INTERNET OF MEDICAL THINGS (IOMT) Providing an essential addition to the reference material available in the field of IoMT, this timely publication covers a range of applied research on healthcare, biomedical data mining, and the security and privacy of health records. With their ability to collect, analyze and transmit health data, IoMT tools are rapidly changing healthcare delivery. For patients and clinicians, these applications are playing a central part in tracking and preventing chronic illnesses -- and they are poised to evolve the future of care. In this book, the authors explore the potential applications of a wave of sensor-based tools--including wearables and stand-alone devices for remote patient monitoring--and the marriage of internet-connected medical devices with patient information that ultimately sets the IoMT ecosystem apart. This book demonstrates the connectivity between medical devices and sensors is streamlining clinical workflow management and leading to an overall improvement in patient care, both inside care facilities and in remote locations.
ISBN: 9781119769200Publication Date: 2022-02-10
IoT-Based Data Analytics for the Healthcare Industry by
IoT Based Data Analytics for the Healthcare Industry: Techniques and Applications explores recent advances in the analysis of healthcare industry data through IoT data analytics. The book covers the analysis of ubiquitous data generated by the healthcare industry, from a wide range of sources, including patients, doctors, hospitals, and health insurance companies. The book provides AI solutions and support for healthcare industry end-users who need to analyze and manipulate this vast amount of data. These solutions feature deep learning and a wide range of intelligent methods, including simulated annealing, tabu search, genetic algorithm, ant colony optimization, and particle swarm optimization. The book also explores challenges, opportunities, and future research directions, and discusses the data collection and pre-processing stages, challenges and issues in data collection, data handling, and data collection set-up. Healthcare industry data or streaming data generated by ubiquitous sensors cocooned into the IoT requires advanced analytics to transform data into information. With advances in computing power, communications, and techniques for data acquisition, the need for advanced data analytics is in high demand. Provides state-of-art methods and current trends in data analytics for the healthcare industry Addresses the top concerns in the healthcare industry using IoT and data analytics, and machine learning and deep learning techniques Discusses several potential AI techniques developed using IoT for the healthcare industry Explores challenges, opportunities, and future research directions, and discusses the data collection and pre-processing stages
ISBN: 9780128214763Publication Date: 2020-11-07
The Patient Equation by
HOW TO EMBRACE THE DATA REVOLUTION TO DELIVER FASTER, CHEAPER, AND MORE EFFECTIVE SOLUTIONS IN LIFE SCIENCES AND HEALTH CARE Digital transformation is changing the business of health care at breakneck speed. Across the industry, from biotech and pharmaceutical companies to hospital systems, insurers, and more, everyone is looking for the next big technological innovations to develop new treatments, enhance care, improve outcomes, maximize efficiency, and increase value in our data-powered world. How did we get here, and what does the future hold? The Patient Equation: The Data-Driven Future of Precision Medicine and the Business of Health Care explores the history, current state, and future direction of the use of data in biotechnology and health care. Author Glen de Vries, co-founder of the leading cloud platform for life sciences research, shares his insights and leadership on precision medicine and the digital landscape of the future. Designed to help anyone in the business of life sciences navigate the growing complexity, this practical guide explains the principles, approaches, and business models that are crucial for keeping pace with the ongoing revolution in data and analytics. Throughout the book, real-life stories show you what individuals and organizations are doing to ensure the data revolution does not pass them by, from wearables to track fertility to apps to conquer diabetes, from AI-powered sepsis alerts to using breakthrough new data strategies in clinical trials. A must-have resource for anyone interested in the future of life sciences and health care, The Patient Equation: Covers the world of precision medicine, from the individual patient to the global population Explains the fundamentals of patient equations and data collection and analysis Discusses current progress and the most effective strategies to achieve future breakthroughs Examines approaches to predicting and preventing disease using smart data Illustrates why value-based reimbursement is the model of the future Describes how everything from chronic conditions to rare diseases are being conquered with technology
ISBN: 9781119622277Publication Date: 2020-04-10
Real World Health Care Data Analysis by
Discover best practices for real world data research with SAS code and examples Real world health care data is common and growing in use with sources such as observational studies, patient registries, electronic medical record databases, insurance healthcare claims databases, as well as data from pragmatic trials. This data serves as the basis for the growing use of real world evidence in medical decision-making. However, the data itself is not evidence. Analytical methods must be used to turn real world data into valid and meaningful evidence. Real World Health Care Data Analysis: Causal Methods and Implementation Using SAS brings together best practices for causal comparative effectiveness analyses based on real world data in a single location and provides SAS code and examples to make the analyses relatively easy and efficient. The book focuses on analytic methods adjusted for time-independent confounding, which are useful when comparing the effect of different potential interventions on some outcome of interest when there is no randomization. These methods include: propensity score matching, stratification methods, weighting methods, regression methods, and approaches that combine and average across these methods methods for comparing two interventions as well as comparisons between three or more interventions algorithms for personalized medicine sensitivity analyses for unmeasured confounding
ISBN: 9781642957990Publication Date: 2020-01-15
Semantic Web for Effective Healthcare Systems by
SEMANTIC WEB FOR EFFECTIVE HEALTHCARE SYSTEMS The book summarizes the trends and current research advances in web semantics, delineating the existing tools, techniques, methodologies, and research solutions Semantic Web technologies have the opportunity to transform the way healthcare providers utilize technology to gain insights and knowledge from their data and make treatment decisions. Both Big Data and Semantic Web technologies can complement each other to address the challenges and add intelligence to healthcare management systems. The aim of this book is to analyze the current status on how the semantic web is used to solve health data integration and interoperability problems, and how it provides advanced data linking capabilities that can improve search and retrieval of medical data. Chapters analyze the tools and approaches to semantic health data analysis and knowledge discovery. The book discusses the role of semantic technologies in extracting and transforming healthcare data before storing it in repositories. It also discusses different approaches for integrating heterogeneous healthcare data. This innovative book offers: The first of its kind and highlights only the ontology driven information retrieval mechanisms and techniques being applied to healthcare as well as clinical information systems; Presents a comprehensive examination of the emerging research in areas of the semantic web; Discusses studies on new research areas including ontological engineering, semantic annotation and semantic sentiment analysis; Helps readers understand key concepts in semantic web applications for the biomedical engineering and healthcare fields; Includes coverage of key application areas of the semantic web. Audience: Researchers and graduate students in computer science, biomedical engineering, electronic and software engineering, as well as industry scientific researchers, clinicians, and systems managers in biomedical fields.
ISBN: 9781119762294Publication Date: 2021-12-09
Technology, innovation and healthcare by
This timely book emphasizes the importance of regulation in enabling and channelling innovation at a time when technology is increasingly embedded in healthcare. It considers the adequacy of current regulatory approaches, identifying apparent gaps, risks and liabilities, and discusses how these might be collectively addressed. The authors present possible solutions that balance the protection and promotion of public trust in healthcare against enabling technological progress and disruptive innovation.
ISBN: 9781788973144Publication Date: 2022
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
Special topics in healthcare
Designing Evidence-Based Public Health and Prevention Programs by
Demonstrating that public health and prevention program development is as much art as science, this book brings together expert program developers to offer practical guidance and principles in developing effective behavior-change curricula. Feinberg and the team of experienced contributors cover evidence-based programs addressing a range of physical, mental, and behavioral health problems, including ones targeting families, specific populations, and developmental stages. The contributors describe their own professional journeys and decisions in creating, refining, testing, and disseminating a range of programs and strategies. Readers will learn about selecting change-promoting targets based on existing research; developing and creating effective and engaging content; considering implementation and dissemination contexts in the development process; and revising, refining, expanding, abbreviating, and adapting a curriculum across multiple iterations. Designing Evidence-Based Public Health and Prevention Programs is essential reading for prevention scientists, prevention practitioners, and program developers in community agencies. It also provides a unique resource for graduate students and postgraduates in family sciences, developmental psychology, clinical psychology, social work, education, nursing, public health, and counselling.
ISBN: 9780429534010Publication Date: 2020-11-29
Essentials of public health preparedness and emergency management by
Key Features:- Assumes no previous exposure to the concepts making it readable for those who are new to Public Health, yet provides enough depth for readers who may have advanced knowledge. - Offers new chapters on The Preparedness Cycle, Practical Applications of Public Health Emergency Management, and Developing a Public Health Emergency Operations Center- Supports mastery of the Public Health Preparedness and Response competencies developed by the Association of School and Programs of Public Health- Includes Navigate 2 Advantage Access that unlocks a complete eBook, Study Center, homework and Assessment Center, and a dashboard that reports actionable data. Experience Navigate 2 today at www.jblnavigate.com/2.
ISBN: 9781284121483Publication Date: 2019
Management of Emerging Public Health Issues and Risks by
Management of Emerging Public Health Issues and Risks: Multidisciplinary Approaches to the Changing Environment addresses the threats facing the rapidly changing world and provides guidance on how to manage risks to population health. Unlike conventional and recognized risks (major, industrial, and natural), emerging risks are characterized by low or non-existent scientific knowledge, high levels of uncertainty, and different levels of acceptability by the relevant authorities and exposed populations. Emerging risk must be analyzed through multiple and crossed approaches identifying the phenomenon linked to the emergence of risk but also by combining scientific, policy and social data in order to provide more enlightened decision making. Management of Emerging Public Health Issues and Risks: Multidisciplinary Approaches to the Changing Environment provides examples of transdisciplinary approaches used to characterize, analyze, and manage emerging risks. This book will be useful for public health researchers, policy makers, and students as well as those working in emergency management, risk management, security, environmental health, nanomaterials, and food science. Presents emerging risks from the technological, environmental, health, and energy sectors, as well as their social impacts Contextualizes emerging risks as new threats, existing threats in new locations, and known issues, which are newly recognized as risks due to increased scientific knowledge Includes case studies from around the world to reinforce concepts
ISBN: 9780128132913Publication Date: 2018-11-13
McKenzie's an introduction to community & public health by
Now in its Tenth Edition, An Introduction to Community & Public Health provides students with the latest trends and statistics in this evolving field. With an emphasis on developing the knowledge and skills necessary for a career in health education and health promotion, this best-selling introductory text covers such topics as epidemiology, community organizations, program planning, minority health, mental health, environmental health, drug use and abuse, safety, and occupational health. Updated with World Health Organization goals and COVID related activities as well as updated content related to Health and Human Services (HHS) priorities and critical Center for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) activities.
ISBN: 9781284202694Publication Date: 2022
Public Health What It Is and How It Works by
Using a straightforward systems approach, Public Health: What It Is and How It Works explores the inner workings of the complex, modern U.S. public health system--what it is, what it does, how it works, and why it is important.The book covers the origins and development of the modern public health system; the relationship of public health to the overall health system; how the system is organized at the federal, state, and local levels; its core functions and how well these are currently being addressed; evidence-based practice and an approach to program planning and evaluation for public health interventions; public health activities such as epidemiological investigation, biomedical research, environmental assessment, policy development, and more.
ISBN: 9781284069419Publication Date: 2015-08-03
Social Injustice and Public Health by
This second edition of Social Injustice and Public Health is a comprehensive, up-to-date, evidence-based resource on the relationship of social injustice to many aspects of public health. With contributions from leading experts in public health, medicine, health, social sciences, and other fields, this integrated book documents the adverse effects of social injustice on health and makes recommendations on what needs to be done to reduce social injustice and thereby improve the public's health.Social Injustice and Public Health is divided into four parts:· The nature of social injustice and its impact on public health· How the health of specific population groups is affected by social injustice· How social injustice adversely affects medical care, infectious and chronic non-communicable disease, nutrition, mental health, violence, environmental and occupational health, oral health, and aspects of international health· What needs to be done, such as addressing social injustice in a human rights context, promoting social justice through public health policies and programs, strengthening communities, and promoting equitable and sustainable human developmentWith 78 contributors who are experts in their respective subject areas, this textbook is ideal for students and practitioners in public health, medicine, nursing, and other health sciences. It is the definitive resource for anyone seeking to better understand the social determinants of health and how to address them to reduce social injustice and improve the public's health.
ISBN: 9780199939237Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
150 Years of Obamacare by
In this groundbreaking book, health-care attorney Daniel E. Dawes explores the secret backstory of the Affordable Care Act, shedding light on the creation and implementation of the greatest and most sweeping equalizer in the history of American health care. An eye-opening and authoritative narrative written from an insider's perspective, 150 Years of ObamaCare debunks contemporary understandings of health reform. It also provides a comprehensive and unprecedented review of the health equity movement and the little-known leadership efforts that were crucial to passing public policies and laws reforming mental health, minority health, and universal health. An instrumental player in a large coalition of organizations that helped shape ObamaCare, Dawes tells the story of the Affordable Care Act with urgency and intimate detail. He reveals what went on behind the scenes by including copies of letters and e-mails written by the people and groups who worked to craft and pass the law. Dawes explains the law through a health equity lens, focusing on what it is meant to do and how it affects various groups. Ultimately, he argues that ObamaCare is much more comprehensive in the context of previous reform efforts than is typically understood. In an increasingly polarized political environment, health reform has been caught in the cross fire of the partisan struggle, making it difficult to separate fact from fiction. Offering unparalleled and complete insight into the efforts by the Obama administration, Congress, and external stakeholders, 150 Years of ObamaCare illuminates one of the most challenging legislative feats in the history of the United States.
ISBN: 9781421419633Publication Date: 2016-05-15
The Future of Healthcare Reform in the United States by
In the years since the passage of the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (PPACA, or, colloquially, Obamacare), most of the discussion about it has been political. But as the politics fade and the law's many complex provisions take effect, a much more interesting question begins to emerge: How will the law affect the American health care regime in the coming years and decades? This book brings together fourteen leading scholars from the fields of law, economics, medicine, and public health to answer that question. Taking discipline-specific views, they offer their analyses and predictions for the future of health care reform. By turns thought-provoking, counterintuitive, and even contradictory, the essays together cover the landscape of positions on the PPACA's prospects. Some see efficiency growth and moderating prices; others fear a strangling bureaucracy and spiraling costs. The result is a deeply informed, richly substantive discussion that will trouble settled positions and lay the groundwork for analysis and assessment as the law's effects begin to become clear.
ISBN: 9780226255002Publication Date: 2015-10-01
Health Care Reform Act by
The Health Care Reform Act continues to be phased this year and in future years. This book will help accountants and financial advisors better understand the impact of the Act so they can describe to their clients how health care and paying for coverage will change in the future. In addition, they will discover how to use this information for tax planning opportunities. This book will help Recall key points related to tax ramifications associated with implementation of the Act. Identify penalties that apply to individuals and businesses. Recall tax changes that recently went into effect. Recall how to assist clients with tax planning under the Health Care Reform Act
ISBN: 9781119511267Publication Date: 2018-02-12
Jonas and Kovner's Health Care Delivery in the United States by
This fully updated and revised 12th edition of the highly acclaimed textbook on health care delivery provides graduate and undergraduate students with a comprehensive survey of health care in the United States with topics ranging from the organization of care, the politics surrounding health care in the United States, to population health and vulnerable populations, health care costs and value, health care financing, and health information technology. Chapters provide thorough coverage of the rapid changes that are reshaping our system and the extent of our nation's achievement of health care value and the Triple Aim: better health and better care at a lower cost. With an emphasis on population health and public health, this text includes a timely focus on how social and physical environments influence health outcomes. Prominent scholars, practitioners, and educators within public health, population health, health policy, healthcare management, medical care, and nursing present the most up-to-date evidence-based information on social and behavioral determinants of health and health equity, immigrant health, health care workforce challenges, preventive medicine, innovative approaches to control health care costs, initiatives to achieve high quality and value-based care, and much more. Designed for graduate and advanced undergraduate students of health care management and administration, nursing, and public health, the text addresses all complex core issues surrounding our health care system and health policy, such as the challenges to health care delivery, the organization and politics of care, and comparative health systems. Organized in a readable and accessible format, contributors provide an in-depth and objective appraisal of why and how we organize health care the way we do, the enormous impact of health-related behaviors on the structure, function, and cost of the health care delivery system, and other emerging and recurrent issues in health policy, health care management, and public health. The 12th edition features the contributions of such luminaries as former editor Anthony R. Kovner, Michael K. Gusmano, Carolyn M. Clancy, Marc N. Gourevitch, Joanne Spetz, James Morone, Karen DeSalvo, and Christy Harris Lemak, among others. Chapters include audio chapter summaries with discussion of newsworthy topics, learning objectives, discussion questions, case exercises, and new charts and tables with concrete health care data. Included for instructors are an Instructor's Manual, PowerPoint slides, Syllabus, Test Bank, Image Bank, supplemental e-chapter on A Visual Overview of Health Care Delivery, access to an annual ACA update and health policy changes, extra cases and syllabus specifically for nurses, and a transition guide bridging the 11th and 12th editions. Key Features: Three completely revised chapters on the politics of health care, vulnerable populations, and health information technologyExpanded coverage on population health and population health management, health equity, influences of social determinants on health behavior and outcomes, health education planning, health workforce challenges, national and regional quality improvement initiatives and moreRevised e-Chapter providing A Visual Overview of Health Care Delivery and Image Bank for the 12th EditionAccess to Springer Publishing Company's annual ACA updateAudio podcasts provide summaries for each chapter with real-world context of topics featured in the newsNew appendix with overview of U.S. Government Public Health AgenciesAccess to fully searchable ebook, including extra e-chapters and student ancillaries on Springer Publishing ConnectFull Instructor Packet including Instructor's Manual, Test Bank, PowerPoint slides, Image Bank, and Case Exercises for Nursing Instructors
ISBN: 9780826172723Publication Date: 2018-11-01
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
Hospitals: What They Are and How They Work by
Hospitals and medical centers are very complex operations, treating thousands of patients, not yearly, but monthly. Some patients visit the hospital for routine tests or outpatient imaging services, others to give birth, many face life threatening emergencies, and some will not leave the institution alive...so is the daily routine of a modern medical center whether in San Marcos, Texas, Shanghai, China, or Riyadh, Saudi Arabia. This text is designed to simplify the complexity of the medical center by breaking it down into manageable portions. The reader will be guided not only through the medical, surgical, ancillary and support services, the financial center responsible for accounting, billing, collecting and the ever important budget. The reader should be able to better understand the necessity of quality improvement, patient safety, and accreditation. The Fourth Edition features new contributing authors for each chapter--experts on issues such as hospital finance, medical records, laboratory science, nursing, and more. Using a consistent framework, the chapters are woven together to provide seamless instruction for your students. The text begins with a history of hospitals, hospital leadership and the board, then spans to the hands-on care-givers such as the medical staff, nurses, lab, imaging, pharmacy and various therapists, then covers ancillary and support services and the all to important finance division. The text is designed for healthcare students of all types, whether clinical such as medical students, nursing, physical therapy, respiratory, or laboratory, or non-clinical students such as healthcare administration, health information management, or healthcare finance...anyone seeking a macro view of today's hospital delivery system. The text is an all encompassing examination of hospitals, what they are and how they work.
ISBN: 9780763791094Publication Date: 2010-11-23
Lean Hospitals by
Healthcare leaders around the world are facing tough challenges, including the need to deliver better value for patients and payers, which means improving quality while reducing cost. It might seem impossible to do both, but organizations around the world are proving it's possible, through Lean. Health systems are able to enhance all dimensions of patient care, including both safety and service, while creating more engaging and less frustrating workplaces for healthcare professionals and staff... all leading to improved long-term financial performance. Building on the success of the first two editions of this Shingo Prize-Winning book, Lean Hospitals: Improving Quality, Patient Safety, and Employee Engagement, Third Editionexplains how to use the Lean philosophy and management system to improve safety, quality, access, and morale while reducing costs. Lean healthcare expert Mark Graban examines the challenges facing today's health systems, including rising costs, falling reimbursement rates or budget constraints, employee retention, and harm to patients. The new edition of this international bestseller (translated into eight languages) begins with an overview of Lean methods and mindsets. It explains how engaging staff and leaders in Lean practices such as value stream mapping and process observation can help reduce wasted motion for caregivers, prevent delays for patients, and improve the long-term health of your organization. In addition to a new introduction from John Toussaint, this updated edition includes: New and updated material on identifying waste, A3 problem solving, employee idea management, kanban for materials management, and strategy deployment New case studies and examples--including a new 5S case study (Franciscan St. Francis Health) and other case examples highlighting the challenges and successes of an academic medical center and a small urgent access hospital, featuring quotes and stories from executives New examples and updated data throughout, including revised chapters on patient safety and patient flow challenges and the improvements driven by Lean Detailing the mindsets and methods needed for a successful transition to a Lean culture, the book provides the understanding of Lean practices--including value stream mapping, standardized work, error proofing, root cause problem solving, and daily improvement processes--needed to reduce common hospital errors and improve performance in other dimensions. The balanced approach outlined in this book will guide you through the process of improving the quality of care and service while reducing costs in your hospital. *The Lean Certification and Oversight Appeals committee has approved Lean Hospitals as recommended reading for those in pursuit of Lean Bronze Certification from SME, AME, Shingo Prize, and ASQ
ISBN: 9781466513532Publication Date: 2011-12-20
The Soft Side of Knowledge Management in Health Institutions by
Why are hospitals so difficult to manage? It is agreed that cost-effectiveness is important, but knowledge-effectiveness is as equally essential as knowledge, skills and attitudes are the most critical competence factors in hospitals. Managing, controlling, and communicating knowledge within social systems, from the management perspective, as well as integrating information processes, vision, goals and altering the course which the system is leading can help ease the task of hospital management. The innovative contribution of The Soft Side of Knowledge Management in Health Institutionslies in its exploration of how a knowledge perspective and knowledge-effectiveness can contribute to improving hospital leadership and organisation from a continuous-change perspective. Focused on knowledge management, information, communication, organizational learning, tacit knowledge, and negotiations within hospitals, the lessons and insights in this volume will appeal to both researchers and hospital managers alike.
ISBN: 9781801179263Publication Date: 2021-07-21
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
Browse books by subject
Books by NSU faculty
Operations Research and Health Care: Handbook of Methods and Applications by
In both rich and poor nations, public resources for health care are inadequate to meet demand. Policy makers and health care providers must determine how to provide the most effective health care to citizens using the limited resources that are available. This chapter describes current and future challenges in the delivery of health care, and outlines the role that operations research (OR) models can play in helping to solve those problems. The chapter concludes with an overview of this book - its intended audience, the areas covered, and a description of the subsequent chapters. KEY WORDS Health care delivery, Health care planning HEALTH CARE DELIVERY: PROBLEMS AND CHALLENGES 3 1.1 WORLDWIDE HEALTH: THE PAST 50 YEARS Human health has improved significantly in the last 50 years. In 1950, global life expectancy was 46 years [1]. That figure rose to 61 years by 1980 and to 67 years by 1998 [2]. Much of these gains occurred in low- and middle-income countries, and were due in large part to improved nutrition and sanitation, medical innovations, and improvements in public health infrastructure.
ISBN: 1402080662Publication Date: 2006-04-05
