Library Guides: Health Services Management: Journals

Journals

Below you will find a list of journals on topics that cover various aspects of healthcare and healthcare systems management.

Healthcare economics and finances journals

American Journal of Health Economics Peer reviewed Subjects of interest include competition among private insurers, hospitals, and physicians; impacts of public insurance programs; pharmaceutical innovation and regulation; medical device supply; the rise of obesity and its consequences; the influence and growth of aging populations; and much more.
ClinicoEconomics and Outcomes Research Peer reviewed An international, peer-reviewed open-access journal focusing on Health Technology Assessment, Pharmacoeconomics and Outcomes Research in the areas of diagnosis, medical devices, and clinical, surgical and pharmacological intervention. The economic impact of health policy and health systems organization also constitute important areas of coverage.
Health Care Financing Review Peer reviewed Publication covering business and finance issues in the health care industry.
Health Economics Peer reviewed This Journal publishes articles on all aspects of health economics: theoretical contributions, empirical studies and analyses of health policy from the economic perspective. Its scope includes the determinants of health and its definition and valuation, as well as: the demand for and supply of health care; planning and market mechanisms; micro-economic evaluation of individual procedures and treatments; and evaluation of the performance of health care systems.
Healthcare Financial Management Peer reviewed Feature articles on physician relations, medical group practices, legal issues, interviews, commentary and news of note for executives and managers in provider organizations and members of the Healthcare Financial Management Association.
International Journal of Health and Economic Development Peer reviewed
International Journal of Health Care Finance and Economics Peer reviewed The problems of financing and the links among financing, payment, and performance will constitute the core topics of International Journal of Health Care Finance and Economics.
International Journal of Health Economics and Management Peer reviewed The focus of the International Journal of Health Economics and Management is on health care systems and on the behavior of consumers, patients, and providers of such services. The links among management, public policy, payment, and performance are core topics of the relaunched journal.
Journal of Global Health Economics and Policy Peer reviewed Journal of Global Health Economics and Policy (JoGHEP) is an international peer-reviewed journal that aims to promote local research on difficult questions and issues to improve global health, with a particular focus on economics and policy in health. The Journal operates within the Journal of Global Health network, further including the Journal of Global Health and the Journal of Global Health Reports.
Journal of Health Care Finance Peer reviewed Every issue of the journal covers a single fundamental topic in health care financing in depth. Experts in the field share their experiences on successful programs, proven strategies, practical management tools, and innovative alternatives. The journal covers today's most complex dollars-and-cents issues, including hospital/physician contracts, alternative delivery systems, generating maximum margins under PPS, improving productivity, taxation management, health care insurance, employee benefit cost-containment, joint ventures, mergers and acquisitions, employee incentive systems, and more.
Journal of Health Economics Peer reviewed
Journal of Health Economics and Outcomes Research Peer reviewed Includes articles related to comparative effectiveness research, health technology assessments, economic evaluations, meta-analysis, literature research, patient-reported outcomes, preference-based assessments, and health policy analyses
Journal of Medical Economics Peer reviewed Journal of Medical Economics aims to help translate research advances into patient care and lead in transparency/disclosure. The journal publishes high-quality economic assessments of novel therapeutic and device interventions for an international audience.
Pharmacoeconomics Peer reviewed Covers complex pharmacoeconomic issues related to patient care and drug utilization.
Research in Healthcare Financial Management Peer reviewed Publication covering issues in the healthcare industry.
Value in health : the journal of the International Society for Pharmacoeconomics and Outcomes Research Peer reviewed Biomedical Technology/standards; Economics, Pharmaceutical; Health Resources/standards; Outcome Assessment, Health Care; Risk Assessment

Healthcare policy journals

American Journal of Public Health Peer reviewed Articles of original research, research methods, program evaluations, analytic reviews, including health policy analysis and reports on health policy.
Global Public Health: An International Journal for Research, Policy and Practice Peer reviewed Global Public Health is an international journal that publishes research on public health including the social and cultural aspects of global health issues. Global Public Health addresses public health issues that come to the fore in the global environment, such as epidemics of newly emerging and re-emerging infectious diseases, the globalization of trade and the increase in chronic illnesses.
Harvard Health Policy Review Peer reviewed The Harvard Health Policy Review serves as a forum for compelling issues in healthcare and health policy. The goals of the Review are two-fold: to inform readers about complex problems facing our healthcare system, and to promote discussion of timely issues in the niche field of health policy.
Health Affairs Peer reviewed Health Affairs explores health policy issues of current concern in domestic and international spheres. Its mission is to serve as a high-level, nonpartisan forum to promote analysis and discussion on improving health and health care, and to address such issues as cost, quality, and access.
Health Care Analysis Peer reviewed Promotes debate about the fundamental rationale of all aspects of health systems and health care provision, including public policy and health; health-related education; health services organization and decision-making.
Health Policy Peer reviewed
Health Policy and Law Daily Not peer reviewed
Health Policy and Planning Peer reviewed Health Policy and Planning publishes health policy and systems research focusing on low- and middle-income countries. HPP publishes in four subject sections which include Health Economics, Health Policy Processes, Health Systems Research, and Implementation Research and Evaluation.
Inside Health Policy Not peer reviewed
International Journal of Health Services Research and Policy Peer reviewed International Journal of Health Services Research and Policy (IJHSRP) serves all those directly involved in or concerned with, health services, health management, hospital administration, health policy, and public health.
Journal of Health Politics, Policy and Law Peer reviewed Contains articles, news items and book reviews on health policy and the legal and political aspects of health care issues.
Journal of Health Policy and Management Peer reviewed This journal publishes research articles in the areas of health policy, health planning, health system, and health care management, with a special focus on low- and middle-income countries.
Journal of Public Health Policy Peer reviewed The Journal of Public Health Policy (JPHP) is an accessible source of scholarly articles on the epidemiologic and social foundations of public health policy, rigorously edited, and progressive. JPHP aims to create a more inclusive public health policy dialogue, within nations and among them. It broadens public health policy debates beyond the 'health system' to examine all forces and environments that impinge on the health of populations.
OECD Health Policy Studies Not peer reviewed This series of publications analyses the organisation and performance of health systems, and factors explaining performance variations. Studies are conducted on such topics as co-ordination of care, pharmaceutical pricing, long-term care and disability, health workforce and international migration of health workers, information and communications technologies in health care, and the economics of prevention.
Population Research and Policy Review Peer reviewed Coverage includes demographic, economic, social, political and health research papers and related contributions which are based on either the direct scientific evaluation of particular policies or programs, or general contributions intended to advance knowledge that informs policy and program development.
Risk Management and Healthcare Policy Peer reviewed Covers all aspects of public health, policy, and preventative measures to promote good health and improve morbidity and mortality in the population, including epidemiology, detection and screening, vaccination and disease transmission, hazard management, healthcare services provision, health literacy and education, health economic evaluations, and resource management.
World Medical & Health Policy Peer reviewed We publish articles employing overlapping disciplines that include health policy and politics, political science, health economics, medical ethics, and public health. The journal’s approach is unified by a thoroughgoing concern with critically examining the contexts within which policy is made, as well as more traditional considerations of processes, outcomes, and influences.

Healthcare administration and management journals

Clinical Leadership and Management Review Peer reviewed Publishes articles geared towards clinical laboratory professionals, discussing general health care, general management, and federal regulations issues.
Health Care Management Review Peer reviewed The journal features multidisciplinary content that applies theoretical frameworks and principles to health services management and practice. Topics include new developments, practical solutions, and insightful analyses in finance, marketing, labor relations, cost containment, quality assurance, planning, computers and technology, staff recruitment, pay and benefits, and much more.
Health Services Research Peer reviewed Health Services Research (HSR) is a peer-reviewed scholarly journal that provides researchers and public and private policymakers with the latest research findings, methods, and concepts related to the financing, organization, delivery, evaluation, and outcomes of health services.
Healthcare Executive Not peer reviewed Articles, review articles and commentary on professional topics for managers of hospitals, nursing homes, clinics and healthcare offices.
Healthcare Leadership Review Not peer reviewed Medical Administration & Management
Healthcare Management Forum Peer reviewed The journal publishes articles on leading practices related to health leadership and management, including recent research, new technology and professional practices from health leaders' perspectives. It is circulated to health leaders who work in a variety of environments, such as medical companies, health authorities, multi-level care facilities, hospitals, public and private health agencies, health charities, the Canadian military and all levels of the Canadian government.
Healthcare Registration Not peer reviewed Provides information and tips on how to run a department more efficiently. Focuses on patient relations, with regular information on collections, problems in admitting areas, employee management issues, and productivity.
Healthcare Risk Management Not peer reviewed Provides guidance in improving documentation, upgrading quality assurance, reducing liability, curbing insurance premiums, streamlining claims management, protecting hospital assets, and slashing high-rising claims costs.
International Journal of Health Care Quality Assurance Peer reviewed International Journal of Health Care Quality Assurance explores quality within the context of health care, examines managerial and planning models and methods and discusses the implications of introducing and maintaining quality initiatives.
International Journal of Healthcare Management Peer reviewed The International Journal of Healthcare Management serves all those directly involved in, or concerned with, the organisation, delivery, marketing and management of healthcare services, at a strategic and operational level. It provides a peer-reviewed forum for the publication of briefings, discussion, applied research, case studies, expert comment and analysis on the key issues affecting the management and marketing of this sector.
Journal for Healthcare Quality Peer reviewed The journal covers topics such as; • Quality Improvement • Patient Safety • Performance Measurement • Best Practices in Clinical and Operational Processes • Innovation • Leadership • Information Technology • Spreading Improvement • Sustaining Improvement • Cost Reduction • Payment Reform
Journal of Health Administration Education Peer reviewed
Journal of Health Organization and Management Peer reviewed Journal of Health Organization Management publishes research and case studies covering, but not limited to: International perspectives / comparisons Organizational strategies, (re)structures, cultures and dynamics of health care services Management, leadership and governance of health care services The inter-relationship of health and other areas of public policy and how these contribute to health improvement and wellbeing Education, development and training in healthcare services Industrial relations and human resource theory of healthcare services Health systems organization, financing and delivery Relationships between managers and clinicians
Journal of Healthcare Leadership Peer reviewed Covers leadership for the health professions, including healthcare policy and law, theoretical and practical aspects healthcare delivery, interactions between healthcare and society and evidence-based practices, interdisciplinary decision-making, philosophical and ethical issues, hazard management, research and opinion for health leadership and leadership assessment.
Journal of Healthcare Management Peer reviewed An academic and professional journal publishing original research by health care administrators, financial planners, and educators on public policy in the health arena. Emphasis is placed on health-care management articles examining decision-making, financial management, organizational structure and policies, nursing management, and policy strategies. This is the official journal of the American College of Healthcare Executives (ACHE).
Journal of Healthcare Risk Management Peer reviewed The Journal publishes work related to evidence-based health care risk management, enterprise risk management which includes: clinical risk management, patient safety, quality improvement, risk financing, claims and litigation, health care preparedness, risk management tools and techniques, the health care risk management workforce, and other timely risk management issues.
Managed Healthcare Executive Not peer reviewed A professional publication for healthcare management executives who make purchasing and policy decisions for large patient populations. Coverage includes leadership profiles, expert columns, industry snapshots, and timely features on technology, disease management, pharmacy benefits, marketing, and public policy issues. The target audience includes health plan, payer, provider, Fortune 1000, and government executives.
Medical Care Peer reviewed Rated as one of the top ten journals in healthcare administration, Medical Care is devoted to all aspects of the administration and delivery of healthcare. This scholarly journal publishes original, peer-reviewed papers documenting the most current developments in the rapidly changing field of healthcare. This timely journal reports on the findings of original investigations into issues related to the research, planning, organization, financing, provision, and evaluation of health services.
Modern Healthcare Not peer reviewed A weekly trade news magazine providing news and information to executives in the health care industry.
Quality Management in Health Care Peer reviewed Quality Management in Health Care is a peer-reviewed journal with the primary objective of providing a forum to explore the theoretical, technical, and strategic elements of quality management, and to assist those who wish to implement this discipline in health care.

Healthcare technology and informatics journals

BMC Medical Informatics and Decision Making Peer reviewed Provides research articles in relation to the design, development, implementation, use, and evaluation of health information technologies and decision-making within the healthcare setting.
Health Management Technology Not peer reviewed Business magazine for healthcare information systems professionals and managers.
Healthcare Informatics Not peer reviewed Provides news and coverage of technology in the healthcare industry along with the information technologies of tomorrow.
International Journal of Technology Assessment in Health Care Peer reviewed International Journal of Technology Assessment in Health Care serves as a forum for the wide range of health policy makers and professionals interested in the economic, social, ethical, medical and public health implications of health technology. It covers the development, evaluation, diffusion and use of health technology, as well as its impact on the organization and management of health care systems and public health. In addition to general essays and research reports, regular columns on technology assessment reports and thematic sections are published.
Journal of Healthcare Informatics Research Not peer reviewed
Online Journal of Public Health Informatics Peer reviewed

Healthcare marketing and communication journals

Health Education Research Peer reviewed Health Education Research deals with all the vital issues involved in health education and promotion worldwide - providing a valuable link between the health education research and practice communities.
Health Marketing Quarterly Peer reviewed Health Marketing Quarterly is directed at academicians and practitioners who are concerned with the concepts, practice, and research of health marketing in today’s complex environment. The journal addresses important contemporary issues in the use of marketing for health by researchers and health care organizations like hospitals, individual practitioners, health services, and public health care organizations. This includes the use of marketing to promote, position, deter, and enhance health and health services.
Health Promotion International Peer reviewed the journal expressly invites contributions from sectors beyond health. These may include education, employment, government, the media, industry, environmental agencies, and community networks. As the thought journal of the international health promotion movement we seek in particular theoretical, methodological and activist advances to the field.
Health Promotion Practice Peer reviewed The journal is unique in its focus on practical scholarship and strategic information for professionals engaged in developing, implementing, and evaluating health promotion policy and programs.

Public health journals

Annual Review of Public Health Peer reviewed Covers significant developments in the field of public health, including key developments and issues in epidemiology and biostatistics, environmental and occupational health, social environment and behavior, health services, and public health practice and policy.
BMC Public Health Peer reviewed Provides research articles in the epidemiology of disease and the understanding of all aspects of public health.
Canadian Journal of Public Health Peer reviewed Journal featuring peer-reviewed scientific articles on all aspects of public health, including health promotion, disease prevention, and healthy public policy.
Critical Public Health Peer reviewed Critical Public Health (CPH) is an international peer reviewed journal publishing critically engaged research in public health, health promotion, political economy of health, and related fields. The journal explores issues of equity, power, social justice and oppression in health and covers contemporary empirical and theoretical work from a wide range of disciplines including anthropology, sociology, politics, policy studies, cultural studies, health studies, and others.
Environmental Health Perspectives Peer reviewed Journal of research and news published with support from the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences, National Institutes of Health, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. The mission of EHP is to serve as a forum for the discussion of the interrelationships between the environment and human health by publishing high-quality research and news of the field.
Family & Community Health Peer reviewed Journal that provides practical information that addresses the common goals of health care practitioners, regardless of area of practice, in teaching the essentials of self-care, family and community health care, and health promotion and maintenance.
Health Expectations Peer reviewed
Harvard Public Health Review Not peer reviewed The mission of HPHR Journal is to improve health equity and social justice globally through the publication of public health content grounded in the thoughtful evaluation of evidence.
Inquiry: a journal of medical care organization, provision and financing Peer reviewed Open access journal whose mission is to improve health at both the public health and individual healthcare organization levels by enabling scientists, educators, healthcare practitioners, administrators, managers, and policymakers to translate their research and ideas into actionable outcomes.
International Journal of Health Services Peer reviewed The International Journal of Health Services delivers articles on political economy, social policy and inequalities, ecology and labour, and history and philosophy in the areas of health and well-being. IJHS provides analysis of developments in the health and social sectors of every area of the world. The journal is of interest to health professionals and social scientists interested in the many different facets of health, quality of life, and wellbeing of populations.
Journal of Community Health Peer reviewed
Journal of Health Care for the Poor and Underserved Peer reviewed JHCPU addresses such diverse areas as health care access, quality, costs, legislation, regulations, health promotion, and disease prevention from a North American, Central American, Caribbean, and sub-Saharan African perspective.
Journal of Immigrant and Minority Health Peer reviewed
Journal of Public Health Peer reviewed
Journal of Public Health Management & Practice Peer reviewed With the Journal of Public Health Management and Practice, you'll explore the everyday challenges of public health and you'll get hands-on, step-by-step solutions public health professionals across the country are using. Some recently covered topics focused on: Bioterrorism, Mass Media Smoking Prevention Strategies, Building Constituencies for Public Health, and Public Health Performance Standards. Upcoming issues will feature: Public Health Finance, Tobacco Control, Integrating Child Health Information Systems, Public Health Data and Research Integrity.
Journal of Rural Health Peer reviewed The Journal of Rural Health is a peer-reviewed journal devoted to advancing research on rural health policy, health care delivery, and population health. It is sponsored by the National Rural Health Association (NRHA).
The Nation’s Health Not peer reviewed The official newspaper of the American Public Health Association (APHA). Publishes news and information on public health, including legislative and other federal actions. Coverage includes environmental health, nutrition, occupational health, safety, and health statistics.
Public Health (Nature) Peer reviewed Provides international coverage of preventive medicine, epidemiology, social & community medicine. Topics: child health, communicable disease control control, health service provision & management, allocation of scarce resources epidemiology.
Public Health Reports Peer reviewed Bi-monthly--six issues offering articles in three main areas: public health practice, research, and viewpoints/commentaries. In the past five years we have tackled such topics as tobacco control, teenage violence, occupational disease and injury, immunization, drug policy, lead screening, health disparities, and many other key issues.
Public Health Research & Practice Peer reviewed Published quarterly, the journal features innovative, high-quality papers that inform public health policy and practice, paying particular attention to innovations, data and perspectives from policy and practice.
Public Health Reviews Peer reviewed Covers public health translational issues, interdisciplinary approaches, diffusion of innovations, emerging public health issues and best practices for the advancement of the field of public health in Europe and around the world.

Hospital journals

Healthcare Purchasing News Not peer reviewed A trade magazine featuring the latest news in purchasing for decision-makers at hospitals, hospital systems, and integrated health networks.
Hospital Law Weekly Not peer reviewed
Hospital Peer Review Not peer reviewed
Hospital Topics Peer reviewed Dedicated to those who bring healthcare to the public, Hospital Topics spans the whole spectrum of healthcare issues including, but not limited to information systems, fatigue management, medication errors, nursing compensation, midwifery, job satisfaction among managers, team building, and bringing primary care to rural areas.
Hospitals and Health Networks Not peer reviewed Feature articles, strategic, in-depth analysis, and key issues affecting health care reform, aimed at a wide range of health care executives and others involved in providing health care.
Journal of Health Communication Peer reviewed Journal of Health Communication: International Perspectives is the leading journal covering the full breadth of a field that focuses on the communication of health information globally. Articles feature research on: • Developments in the field of health communication; • New media, m-health and interactive health communication; • Health Literacy; • Social marketing; • Global Health; • Shared decision making and ethics; • Interpersonal and mass media communication; • Advances in health diplomacy, psychology, government, policy and education; • Government, civil society and multi-stakeholder initiatives; • Public Private partnerships and • Public Health campaigns.
Journal of Hospital Ethics Peer reviewed Features articles on recognizing and managing ethical issues in everyday hospital practice.
Journal of Hospital Marketing & Public Relations Peer reviewed

Additional journals

Health Education & Behavior Peer reviewed Health Education & Behavior (HE&B) is a peer-reviewed, bimonthly journal that publishes authoritative empirical research and commentary on critical health issues of interest to a broad range of professionals whose work involves understanding factors associated with health behavior and evidence-based social and behavioral strategies to improve health status.
Industrial Health Peer reviewed Covers all aspects of occupational medicine, ergonomics, industrial hygiene, engineering, safety and policy sciences.
International Journal of Integrated Care Peer reviewed The International Journal of Integrated Care (IJIC) is an online, open-access, peer-reviewed scientific journal that publishes original articles in the field of integrated care on a continuous basis.
JAMA: Journal of the American Medical Association Peer reviewed
Journal of Consumer Health on the Internet Peer reviewed The Journal of Consumer Health on the Internet covers the fields of consumer health information, patient education, and health literacy. Of interest are the practical aspects of providing programs and services aimed at helping patients and the general public find the quality health information they need, with a focus on electronic and Internet-related information. The journal is aimed at medical and public librarians who provide health information to the general public and patients, and at librarians and health care personnel who are involved with patient education and health literacy.
Journal of Medical Internet Research Peer reviewed
Journal of Multidisciplinary Healthcare Peer reviewed Publishes research in healthcare areas delivered by practitioners of different disciplines, including studies and reviews conducted by multidisciplinary teams as well as research which evaluates or reports the results or conduct of such teams or healthcare processes in general.
Journal of Occupational Health Peer reviewed
Medical Care Research and Review Peer reviewed Medical Care Research and Review covers timely aspects of health care such as: Evaluation of the impact of changes in health policy and practice Health insurance markets and the impact of health reform Health Information Technology adoption and application in health delivery Impact of competition and regulation on health care markets and providers Health care disparities in access, treatment, and outcomes Patient safety and quality of care Health care workforce issues and primary care capacity Patient engagement in health care decision-making Economics and financial issues in health care delivery Organizational structure and behavior of health organizations Comparative effectiveness analysis

Health Services Management

Need Help? Ask A Librarian!

Journals

Healthcare economics and finances journals

Healthcare policy journals

Healthcare administration and management journals

Healthcare technology and informatics journals

Healthcare marketing and communication journals

Public health journals

Hospital journals

Additional journals

Quick Links

NSU Partner Libraries

Attractions

Resources

Help