Finance
This guide covers topics related to finance and the financial system, including banking, financial technology, the capital market and digital currencies.
Books
Banking, Finance, and Accounting by
With the global economy still in recovery, it is more important than ever for individuals and organizations to be aware of their money and its potential for both depreciation and growth. Banking, Finance, and Accounting: Concepts, Methodologies, Tools, and Applications investigates recent advances and undertakings in the financial industry to better equip all members of the world economy with the tools and insights needed to weather any shift in the economic climate. With chapters on topics ranging from investment portfolios to credit unions, this multi-volume reference source will serve as a crucial resource for managers, investors, brokers, and all others within the banking industry.
ISBN: 9781466662698Publication Date: 2014-07-31
Breaking Banks by
"In the next 10 years, we'll see more disruption and changes to the banking and financial industry than we've seen in the preceding 100 years"--Brett King Breaking Banks: The Innovators, Rogues, and Strategists Rebooting Banking is a unique collection of interviews take from across the global Financial Services Technology (or FinTech) domain detailing the stories, case studies, start-ups, and emerging trends that will define this disruption. Features the author's catalogued interviews with experts across the globe, focusing on the disruptive technologies, platforms and behaviors that are threating the traditional industry approach to banking and financial services Topics of interest covered include Bitcoin's disruptive attack on currencies, P2P Lending, Social Media, the Neo-Banks reinventing the basic day-to-day checking account, global solutions for the unbanked and underbanked, through to changing consumer behavior Breaking Banks is the only record of its kind detailing the massive and dramatic shift occurring in the financial services space today.
ISBN: 9781118915318Publication Date: 2014-04-03
The Economics of Banking by
The Economics of Banking provides an accessible overview of banking theory and practice. It introduces readers to the building blocks of fundamental theories and provides guidance on state-of-the-art research, reflecting the dramatic changes in the banking industry and banking research over the past two decades. This textbook explores market failure and financial frictions that motivate the role of financial intermediaries, explains the microeconomic incentives and behavior of participants in banking, examines microlevel market stress caused by economic recessions and financial crises, and looks at the role of monetary authorities and banking regulators to reduce systemic fragility as well as to improve macroeconomic stability. It delivers broad coverage of both the micro and macroeconomics of banking, central banking and banking regulation, striking a fine balance between rigorous theoretical foundations, sound empirical evidence for banking theories at work, and practical knowledge for banking and policymaking in the real world. The Economics of Banking is suitable for advanced undergraduate, master's, or early PhD students of economics and finance, and will also be valuable reading for bankers and banking regulators.
ISBN: 9781000465440Publication Date: 2021-11-04
Empirical Research in Banking and Corporate Finance by
Empirical Research in Banking and Corporate Financeis the 21st volume of Advances in Financial Economicsand deals with International Corporate Governance. Explored in detail are the role of corporate cultures, social responsibility, stock liquidity, securitization, leveraged buyouts and the cost of private debt.
ISBN: 9781789733990Publication Date: 2022-09-12
Global Strategies in Banking and Finance by
In a globalized financial market, the success of an organization in one country is often inextricably linked to the economic viability of an array of other nations and governments. As such, global concerns--the simultaneous consideration of global and local aspects of business--often take precedence. Global Strategies in Banking and Finance explores the concept of a glocal industry through case studies, emerging research, and interdisciplinary perspectives applicable to a variety of fields in banking and finance. Within these pages, researchers and practitioners will discover tips, strategies, and best practices towards maintaining a competitive advantage and positioning their respective organizations in the global marketplace.
ISBN: 9781466646360Publication Date: 2013-10-31
An Introduction to Banking by
"A great write-up on the art of banking. Essential reading for anyone working in finance." Dan Cunningham, Senior Euro Cash & OBS Dealer, KBC Bank NV, London "Focused and succinct review of the key issues in bank risk management." Graeme Wolvaardt, Head of Market Risk Control, Europe Arab Bank plc, London The importance of banks to the world's economic system cannot be overstated. The foundation of consistently successful banking practice remains efficient asset-liability management and liquidity risk management. This book introduces the key concepts of banking, concentrating on the application of robust risk management principles from a practitioner viewpoint, and how to incorporate these principles into bank strategy. Detailed coverage includes: Bank strategy and capital Understanding the yield curve Principles of asset-liability management Effective liquidity risk management The role of the bank ALM committee Written in the author's trademark accessible style, this book is a succinct and focused analysis of the core principles of good banking practice.
ISBN: 9780470687253Publication Date: 2011-04-04
Investment Banking by
In the constantly evolving world of finance, a solid technical foundation is an essential tool for success. Until the welcomed arrival of authors Josh Rosenbaum and Josh Pearl, no one had taken the time to properly codify the lifeblood of the corporate financier's work-namely, valuation, through all of the essential lenses of an investment banker. With the release of Investment Banking, Third Edition: Valuation, Leveraged Buyouts, and Mergers & Acquisitions, Rosenbaum and Pearl once again have written the definitive book that they wish had existed when they were trying to break into Wall Street. The Second Edition includes both the technical valuation fundamentals as well as practical judgment skills and perspective to help guide the science. This book focuses on the primary valuation methodologies currently used on Wall Street: comparable companies analysis, precedent transactions analysis, discounted cash flow analysis, and leveraged buyout analysis. With the new fully revised edition, they have added the most comprehensive, rigorous set of intuition-building and problem-solving ancillaries anywhere, all of which promise to become essential, knowledge enhancing tools for professionals, and professors and students.
ISBN: 9781469075808Publication Date: 2020-06-16
The Origins, History, and Future of the Federal Reserve by
This book contains essays presented at a conference held in November 2010 to mark the centenary of the famous 1910 Jekyll Island meeting of leading American financiers and the US Treasury. The 1910 meeting resulted in the Aldrich Plan, a precursor to the Federal Reserve Act that was enacted by Congress in 1913. The 2010 conference, sponsored by the Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta and Rutgers University, featured assessments of the Fed's near 100-year track record by prominent economic historians and macroeconomists. The final chapter of the book records a panel discussion of Fed policy making by the current and former senior Federal Reserve officials.
ISBN: 9781107013728Publication Date: 2013-03-25
The Technical Interview Guide to Investment Banking by
Win the recruiting race with the ultimate analyst's guide to the interview The Complete, Technical Interview Guide to Investment Banking is the aspiring investment banker's guide to acing the interview and beginning your journey to the top. By merging a 'study guide' to the field with a forecast of the interview, this book helps you prepare for both content and structure; you'll brush up on important topics while getting a preview of the questions your interviewers are likely to ask. Covering financial statements, valuation, mergers and acquisitions, and leveraged buyouts, the discussion provides the answers to common technical questions while refreshing your understanding of the core technical analyses behind core models and analyses. Each chapter includes a list of the questions you will almost certainly be asked--along with the answers that interviewers want to hear--from the basic Q&A to the advanced technical analyses and case studies. This guide will reinforce your knowledge and give you the confidence to handle anything they can throw at you. You will receive an expert synopsis of the major points you need to know, to ensure your understanding and ability to handle the multitude of questions in each area. Double-check your conceptual grasp of core finance topics Plan your responses to common technical and analysis questions Understand how to analyze and solve technical analyses and cases Gain insight into what interviewers want to hear from potential hires Become the candidate they can't turn away You've positioned yourself as a competitive candidate, and the right job right now can chart your entire career's trajectory. Now you just have to win the recruiting race. The Complete, Technical Interview Guide to Investment Banking is the ultimate preparation guide to getting the job you want.
ISBN: 9781119161394Publication Date: 2017-02-28
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
International Journal of Bank Marketing, Volume 32 by ISBN: 9781783506699Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Capital failure: Rebuilding trust in financial services by
This title argues that the trust-intensive nature of the financial services industry makes it essential to rebuild trustworthiness in the provision of financial services. It considers the lack of trust that emerged following deregulation of the financial sector and examines what is needed to rebuild trustworthiness.
ISBN: 9780191780752Publication Date: 2014
The Financial Advisor's Success Manual by
You may have heard that financial service firms aren't traditionally designed for serious growth. Well, they were wrong! Do you want to become a million-dollar financial advisor, boost client satisfaction, and dramatically expand your business? The Financial Advisor's Success Manual provides all the answers and strategies you need to do just that.Complete with proven techniques, expert insights, and practical tips to maximize your profitability, this one-stop guide will show you how to break the cycle of moderate growth by teaching you how to:* Develop a differentiation strategy* Define and implement your six core client-facing processes* Balance the cost of services with the value delivered* Enhance client loyalty* Perfect your personal marketing and sales approach* And more!You didn't start your financial services firm with a goal of modest gains. So don't settle for that! By implementing the methodologies and strategies in this manual, you can grow your business beyond your wildest expectations--all while serving your clients better.
ISBN: 9780814439142Publication Date: 2017-12-07
Fisher Investments on Financials by
The easy-to-use resource for anyone looking to learn more about the financial sector and how to make the most of it The Fisher Investments On series is designed to provide individual investors, students, and aspiring investment professionals with the tools necessary to understand and analyze investment opportunities--primarily for investing in global stocks. Each guide is an easily accessible primer to economic sectors, regions, or other components of the global stock market. While this guide is specifically on Financials, the basic investment methodology is applicable for analyzing any global sector, regardless of the current macroeconomic environment. Following a top-down approach to investing, Fisher Investments on Financials can help you make more informed decisions within the Financials sector. It skillfully addresses how to determine optimal times to invest in Financials stocks and which Financials industries have the potential to perform well in various environments. The book is divided into three comprehensive parts--Getting Started, Financials Details, and Thinking Like a Portfolio Manager. Explains some of the sector's key macro drivers--like regulation, interest rates, and credit trends Shows how to capitalize on a wide array of macro conditions and industry-specific features to help you form an opinion on each of the industries within the sector Takes you through the major components of the industries within the global Financials sector and reveals how they operate Offers investment strategies to help you determine when and how to overweight specific industries within the sector Outlines a five-step process to help differentiate firms in this field--designed to help you identify those with the greatest probability of outperforming Filled with in-depth insights, Fisher Investments on Financials provides a framework for understanding this sector and its industries to help you make better investment decisions--now and in the future. With this book as your guide, you can gain a global perspective of the Financials sector and discover strategies to help achieve your investing goals.
ISBN: 9780470527061Publication Date: 2012-10-02
The Future of Retail Financial Services by
In recent years, the digitalisation of retail financial services - retail payments, current/savings accounts, consumer/housing credit, car insurance, property insurance and health insurance - has accelerated significantly. While policy-makers are gradually creating the necessary conditions to strengthen this digital transformation, there remain numerous policy issues and unanswered questions to resolve. Against this background, CEPS-ECRI formed a Task Force to explore four specific core questions: What type of level playing field is needed to ensure a successful transitions to the digital transformation? What are the opportunities and risks related to big (alternative) data and increasingly sophisticated algorithms? What kind of regulatory framework is the most appropriate for pre-contractual information duties in a digital era? How can the regulatory framework for digital authentication be improved? This report presents the findings of the Task Force, based on discussions among the members, led by the Chairman Kim Vindberg-Larsen, a FinTech entrepreneur. These findings are substantiated and elaborated via in-depth research carried out by Sylvain Bouyon, CEPS-ECRI Research Fellow.
ISBN: 9781786604811Publication Date: 2017-04-04
Gender and Finance by
This book examines the world of finance and the role of gender within it. It looks at the financial services industry, arguably the most powerful and remunerative sector that exists, and shows how it was created by men for men. The author explains how historically women were excluded, how minimal progress has been made, and outlines how the sector still needs to change to function effectively in a modern, equal opportunities world. Addressing gender inequality in financial services is of utmost urgency and importance because of the extent to which it affects women in all stages of life. Women's exclusion in financial services is also mirrored by how men have been excluded from parenting through a similar set of societal expectations, government legislation and corporate policies. The author maintains that to succeed, we need to address both financial services and parenting. To do so we need regulatory support. Because of its power and dominance, the financial services industry has the opportunity to lead this change and to champion gender equal practices. These practices are economically beneficial to all participants, not only female employees and consumers. We all need these benefits as we rebuild our economies following the COVID-19 pandemic. The book makes an important contribution to the critical and increasing awareness of gender concerns. It presents insights drawn from original research and data about gender biases. The book is an essential secondary text for a range of university courses, including economics, finance and accounting, business studies and gender related courses, as well as MBAs and Executive Education programmes that focus on gender in business. It is also a must read for policy makers, managers in financial services institutions and any other businesses that seek to attract the growing market of female consumers, employees and business leaders.
ISBN: 9781003198109Publication Date: 2022-02-25
The Million-Dollar Financial Services Practice by
If you're an advisor, whether you need a push or not, and regardless if you're new or old to the business, this guide will help add instant value to your practice. Using the proven method author David J. Mullen Jr. has taught at Merrill Lynch and is famous for in the industry, The Million-Dollar Financial Services Practice guides aspiring brokers on their journey toward building a lucrative financial services practice. Templates, scripts, letters, and tried-and-true market action plans work together to give you the skills you need to get the appointment, convert prospects to clients, build relationships, retain clients, use niche marketing successfully, and increase the products and services each client uses. In The Million-Dollar Financial Services Practice, you will gain insight into practical areas often overlooked by other industry guides, including: how to work in teams, how to train sales associates, and how to handle and overcome rejection. Updated with new strategies for acquiring affluent clients, the second edition of The Million-Dollar Financial Services Practice includes tips on offering wealth management services, using social media, leveraging alumni marketing, and targeting successful relators as clients to help today's financial service professionals become top producers.
ISBN: 9780814431733Publication Date: 2013-02-13
Mis-selling financial services by
Key features include:
Clear and concise analysis on the law relating to the mis-selling of regulated financial services products
Overview of the UK and European regulatory framework governing the sale of financial products and with particular focus on five key product types: credit, mortgages, interest rate hedging products, insurance, and collective investment schemes
Practical information on pleading, and defending claims of mis-selling including the various causes of action and limitation periods
Summary of case law which has emerged from sector specific issues and mis-selling 'scandals'.
ISBN: 9781788117678Publication Date: 2019
No Small Change by
A 13-point manifesto for a new financial services marketing model Anthony Thomson knows a thing or two about new and disruptive financial services, having co-founded and chaired first the ground-breaking Metro Bank and then the purely digital, app-based Atom Bank. And as a financial services marketing specialist for over 30 years, Lucian Camp has helped develop more new and innovative financial services propositions than anyone. Now they've put their heads together to write No Small Change, a passionate, opinionated and practical manifesto arguing that the fast-changing financial services world urgently needs to rethink the whole of its approach to marketing. Most of all, they propose that an increasingly digital, fintech-driven industry needs not just more marketing, but also better marketing to make sure it's successfully identifying consumers' real needs, and finding powerful and successful ways to engage with them. After detailing the forces of change that demand a new approach, the book then examines in 13 chapters what the key components of that new approach should look like. It takes a broad and multi-faceted perspective, exploring areas as diverse as the crisis of consumer trust, the ever-growing power of Big Data, the importance of leadership and corporate culture and the rapid advance in thinking based on Behavioural Economics. In developing these themes, the authors don't pull their punches. The book is fiercely critical of some of the industry's long-established marketing habits, providing compelling reasons why it's time to abandon the practices that have given it a bad name. Marketers will applaud, but the book is also intended for a broader audience. Thomson and Camp challenge senior management in financial firms to appreciate the real value that marketers can bring to shaping the business agenda at the highest level, and not just to label marketing with that tired old phrase "the colouring-in department." Rich in anecdotes, comments from leading industry figures, personal experiences on the part of both authors and findings from original research, No Small Change is an entertaining and rewarding read - and, at this point in the development of financial services, a timely and important one.
ISBN: 9781119378037Publication Date: 2018-08-27
The Socially Savvy Advisor: Compliant social media for the financial industry by
The social media marketing bible for the financial industry The Socially Savvy Advisor: Compliant Social Media for the Financial Industry is the complete guide to creating an effective social media strategy without breaking the big rules. Written by an industry specialist Jennifer Openshaw, alongside Stuart Fross, Fidelity International's former general counsel, and Amy McIlwain, president of Financial Social Media, this book merges marketing basics with FINRA and SEC guidelines to help readers create an effective social media campaign specifically for the finance and investing world. Contributions from industry leaders at Charles Schwab, Citibank, and others provide inside perspective and experience so readers can tap into a new audience. With a focus on compliance, the book clears common hurdles while dispelling myths and outlining effective methods and techniques. Readers also gain access to a website featuring videos, Q & As, tutorials, Slideshare, and a social media policy template. Social media is one of the hottest topics in finance. From solo practitioners to large asset managers, everyone's consumed by how, when, and where to use this new and powerful medium--but guidance is hard to find. The Socially Savvy Advisor covers the entire issue, from platform, to content, to what not to do. Best practices in using social media for advisors and compliance officers Planning for the regulators, vs. failing to plan Challenges with LinkedIn, Facebook, Twitter and other social platforms Elements of a good social media policy Managing the top issues related to marketing and business development, engagement, and compliance With the right plan and the proper technique, social media marketing can dramatically improve client outreach and retention. The Socially Savvy Advisor provides the expert insight, tools, and guidance that shape a robust, effective strategy.
ISBN: 9781118959107Publication Date: 2014-11-13
Value and Capital Management: A handbook for the finance and risk functions of financial institutions by
A value management framework designed specifically for banking and insurance The Value Management Handbook is a comprehensive, practical reference written specifically for bank and insurance valuation and value management. Spelling out how the finance and risk functions add value in their respective spheres, this book presents a framework for measuring - and more importantly, influencing - the value of the firm from the position of the CFO and CRO. Case studies illustrating value-enhancing initiatives are designed to help Heads of Strategy offer CEOs concrete ideas toward creating more value, and discussion of "hard" and "soft" skills put CFOs and CROs in a position to better influence strategy and operations. The challenge of financial services valuation is addressed in terms of the roles of risk and capital, and business-specific "value trees" demonstrate the source of successful value enhancement initiatives. While most value management resources fail to adequately address the unique role of risk and capital in banks, insurance, and asset management, this book fills the gap by providing concrete, business-specific information that connects management actions and value creation, helping readers to: Measure value accurately for more productive value-based management initiatives and evaluation of growth opportunities Apply a quantitative, risk-adjusted value management framework reconciled with the way financial services shares are valued by the market Develop a value set specific to the industry to inspire initiatives that increase the firm's value Study the quantitative and qualitative management frameworks that move CFOs and CROs from measurement to management The roles of CFO and CRO in financial firms have changed dramatically over the past decade, requiring business savvy and the ability to challenge the CEO. The Value Management Handbook provides the expert guidance that leads CFOs and CROs toward better information, better insight, and better decisions.
ISBN: 9781118774380Publication Date: 2015-08-10
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
Business Ratios and Formulas by
A complete appraisal of analytical tools available to managers to assess performance Required reading for anyone starting, running, or growing a business, Business Ratios and Formulas, Third Edition puts answers at the fingertips of business managers, with nearly 250 operational criteria and clear, easy-to-understand explanations that can be used right away. The Third Edition includes twenty new measurements. Approximately 20 new measurements Offers a comprehensive resource of nearly 250 operational criteria An Appendix including a dictionary of accounting and finance terms A thorough list of every ratio and formula, and how to compile and interpret that information Also by Steven M. Bragg: Fast Close: A Guide to Closing the Books Quickly, Second Edition An ideal tool for measuring corporate performance, this authoritative resource allows you to pick and choose the tools you need to best assess your organization's performance.
ISBN: 9781118169964Publication Date: 2012-04-03
Common Sense Finance by
This book addresses, from a conversational and hands-on perspective, the implications of finance, financial literacy, and the importance of understanding finance for both individuals and entrepreneurs. Finance and understanding financial matters are the ones that drive the decision-making process for businesses, large and small; but it is especially important for small business owners as they attempt to build, expand, and develop their businesses. As a CPA, member of the AICPA Financial Literacy Commission, and a weekly columnist for Inc, personal finance and financial literacy is something that drives decisions and plans for both individuals and organizations. Better informed people make better decisions. This book addresses the multitude of financial issues faced by individuals, entrepreneurs, and small business owners. Incorporating technology trends into this text, resources, links, and additional information is integrated throughout this text.
ISBN: 9781631579875Publication Date: 2017-12-05
Entrepreneurial Finance, Fourth Edition: Finance and Business Strategies for the Serious Entrepreneur by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Get your business up and running--and keep it thriving--with the latest edition of the classic entrepreneurial resource For over 20 years, Steven Rogers's Entrepreneurial Finance has been the definitive guide to setting up and managing the financial aspects of any small- to medium-sized business. But how can today's entrepreneurs learn to thrive in the most difficult economy in generations? In this long-awaited fourth edition, Rogers updates his classic content for the 21st century, revising every chart, graph, and case study to reflect the modern entrepreneurial landscape. Inside, you'll find the most up-to-date information on writing a growth business plan, compiling and understanding financial statements, making a company profitable, valuing a company, cash flow management, debt and equity financing, and much more. The book is also packed with brand-new content on such current topics as: * Entrepreneurship and intrapreneurship models * Raising venture capital in private markets * Crowdfunding vs. crowdsourcing * Financing for minorities and women * Taking a job with an entrepreneurial firm Along with real-world case studies and detailed analysis, all-new classroom materials for MBA students, and a streamlined approach that makes the material more accessible than ever, Rogers's updated content demystifies the ever-changing world of entrepreneurial finance and guides you, step by step, through the process of maintaining steady profitability and business longevity. Whatever business you run or plan to launch, this essential guide provides the tools you need to build a sturdy foundation that will support it for many years to come.
ISBN: 9781260461442Publication Date: 2020-05-05
Entrepreneurial Finance, Innovation and Development by
Entrepreneurship is now unanimously considered a major engine for socio-economic development, mainly because it creates jobs and innovation. Governments around the world pay special attention to removing entrepreneurial barriers in order to support development via different policies, especially entrepreneurial finance. Developing, emerging and transition economies (DETEs) significantly differ from industrialized countries because of their specific conditions: institutions, infrastructure facilities, and bureaucratic procedures within the administrative system. Thus, firms and their entrepreneurs in and from DETEs may behave differently, particularly in terms of their financial strategies. Therefore, contextualizing is critical to better understand the relationship between entrepreneurial finance, innovation, and development in DETEs. This book provides a systematic and profound understanding of how finance, entrepreneurship, innovation, and their interactions contribute to economic development in DETEs, which cover a large number of countries in Asia, Central and Eastern Europe, Latin America, and Africa. The book mainly includes empirical studies and is divided into four parts. Part A includes four chapters which adopt a multinational approach to examine different sources and types of finance for entrepreneurship and small business in different groups of countries classified as DETEs. Part B also includes four chapters and focuses on entrepreneurial finance in specific countries belonging to the DETEs. Part C goes beyond the business scope of entrepreneurial finance and includes three chapters concerned with the relationship between finance, women's entrepreneurship, and poverty. Part D includes three chapters focusing on the comparison within developing countries as well as between developing and developed countries. This essential and comprehensive resource will find an audience amongst academics, students, educators, and practitioners, as well as policymakers and regulators.
ISBN: 9781003134282Publication Date: 2021-11-29
Small Business Finance and Valuation by
This book covers the financial aspects of a business, including those that are important to start, grow, and sustain an enterprise. According to the U.S. Small Business Administration, over 99 percent of businesses are small or medium size yet the majority of books are focused on large corporations. This book aims to close that gap and also focus on the practitioners--the entrepreneurs, small business owners, consultants--and students aspiring to practice in this space. Small businesses are the growth engine of the economy and it is important that we provide them with the tools for success. This book covers the financial aspects of a business, including those that are important to start, grow, and sustain an enterprise. We accomplish this by providing concepts, tools, and techniques that are important for the practitioner. The overall aim is to provide this information in straightforward way while also providing the depth required for areas that warrant it.
ISBN: 9781952538131Publication Date: 2020-09-23
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
Corporate Finance by
The essential corporate finance text, updated with new data Corporate Finance has long been a favourite among both students and professionals in the field for its unique blend of theory and practice with a truly global perspective. The fact that the authors are well-known academics and professionals in the world of mergers and acquisitions (M&A) and investment explains this popularity. This new Fifth Edition continues the tradition, offering a comprehensive tour of the field through scenario-based instruction that places concept and application in parallel. A new chapter has been added, devoted to the financial management of operating buildings that aims to answer questions such as, "to own or to rent?" "variable or fixed rents?" etc. The book's companion website features regularly updated statistics, graphs and charts, along with study aids including quizzes, case studies, articles, lecture notes and computer models, reflecting the author team's deep commitment to facilitating well-rounded knowledge of corporate finance topics. In addition, a monthly free newsletter keeps the readers updated on the latest developments in corporate finance as well as the book's Facebook page, which publishes a post daily. Financial concepts can be quite complex, but a familiar setting eases understanding while immediate application promotes retention over simple memorisation. As comprehensive, relevant skills are the goal, this book blends academic and industry perspective with the latest regulatory and practical developments to provide a complete corporate finance education with real-world applicability. Blend theory and practice to gain a more relevant understanding of corporate finance concepts Explore the field from a truly European perspective for a more global knowledge base Learn essential concepts, tools and techniques by delving into real-world applications Access up-to-date data, plus quizzes, case studies, lecture notes and more A good financial manager must be able to analyse a company's economic, financial and strategic situation, and then value it, all while mastering the conceptual underpinnings of all decisions involved. By emphasising the ways in which concepts impact and relate to real-world situations, Corporate Finance provides exceptional preparation for working productively and effectively in the field.
ISBN: 9781119424482Publication Date: 2017-12-11
Corporate Finance: the Basics by
Corporate Finance: The Basics is a concise introduction to the inner workings of finance at the company level. It aims to take the fear out of corporate finance and add the fun in, presenting the subject in a way that is simple to grasp and easy to digest. Its aim is to explain - and demystify - the essential ideas of corporate finance, avoiding the heavy use of maths and formulae. The calculations and figures in the book are purely to illustrate fundamental concepts, appealing to readers' common sense, rather than stretch their ability to do "number-crunching". Topics covered include: Financial statements through the corporate finance lens How to make investment decisions Cash versus profit Net working capital management How to determine the value of a business Through the use of a subject map, this book explains how the key components of the subject are connected with each other, strengthening the reader's understanding. This book is the ideal introduction for anyone looking for a short yet scholarly overview of corporate finance.
ISBN: 9781315526560Publication Date: 2017-08-31
Corporate Finance in a Nutshell by
This up-to-date and comprehensive title covers the entire field of corporate finance, including the recent changes stemming from the Dodd-Frank Act. In addition to discussing accounting and valuation concepts, it provides extensive coverage of the legal and financial underpinnings of debt securities, preferred and common stock, and derivative instruments (options, forward contracts, futures contracts and swap contracts). It also provides sample valuation problems, answers, and explanations. Written in "plain-English," you will find the work particularly useful, with or without any business background.
ISBN: 1634598660Publication Date: 2015-09-01
Corporate Investment Decisions by
This book is intended for both practising managers who require a thorough knowledge of the principles of making investment decisions in the real world and for students undertaking financial courses whether at undergraduate, MBA or professional levels. The subject matter encompasses relevant aspects of the investment decision varying from a basic introduction to the appraisal techniques available to placing investment decisions within a strategic context and coverage of recent developments including real options, value at risk and environmental investments.
ISBN: 9781606490655Publication Date: 2010-08-20- Empirical Research in Banking and Corporate Finance by
Empirical Research in Banking and Corporate Financeis the 21st volume of Advances in Financial Economicsand deals with International Corporate Governance. Explored in detail are the role of corporate cultures, social responsibility, stock liquidity, securitization, leveraged buyouts and the cost of private debt.
ISBN: 9781789733990Publication Date: 2022-09-12
The Essentials of Finance and Accounting for Nonfinancial Managers by
They say that numbers don't lie, but what if you can't even read them Discover how great managers use financial data to guide decisions. Financial analysis reports, budgeting reports, forecasting and measuring reports--sometimes they all run together, don't they The Essentials of Finance and Accounting for Nonfinancial Managers is here to help. This new edition of a business classic demystifies finance and accounting and gives managers the tools they need to make better decisions. Complete with fresh insights, case studies, and street-level exercises to help non-numbers people master the numbers game, this guide reveals how to: Understand the fundamentals of financial analysis, budgeting, and forecasting Interpret balance sheets, income/cash flow statements, and annual reports Sift through conflicting data to find the most relevant figures Locate key information about competitors and suppliers Analyze variances and calculate break-even points and other vital measures The numbers are too important to allow others to translate for you. The Essentials of Finance and Accounting for Nonfinancial Managers shows you how to read them yourself. Imagine the impact on future decisions when you grasp not only what the numbers mean but can use that insight to drive your business forward.
ISBN: 9780814436943Publication Date: 2016-03-25
Finance for Non-Finance Executives by
This book is intended to help professionals gain an extensive working knowledge of critical financial principles in an easy-to-follow manner. This book is intended to help professionals, especially from functional areas other than finance--such as sales, marketing, human resource, research and development, production, and procurement--to gain an extensive working knowledge of critical financial principles in an easy-to-follow manner, enabling them to make critical business decisions involving cost-savings, budgets, new projects decisions, and growth strategies. The author introduces the key concepts of finance so you can contribute to the success of your business. These will help you understand the language used by accountants and how financial statements fit together. Furthermore, you will understand how to use ratio analysis to get a sense of the company's performance. In addition, readers will learn the concepts of management accounting and various kinds of decisions, including make-or-buy and shutdown. Readers will gain an understanding of how to implement budgeting and working capital management. The exciting part is also the chapter on investment appraisal, where readers will learn how to evaluate business proposals from a return standpoint.
ISBN: 9781952538339Publication Date: 2020-08-06
Financial Intelligence, Revised Edition by
The book Inc. magazine calls one of "the best, clearest guides to the numbers" on the market. Inc. magazine calls it one of "the best, clearest guides to the numbers" on the market. Readers agree, saying it's exactly "what I need to know" and calling it a "must-read" for decision makers without expertise in finance. Since its release in 2006, Financial Intelligence has become a favorite among managers who need a guided tour through the numbers--helping them to understand not only what the numbers really mean, but also why they matter. This new, completely updated edition brings the numbers up to date and continues to teach the basics of finance to managers who need to use financial data to drive their business. It also addresses issues that have become even more important in recent years--including questions around the financial crisis and those around broader financial and accounting literacy. Accessible, jargon-free, and filled with entertaining stories of real companies, Financial Intelligence gives nonfinancial managers the confidence to understand the nuance beyond the numbers--to help bring everyday work to a new level.
ISBN: 9781422144114Publication Date: 2013-02-19
Fundamentals of Corporate Finance, 4th Edition by
Fundamentals of Corporate Finance develops the key concepts of corporate finance with an intuitive approach while also emphasizing computational skills, enabling students to develop the critical judgments necessary to apply financial tools in real decision-making situations. The fourth edition offers a level of rigor that is appropriate for both business and finance majors.
ISBN: 9781469069678Publication Date: 2020-04-14
Legal issues and litigation in modern corporate finance by ISBN: 9781787142916Publication Date: 2017
Lessons in Corporate Finance by
A discussion-based learning approach to corporate finance fundamentals Lessons in Corporate Finance explains the fundamentals of the field in an intuitive way, using a unique Socratic question and answer approach. Written by award-winning professors at M.I.T. and Tufts, this book draws on years of research and teaching to deliver a truly interactive learning experience. Each case study is designed to facilitate class discussion, based on a series of increasingly detailed questions and answers that reinforce conceptual insights with numerical examples. Complete coverage of all areas of corporate finance includes capital structure and financing needs along with project and company valuation, with specific guidance on vital topics such as ratios and pro formas, dividends, debt maturity, asymmetric information, and more. Corporate finance is a complex field composed of a broad variety of sub-disciplines, each involving a specific skill set and nuanced body of knowledge. This text is designed to give you an intuitive understanding of the fundamentals to provide a solid foundation for more advanced study. Identify sources of funding and corporate capital structure Learn how managers increase the firm's value to shareholders Understand the tools and analysis methods used for allocation Explore the five methods of valuation with free cash flow to firm and equity Navigating the intricate operations of corporate finance requires a deep and instinctual understanding of the broad concepts and practical methods used every day. Interactive, discussion-based learning forces you to go beyond memorization and actually apply what you know, simultaneously developing your knowledge, skills, and instincts. Lessons in Corporate Finance provides a unique opportunity to go beyond traditional textbook study and gain skills that are useful in the field.
ISBN: 9781119207429Publication Date: 2016-03-16
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
Special topics in finance
Artificial Intelligence for Asset Management and Investment by
Make AI technology the backbone of your organization to compete in the Fintech era The rise of artificial intelligence is nothing short of a technological revolution. AI is poised to completely transform asset management and investment banking, yet its current application within the financial sector is limited and fragmented. Existing AI implementations tend to solve very narrow business issues, rather than serving as a powerful tech framework for next-generation finance. Artificial Intelligence for Asset Management and Investment provides a strategic viewpoint on how AI can be comprehensively integrated within investment finance, leading to evolved performance in compliance, management, customer service, and beyond. No other book on the market takes such a wide-ranging approach to using AI in asset management. With this guide, you'll be able to build an asset management firm from the ground up--or revolutionize your existing firm--using artificial intelligence as the cornerstone and foundation. This is a must, because AI is quickly growing to be the single competitive factor for financial firms. With better AI comes better results. If you aren't integrating AI in the strategic DNA of your firm, you're at risk of being left behind. See how artificial intelligence can form the cornerstone of an integrated, strategic asset management framework Learn how to build AI into your organization to remain competitive in the world of Fintech Go beyond siloed AI implementations to reap even greater benefits Understand and overcome the governance and leadership challenges inherent in AI strategy Until now, it has been prohibitively difficult to map the high-tech world of AI onto complex and ever-changing financial markets. Artificial Intelligence for Asset Management and Investment makes this difficulty a thing of the past, providing you with a professional and accessible framework for setting up and running artificial intelligence in your financial operations.
ISBN: 9781119601845Publication Date: 2021-01-13
Artificial intelligence in finance: A Python-based guide by
With this practical book, you'll learn how to use AI and machine learning to discover statistical inefficiencies in financial markets and exploit them through algorithmic trading.
ISBN: 9781492055389Publication Date: 2020
Artificial Intelligence in Financial Markets by
As technology advancement has increased, so to have computational applications for forecasting, modelling and trading financial markets and information, and practitioners are finding ever more complex solutions to financial challenges. Neural networking is a highly effective, trainable algorithmic approach which emulates certain aspects of human brain functions, and is used extensively in financial forecasting allowing for quick investment decision making. This book presents the most cutting-edge artificial intelligence (AI)/neural networking applications for markets, assets and other areas of finance. Split into four sections, the book first explores time series analysis for forecasting and trading across a range of assets, including derivatives, exchange traded funds, debt and equity instruments. This section will focus on pattern recognition, market timing models, forecasting and trading of financial time series. Section II provides insights into macro and microeconomics and how AI techniques could be used to better understand and predict economic variables. Section III focuses on corporate finance and credit analysis providing an insight into corporate structures and credit, and establishing a relationship between financial statement analysis and the influence of various financial scenarios. Section IV focuses on portfolio management, exploring applications for portfolio theory, asset allocation and optimization. This book also provides some of the latest research in the field of artificial intelligence and finance, and provides in-depth analysis and highly applicable tools and techniques for practitioners and researchers in this field.
ISBN: 9781137488800Publication Date: 2016-10-25
Bank 4. 0 by
Winner of best book by a foreign author (2019) at the Business Book of the Year Award organised by PwC Russia The future of banking is already here -- are you ready? Bank 4.0 explores the radical transformation already taking place in banking, and follows it to its logical conclusion. What will banking look like in 30 years? 50 years? The world's best banks have been forced to adapt to changing consumer behaviors; regulators are rethinking friction, licensing and regulation; Fintech start-ups and tech giants are redefining how banking fits in the daily life of consumers. To survive, banks are having to develop new capabilities, new jobs and new skills. The future of banking is not just about new thinking around value stores, payment and credit utility -- it's embedded in voice-based smart assistants like Alexa and Siri and soon smart glasses which will guide you on daily spending and money decisions. The coming Bank 4.0 era is one where either your bank is embedded in your world via tech, or it no longer exists. In this final volume in Brett King's BANK series, we explore the future of banks amidst the evolution of technology and discover a revolution already at work. From re-engineered banking systems, to selfie-pay and self-driving cars, Bank 4.0 proves that we're not on Wall Street anymore. Bank 4.0 will help you: Understand the historical precedents that flag a fundamental rethinking in banking Discover low-friction, technology experiences that undermine the products we sell today Think through the evolution of identity, value and assets as cash and cards become obsolete Learn how Fintech and tech "disruptors" are using behaviour, psychology and technology to reshape the economics of banking Examine the ways in which blockchain, A.I., augmented reality and other leading-edge tech are the real building blocks of the future of banking systems If you look at individual technologies or startups disrupting the space, you might miss the biggest signposts to the future and you might also miss that most of we've learned about banking the last 700 years just isn't useful. When the biggest bank in the world isn't any of the names you'd expect, when branch networks are a burden not an asset, and when advice is the domain of Artificial Intelligence, we may very well have to start from scratch. Bank 4.0 takes you to a world where banking will be instant, smart and ubiquitous, and where you'll have to adapt faster than ever before just to survive. Welcome to the future.
ISBN: 9781119506492Publication Date: 2018-12-28
Big Data Science in Finance by
Explains the mathematics, theory, and methods of Big Data as applied to finance and investing Data science has fundamentally changed Wall Street--applied mathematics and software code are increasingly driving finance and investment-decision tools. Big Data Science in Finance examines the mathematics, theory, and practical use of the revolutionary techniques that are transforming the industry. Designed for mathematically-advanced students and discerning financial practitioners alike, this energizing book presents new, cutting-edge content based on world-class research taught in the leading Financial Mathematics and Engineering programs in the world. Marco Avellaneda, a leader in quantitative finance, and quantitative methodology author Irene Aldridge help readers harness the power of Big Data. Comprehensive in scope, this book offers in-depth instruction on how to separate signal from noise, how to deal with missing data values, and how to utilize Big Data techniques in decision-making. Key topics include data clustering, data storage optimization, Big Data dynamics, Monte Carlo methods and their applications in Big Data analysis, and more. This valuable book: Provides a complete account of Big Data that includes proofs, step-by-step applications, and code samples Explains the difference between Principal Component Analysis (PCA) and Singular Value Decomposition (SVD) Covers vital topics in the field in a clear, straightforward manner Compares, contrasts, and discusses Big Data and Small Data Includes Cornell University-tested educational materials such as lesson plans, end-of-chapter questions, and downloadable lecture slides Big Data Science in Finance: Mathematics and Applications is an important, up-to-date resource for students in economics, econometrics, finance, applied mathematics, industrial engineering, and business courses, and for investment managers, quantitative traders, risk and portfolio managers, and other financial practitioners.
ISBN: 9781119602989Publication Date: 2021-01-27
Creating Strategic Value Through Financial Technology by
Lessons in innovation from key FinTech trends and successes Creating Strategic Value through Financial Technology explores the growing Financial Technology (FinTech) industry to provide insight on how traditional financial institutions and FinTech companies can boost innovation and enhance valuation in a complex regulatory environment. In plumbing the depth and breadth of several niches within in the FinTech sector, author Jay Wilson uncovers key themes that have contributed to the industry's success; in this book, he maps them together to provide useful guideposts for investors, entrepreneurs, and traditional institutions looking to facilitate growth as technology and financial services collide. With an expert's perspective on FinTech history and outlook, certain trends and examples of value-enhancing strategies stand out. FinTech niches covered include: payments, crowdfunding, alternative/marketplace lending, the blockchain, and technology solutions in the context of banking, insurance, and investment companies. There is no denying the growing importance of technology in the financial services industry, and the FinTech sector offers valuable solutions for a diverse array of financial services providers and their customers. This book guides you through several niches of the FinTech sector, and highlights the most important takeaways from recent endeavors. Navigate the financial technology sector Enhance customer and product offerings Improve efficiency and cost structure Enhance profitability and company valuation from the intersection of technology and finance Innovation and customer preference is a key driver of FinTech's growth. Customers are demanding better value and convenience, and the organizations that provide it are reaping the rewards of growth. As financial regulations grow more and more complex, and customers are presented with more and more options, it is becoming imperative for traditional institutions to modernize processes and carve out a place in the future of financial services. Creating Strategic Value through Financial Technology provides a handbook for navigating that space, with practical guidance on how FinTech companies and traditional financial institutions can enhance profitability and valuation from the trends.
ISBN: 9781119243755Publication Date: 2017-04-17
Digital Finance by
An essential look at technology and the future of finance from Baxter Hines, cofounder of Honeycomb Digital Investments.
ISBN: 9781663711915Publication Date: 2021-03-16
Digital transformation in financial services by
The author elaborates how an alternative model of banking will enable banks to predict, understand, navigate, and change the external ecosystem in which they compete. The five critical components of this model are data and information mastering; effective use of applied analytics; interconnectivity and "junction playing"; development of new business solutions; and trust and credibility assurance. The analysis is supported by a number of informative case studies.
ISBN: 9783319669458Publication Date: 2017
Digitalized Finance: Financial Capitalism and Informational Revolution by
In Digitalized Finance, Edemilson Paran investigates the relationship between the development of Information and Communication Technologies (ICT) and the process of financialization of economies on a global scale, particularly in Brazil. The book explains the influence of ICT in the emergence and consolidation, especially from the 1980s, of new forms of operation and management of the globalized financial system, highly connected, operated in "real time" with intensive use of technological features, and how these advances are related with the economic and social changes in question. It also describes how contemporary capital markets work, where the search for earnings is leveraged by sophisticated mathematical models, robots and automated trading software that seek financial gains in the milliseconds scale.
ISBN: 9789004352421Publication Date: 2018-11-29
Distributed ledgers: Design and regulation of financial infrastructure and payment systems by
Distributed ledger technology (DLT) has the potential to transform economic organization and financial structures. In this book, Robert Townsend steps back from the hype and controversy surrounding DLT (and the related, but not synonymous, innovations of blockchain and Bitcoin) to offer an economic analysis of what distributed ledgers can do and a blueprint for the optimal design and regulation of financial systems.
ISBN: 0262361191Publication Date: 2020
Emerging FinTech by
This book provides an overview of emerging technologies within Financial Services to allow firms to understand their real benefits and how to pragmatically implement them for maximum benefit. Financial Services and Technology (FinTech) have collaborated for decades with mutual benefit, and it is not unreasonable to expect this co-operation to continue, especially with the development of emerging technologies. However, both industries are facing challenges. Financial Services suffer from regulation, client, and risk pressures. Emerging technologies suffer from their inherent complexity and implementation challenges. It is imperative that Financial Services' firms understand emerging technologies to ensure they are implemented effectively to support both current business and future challenges. This book takes a pragmatic and critical review of Emerging Technologies exploring What the technologies are? How they can be used? How they can be implemented pragmatically? How they could help address future challenges? This book provides an overview of emerging technologies within Financial Services to allow firms to understand their real benefits and how to pragmatically implement them for maximum benefit.
ISBN: 9781637422489Publication Date: 2022-05-12
FinTech Innovation by
A survival guide for the FinTech era of banking FinTech Innovation examines the rise of financial technology and its growing impact on the global banking industry. Wealth managers are standing at the epicenter of a tectonic shift, as the balance of power between offering and demand undergoes a dramatic upheaval. Regulators are pushing toward a 'constrained offering' norm while private clients and independent advisors demand a more proactive role; practitioners need examine this banking evolution in detail to understand the mechanisms at work. This book presents analysis of the current shift and offers clear insight into what happens when established economic interests collide with social transformation. Business models are changing in profound ways, and the impact reaches further than many expect; the democratization of banking is revolutionizing the wealth management industry toward more efficient and client-centric advisory processes, and keeping pace with these changes has become a survival skill for financial advisors around the world. Social media, big data analytics and digital technology are disrupting the banking industry, which many have taken for granted as set in stone. This book shatters that assumption by illustrating the massive changes already underway, and provides thought leader insight into the changes yet to come. Examine the depth and breadth of financial technology Learn how regulations are driving changing business models Discover why investors may become the price-makers Understand the forces at work behind the rise of FinTech Information asymmetry has dominated the banking industry for centuries, keeping the bank/investor liability neatly aligned--but this is changing, and understanding and preparing for the repercussions must be a top priority for wealth managers everywhere. Financial Innovation shows you where the bar is being re-set and gives you the insight you need to keep up.
ISBN: 9781119226987Publication Date: 2016-09-26
Financial regulation and technology: A legal and compliance guide by
This important book analyses recurring issues within financial services regulation relevant to the use of technology, at a time when competition is moving towards greater use of technology in the financial services sector.
ISBN: 9781802205411Publication Date: 2022
FinTech As a Disruptive Technology for Financial Institutions by
Financial institutions are tasked with keeping businesses of all sizes financially sounds while also providing accessible banking options to everyday individuals. Fintech, or financial technology, is an emerging disruptive technology in financial transaction that will change banking behavior for stakeholders and enable better traceability of funds against specific assets. FinTech as a Disruptive Technology for Financial Institutions is an essential reference source that discusses applications of FinTech in financial institutions in small, medium, and large businesses and through cultural and religious filters. Featuring research on topics such as machine learning, market development, crypto-currency, financial security, blockchain, and financial technology, this book is ideally designed for bankers, business managers, economists, computer scientists, academicians, researchers, financial professionals, and students.
ISBN: 9781522578055Publication Date: 2018-12-30
Fintech by
This extraordinary book, written by leading players in a burgeoning technology revolution, is about the merger of finance and technology (fintech), and covers its various aspects and how they impact each discipline within the financial services industry. It is an honest and direct analysis of where each segment of financial services will stand. Fintech: The New DNA of Financial Services provides an in-depth introduction to understanding the various areas of fintech and terminology such as AI, big data, robo-advisory, blockchain, cryptocurrency, InsurTech, cloud computing, crowdfunding and many more. Contributions from fintech innovators discuss banking, insurance and investment management applications, as well as the legal and human resource implications of fintech in the future.
ISBN: 9781547417087Publication Date: 2018-12-03
The Future of FinTech by
This book provides an introduction to the state of the art in financial technology (FinTech) and the current applications of FinTech in digital banking. It is a comprehensive guide to the various technologies, products, processes, and business models integral to the FinTech environment. Covering key definitions and characteristics, models and best practice, as well as presenting relevant case studies related to FinTech and e-Business, this book helps build a theoretical framework for future discussion.
ISBN: 9783319514147Publication Date: 2017-03-10
Global fintech: Financial innovation in the connected world by
The book offers accessible explanations of blockchain and distributed ledger technology and explores big data analytics. It considers, among other things, open banking, platform-based strategies for banks, and digital financial services. Case studies imagine possible future fintech-government interaction, emphasizing that legal and regulatory frameworks can help to create trust in financial processes.
ISBN: 0262369532Publication Date: 2022
Implementing machine learning for finance by
Bring together machine learning ()ML) and deep learning (DL) in financial trading, with an emphasis on investment management. This book explains systematic approaches to investment portfolio management, risk analysis, and performance analysis, including predictive analytics using data science procedures.
ISBN: 9781484271100Publication Date: 2021
Quantum Finance: Intelligent Forecast and Trading Systems by
This book presents a selection of the author’s past 15 years’ R&D work and practical implementation of the Quantum Finance Forecast System – which integrates quantum field theory and related AI technologies to design and develop intelligent global financial forecast and quantum trading systems.
ISBN: 9789813297968Publication Date: 2020
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
The Age of Cryptocurrency by
Bitcoin became a buzzword overnight. A cyber-enigma with an enthusiastic following, it pops up in headlines and fuels endless media debate. You can apparently use it to buy anything from coffee to cars, yet few people seem to truly understand what it is. This raises the question: Why should anyone care about bitcoin? InThe Age of Cryptocurrency, Wall Street journalists Paul Vigna and Michael J. Casey deliver the definitive answer to this question. Cybermoney is poised to launch a revolution, one that could reinvent traditional financial and social structures while bringing the world's billions of "unbanked" individuals into a new global economy. Cryptocurrency holds the promise of a financial system without a middleman, one owned by the people who use it and one safeguarded from the devastation of a 2008-type crash. But bitcoin, the most famous of the cybermonies, carries a reputation for instability, wild fluctuation, and illicit business; some fear it has the power to eliminate jobs and to upend the concept of a nation state. It implies, above all, monumental and wide-reaching change-for better and for worse. But it is here to stay, and you ignore it at your peril. Vigna and Casey demystify cryptocurrency-its origins, its function, and what you need to know to navigate a cyber-economy. The digital currency world will look very different from the paper currency world;The Age of Cryptocurrency will teach you how to be ready.
ISBN: 9781250065636Publication Date: 2015-01-27
Applications, Challenges, and Opportunities of Blockchain Technology in Banking and Insurance by
The surge in technological transformation affects all business model phases over many industries. Emerging technologies provide new avenues for industries to increase their competitive advantage and enhance economic progression. Blockchain technology's ability to build an open and trustworthy network model seems to promote shared IT-based networks in banking, insurance, and other similar industries. The adoption of blockchain in the banking and insurance industry is developing rapidly. Applications, Challenges, and Opportunities of Blockchain Technology in Banking and Insurance explores how blockchain technologies optimize and integrate the transactions and operations in association with access to information and reduction in communication costs and negligible data transfer errors. It includes studies on various banking and insurance industries intending to use blockchain technology to make transactions convenient, simple, and safe. Covering topics such as cryptocurrency, digital transformation, and small and medium-sized enterprises, this premier reference source is an essential resource for policymakers, government officials, students and educators of higher education, libraries, banking managers, insurance professionals, researchers, and academicians.
ISBN: 9781668441350Publication Date: 2022-06-03
Blockchain for Dummies by
Unravel the mysteries of blockchains Blockchain technologies are disrupting some of the world's biggest industries. Blockchain For Dummies provides a fast way to catch up with the essentials of this quickly evolving tech. Written by an author involved in founding and analyzing blockchain solutions, this book serves to help those who need to understand what a blockchain can do (and can't do). This revised edition walks you through how a blockchainsecurely records data across independent networks. It offers a tour of some of the world's best-known blockchains, including those that power Bitcoin and other cryptocurrencies. It also provides a glance at how blockchain solutions are affecting the worlds of finance, supply chain management, insurance, and governments. Get a clear picture of what a blockchain can do Learn how blockchains rule cryptocurrency and smart contracts Discover current blockchains and how each of them work Test blockchain apps Blockchain has become the critical buzzword in the world of financial technology and transaction security -- and now you can make sense of it with the help of this essential guide.
ISBN: 1119555132Publication Date: 2019-04-03
Crypto Asset Investing in the Age of Autonomy by
We've seen evidence that a new economic cycle has begun. Technological revolutions come by way of a cluster of new innovations. About a decade ago, you started to see AI, robotics, and IoT (sensors) delivering on automation. That's been powerful, but not transformational. It does not force businesses to fundamentally change how they do business. The last piece of the puzzle is cryptocurrency because it allows us to process and transfer economic value without human intervention. Soon, there will be a global race to build autonomous operations. Businesses and organizations without autonomous operations simply will not be able to compete with those that do because autonomy is the ultimate competitive advantage.Crypto is the mechanism that will accrue value from being the infrastructure for the next digital financial revolution. Crypto Asset Investing in the Age of Autonomy lays out a case that we've begun a new technological revolution similar to the Internet Age of the 1990s. Artificial intelligence, the Internet of Things, robotics, and cryptocurrency are converging to deliver on a new age, what author Jake Ryan calls the Age of Autonomy. Understanding the transformation that's taken place before anyone else can yield enormous investment opportunity. In this book, you'll learn how and why to invest in crypto assets.
ISBN: 9781469082721Publication Date: 2021-02-16
Cryptocurrencies and the Blockchain Revolution: Bitcoin and Beyond. by
Author Brendan January delves into the world of coders, libertarians, criminals, financial regulators, and crypto-detectives to understand what digital cryptocurrencies have to offer, their limitations and potential pitfalls, security issues, and how they may affect government and financial regulations in the future.
ISBN: 9781728411521Publication Date: 2021
Cryptocurrency Investing For Dummies by
This book explores the hot topics and market moving events affecting cryptocurrency prices and shows you how to develop the smartest investment strategies based on your unique risk tolerance.
ISBN: 9781705249833Publication Date: 2020
CryptoDad by
An insider's account of the rise of digital money and cryptocurrencies Dubbed "CryptoDad" for his impassioned plea to Congress to acknowledge and respect cryptocurrencies as the inevitable product of a fast-growing technological wave and a free marketplace, Chris Giancarlo is considered one of "the most influential individuals in financial regulation." CryptoDad: The Fight for the Future of Money describes Giancarlo's own reckoning with the future of the global economy--at the intersection of markets, technology, and public policy--and lays out the fight for a Digital Dollar. CryptoDad is Giancarlo's own personal story, detailing his forays into the world of Wall Street to his tenure as the 13th Chairman of the United States Commodity Futures Trading Commission (CFTC), where he pushed for the agency to recognize the digitization of markets. His growing fame as a Twitter presence in this essential debate has given Giancarlo a platform to makes a case for the future of cryptocurrencies as the natural successor to America's current failing financial market infrastructure. CryptoDad provides readers with: A thorough exploration of digital change and how it affects the lives of everyone in a global economy A revolutionary consideration of regulatory responses to the rapid pace of technological innovation A call to update our aging financial organizations, particularly the infrastructure of money itself, and focus on renewed faith and confidence in free market innovation A foreword by Cameron and Tyler Winklevoss, two of the biggest names in cryptocurrencies CryptoDad argues that the next digital wave will be the coming Internet of Value, where cryptocurrencies will do the Internet of Information did to immaterial things: make them accessible, distributable, and movable instantly across the globe. This book is an ideal introduction to the importance of technology in the marketplace.
ISBN: 9781119855095Publication Date: 2021-10-18
Decentralized Finance: Understand The Future of Finance by
Cryptocurrencies are only the beginning as innovators and developers have started to penetrate al most every traditional finance solution. Decentralized alternatives are becoming more popular over time and giving people who are traditionally left behind a chance to make use of financial instruments as well.
ISBN: 9781484279694Publication Date: 2022
DeFi and the Future of Finance by
During the Global Financial Crisis in 2008, our financial infrastructure failed. Governments bailed out the very institutions that let the economy down. This episode spurred a serious rethink of our financial system. Does it make any sense that it takes two days to settle a stock transaction? Why do retailers, operating on razor thin margins, have to pay 3% for every customer credit card swipe? Why does it take two days to transfer money from a bank account to a brokerage--or any other company? Why are savings rates miniscule or negative? Why is it so difficult for entrepreneurs to get financing at traditional banks? In DeFi and the Future of Finance, Campbell R. Harvey, Ashwin Ramachandran and Joey Santoro, introduce the new world of Decentralized Finance. The book argues that the current financial landscape is ripe for disruption and we are seeing, in real time, the reinvention of finance. The authors provide the reader with a clear assessment of the problems with the current financial system and how DeFi solves many of these problems. The essence of DeFi is that we interact with peers--there is no brick and mortar and all of the associated costs. Savings and lending are reinvented. Trading takes place with algorithms far removed from traditional brokerages. The book conducts a deep dive on some of the most innovative protocols such as Uniswap and Compound. Many of the companies featured in the book you might not have heard of--however, you will in the future. As with any new technology, there are a myriad of risks and the authors carefully catalogue these risks and assess which ones can be successfully mitigated. Ideally suited for people working in any part of the finance industry as well as financial policy makers, DeFi and the Future of Finance gives readers a vision of the future. The world of finance will fundamentally be changed over the coming decade. The book enables you to become part of the disruption - not the target of the disruption.
ISBN: 9781119836025Publication Date: 2021-08-19
Handbook of Digital Currency by
Incorporating currencies, payment methods, and protocols that computers use to talk to each other, digital currencies are poised to grow in use and importance. The Handbook of Digital Currency gives readers a way to learn about subjects outside their specialties and provides authoritative background and tools for those whose primary source of information is journal articles. Taking a cross-country perspective, its comprehensive view of the field includes history, technicality, IT, finance, economics, legal, tax and regulatory environment. For those who come from different backgrounds with different questions in mind, The Handbook of Digital Currency is an essential starting point. Discusses all major strategies and tactics associated with digital currencies, their uses, and their regulations Presents future scenarios for the growth of digital currencies Written for regulators, crime prevention units, tax authorities, entrepreneurs, micro-financiers, micro-payment businesses, cryptography experts, software developers, venture capitalists, hedge fund managers, hardware manufacturers, credit card providers, money changers, remittance service providers, exchanges, and academics Winner of the 2015 "Outstanding Business Reference Source" by the Reference and User Services Association (RUSA)
ISBN: 9780128023518Publication Date: 2015-05-05
The Internet of Value: How distributed ledger technologies will reshape the financial services industry by ISBN: 9781492073079Publication Date: 2019
The Promise of Bitcoin: The Future of Money and How It Can Work for You by
In this book, Bobby C. Lee, one of the earliest, most successful pioneers in the cryptocurrency space, debunks myths and dispels fears that surround Bitcoin, arguing that this rational, logical system is superior to traditional monetary systems.
ISBN: 9781260468687Publication Date: 2021- A short & happy guide to bitcoin, blockchain, and crypto by
Among the topics covered are: tasks blockchains perform better than existing systems; practical, technological, and regulatory issues that must be overcome before widespread adoption; how crypto became a $250 billion asset class in just ten years; and the legal and regulatory treatment of blockchain technologies and crypto.
ISBN: 9781647083830Publication Date: 2020
- Take Control of Cryptocurrency by
In Take Control of Cryptocurrency , Glenn Fleishman casts aside the headlines and hype around cryptocurrency to dig in on the fundamentals. You learn everything you need to know as an individual from the ground up about cryptocurrency, including details about the popular forms of it. You'll find out what risks it poses for the planet-and for your pocketbook.
ISBN: 9781954546073Publication Date: 2021
The Truth about Crypto by
A SABEW BEST IN BUSINESS BOOK AWARDS FINALIST A straightforward, practical guide to the newest frontier in investment strategy--crypto--from #1 New York Times bestselling author and personal finance expert Ric Edelman. Blockchain and bitcoin are here to stay--and as the Bank of England stated, this new technology could "transform the global financial system." No wonder PWC says blockchain technology will add $2 trillion to the world's $80 trillion economy by 2030. Indeed, blockchain technology and the digital assets it makes possible are revolutionary, the most profound innovation for commerce since the invention of the internet. And yet, the average investor--and the investment advisors who manage two-thirds of all their money--aren't aware of all this, or of the incredible investment opportunities now available. Fortunately, Ric Edelman, one of the most influential experts in the financial field, shows investors how they can engage and thrive in today's new investment marketplace. Featuring the prophetic insights you'd expect from one of most acclaimed financial advisors, The Truth About Crypto is fun to read and easy to understand--and most importantly gives readers the sound, practical advice we all need to succeed with this new asset class. Best of all, Edelman shows how blockchain works, the difference between digital currency and digital assets, and a comprehensive look at every aspect of the field. This book is a must-read guide if you want to achieve investment success today.
ISBN: 9781668002322Publication Date: 2022-05-10
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
Designing a sustainable financial system: Development goals and socio-ecological responsibility by
This edited collection brings together leading theoretical and applied research with the intent to design a sustainable global financial future. The contributors argue that our world cannot move toward sustainability, address climate change, reverse environmental degradation, and improve human well-being without aligning the financial system with sustainable development goals like those outlined by the United Nations.
ISBN: 9783319663876Publication Date: 2018
Environmental, Social, and Governance (ESG) Investing by
Environmental, Social, and Governance (ESG) Investing: A Balanced Analysis of the Theory and Practice of a Sustainable Portfolio presents a balanced, thorough analysis of ESG factors as they are incorporated into the investment process. An estimated 25% of all new investments are in ESG funds, with a global total of $23 trillion and the U.S. accounting for almost $9 trillion. Many advocate the sustainability goals promoted by ESG, while others prefer to maximize returns and spend their earnings on social causes. The core problem facing those who want to promote sustainability goals is to define sustainability investing and measure its returns. This book examines theories and their practical implications, illuminating issues that other books leave in the shadows. Provides a dispassionate examination of ESG investing Presents the historical arguments for maximizing returns and competing theories to support an ESG approach Reviews case studies of empirical evidence about relative returns of both traditional and ESG investment approaches
ISBN: 9780128186930Publication Date: 2020-01-30
Finance and Sustainable Development by
There are many studies confirming the relationship between financial systems and economic development, but there are few which examine the degree to which financial systems a) impact the quality of information, b) influence sound corporate governance, c) ensure effective mechanisms of risk management, d) mobilize savings and f) facilitate trade. In the context of sustainability, there should also be a line of inquiry into how a particular financial system influences the assurance and implementation of sustainable development principles and goals. This book delivers a methodological approach to designing and assessing sustainable financial systems. It provides an original contribution by prioritizing ESG factors in the decision-making process of financial institutions and identifying their impact on sustainable financial systems. The author argues that to achieve financial stability, it is necessary to have in place mechanisms designed to prevent financial problems from becoming systemic and/or threatening the stability of the financial and economic system, while maintaining (or not undermining) the economy's ability to sustain growth and perform its other functions. The book primarily takes a simulation and experimental approach. It is the first book to take such a comprehensive look at sustainable financial systems as opposed to sustainable finance in general. It will appeal to academics, students and researchers in the fields of economics, finance and banking, business, management and political and social sciences.
ISBN: 9781003011132Publication Date: 2020-12-28
Global Handbook of Impact Investing by
Discover how to invest your capital to achieve a powerful, lasting impact on the world. The Global Handbook of Impact Investing: Solving Global Problems Via Smarter Capital Markets Towards A More Sustainable Society is an insightful guide to the growing world-wide movement of Impact Investing. Impact investors seek to realize lasting, beneficial improvements in society by allocating capital to sources of impactful and sustainable profit. This Handbook is a how-to guide for institutional investors, including family offices, foundations, endowments, governments, and international organizations, as well as academics, students, and everyday investors globally. The Handbook´s wide-ranging contributions from around the world make a powerful case for positive impact and profit to fund substantive, lasting solutions that solve critical problems across the world. Edited by two experienced and distinguished professionals in the sustainable investing arena and authored by two dozen renowned experts from finance, academia, and multilateral organizations from around the world, the Global Handbook of Impact Investing educates, inspires, and spurs action towards more responsible investing across all asset classes, resulting in smarter capital markets, including how to: · Realize positive impact and profit · Integrate impact into investment decision-making and portfolio · Allocate impactful investments across all asset classes · Apply unique Impact Investing frameworks · Measure, evaluate and report on impact · Learn from case examples around the globe · Pursue Best Practices in Impact Investing and impact reporting While other resources may take a local or limited approach to the subject, this Handbook gathers global knowledge and results from public and private institutions spanning five continents. The authors also make a powerful case for the ability of Impact Investing to lead to substantive and lasting change that addresses critical problems across the world.
ISBN: 9781119690641Publication Date: 2020-12-30
Rethinking Finance in the Face of New Challenges by
Rethinking Finance in the Face of New Challengesprovides an overview of the new research perspectives devoted to financial activity, reconsidering the opposition between orthodox and heterodox schools of finance. The purpose is to identify new theoretical and practical issues around the concepts of values, radical uncertainty, and financial instability, but also to examine the consequences of the financialisation process on the dynamics of organisations and markets, as well as on value production mechanisms. This fifteenth volume of Critical Studies on Corporate Responsibility, Governance and Sustainabilitybegins by exploring the globalisation and financialisation of economies, central banks and corporate strategies before switching to focus on financial value as a historically situated social construct. The book then examines the relationship between finance, social value and sustainable development and presents several avenues for reflection with a view to a paradigmatic renewal of research and teaching in finance. At a time when an unprecedented infectious and sanitary crisis is generating disastrous financial, economic, social and societal repercussions, the work presented in this book will stimulate reflection and contribute to the renewal of a Finance that now has to face many new social, societal and environmental challenges.
ISBN: 9781801177900Publication Date: 2021-10-25
Sustainable Finance and Impact Investing by
This book provides readers with a basic understanding of sustainable finance and impact investing including history, definitions of impact, current trends and drivers, future challenges, and an overview of the key players in the global impact ecosystem. The term impact investing first appeared in 2008. Today the most commonly used definition is investing made with the intention to generate positive, measurable social and environmental impact alongside a financial return. A wide range of individual and institutional investors that have already entered the impact investment marketplace and continued growing enthusiasm can be expected given that feedback from investors indicated that portfolio performance has generally met or exceed their expectations for both social and environmental impact and financial return. Established companies have been compelled to respond to calls by institutional investors to incorporate responsible environmental, social, and governance initiatives into their business models as a condition to continued support in public capital markets. Other companies seeking to demonstrate to impact investors their commitment to environmental and social responsibility have opted for emerging forms of legal entities, so-called social enterprises, which explicitly incorporate sustainability and multi-stakeholder interests into their governance and reporting frameworks. This book provides readers with a basic understanding of sustainable finance and impact investing including history, definitions of impact, current trends and drivers, future challenges, and an overview of the key players in the global impact ecosystem. The book also describes impact investment structures and instruments, social enterprises, and impact measurement and reporting.
ISBN: 9781637420034Publication Date: 2021-02-09
Sustainable Finance by
This book provides a detailed yet succinct overview of sustainable finance, with a specific focus on its origins, its policy focus and the practitioner dimension. With fossil fuel companies still attracting investment and subsidy across the world, the book describes how we can reverse these incentives, using the power of finance to tackle the climate and ecological crises. The world of finance is moving beyond the era of ethical investment and into a future where all financial companies will have to report the climate impact of their investments. This is the first stage towards full-scale ESG reporting (Environmental, Social and Governance). Since financial reporting depends on information provided by companies who receive investment, this has huge implications for non-financial reporting by all large companies. The timeline for these legal changes is short for what will be a transformation of financial accounting and investment. The book also covers the related issues of climate finance and the role of central and public banks in funding the transition to sustainability, and how we can ensure accountability for countries bearing the brunt of the impact from those with the largest responsibility for historic emissions. This book will enable those working in these fields to update their knowledge and skills, and brings together the author's practical experience as an MEP with her academic insight as the first professor of green economics.
ISBN: 9783030915773Publication Date: 2021-12-18
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
Exam prep/practice tests
- DSST principles of finance practice test. 1. This first 100-question practice test will prepare you for the DSST® Principles of Finance exam. Use the instant scoring and detailed answer explanations to determine where you're strong and what you can work on improving.Publication Date: 2022
- DSST principles of finance practice test. 2. This second 100-question practice test will prepare you for the DSST® Principles of Finance exam. Use the instant scoring and detailed answer explanations to determine where you're strong and what yo u can work on improving.Publication Date: 2022
Master the DSST Personal Finance Exam by
The nationally recognized credit-by-exam DSST® program helps students earn college credits for learning acquired outside the traditional classroom such as; learning from on-the-job training, reading, or independent study. DSST® tests offer students a cost-effective, time-saving way to use the knowledge they've acquired outside of the classroom to accomplish their education goals. Peterson's® Master the(tm) DSST® Personal Finance Exam provides a general overview of the subjects students will encounter on the exam such as credit and debt; major purchases; taxes; insurance; investments; and retirement and estate planning. This valuable resource includes: Diagnostic pre-test with detailed answer explanations Assessment Grid designed to help identify areas that need focus Subject Matter Review proving a general overview of the subjects, followed by a review of the relevant topics and terminology covered on the exam Post-test offering 60 questions all with detailed answer explanations Key information about the DSST® such as, what to expect on test day and how to register and prepare for the DSST®
ISBN: 9780768944662Publication Date: 2021-04-27
Master the DSST Principles of Finance Exam by
The nationally recognized credit-by-exam DSST® program helps students earn college credits for learning acquired outside the traditional classroom such as; learning from on-the-job training, reading, or independent study. DSST® tests offer students a cost-effective, time-saving way to use the knowledge they've acquired outside of the classroom to accomplish their education goals. Peterson's® Master the(tm) DSST® Principles of Finance Exam provides a general overview of the subjects students will encounter on the exam such as financial statements and planning, time value of money, working capital management, cost of capital, capital budgeting, etc. This valuable resource includes: Diagnostic pre-test with detailed answer explanations Assessment Grid designed to help identify areas that need focus Subject Matter Review proving a general overview of the subjects, followed by a review of the relevant topics and terminology covered on the exam Post-test offering 60 questions all with detailed answer explanations Key information about the DSST® such as, what to expect on test day and how to register and prepare for the DSST®
ISBN: 9780768944693Publication Date: 2021-04-27- The Technical Interview Guide to Investment Banking by
Win the recruiting race with the ultimate analyst's guide to the interview The Complete, Technical Interview Guide to Investment Banking is the aspiring investment banker's guide to acing the interview and beginning your journey to the top. By merging a 'study guide' to the field with a forecast of the interview, this book helps you prepare for both content and structure; you'll brush up on important topics while getting a preview of the questions your interviewers are likely to ask. Covering financial statements, valuation, mergers and acquisitions, and leveraged buyouts, the discussion provides the answers to common technical questions while refreshing your understanding of the core technical analyses behind core models and analyses. Each chapter includes a list of the questions you will almost certainly be asked--along with the answers that interviewers want to hear--from the basic Q&A to the advanced technical analyses and case studies. This guide will reinforce your knowledge and give you the confidence to handle anything they can throw at you. You will receive an expert synopsis of the major points you need to know, to ensure your understanding and ability to handle the multitude of questions in each area. Double-check your conceptual grasp of core finance topics Plan your responses to common technical and analysis questions Understand how to analyze and solve technical analyses and cases Gain insight into what interviewers want to hear from potential hires Become the candidate they can't turn away You've positioned yourself as a competitive candidate, and the right job right now can chart your entire career's trajectory. Now you just have to win the recruiting race. The Complete, Technical Interview Guide to Investment Banking is the ultimate preparation guide to getting the job you want.
ISBN: 9781119161394Publication Date: 2017-02-28
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
Books by NSU faculty
- Making Sense of Accounting and FinanceSouthwest University of Finance and Economics Press
2020 - Entrepreneur's Handbook: Be InspiredAmazon Direct Publishing
2020 - Entrepreneur's HandbookChina Renmin University Press
2017
Browse books by topic
To discover books on various topics related to finance, please use one of the suggested subjects below