Books
-
Business Cases That Get Results
by
A persuasive, well-written business case can win over the decision makers in your organisation and get you the all important approval you need for your business idea.In this book you'll discover the do's and don'ts of pitching your ideas through a business case. You'll learn what the essential components of a business case are, including what key questions you should be answering, how to structure your business case, factors to consider when thinking about benefits and risks, and how best to tackle ROI.
ISBN: 9781780174563Publication Date: 2019-01-31 -
Business Integrity in Practice: Insights from international case studies
by
The quest for integrity in business is not only a reaction against malfeasance in business and associated calls for reform but also a search that stems from changes and new demands in the global business environment. Among the sources of these new demands are the expectations of stakeholders that corporations and their leaders will take more active roles as citizens within society and in the fight against some of the most pressing problems in the world, such as poverty, environmental degradation, defending human rights, corruption, and pandemic diseases. This book presents and critically discusses key case studies from all over the world, offering essential insights, practical advice, and guidance for any business leader wishing to lead an organization with reliable and proven integrity. The authors provide valuable research results as well as real teaching tools for faculty and students.
ISBN: 9781606494950Publication Date: 2012-11-18 -
Business Process Management Cases
by
This book is the first to present a rich selection of over 30 real-world cases of how leading organizations conduct Business Process Management (BPM). The cases stem from a diverse set of industry sectors and countries on different continents, reporting on best practices and lessons learned. The book showcases how BPM can contribute to both exploitation and exploration in a digital world. All cases are presented using a uniform structure in order to provide valuable insights and essential guidance for students and practitioners.
ISBN: 9783319583068Publication Date: 2017-08-29 -
Cases and exercises in organization development & change
by
Designed for courses in organization development and change, this is a comprehensive collection of case studies and exercises. Original cases are written by experts in the field and designed to focus very precisely on a specific topic in the OD process or intervention method. Each case is accompanied by learning objectives, discussion questions, references, and suggested additional readings.
ISBN: 9781483387444Publication Date: 2012 -
Cases in Entrepreneurship
by
The Ivey Casebooks Series is a co-publishing partnership between SAGE Publications and the Richard Ivey School of Business at The University of Western Ontario. Due to their popularity more than 60 countries, approximately 200 new cases are added to the Ivey School of Business library each year. Each of the casebooks comes equipped with instructor resources on CD-ROM available upon request. These affordable collections will not only help students connect to real-world situations, but will benefit corporations seeking continued education in the field as well. Cases in Entrepreneurship: The Venture Creation Process is the first book to be based upon a cognitive framework of entrepreneurship. These cases are compatible with courses in Entrepreneurship, and New Venture Management at the undergraduate and MBA level in schools of business. The instructor's resources on CD-ROM includes detailed 6-10 page casenotes for each case, preparation questions for students to review before class, discussion questions, and suggested further readings.This Casebook has been organized based on the following concepts:Searching for ideas Screening those ideas for business opportunity Planning how to exploit the opportunity Financing the opportunity Setting up / Starting up the business Growing the business Harvesting the value created in the businessThe IVEY Casebook SeriesCases in Business EthicsCases in EntrepreneurshipCases in Gender & Diversity in OrganizationsCases in Operations ManagementCases in Organizational BehaviorCases in the Environment of BusinessCases in Alliance Management Mergers and Acquisitions: Text and Cases
ISBN: 1412909767Publication Date: 2005-07-15 -
Case Studies in Social Entrepreneurship
by
This book is an essential resource for the increasing number of facilitators who wish to help students learn about the promise and pitfalls of social enterprise. The oikos-Ashoka case competition for social entrepreneurship was conceived in 2007 as a way to help find great material and case studies in this emerging field. This fourth collection of oikos case studies is based on the winning cases from the 2010 to 2014 annual case competitions. These cases have been highly praised because they provide excellent learning opportunities, tell engaging stories, deal with recent situations, include quotations from key actors, are thought-provoking and controversial, require decision-making and provide clear take-aways. This new volume of social entrepreneurship case studies highlights cases from around the globe authored by teachers from around the globe. The selected cases span many industries and geographic contexts; nevertheless, they are connected by a shared ambition: to highlight the power of entrepreneurship to solve social problems. The cases are clustered in three different sections: Socially oriented Enterprise Cases - Health and Fair trade, Ecologically oriented social enterprises, and Corporate Social Entrepreneurship. Case Studies in Social Entrepreneurship will be an essential purchase for educators and is likely to be a widely used as a course textbook at all levels of management education. Online Teaching Notes to accompany each chapter are available on request with the purchase of the book.
ISBN: 9781783530694Publication Date: 2014-10-22 -
Case studies in strategic management: A practical approach
by
ISBN: 9788131759844Publication Date: 2012 -
The Case Study Handbook
by
If you're enrolled in an executive education or MBA program, you've probably encountered a powerful learning tool: the business case. But if you're like many people, you may find interpreting and writing about cases mystifying, challenging, or downright frustrating. In "The Case Study Handbook", William Ellet presents a potent new approach for analyzing, discussing, and writing about cases. Early chapters show how to classify cases according to the analytical task they require (solving a problem, making a decision, or forming an evaluation) and quickly establish a base of knowledge about a case. Strategies and templates, in addition to several sample Harvard Business School cases, help you apply the author's framework. Later in the book, Ellet shows how to write persuasive case-analytical essays based on the process laid out earlier. Extensive examples of effective and ineffective writing further reinforce your learning. The book also includes a chapter on how to talk about cases more effectively in class. Any current or prospective MBA or executive education student needs to read this book.
ISBN: 1422101584Publication Date: 2007-04-17 -
-
-
Project Management Case Studies and Lessons Learned
by
Project managers who lead globally dispersed teams face unique challenges in managing project stakeholders, scope, knowledge sharing, schedules, resources, and above all team execution in a global business environment. Finding timely solutions to challenging events becomes more difficult in a global project environment. This book presents more than
ISBN: 9781498700436Publication Date: 2014-12-01 -
-
Strategic Marketing Management Cases
by
Focusing on the major decision-making challenges facing marketing managers in the late 1990s, this text's cases include a broad range of companies. It reflects marketing management priorities: market orientation, growth strategies, and target market strategies.
ISBN: 0256261253Publication Date: 1998-07-01 -
The Success Case Method
by
Each year, organizations spend millions of dollars trying out new innovations and improvements-and millions will be wasted if they can't quickly find out what's working and what is not. The Success Case Method offers a breakthrough evaluation technique that is easier, faster, and cheaper than competing approaches, and produces compelling evidence decision-makers can actually use. Because it seeks out the best stories of how real individuals have actually used innovations, The Success Case Method can ferret out success no matter how small or infrequent. It can salvage the few "gems" of success from a larger initiative that is not doing well or find out how to make a partially successful effort even more successful. The practical methods and tools in this book can help those who initiate and foster change, including leaders, executives, managers, consultants, training directors, and anyone else who is trying to make things work better in organizations get the greatest returns for their investments.
ISBN: 1576751856Publication Date: 2003-01-12
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
-
The anatomy of the case study
by
The book grounds complex theoretical insights in real world research and includes an extended example that has been annotated line by line to take the reader through each step of understanding and conducting research using case study.
ISBN: 9781473920156Publication Date: 2015
-
Case Study Research
by
Providing a complete portal to the world of case study research, the Fifth Edition of Robert K. Yin′s bestselling text offers comprehensive coverage of the design and use of the case study method as a valid research tool. The book offers a clear definition of the case study method as well as discussion of design and analysis techniques. The Fifth Edition has been updated with nine new case studies, three new appendices, seven tutorials presented at the end of relevant chapters, increased coverage of values and ethics, expanded discussion on logic models, a brief glossary, and completely updated citations. This book includes exemplary case studies drawn from a wide variety of academic fields.
ISBN: 9781452242569Publication Date: 2013-05-10 -
Case study research for business
by
Using a step-by-step approach, Case Study Research for Business takes you right through the case study research process from research design and data collection using qualitative and quantitative methods, to research analysis, writing up and presenting your work.
ISBN: 9781446287910Publication Date: 2012
-
Case study research in business and management
by
Each business discipline has its own methodological predilections and as a corollary, a view of what constitutes a case study, where case studies should feature in a research project and the relative usefulness of case study research. Given this breadth of disciplines, only a provisional definition of a case study will be provided at this point; namely, a case study is research into a phenomenon.
ISBN: 9781529746150Publication Date: 2020
-
Case theory in business and management: Reinventing case study research
by
This book will appeal to students, academics and researchers who are interested in the science and philosophy behind case study research as well as the methodology and a thought-provoking read for anyone who wants to be challenged about their belief of case study theory.
ISBN: 9781473920811Publication Date: 2017
-
Conducting case study research for business and management students
by
In Case Study Research, Bill Lee and Mark N.K. Saunders describe the properties of case study designs in organizational research, exploring the uses, advantages and limitations of case research. They also demonstrate the flexibility that case designs offer, and challenges the myths surrounding this approach.
ISBN: 9781529716702Publication Date: 2017
-
Doing case study research: A practical guide for beginning researchers
by
Book Features:
Straightforward introduction to the science of doing case study research.
A step-by-step approach that speaks directly to the novice investigator.
Many concrete examples to illustrate key concepts.
Questions, illustrations, and activities to reinforce what has been learned.
ISBN: 9780807779828Publication Date: 2021 -
-
How to Write Great Business Cases
by
Offering a step-by-step guide on how to write an impactful decision-based teaching case for business education, this book aids in the creation of resources that will be essential for an academic curriculum. It demonstrates how the case and teaching note can be prepared and presented for a successful submission to publishers. How to Write Great Business Cases provides concise case writing guidance applicable to case writers from any business discipline. It covers the core elements of writing a decision-based case such as interviews and case testing. Ultimately, readers of this essential book will be taught how to write an engaging business case that will pique students' interests. This accessible book will be perfect for novice case writers endeavouring to succeed in the case writing process, with particular focus applied to North American case writing opportunities. It will additionally be beneficial for experienced case researchers as well as academics of business and management wishing to enrich their practice and author further publications. How to Write Great Business Cases delivers just what its title promises--a practical guide to crafting cases that engage students and instructors' manuals that show how to meet learning objectives in the classroom. Useful for both new and experienced writers, this book covers it all, from selecting a topic to getting your case published."-Anne T. Lawrence, PhD Chair, Case Research Foundation, US'How to Write Great Business Cases is a comprehensive, yet easy to read guide that can be used as a quick reference, as well as an introduction to case writing. It will prove useful to those authors new to the scholarship of business cases, as well as previously published case authors.'- John D. Varlaro, Johnson & Wales University and Past President, the North American Case Research Association (NACRA), US'Teaching cases are a frequently underappreciated, and often misunderstood, genre of academic literature. It is hard for newcomers to apprehend what goes into writing an effective case and Instructor Manual. This book provides a straight-to-the-point practical introduction to case writing that is priceless for new case writers. Well-published case writers will also find this work a useful resource for honing their craft. The authors have distilled decades of case writing learning and wisdom into a book worth owning, that includes a case writing step-by-step process from beginning to end, with many actionable ideas. Easy to read and digest, this book is a must-read for all those interested in a rigorous approach to the case method. It also provides valuable leads and pointers to connect with the buoyant growing global case writing community.'- Maria A. Ballesteros-Sola, California State University Channel Islands, US'How to Write Great Business Cases is a fantastic resource for any case researcher, regardless of experience. This extremely thorough and comprehensive book provides readers everything they need to get their case writing projects off the ground and to improve their existing skills. I am especially impressed with the value provided through practical, usable tips for case writers. High level and big picture is prevalent throughout the book, but it is the details that really set it apart. I have, in the past, considered the idea of writing a book on how to write a case, and now, because this one exists, I don't see the need.'- Eric Dolansky, Editor Case Research Journal, Brock University, Canada'Through accessible writing, illustrative examples, and in-depth research, Schnarr and Woodwark offer case writers of all levels a timely, substantial, and up-to-date guide to making an even greater scholarly and practical impact through business cases. I applaud their work and encourage its widespread usage.'- Michael M. Goldman, University of San Francisco, US
ISBN: 9781803920641Publication Date: 2023-07-21 -
The role of context in qualitative case study research
by
There are many approaches to case study research; this SAGE case study presents and discusses a case study research design using qualitative methods for data generation such as participant observation, direct observations, and interviews (with individuals and in a group) to investigate the implementation of a service innovation process.
ISBN: 9781529604467Publication Date: 2022
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
-
The Case Study Handbook
by
If you're enrolled in an executive education or MBA program, you've probably encountered a powerful learning tool: the business case. But if you're like many people, you may find interpreting and writing about cases mystifying, challenging, or downright frustrating. In "The Case Study Handbook", William Ellet presents a potent new approach for analyzing, discussing, and writing about cases. Early chapters show how to classify cases according to the analytical task they require (solving a problem, making a decision, or forming an evaluation) and quickly establish a base of knowledge about a case. Strategies and templates, in addition to several sample Harvard Business School cases, help you apply the author's framework. Later in the book, Ellet shows how to write persuasive case-analytical essays based on the process laid out earlier. Extensive examples of effective and ineffective writing further reinforce your learning. The book also includes a chapter on how to talk about cases more effectively in class. Any current or prospective MBA or executive education student needs to read this book.
ISBN: 9781422101582Publication Date: 2007-04-17 -
Case Study Methodology in Higher Education
by
In higher education, case studies can be utilized to have students put themselves into problems faced by a protagonist and, by doing so, address academic or career-related issues. Working through these issues provides students with an opportunity to gain applied perspective and experiences. Professors in higher education who choose this method of teaching require navigational tools to ensure that students achieve stated learning objectives. Case Study Methodology in Higher Education is an essential research publication that focuses on the history and theories relating to case study methodology including techniques for writing case studies and utilizing them in university settings to prepare students for real-life career-related scenarios. This publication features a wide range of topics such as educational leadership, case writing, and teacher education. It is essential for educators, career professionals, higher education faculty, researchers, and students.
ISBN: 9781522594314Publication Date: 2019-06-28 -
Introduction to Case Method Teaching
by
This book is for teachers at all levels and in all subject areas, who are interested in exploring this pedagogy. In the introductory chapters, the theoretical bases of case method teaching are examined. The rest of the book offers specific and practical help with the various aspects of case method instruction, selecting appropriate cases, organizing for instruction, orienting students, and mastering the art of leading a case discussion.
ISBN: 0807733687Publication Date: 1995-09-01
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.