2024
Routledge Handbook of Macroeconomic Methodology by
This Handbook will give a structured presentation of the study of the methods by which macroeconomics is researched, taught and communicated both within academia and to a wider audience, and why specific theories, research strategies and teaching are preferred. An international range of experts provide clear analysis of the concepts, ideas and principles to give academics, students and others a better understanding of the macroeconomics behind policy conclusions which are put forward at different levels.
ISBN: 9781138816626Publication Date: 2020-01-04
Economics: The basics. by
Now in its fourth edition, Economics: The Basics continues to provide an engaging and topical introduction to the key issues in contemporary economics. The new edition has been fully updated to take i nto account recent world economic events and key developments, such as the impact of the Covid-19 pandemic and the war in Ukraine, recurring financial crises, deglobalisation and changing patterns in international trade, the rise of China, the digital economy, rising inflation, and housing and currency markets. It covers fundamental issues, including: How different economic systems function The boom-and-bust cycle of market economies The impact of multinational corporations How price, supply and demand interact The role of the banking and finance industry Whether we can reduce poverty and protect the environment
ISBN: 9781000961683Publication Date: 2023
We Need to Talk about Inflation :14 Urgent Lessons from the Last 2,000 Years by
Celebrated economist Stephen D. King--one of the few to warn ahead of time about the latest inflationary upheaval--identifies key lessons from the history of inflation that policy makers chose not to heed. From ancient Rome through the American Civil War and up to the asset bubbles of today, inflation stems from policy error, sovereign greed, and a collective loss of faith in currencies.
We Need to Talk About Inflation cuts through centuries of bad judgment and misunderstanding, offering a means to intervene now--so we can begin to tackle the political and social upheaval unleashed by inflation.
ISBN: 9780300271560Publication Date: 2023
Economy and Interest by
The essential work from the Nobel Prize-winning virtuoso of twentieth-century economics, translated to English for the first time. Few scholars advanced the frontier of economic modeling more than French economist Maurice Allais. Allais's contributions--beyond his famous Allais's Paradox--earned him the Nobel Prize and drew comparisons to the works of Paul Samuelson and even some modern mathematical behavioral economists. Allais's accomplishments, however, went largely unread by non-Francophone readers due to the challenge of their translation for publishers. The effects of this gap are immeasurable. As Paul Samuelson wrote, "Had Allais's earliest writings been in English, a whole generation of economic theory would have taken a different course." Economy and Interest is the milestone translation of Allais's most influential work, one whose staggering findings predate their accepted formulations by other famed economists decades later. In its sweep and technical virtuosity, Economy and Interest is certain to delight and challenge new generations of English-language readers.
ISBN: 9780226826202Publication Date: 2024-10-02
Macroeconomic modeling : the Cowles Commission approach by
In this book, Ray Fair develops models to analyze a variety of issues and events in macroeconomics and the U.S economy, and he explains the econometric techniques needed to estimate those models. Many of the results are either contrary to results from the theoretical models or cannot be examined by the theoretical models because they omit many important features of the economy. Fair covers a broad range of topics, including inflation and unemployment; the size of wealth effects; the behavior of the Federal Reserve and its effects on the economy; the effects of fiscal policy; Okun's law; and contractions and expansions. Macroeconomic Modeling will appeal equally to graduate students and researchers as well as macroeconomic policy makers.
ISBN: 9780262380904Publication Date: 2025
2023
Routledge Dictionary of Economics by
The Routledge Dictionary of Economics, now in its third edition, provides the clearest, most authoritative definition of economic and financial terms available. The book is perfect for students and professionals interested in a broad range of disciplines including Business, Economics, Finance, and Accountancy and all additional subjects where a knowledge of these fields of essential. The dictionary has been updated to reflect the economic changes of the new Millennium including the emergence of experimental and behavioural economics, new political economy, the importance of institutions, globalization, environmental economics, financial crises and the economic emergence of China and India. It's an international dictionary that includes succinctly explained A to Z entries and definitive explanations of the key terms, accompanied by a short bibliography and comprising supplementary online definitions. In a world where the reader is met with a barrage of conflicting and competing information, this book continues to provide a definitive guide to economics.
ISBN: 9780415600361Publication Date: 2012-10-10
Seven Crashes by
A leading economic historian presents a new history of financial crises, showing how some led to greater globalization while others kept nations apart The eminent economic historian Harold James presents a new perspective on financial crises, dividing them into "good" crises, which ultimately expand markets and globalization, and "bad" crises, which result in a smaller, less prosperous world. Examining seven turning points in financial history-from the depression of the 1840s through the Great Depression of the 1930s to the Covid-19 crisis-James shows how crashes prompted by a lack of supply, like the oil shortages of the 1970s, lead to greater globalization as markets expand and producers innovate to increase supply. By contrast, crises triggered by a lack of demand-such as the Global Financial Crisis of 2007-2008-result in less globalization as markets contract, austerity measures are imposed, and skepticism of government grows. By considering not only the times but also the observers who shaped our understanding of each crisis-from Karl Marx to John Maynard Keynes to Larry Summers-James shows how the uneven course of globalization has led to new economic thinking, and how understanding this history can help us better prepare for the future.
ISBN: 9781663727053Publication Date: 2023-05-16
Handbook of Economic Expectations by
Handbook of Economic Expectations discusses the state-of-the-art in the collection, study and use of expectations data in economics, including the modelling of expectations formation and updating, as well as open questions and directions for future research. The book spans a broad range of fields, approaches and applications using data on subjective expectations that allows us to make progress on fundamental questions around the formation and updating of expectations by economic agents and their information sets. The information included will help us study heterogeneity and potential biases in expectations and analyze impacts on behavior and decision-making under uncertainty. Combines information about the creation of economic expectations and their theories, applications and likely futures Provides a comprehensive summary of economics expectations literature Explores empirical and theoretical dimensions of expectations and their relevance to a wide array of subfields in economics
ISBN: 9780128234761Publication Date: 2022-11-04
What's Wrong with Economics? by
A passionate and informed critique of mainstream economics from one of the leading economic thinkers of our time This insightful book looks at how mainstream economics' quest for scientific certainty has led to a narrowing of vision and a convergence on an orthodoxy that is unhealthy for the field, not to mention the societies which base policy decisions on the advice of flawed economic models. Noted economic thinker Robert Skidelsky explains the circumstances that have brought about this constriction and proposes an approach to economics which includes philosophy, history, sociology, and politics. Skidelsky's clearly written and compelling critique takes aim at the way that economics is taught in today's universities, where a focus on modelling leaves students ill-equipped to grapple with what is important and true about human life. He argues for a return to the ideal set out by John Maynard Keynes that the economist must be a "mathematician, historian, statesman, [and] philosopher" in equal measure.
ISBN: 9780300249873Publication Date: 2020-04-28
The Art and Science of Econometrics by
Today econometrics has been widely applied in the empirical study of economics. As an empirical science, econometrics uses rigorous mathematical and statistical methods for economic problems. Understanding the methodologies of both econometrics and statistics is a crucial departure for econometrics. The primary focus of this book is to provide an understanding of statistical properties behind econometric methods. Following the introduction in Chapter 1, Chapter 2 provides the methodological review of both econometrics and statistics in different periods since the 1930s. Chapters 3 and 4 explain the underlying theoretical methodologies for estimated equations in the simple regression and multiple regression models and discuss the debates about p-values in particular. This part of the book offers the reader a richer understanding of the methods of statistics behind the methodology of econometrics. Chapters 5-9 of the book are focused on the discussion of regression models using time series data, traditional causal econometric models, and the latest statistical techniques. By concentrating on dynamic structural linear models like state-space models and the Bayesian approach, the book alludes to the fact that this methodological study is not only a science but also an art. This work serves as a handy reference book for anyone interested in econometrics, particularly in relevance to students and academic and business researchers in all quantitative analysis fields.
ISBN: 9781003273905Publication Date: 2022-05-02
Economics [4 Volumes] by
A comprehensive four-volume resource that explains more than 800 topics within the foundations of economics, macroeconomics, microeconomics, and global economics, all presented in an easy-to-read format.As the global economy becomes increasingly complex, interconnected, and therefore relevant to each individual, in every country, it becomes more important to be economically literate--to gain an understanding of how things work beyond the microcosm of the economic needs of a single individual or family unit. This expansive reference set serves to establish basic economic literacy of students and researchers, providing more than 800 objective and factually driven entries on all the major themes and topics in economics. Written by leading scholars and practitioners, the set provides readers with a framework for understanding economics as mentioned and debated in the public forum and media. Each of the volumes includes coverage of important events throughout economic history, biographies of the major economists who have shaped the world of economics, and highlights of the legislative acts that have shaped the U.S. economy throughout history. The extensive explanations of major economic concepts combined with selected key historical primary source documents and a glossary will endow readers with a fuller comprehension of our economic world.
ISBN: 9780313397080Publication Date: 2017-03-27
Economics for Dummies by
Learn the basics of economics and keep up to date on our ever-changing economy Whether you're studying economics in high school or college, or you're just interested in taking a peek into the complexities of how money moves, Economics For Dummies is the go-to reference that transforms complex economic concepts into easy-to-understand reading. With the simple explanations in this book, you'll master key topics like supply and demand, consumer behavior, and how governments and central banks attempt to avoid--or at least ameliorate--business downturns and recessions. Plus, you'll learn what's going on these days with inflation, interest rates, labor shortages, and the Federal Reserve. Studying for an exam? This Dummies guide has your back, with online practice and chapter quizzes to help you get the score you need. It's time to recon econ, the Dummies way. Get a grasp on the unchanging fundamentals of economics Dive into behavioral economics and consumer decision making Learn what drives economic growth and inequality Solidify your knowledge with practice questions and quizzes Economics For Dummies is an approachable reference book for students, as well as an informative guide for anyone interested in learning more about today's economy.
ISBN: 9781394161348Publication Date: 2023-08-24
Economics for Dummies by
Learn the basics of economics and keep up to date on our ever-changing economy Whether you're studying economics in high school or college, or you're just interested in taking a peek into the complexities of how money moves, Economics For Dummies is the go-to reference that transforms complex economic concepts into easy-to-understand reading. With the simple explanations in this book, you'll master key topics like supply and demand, consumer behavior, and how governments and central banks attempt to avoid--or at least ameliorate--business downturns and recessions. Plus, you'll learn what's going on these days with inflation, interest rates, labor shortages, and the Federal Reserve. Studying for an exam? This Dummies guide has your back, with online practice and chapter quizzes to help you get the score you need. It's time to recon econ, the Dummies way. Get a grasp on the unchanging fundamentals of economics Dive into behavioral economics and consumer decision making Learn what drives economic growth and inequality Solidify your knowledge with practice questions and quizzes Economics For Dummies is an approachable reference book for students, as well as an informative guide for anyone interested in learning more about today's economy.
ISBN: 9781394161331Publication Date: 2023-10-03
