Mergers and Acquisitions

The Art of Capital Restructuring: Creating shareholder value through mergers and acquisitions by H. Kent Baker (Editor); Halil Kiymaz (Editor) The most up-to-date guide on making the right capital restructuring moves The Art of Capital Restructuring provides a fresh look at the current state of mergers, acquisitions, and corporate restructuring around the world. The dynamic nature of M&As requires an evolving understanding of the field, and this book considers several different forms of physical restructuring such as divestitures as well as financial restructuring, which refers to alterations in the capital structure of the firm. The Art of Capital Restructuring not only explains the financial aspects of these transactions but also examines legal, regulatory, tax, ethical, social, and behavioral considerations. In addition to this timely information, coverage also includes discussion of basic concepts, motives, strategies, and techniques as well as their application to increasingly complex, real-world situations. Emphasizes best practices that lead to M&A success Contains important and relevant research studies based on recent developments in the field Comprised of contributed chapters from both experienced professionals and academics, offering a variety of perspectives and a rich interplay of ideas Skillfully blending theory with practice, this book will put you in a better position to make the right decisions with regard to capital restructuring in today's dynamic business world.

The Human Factor in Mergers, Acquisitions, and Transformational Change by Muhammad Rafique M&A failures is an established phenomenon. Human factors, such as acceptance of and readiness for change at the individual level, conflict of interest and cultural incompatibility are the key attributes of the success or failure of a merger or transformational change. Balancing theory with practice, this book looks at the financial due diligence, cultural compatibility, and emotional sensitivity at various stages of the M&A and offers a practical process model. Business leaders, change agents, coaching and mentoring practitioners will find the rare combination of great interest.

Intelligent M and A: Navigating the mergers and acquisitions minefield by Scott Moeller; Chris Brady Almost 70% of mergers fail, yet deals are essential for growing world-class companies. Therefore they must use all the tools and techniques at their disposal to improve their chances of success. Applying the techniques advocated in this book can help managers beat the odds - and employees themselves - to have an impact on whether a deal will be successful both for the company and for themselves. This book looks at the process of a merger or acquisition and pinpoints the areas where business intelligence can raise the odds of success in each phase of the deal. Using techniques developed by governmental intelligence services and a wide range of recent case studies, quotations and anecdotes, the expert authors from the renowned Cass Business School show how to build success into any M&A situation. The first edition of Intelligent M&A was written in 2006 and published in 2007.  This preceded the peak year (2007) of the last merger wave, including the excesses in a number of industries and deals (e.g., financial services with RBS' dramatically failed acquisition of ABN AMRO as a key example), and the global economic downturn that led to a completely new way of operating for many industries and companies. Therefore, there is a need to update the book to incorporate not just more relevant and up-to-date case studies of deals but to show the 'new' way of operating in a post-Lehman environment. Chapters will be comprehensively re-written and populated with new and relevant case studies.

Joining Forces by Mitchell Lee Marks; Philip H. Mirvis If 75 percent of all mergers fail, what makes the other 25 percent succeed? Mergers, acquisitions, and alliances are more vital today than ever before in driving business success. This indispensible guide offers proven strategies and sound solutions to the multitude of integration issues that inevitably arise, and shows how to create a combined business that meets its strategic and financial objectives, competes better, and offers personal and organizational enhancements. Dubbed "merger mavens" by Fortune magazine, the authors report lessons learned from their experience in over 100 combinations. Executives, managers, and employees alike--in all industries and sectors--will find useful examples, strategies, and tools here. Praise for Joining Forces "This book will help both M&A veterans and those new to the game. The authorsprovide great insights into the human, cultural, organizational, and strategic factors that matter in M&A success."--Richard Kovacevich, chairman and CEO emeritus, Wells Fargo & Co. "Don't commit to the merger or acquisition without them! I have personally witnessed how hard it is on everyone--employees, shareholders, communities, and especially executives--to work through an improperly managed merger. I have known Marks and Mirvis for almost twenty-five years and the only mistake our organization made was that we did not consult them soon enough. Their new book reflects unequalled experience and intellect. Don't merge, acquire, or be acquired without it!"--Michael R. Losey, CEO (emeritus), Society for Human Resources Management (SHRM) "Joining Forces is a terrific resource for managers who want to understand thehuman dynamics of mergers and acquisitions, and a must-read for those who have to lead their companies through one. It is based on the latest research and providespractical insights and advice from authors who know M&A inside out." --Edward E. Lawler III, Distinguished Professor of Business, Marshall School ofBusiness, University of Southern California

M&A and value creation: A SWOT analysis by Mariani, Giovanna

Making Mergers and Acquisitions Work by Markus Venzin; Matteo Vizzaccaro; Fabrizio Rutschmann For many industries, mergers and acquisitions have become the main pathway for reaching strategic objectives like growth, technological leadership, or efficiency in production and distribution. However, the success rate of most M&A deals is low - and flawed. Unrealistic synergies, wrong target selection, culture clashes and, most of all, weak post-merger integration processes pose huge challenges, and this book addresses the salient question of how to make M&A deals work. The authors offer readers unique access to each stage of the M&A process, with added depth and perspective provided by Prysmian - the global leader in energy and telecom cables. Prysmian's perspective enables the authors to deliver a manual for successful M&A in mature industries that require high levels of integration between operating companies. This collection of existing M&A experiences that identify clear action steps will be an essential tool for managers to develop their growth strategies and accelerate their post-merger integration processes. This guide will also prove useful for practitioners and academics as they seek to improve the ability of firms to conduct M&A, through dissemination in academic and executive classrooms.

Merger Masters by Kate Welling; Mario Gabelli Merger Masters presents revealing profiles of monumentally successful merger investors based on exclusive interviews with some of the greatest minds to practice the art of arbitrage. Told in lively, accessible prose, it is an incomparable set of stories with plenty of unfiltered lessons from the best managers of our time.

Mergers, Acquisitions, & Corporate Restructurings by Patrick A. Gaughan The essential M&A primer, updated with the latest research and statistics Mergers, Acquisitions, and Corporate Restructurings provides a comprehensive look at the field's growth and development, and places M&As in realistic context amidst changing trends, legislation, and global perspectives. All-inclusive coverage merges expert discussion with extensive graphs, research, and case studies to show how M&As can be used successfully, how each form works, and how they are governed by the laws of major countries. Strategies and motives are carefully analyzed alongside legalities each step of the way, and specific techniques are dissected to provide deep insight into real-world operations. This new seventh edition has been revised to improve clarity and approachability, and features the latest research and data to provide the most accurate assessment of the current M&A landscape. Ancillary materials include PowerPoint slides, a sample syllabus, and a test bank to facilitate training and streamline comprehension. As the global economy slows, merger and acquisition activity is expected to increase. This book provides an M&A primer for business executives and financial managers seeking a deeper understanding of how corporate restructuring can work for their companies. Understand the many forms of M&As, and the laws that govern them Learn the offensive and defensive techniques used during hostile acquisitions Delve into the strategies and motives that inspire M&As Access the latest data, research, and case studies on private equity, ethics, corporate governance, and more From large megadeals to various forms of downsizing, a full range of restructuring practices are currently being used to revitalize and supercharge companies around the world. Mergers, Acquisitions, and Corporate Restructurings is an essential resource for executives needing to quickly get up to date to plan their own company's next moves.

Mergers, Acquisitions, and Other Restructuring Activities by Donald DePamphilis Mergers, Acquisitions, and Other Restructuring Activities is unique in that it is the most current, comprehensive, and cutting-edge text on M&A and corporate restructuring available. It is current in that it includes many of the most up-to-date and notable deals (e.g., Facebook's takeover of WhatsApp, the Dell privatization, and Verizon's mega buyout of Vodafone's share of Verizon Wireless), precedent setting judicial decisions (e.g., efforts to overturn defenses at Airgas and Sotheby's), new regulations (e.g., expediting backend mergers), trends (e.g., increasing role of activist investors in takeovers), and new tactics (e.g., two-tiered poison pill) employed in M&As. Most integrative case studies are new for this edition and involve transactions that have been announced or completed since 2013. It is comprehensive in that nearly all aspects of M&As and corporate restructuring are explored. It is cutting edge in that conclusions and insights are anchored by the most recent academic research, with references to more than 200 empirical studies published in leading peer-reviewed journals just since 2012. And the substantially updated content is illustrated with numerous practical exhibits, case studies involving diverse transactions, easy-to-understand numerical examples, and hundreds of discussion questions and practice exercises. The highlights of the new edition are listed here: · New Chapters: Two new chapters: Chapter 9 and 14. Chapter 9 discusses the basics of applying financial modeling methods to firm valuation and assists the reader in understanding the power (and limitations) of models in analyzing real world situation. Chapter 14 illustrates how complex financial models often are used to support the deal structuring process during M&A negotiations. · New Cases: Ninety percent of the nearly forty case studies are new and involve transactions announced or completed during the last three years. These cases represent friendly, hostile, highly leveraged, and cross-border deals in ten different industries, involving public and private firms as well as firms experiencing financial distress. All end of chapter case studies begin with a "Key Objectives" section indicating what the student should learn from the case study and include discussion questions and solutions available in the online instructors' manual. · Latest Research: This edition focuses on the most recent and relevant academic studies, some of which contain surprising insights changing the way we view this subject matter. Recent research has significant implications for academicians, students, M&A practitioners, and government policy makers shedding new light on current developments and trends in the ever-changing mergers and acquisitions market. The market for corporate control and corporate restructuring strategies are constantly changing, reflecting the ongoing globalization of both product and capital markets, accelerating technological change, escalating industry consolidation, changing regulatory practices, and intensifying cross-border competition. While continuing to be relevant, empirical research covering the dynamics of the M&A markets of the 1970s, 1980s, and 1990s may be less germane in explaining current undercurrents and future trends.

Mergers and Acquisitions by Mohammed Ibrahimi This book deals with corporate mergers and acquisitions by analyzing the financial and strategic aspects. It starts with a chronological justification of the evolution of external growth operations and ends with case studies in order to put into practice the theoretical contribution of the previous titles. Through this book, we wish to detail the types of mergers and acquisitions, their modes, their motivations, their consequences and their performances. First of all, we propose a panoply of scientific research, methodological explanations and logical structuring to expose a subject of experience considered for a long time as a phenomenon in finance. Then, through a sample of 90 mergers or acquisitions, we analyze the effects of these transactions on French companies.

Mergers and Acquisitions by David R. King; Florian Bauer; Svante Schriber The process of identifying and evaluating a target firm, completing a deal after its negotiation and announcement, and then integrating a target firm after legal combination is a multi-year process with uncertain returns to acquiring firms. Research on mergers and acquisitions (M&As) is progressing rapidly yet it remains fragmented across multiple research perspectives that largely examine different acquisition phases separately and coincide with a focus on different research variables. As a result, research fragmentation means that a researcher in one area may be unaware of research from related areas that is likely relevant. This contributes to research silos with M&A research displaying different traditions, starting points, and assumptions. Mergers and Acquisitions: A Research Overview summarizes the frontier in M&A research and provides insights into where it can be expanded. It undertakes the needed integration and reconciliation of research in order to derive practical knowledge for managing acquisitions from beginning to end, providing a summary of what is known and its implications for future research. This concise overview reconciles and integrates the state of the art in our understanding of mergers and acquisitions, providing an essential first stopping point in the research journey of students and scholars working in this area.

Mergers and Acquisitions: A transactional perspective by Stephen M. Bainbridge; Iman Anabtawi This casebook embodies the conviction that theoretical and practical legal education are complementary and no more so than in the setting of M&A transactions, where corporate lawyers are regularly called upon to draw on their substantive knowledge of the law to advise clients on how best to effectuate their business objectives. Accordingly, this book retains the most significant judicial decisions in M&A jurisprudence while also making heavy use of textual explication, sample documentary provisions, and the latest teaching methods to deepen students' understanding of the relevant case law and prepare them for practice. The authors employ three principal pedagogical methods: Questions help students focus on information in the cases that is most relevant to the principles underlying specific topic areas. Problems hone students' abilities to interpret and apply the material to novel situations similar to those they might be asked to analyze in practice. Skills exercises provide time-efficient transactional skills training to students in the context of M&A. Additionally, this title is accompanied by online self-assessment quizzes, tied to the text, that help you gauge your understanding of the material.

Mergers and Acquisitions Basics: The key steps of acquisitions, divestitures, and investments by Larry H. Forman; Michael E. S. Frankel The essential executive M&A primer, with practical tools and expert insight Mergers and Acquisitions Basics provides complete guidance on the M&A process, with in-depth analysis, expert insight, and practical tools for success. This new second edition has been updated to reflect the current M&A landscape, giving busy executives the ideal resource for navigating each step in the process. Veteran executives relate guidelines, lessons learned, and mistakes to avoid as they explain how M&As work, identify the major players, and describe the roles involved in a successful transaction. Both buyer and seller must consider a broad range of factors, and this essential guide provides checklists, forms, sample reports, and presentations to help you avoid surprises and ensure your organization's full preparation for the deal. Equity investments, valuation, negotiation, integration, legal aspects, and more are explained in detail to provide a foundational primer for anyone seeking to clarify their role in the process. Mergers and acquisitions are becoming ever more critical to the growth of large and mid-sized companies. This book balances depth and breadth to provide a one-stop guide to maximizing the financial and operational value of the deal. Identify key drivers of purchase or sale Understand major roles, processes, and practices Avoid valuation detractors and negotiate effectively Overcome common challenges to successful integration Effective M&As are highly strategic, solidly structured, and beneficial on both sides. It's a complex process with many variables, many roles, and many potential pitfalls, but navigating the deal successfully can mean the difference between growth and stagnation. Mergers and Acquisitions Basics is the comprehensive resource every executive needs to understand the ins-and-outs of strategic transactions.

Mergers and Acquisitions for Dummies by Bill Snow Explore M&A, in simple terms Mergers & Acquisitions For Dummies provides useful techniques and real-world advice for anyone involved with - or thinking of becoming involved with - transactional work. Whether you are a transactions pro, a service provider tangentially involved in transactions, or a student thinking of becoming an investment banker, this book will provide the insights and knowledge that will help you become successful. Business owners and executives will also find this book helpful, not only when they want to buy or sell a company, but if they want to learn more about what improves a company's value. The evaluation process used by M&A professionals to transact a business sale is often quite different from the processes used by owners and executives to manage those businesses. In plain English terms that anyone can understand, this book details the step-by-step M&A process, describes different types of transactions, demonstrates various ways to structure a deal, defines methods to identify and contact targets, provides insights on how to finance transactions, reveals what helps and hurts a company's valuation, offers negotiating tips, explains how to perform due diligence, analyzes the purchase agreement, and discloses methods to help ensure the combined companies are successfully integrated. If you're getting involved with a merger or an acquisition, this book will help you gain a thorough understanding of what the heck is going on. Updates to this second edition include quality of earnings reports, representation and warranty insurance, how to hire investment bankers, changes to the offering documents, the rise of family offices, and the ubiquity of adjusted EBITDA (earnings before interest, tax, depreciation, and amortization) as a basis for valuation. Understand the merger and acquisition process in a simple, easy-to-understand manner Learn the nomenclature and terminology needed to talk and act like a player Determine how to hire the people who will help you conduct M&A deals Discover tips on how to successfully negotiate transactions Mergers & Acquisitions For Dummies is a great choice for business owners and executives, students, service providers, and anyone interested in M&A transactions.

Mergers and Acquisitions from a to Z by Thomas Thomas Nelson Talking mergers and acquisitions for small- to mid-sized companies can sound exciting as the architects behind the deals are wide-eyed with effective growth strategies. However, these complex transactions carry significant risk, and it is absolutely vital for all involved in the deal to make sure they are guarding themselves against costly mistakes that have been the downfall for many leaders and organizations before them. Complete with new case studies, checklists, and updated sample documents, law attorney and author Andrew Sherman walks you through every step of the process--from valuation to securities laws to closing and successful integration. Updated with the latest trends and regulatory developments, this fourth edition of Mergers and Acquisitions from A to Z explains further how to: conduct due diligence, calculate the purchase price, understand the roles and risks for boards, and more. When done correctly and cautiously, while fully educated on all avenues of the process, your company's next merger or acquisition should be an exciting, profitable time as you take steps to eliminate rivals, extend territory, and diversify offerings. But you must first be prepared! Don't make another deal without Mergers and Acquisitions from A to Z and its strategic, legal guidance by your side.

Mergers and Acquisitions in Practice by Shlomo Y. Tarba (Editor); Riikka M. Sarala (Editor); Mohammad F. Ahammad (Editor); Sir Cary L. Cooper (Editor) The growth in mergers and acquisitions (M&A) activity around the world masks a high rate of failure. M&A can provide companies with many benefits, but in the optimism and excitement of the deal many of the challenges are often overlooked. This comprehensive collection, bringing together an international team of contributors, moves beyond the theory to focus on the practical elements of mergers and acquisitions. This hands-on, step-by-step volume provides strategies, frameworks, guidelines, and ample examples for managing and optimizing M&A performance, including: ways to analyze different types of synergy; understanding and analyzing cultural difference along corporate and national cultural dimensions, using measurement tools; using negotiation, due diligence, and planning to analyze the above factors; making use of this data during negotiation, screening, planning, agreement, and when deciding on post-merger integration approaches. Students, researchers, and managers will find this text a vital resource when it comes to understanding this key facet of the international business world.

Middle Market M and A: Handbook for advisors, investors, and business owners by Kenneth H. Marks; Christian W. Blees; Michael R. Nall; Thomas A. Stewart An in-depth and practical exploration of middle-market mergers and acquisitions from leading experts in the field In the newly revised Second Edition of Middle Market M & A: Handbook for Advisors, Investors, and Business Owners, mergers and acquisitions experts Kenneth H. Marks, Christian W. Blees, Michael R. Nall, and Thomas A. Stewart deliver a comprehensive overview of mergers, acquisitions, divestitures, and strategic transactions of privately held companies with revenues between $5 and $500 million per year. You'll discover the market trends, perspectives, and strategies commonly affecting business transitions in all phases of a deal, as well as the processes and core subject areas (e.g. valuation, structure, taxation, due diligence, etc.) required to successfully navigate and close transactions in the private capital markets. The latest edition of this handbook includes new discussions about: The middle market landscape and the evolution and impact of private equity on the private capital markets The concepts of mergers and acquisitions from an owner's point of view Ways in which transition and value growth planning can optimize the value owners and investors can realize in sell-side and buy-side transactions New technologies being used in the M&A process Perfect for advisors, investors, and business owners, the new edition of Middle Market M & A is a must-read roadmap of the strategic transaction landscape that provides solid, practical guidance for attorneys, accountants, investment bankers, corporate development, exit planners, investors, lenders and the owners, entrepreneurs, and leaders of middle market companies.

Organizational Psychology of Mergers and Acquisitions by Camelia Oancea; Caroline Kamau Organizational Psychology of Mergers and Acquisitions provides a comprehensive perspective that helps you understand, empathise and protect the wellbeing of employees who experience mergers and acquisitions. This book gives a state-of-the-art review that crosses different subjects within psychology including psychobiology, neuroscience, social psychology, interpersonal relationships, and organizational psychology. This book discusses why many employees think of mergers or acquisitions as scary or threatening events, why negative emotions are prevalent, their psychobiological impact and how to assess employees' emotional responses using a new toolkit. It helps readers learn what counts as good leadership, considering the role of charisma, personality, context and information processing abilities. This book includes the issue of organizational learning, and the relevance of occupational health and safety to due diligence about mergers and acquisitions through case studies about organizations sued for cancer or cancer-related mortality after a merger or acquisition. This book is mandatory reading for students, academics, and practitioners working with organizations experiencing a merger or an acquisition such as consultants, human resource professionals, psychologists, occupational health professionals, and employees involved in strategy, management, or people development.

Research Handbook on Mergers and Acquisitions by Claire A. Hill (Editor); Steven Davidoff Solomon (Editor) Global in scope and written by leading scholars in the field, the Research Handbook on Mergers and Acquisitionsis a modern-day survey providing cutting edge analysis of the state of M&A using history, theory, and empirical work, and also providing a theoretical framework for future research and development in the field. Its chapters explore the history of mergers and acquisitions, considering the theory behind the structure of modern transaction documentation. The authors also address other key M&A issues, such as takeover defenses; judges and practitioners' perspectives on litigation; the appraisal remedy and other aspects of Federal and state law, as well as M&A considerations in the structure of start-ups. The book's coverage is novel as well as broad, broaching comparative issues and shareholder activism in addition to more traditional areas. ThisResearch Handbookwill be an invaluable resource for scholars, practitioners, judges and legislators

The synergy solution How companies win the mergers and acquisitions game by Sirower, Mark L. The acquisition game -- Am I a prepared acquirer? -- Does it make sense? -- How much do I need? -- Will they have reason to cheer? -- How will I deliver on my vision and promises?, part I -- How will I deliver on my vision and promises?, part II -- Will my dreams become reality? -- Can the board avoid the synergy trap? -- Conclusion: Getting M&A right.

Winning at the Acquisition Game: Tools, templates, and best practices across the m&a process by Timothy Galpin; Rich Miller (Narrated by) In an era of digital transformation, disruptive innovation, transient competitive advantage, and industry convergence, mergers and acquisitions have become more complex than ever.Winning at the Acquisition Game presents the best materials, insights, and tools which comprise the comprehensive, cross-disciplinary Mergers and Acquisitions course taught in the MBA and Executive MBA programs at the Saïd Business School, University of Oxford. Each chapter connects traditionally distinct "siloed" functional expertise and provides listeners with practical knowledge and tools to help them understand the entire M&A process; from pre-deal strategy and due diligence, through transaction valuation, negotiations, and consummation, to post-deal implementation, workforce motivation, innovation for revenue growth, and results measurement and reporting. Case examples illustrate how each stage of the process has been implemented by companies across various industries.Through an actionable, end-to-end process model this book shows both practitioners and students of M&A how to successfully mobilize and integrate organizational capability and avoid management missteps to gain a unique advantage and truly "win" at the acquisition game.