What is a Database?
A library database is an electronic collection of information and documents, including newspapers, magazines, scholarly journals, and more.
Databases are not considered "the Internet." We use an internet browser to access library databases but we are not searching a website. Unlike searching Google, using a library database will allow you to:
- Limit a search by keyword, author, date, publication, etc.
- Find reliable sources such as peer-reviewed or scholarly articles
- Avoid paywalls or other paid subscription content
Library Databases
Library databases contain a wide range of information sources, including e-books, book chapters, news articles, scholarly journal articles, research studies, and more. When researching a biology lab topic, you will get better results by searching for information within the library's Biology databases.
1. Within a database, use the Advanced Search page to enter your search terms, choose your Boolean Operators (AND, OR, NOT), and select the peer-reviewed option.
2. After you select an article from your page of results, use the database tools to save or download the article.
Better Results with Boolean Operators
Helpful Links
- Evaluating Sources - LibGuideLearn to evaluate different source types
- The CRAAP Test - LibGuideUse the CRAAP Test to evaluate sources and determine if you want to use a resource in your research.
Ulrichsweb (Peer Review)
Use the Ulrichsweb database to see if a specific journal is peer reviewed. If the journal is peer reviewed, the articles within that journal are peer reviewed.
1. Notice the referee jersey icon in the image below. The referee jersey icon indicates that the journal Food Science & Nutrition is peer reviewed.
2. Notice there is not a referee jersey icon next to Food Science & Nutrition Technology, which is not peer reviewed.
