Did you know the NSU Libraries provide resources beyond books and journal articles for your class assignments? Select the tabs in the box below to learn about the free resources available through the library.
Types of Library Resources
Borrow video games for free with your NSU SharkCard!
You can search for a specific game in the catalog by limiting your search to "Video Game" or browse in person on the first floor. The games are shelved by console generation.
Students can check out 5 games at a time for 14 days. You can renew each game once for 7 more days. To borrow a video game, take the case to the Circulation Desk.
Download the free cloudLibrary app from your mobile device's app store to read free eBooks or listen to audiobooks.
Login using your NSU Shark Identity credentials (the first part of your NSU email and your password). Browse the featured books, new releases, popular titles, or search your favorite genre.
The screenshot shows what the mobile app may look like on your phone or tablet.
Read digital comics, graphic novels, & manga for free with ComicsPlus! Download the free mobile app from your device's store or login through your computer.
There are no holds or borrowing limits in Comics Plus. Select the link below to login to the database.
Graphic novels are also available in physical copies on the 1st floor and 3rd floor of the Alvin Sherman Library. Search the library catalog for a specific title.
Stream videos for personal, school, or professional use through the database links below.
- Bates' Visual Guide to Physical ExaminationNow in its Fifth Edition and featuring completely reshot content and new clinical skills videos, Bates’ Visual Guide delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for the (Advanced) Assessment or Introduction to Clinical Medicine course. The site features more than 8 hours of video content. - Also Includes 10 video Objective Structured Clinical Examinations, or OSCEs.
- LinkedIn LearningLinkedIn Learning is a great online educational site that includes over 13,000 expert-led, online courses and video tutorials in popular fields like web design, web development, IT, education/instruction, media production, career development, and business.
Save money on test prep! Learning Express contains free eBooks, exams and other practice materials for college, graduate programs, and careers such as the LSAT, MCAT, and GRE. Select the database link below to login.
Are you looking for scholarships? Foundation Directory Online helps you locate funding for scholarships and grants for individuals and nonprofits. Select the database link below to login.
Stay on top of current events with free access to digital newspapers and magazines, such as The New York Times. Library databases cover news at local, regional, national, and international levels. Select the database links below to login.
Library books are available to check out for free with your NSU SharkCard! All four floors of the library have books to borrow but unlike a bookstore, they are not arranged by genre.
The library has books about many topics and subject areas. Popular areas include:
- Fiction books
- (Colleen Hoover, Stephen King, Kennedy Ryan, etc.)
- Classic literature
- (Pride and Prejudice, Frankenstein, Dracula etc.)
- Nonfiction books
- (Self help, biology, Greek mythology, etc.)
Search for a book in the library catalog or learn about call numbers. Ask a librarian for help finding a specific book or section of the library!
Library Learn Videos
-
Short video tutorials are available to show you how to use specific library search tools.
-
Recorded library workshops demonstrate how to use library resources in more detail.
Ask A Librarian
There are six ways to ask a librarian for help using the Alvin Sherman Library: