UNIV 1000 First Year Experience

Did you know the NSU Libraries provide resources beyond books and journal articles for your class assignments? Select the tabs in the box below to learn about the free resources available through the library.

Types of Library Resources

Borrow video games for free with your NSU SharkCard!

You can search for a specific game in the catalog by limiting your search to "Video Game" or browse in person on the first floor. The games are shelved by console generation.

Students can check out 5 games at a time for 14 days. You can renew each game once for 7 more days. To borrow a video game, take the case to the Circulation Desk.

Download the free cloudLibrary app from your mobile device's app store to read free eBooks or listen to audiobooks.

Login using your NSU Shark Identity credentials (the first part of your NSU email and your password). Browse the featured books, new releases, popular titles, or search your favorite genre.

The screenshot shows what the mobile app may look like on your phone or tablet.

cloudLibrary mobile app

Read digital comics, graphic novels, & manga for free with ComicsPlus! Download the free mobile app from your device's store or login through your computer.

There are no holds or borrowing limits in Comics Plus. Select the link below to login to the database.

Graphic novels are also available in physical copies on the 1st floor and 3rd floor of the Alvin Sherman Library. Search the library catalog for a specific title.

ComicsPlus Full Collection
more...less...
ComicsPlus offers unlimited, simultaneous access to thousands of digital comics, graphic novels, and manga from a variety of publishers. Explore a diverse selection of titles from ABDO, Andrews McMeel, BOOM! Studios, Capstone, Dark Horse, Europe Comics, Fantagraphics, Humanoids, Image Comics, Kodansha, Lerner, Manga Classics, Papercutz, Tokyopop, TOON Books, UDON Entertainment, Yen Press, and more.
After logging in, users must create a ComicsPlus Full Collection personal account to use this database and the associated LibraryPass ComicsPlus app. When signing into the app search for Alvin Sherman Library.

Stream videos for personal, school, or professional use through the database links below.

Academic Video Online (AVON)
more...less...
This video collection includes 67,000+ films. Content comes from 60 Minutes, BBC, Broadway, CNN, DSM-5/ICD-10, Medical Imaging in Video, PBS, World Newsreels Online, and many more. Subjects include: the Arts, architecture, dance, fashion, music, theater and opera; business, environmental studies, feature films, health, history, education, counseling and therapy, criminal justice, and more. All films are available year round with unlimited use.
Alexander Street Press Videos
more...less...
Search across multiple Alexander Street video collections.
Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination
Now in its Fifth Edition and featuring completely reshot content and new clinical skills videos, Bates’ Visual Guide delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for the (Advanced) Assessment or Introduction to Clinical Medicine course. The site features more than 8 hours of video content. - Also Includes 10 video Objective Structured Clinical Examinations, or OSCEs.
more...less...
Step by step visual guidance on the complete physical examination. Streaming video requires ActiveX.
Kanopy
Kanopy is a video streaming database featuring more than 60,000 films including documentaries feature films, indie films, and more.
more...less...
Kanopy is a video streaming database featuring more than 60,000 films. Subjects covered in our collection include the Arts, Business, Education, Global Studies & Language, Media & Communications, and the Social Sciences. Films range from documentaries, indie and foreign films, classics and blockbuster movies. The library has unlimited access to films from our top 20 Suppliers: The Great Courses, California Newsreel, Media Education Foundation, PBS, The Representation Project, The Criterion Collection, Kantola Productions, First Run Features, Kino Lorber, Clearcut Productions, Pragda, New Day Films, Women Make Movies, Video Project, A24, Arthaus Musik, Magnolia Pictures, Jaye Bird Productions, Zeitgeist Films, Cohen Film Collection. Download the Kanopy app from the Apple App Store or Google Play store. Users must create an account to use as a login for the mobile app.
LinkedIn Learning
LinkedIn Learning is a great online educational site that includes over 13,000 expert-led, online courses and video tutorials in popular fields like web design, web development, IT, education/instruction, media production, career development, and business.
more...less...
LinkedIn Learning is a great online educational site that includes over 13,000 expert-led, online courses and video tutorials in popular fields like web design, web development, IT, education/instruction, media production, career development, and business. Note: Linkedin Learning requires that user must be at least 16 years of age.
To log in to the LinkedIn Learning App: Click “Sign in” and everyone should just enter “nova.edu” in the Email field. That will take you to a library authentication page which you can use to enter your SharkLink ID and password or Alvin Sherman Library Card and you’ll be redirected back to LinkedIn Learning once that’s done.

Save money on test prep! Learning Express contains free eBooks, exams and other practice materials for college, graduate programs, and careers such as the LSAT, MCAT, and GRE. Select the database link below to login.

LearningExpress - PrepSTEP
more...less...
The LearningExpress suite of eLearning solutions provides interactive tutorials, practice tests, e-books, flashcards and articles for academic skill-building, standardized test preparation, career development and more. These learning tools are available through multiple online platforms designed to help students and professionals achieve their educational and career goals. Registration required to create a personal account in order to save work in progress, store score reports, and revisit practice tests, tutorials, or e-books. Registration only requires a valid email address (username) and a password.

Are you looking for scholarships? Foundation Directory Online helps you locate funding for scholarships and grants for individuals and nonprofits. Select the database link below to login.

Foundation Directory Online
more...less...
Provides information about foundations, corporate giving programs, and grantmaking public charities in the U.S.; corporate funders; recently awarded grants; and a keyword-searchable database of recently filed IRS Forms 990 and 990-PF. Access is limited to within the Alvin Sherman Library building.

Stay on top of current events with free access to digital newspapers and magazines, such as The New York Times. Library databases cover news at local, regional, national, and international levels. Select the database links below to login.

Flipster
Login to read your favorite magazines from a variety of publishers, including Vogue, Runner's World, and Essence.
more...less...
Flipster is a next-generation digital magazine distribution service where users can access their favorite magazines from a variety of publishers through their local libraries via a web browser or a custom app made specifically for the iPad, iPad mini, Android or Kindle Fire (3rd and 4thGeneration) and download magazines to read offline, anytime, anywhere.
New York Times
Access World News
more...less...
Access World News supports all academic disciplines by providing unique primary sources not found in other resources and extensive news coverage at local, regional, national, and international levels. This product offers complete electronic editions of thousands of authoritative U.S. and global news sources. Includes thousands of broadcast transcripts, newswires, video clips, and news blogs and it features a customizable, map-based interface and powerful search capabilities. Enables students to examine subjects geographically and over time, analyze trends and statistics, and compare perspectives.

Library books are available to check out for free with your NSU SharkCard! All four floors of the library have books to borrow but unlike a bookstore, they are not arranged by genre.

The library has books about many topics and subject areas. Popular areas include:

Fiction books
- (Colleen Hoover, Stephen King, Kennedy Ryan, etc.)
Classic literature
- (Pride and Prejudice, Frankenstein, Dracula etc.)
Nonfiction books
- (Self help, biology, Greek mythology, etc.)

Search for a book in the library catalog or learn about call numbers. Ask a librarian for help finding a specific book or section of the library!

Library Learn Videos

Short video tutorials are available to show you how to use specific library search tools.
Recorded library workshops demonstrate how to use library resources in more detail.

Ask A Librarian

There are six ways to ask a librarian for help using the Alvin Sherman Library:

In Person (at the Reference Desk on the second floor)
Phone
Email (refdesk@nova.edu)
Chat
Text
Individual Appointments
(recommended for complex topics)