www ≠ database
Databases are not the same as websites!
- A database is a collection of information published electronically by a credible source or publishing company. The information in a database is arranged into records that can be searched by a computer.
- While you may find a lot of results when using Google, Bing, or other search engines on the web, these results may not be appropriate to cite in your actual paper. Instead, search the internet to brainstorm ideas and then research those concepts in the databases.
- The majority of scholarly articles found within a database are not freely available on the internet.
Psychology Databases
-
APA PsycArticles
Full-text articles from 77 peer-reviewed journals in general and specialized psychology from APA and other publishers. Most available from Vol. 1, Issue 1, starting in 1894.
-
Sage Journals
Collection contains over 100 journals, primarily covering management, education, psychology, health, and nursing. If you want full text articles only, select "Sage Content Available to Me" and set the starting value of Date Range to January, 1999.
-
Wiley Online Library
Full-text of selected Wiley Blackwell journals, Major Reference Works, and Current Protocols. Covers business, chemistry, computer science, earth and environmental sciences, education, engineering, law, life sciences, mathematics and statistics, medicine and healthcare, physics and astronomy, polymers and materials science, psychology, social sciences, and more.
-
SciELO (Web of Science)
SciELO (Scientific Electronic Library Online) is a bibliographic database and a digital library, as well as a cooperative electronic publishing model, of open access journals. Conceived for developing countries, originally established in Brazil, currently it is deployed in 12 countries with three more 'in development'.
-
Psychology Database
Full-text articles from over 400 psychology journals and related publications.