Downloading eBooks
What do you need to download an entire ebook using the NSU databases?
1. A device that supports Adobe Digital Editions or Bluefire Reader. Ebooks can be downloaded to iPads, PCs and several types of ereaders including a NOOK and Sony ereader. (Not sure if your device supports these applications? Check here.)
2. An Alvin Sherman Library library card or Sharklink ID to use the NSU databases.
3. Adobe Digital Editions or Bluefire Reader. Adobe Digital Editions is a free program that allows you to load the entire ebook for viewing and transfer it to a device. If you want to download to an ipad (or Apple device) you will want to download the Bluefire Reader application or the database specific application.
4. Create a free account with the ebook database(s). Both eBook Central and EBSCO ebooks allow you to download ebooks. You will need to create a free account for each database to be able to send the ebook to Adobe Digital Editions or Bluefire. Instructions to create an account are located in the box below.
If you have questions about downloading eBooks, explore the library guide dedicated specifically to eBooks, e.g. watch short Video Tutorials.
Contact the Reference Desk if you need more help: refdesk@nova.edu, 954 262 4613
eBook Collections
Selected eBooks
Applied Theatre: Facilitation by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781472576927Publication Date: 2016-10-20Applied Theatre: Facilitation is the first publication that directly explores the facilitator's role within a range of socially engaged theatre and community theatre settings. The book offers a new theoretical framework for understanding critical facilitation in contemporary dilemmatic spaces and features a range of writings and provocations by international practitioners and experienced facilitators working in the field.
Fearless Facilitation by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781118375815Publication Date: 2013-04-08If you are a facilitator with years of experience or just getting started, you will learn what it takes to create and deliver a high-powered presentation that is tailor-made to draw in your audience members and get results every time. Once you set the stage to include and connect with your audience, you will trigger memory and action like never before. Fearless Facilitation is filled with easy-to-implement presentation techniques designed to appeal to all types of participants. You will learn how to break the "fourth wall" (the invisible wall that separates you from the audience) and engage your audience through dialogue.
WFacilitation Made Easy by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780749446727Publication Date: 2005-01-01Now in its third edition, this practical guide gives you an introduction to the essential skills needed to run a facilitated workshop. Packed with detailed examples, proven tips for success, checklists, case studies and a self-assessment guide to test your own personal approach to facilitation, this book will help you to: understand the facilitatorOCOs role; determine the facilitation style that matches your personal style; develop the ideal structure for workshops; control agendas and keep workshops running to time; deal with difficulties."
The Secrets of Facilitation by Call Number: eBookISBN: 0787977454Publication Date: 2004-12-03The Secrets of Facilitation delivers a clear vision of facilitation excellence and reveals the specific techniques effective facilitators use to produce consistent, repeatable results with groups. Author Michael Wilkinson has trained thousands of managers, mediators, analysts, and consultants around the world to apply the power of SMART (Structured Meeting And Relating Techniques) facilitation to achieve amazing results with teams and task forces. He shows how anyone can use these proven group techniques in conflict resolution, consulting, managing, presenting, teaching, planning, selling, and other professional as well as personal situations.
Practical Facilitation by Call Number: eBookISBN: 0749447265Publication Date: 2005-11-03This toolkit of facilitation techniques should provide readers with all they need to develop and hone their facilitation skills. Complete with case studies of the techniques in action the book covers traditional techniques and many new approaches such as the use of music, drama and storytelling.
Understanding Faciliation by Call Number: eBookISBN: 0749447079Publication Date: 2005-11-03Facilitation is emerging as an exciting profession. It is being used in a wide range of situations and occupations, including workplaces, leisure and health activities, organizational planning and community development. This book provides a readable introduction for newcomers to the topic aswell as a critical analysis of established and current theory for existing practitioners. It will be useful for managers, staff developers, innovators, and social and community workers.
