Streaming video collection offers 50 titles consisting of training videos --most of them demonstrations of psychotherapy and counseling sessions-- featuring the leading contributors of our time and covering a wide range of modalities, populations and approaches. Their videos are used worldwide to train a variety of mental health practitioners, from psychologists, counselors and social workers to nurses, addiction professionals and others. New titles are added on a daily basis. Streams come with a downloadable Instructor’s manual and are subtitled in English.
The Video Journal of Counseling and Therapy is the definitive streaming video collection of the latest in research and best practice methods in the fields of counseling, mental health, and psychology. The collection includes contemporary presentations, lectures, and workshops from renowned counselors, psychologists, and practitioners, and at least 350 hours of new content will be added yearly to a base of 1,000 hours.
LGBT Studies in Video is a cinematic survey of the lives of lesbian, gay, transgender, and bisexual people and the cultural and political evolution of the LGBT community. This first-of-its-kind collection features award-winning documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films exploring LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, LGBT families, AIDS, transgender issues, religious perspectives on homosexuality, global comparative experiences, and other topics. The collection will have cross-disciplinary relevance beyond LGBT courses, serving research and teaching in sociology, anthropology, psychology, counseling, history, political science, gender studies, cultural studies, and religious studies.
We live in an increasingly multicultural world. When we interact with people from racial, ethnic, and cultural backgrounds different from our own, tension and stress sometimes arise, especially when w e are not accustomed to interacting with those outside our social identity group. Our values, beliefs, and hidden assumptions can lead to discomfort and confrontation in group settings. This can have the effect of the 'fight or flight' response in participants.
The purpose of this video is to develop awareness and understanding of the racial, ethnic, and cultural dynamics that occur in groups and organizations. This video will instruct viewers in acknowledging rather than ignoring those differences and tensions, and will instruct viewers in discussing those differences openly and constructively.
Counseling Filipino Americans: A three part series. Dr. Kevin Nadal, John Jay College of Criminal JusticeThis three part series presents real-life examples of Filipino American clients who are attending psychotherapy for the first time. Because of unique histories of colonization, Filipino Americans may have an array of cultural values and experiences that differ from other Asian Americans. Dr. Nadal facilitates culturally competent counseling techniques, ranging from here and now processing to strength-based counseling. The series includes Filipino Americans of different ages, genders, and immigration statuses, and demonstrates an array of techniques to use with various subgroups. The clients are not actors. They are people who agreed to share their real life problems.Counseling Filipino Americans: Part 1Dr. Nadal counsels a Filipina American college student who struggles with balancing her academic responsibilities, along with her personal life. He explores how social, cultural, and familial factors may impact an individual's presenting problems in both conscious and unconscious ways.
Counseling Gay and Lesbian People of Color: Multiple Identities: A two part seriesDr. Kevin Nadal, John Jay College of Criminal Justice This two part series presents real-life examples of individuals with multiple identities. Through exploring these clients' presenting problems, Dr. Nadal is able to examine how their racial, ethnic, gender, and sexual identities may influence their lives, as well as how they cope with their situations. Dr. Nadal uses culturally sensitive skills in assessing client concerns, and helps them move towards becoming healthier and happier individuals. The clients are not actors. They are people who agreed to share their real life problems.Multiple Identities: Counseling Gay and Lesbian People of Color Part 1Dr. Nadal counsels an Asian, Filipina-American lesbian woman who moved the U.S. when she was a teenager. Issues of acculturation, coming-out, and identity are explored.
The authors present three modules on Arab American demographics and other diversity, Arab American culture, and sociopolitical background. Actual therapist interviews then examine common mental health issues, typical treatment goals, appropriate interventions, and helpful cultural knowledge. Implications for practice and resource modules complete the program. This DVD provides both background information and practical perspectives essential to success in working with Arab American clients.
This program is broken into three parts. It begins with Dr. Dermer and Dr. Dyslin (who is herself a transgender woman) discussing the basic issues and topics
related to mental health practice so clinicians who do not specialize in transgender issues will begin to understand how to work with transgender clients or their families in a respectful and knowledgeable way. Dr. Dyslin discusses gender minority basics such as: the difference between sex and gender, gender
identity and gender expression, transgender and cisgender, and binary and non-binary trans- identities. Part 2 is a demonstration of an affirmative clinical
interview with gender minorities. In Part 3, Drs. Dermer and Dyslin review and deconstruct their mock counseling session.
In this program, Drs. Dermer and Ellis discuss the development of race-based attitudes, internalized oppression, and racial bias. Dr. Ellis answers questions
concerning the development of race-based attitudes, how internalized oppression forms in minorities, and how racial bias forms in society. The current social
and cultural contexts of the United States are used to provide real-world examples of the issues addressed.