Foreign and International Legal Research
This guide provides resources meant to assist with foreign and international legal research.
Foreign and International Legal Research
E-book: Guide to international legal research by Call Number: KZ1234 G85 2017 c.1ISBN: 15513297Publication Date: 2017This is an excellent all around guide to both Foreign and International legal research.
International Legal Research in a Nutshell by
This Nutshell provides a basic introduction to international and foreign legal research for the non-specialist. It offers guidance through the unfamiliar pathways of research using international and non-US legal legal materials and demystifies the world of treaties and international case law. Since it's aimed at the non-specialist, it provides straight-forward background information on the United Nations and the European Union and includes guidance using the documents and legal materials of these institutions. There are extensive links to the rich world of Web resources, but it also describes print research tools that remain important in this field. Finally, it sets out a road map for approaching a research problem involving international, foreign and comparative law. Additional teaching materials are available for this title, and include online links to research sources noted in the book: Appendix A: Comprehensive List of Sources Appendix B: Websites Containing National Law Appendix C: Web Treaty Collections Appendix D: Planning Your Research and Organizational Tools
Call Number: KZ1234 .H64 2017ISBN: 9781634605212Publication Date: 2017-03-24
Chinese Legal Research by
Chinese Legal Research is the first book to provide a condensed guide to legal research in China for foreign researchers.
The goal of this book is to supply researchers with all of the background, tools, resources, and tips necessary to conduct effective Chinese legal research without even a basic knowledge of written Mandarin.
Conducting legal research in China can be daunting to academics and practitioners from foreign jurisdictions regardless of whether they are from common law or civil law systems. This book overcomes the obstacles to conducting legal research in China by comparing the Chinese legal system to foreign jurisdictions and then providing advice and know-how on researching Chinese law.
Chinese Legal Research concisely explains each aspect of China's legal system including its governmental structure, constitution, legislation, and administrations. It examines Chinese courts and how to conduct research when court judgments do not have precedential value. This book also contains a detailed guide to romanization, citations, and Chinese legal research services.
The overall theme of this book is that foreign researchers can conduct quality research on Chinese law without learning Mandarin. It is especially helpful for foreign attorneys that wish to conduct legal research without relying on outside counsel or Chinese colleagues. Chinese Legal Research is recommended for academics and practitioners researching Chinese law.
Call Number: KNQ47 .K67 2014ISBN: 1611635764Publication Date: 2014-05-27
English Translations of Civil Codes/Legal Dictionaries
The library has a number of english translations of civil codes from a number of different countries in addition to several legal dictionaries in non-english languages. A librarian can help you find these resources.
Foreign and International Law
Public International Law by
This fifth edition of Public International Law in a Nutshell is a concise yet accurate summary of the field of public international law, covering its basic sources, actors, and procedures, and key subject matter areas, such as human rights, the law of the sea, international environmental law, the law of war, and U.S. foreign relations law. This edition is fully updated to include recent treaties, institutions, and Supreme Court decisions. The book is intended to be helpful for students, scholars, and practitioners alike.
Call Number: KZ3410 .B84 2013ISBN: 9780314279965Publication Date: 2013-09-04
Mixed Legal Systems, East and West by
Advancing legal scholarship in the area of mixed legal systems, as well as comparative law more generally, this book expands the comparative study of the world's legal families to those of jurisdictions containing not only mixtures of common and civil law, but also to those mixing Islamic and/or traditional legal systems with those derived from common and/or civil law traditions. With contributions from leading experts in their fields, the book takes us far beyond the usual focus of comparative law with analysis of a broad range of countries, including relatively neglected and under-researched areas. The discussion is situated within the broader context of the ongoing development and evolution of mixed legal systems against the continuing tides of globalization on the one hand, and on the other hand the emergence of Islamic governments in some parts of the Middle East, the calls for a legal status for Islamic law in some European countries, and the increasing focus on traditional and customary norms of governance in post-colonial contexts. This book will be an invaluable source for students and researchers working in the areas of comparative law, legal pluralism, the evolution of mixed legal systems, and the impact of colonialism on contemporary legal systems. It will also be an important resource for policy-makers and analysts.
Call Number: K236 .M59 2015ISBN: 9781472431066Publication Date: 2015-01-14
Legal Traditions of the World by
This prize-winning work offers a major new means of conceptualizing law and legal relations across the world. National laws are placed in the broader context of major legal traditions, those of chthonic (or indigenous) law, talmudic law, civil law, islamic law, common law, hindu law and Asianlaw. Each tradition is examined in terms of its institutions and substantive law, its founding concepts and methods, its attitude towards the concept of change, and its teaching on relations with other traditions and peoples. Legal traditions are explained in terms of multivalent andnon-conflictual forms of logic and thought.This book will be invaluable to law students and lawyers engaged in comparative or transnational work, historians, social scientists, and all those interested in the legal traditions that underpin the world's major societies.
Call Number: K559 .G545 2007ISBN: 9780199205417Publication Date: 2007-05-18
The Manual on International Courts and Tribunals by
The dramatic rise in the number of international courts and tribunals and the expansion of their legal powers has been one of the most significant developments in international law of the late 20th century. The emergence of an international judiciary provided international law with a strongerthan ever law enforcement apparatus, and facilitated the transformation of many aspects of international relations from being power-based to being law-based.The first edition of the Manual on International Courts and Tribunals, published in 1999, was the first book to survey systematically this new institutional landscape, by describing in an accessible and uniformly structured manner the legal powers and operating procedures of all major internationaljudicial and quasi-judicial bodies. In doing so, it laid the groundwork for comparative study and research of the law and practice of international courts and tribunals - an emerging field of international legal research, which has already spurred a series of publications, conferences and academiccourses. This second edition updates the first edition by describing the many legal changes that have taken place in the last decade, including important reforms in the laws and procedures of many international courts and tribunals, relevant developments in their increasingly rich jurisprudence and thecreation of new judicial fora. Moreover, it assesses the overall record of these judicial bodies. The data and legal analysis offered in the book provide both practitioners and academics with an important basis of knowledge that will help them better understand the details of internationaladjudication and its context.
Call Number: KZ6250 .M36 2010ISBN: 9780199545278Publication Date: 2010-05-20
Foreign and International Law
Comparative Legal Traditions in a Nutshell by
This nutshell offers a general introduction to comparative law that includes both an overview of the methods of comparative law as well as of the two most widespread legal traditions in the world: civil (or Romano-Germanic) law and common law. For both legal traditions, this expert discussion covers their history; legal structures, including constitutional systems, courts, and judicial review; the roles of central legal actors, including lawyers, judges, and scholars; an overview of civil and criminal procedure; the principal sources of law and divisions of substantive law; and the judicial process. Throughout, the discussion also includes references to the place and the importance of supranational law and institutions and their impact on the civil law and common law traditions in Europe.
Call Number: K560 .G43 2016ISBN: 9780314285607Publication Date: 2015-11-20
Comparative Legal Studies by
The 14 essays that make up this 2003 volume are written by leading international scholars to provide an authoritative survey of the state of comparative legal studies. Representing such varied disciplines as the law, political science, sociology, history and anthropology, the contributors review the intellectual traditions that have evolved within the discipline of comparative legal studies, explore the strengths and failings of the various methodologies that comparatists adopt and, significantly, explore the directions that the subject is likely to take in the future. No previous work had examined so comprehensively the philosophical and methodological foundations of comparative law. This is quite simply a book with which anyone embarking on comparative legal studies will have to engage.
Call Number: K559 .C66 2003 (Alvin Sherman Library)ISBN: 0521818117Publication Date: 2003-08-14
Principles of International Law by
This fully-updated second edition provides a comprehensive survey of public international law, with useful references throughout to current events, classic and contemporary cases and scholarship. It is designed as a stand-alone text or as a complement to all the major casebooks on the topic. The first section of the book addresses the fundamental structure, actors, and history of international law; the second section focuses on the interface of international law and national law; and the final section covers key subject matter areas: human rights, the law of the sea, international environmental law, international criminal law, and the use of force.
Call Number: KZ3410 .M87 2012ISBN: 9780314262684Publication Date: 2012-05-31
Comparative Law for Spanish¿English Speaking Lawyers by
Comparative Law for Spanish-English Speaking Lawyers (Derecho comparado para abogados anglo-e hispanoparlantes) provides lawyers and law students who are conversationally fluent in both Spanish and English with the information and skills needed to undertake comparative legal research in their second language, and facilitate communication with colleagues and clients in that language. Key features include:* fully Spanish-English bilingual* enables lawyers to develop the broad practical skills critical to success in today's increasingly international legal market* covers a variety of substantive and procedural areas of law and includes information on legal and business practices in a number of English- and Spanish-speaking jurisdictions* contextualizes information about foreign legal systems and develops readers' linguistic and legal skills through both immersion and instruction.Suitable for use by both individuals and groups, helping practitioners, academics and law students at any stage of their professional development, this book is perfect for anyone who wishes to move from conversational fluency in a second language to legal fluency.Derecho comparado para abogados anglo- e hispanoparlantes (Comparative Law for Spanish-English Speaking Lawyers) ofrece a abogados y estudiantes de derecho que hablan inglés y español la información y las habilidades necesarias para realizar análisis de derecho comparado en varias jurisdicciones anglo- e hispanoparlantes, al tiempo que les facilita la comunicación con colegas y clientes en su segundo idioma. Entre sus características principales destacan: * totalmente bilingüe inglés-español* ayuda a los juristas a desarrollar habilidades prácticas que son esenciales para triunfar en un mercado jurídico cada vez más internacionalizado * cubre varios sectores jurídicos, sustantivos y procesales, e incluye información sobre prácticas jurídicas y de negocio en diversas jurisdicciones hispano- y angloparlantes* contextualiza información sobre sistemas jurídicos extranjeros y desarrolla las capacidades lingüísticas y jurídicas de los lectores a través de métodos de inmersión e instrucción Adecuado tanto para uso individual como en grupo con el objetivo de ayudar a prácticos del derecho, académicos y estudiantes en cualquier fase de su formación profesional, esta obra es perfecta para el lector que busca transformar sus habilidades conversacionales en un segundo idioma en una herramienta jurídica de trabajo
Call Number: K559 .S77 2016ISBN: 9781849807869Publication Date: 2016-11-25
